Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Bryant Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: LuCkDz Hole #11 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 177ft.   3 / 269ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 77
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Wow

1    7/20/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: dutchrunningriot
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Bryant Lake is a phenomenal course. The course features multiple pads with that even have bag holders. The hole descriptors were helpful and accurate for a first-time player on the course. The holes themselves (there are a few holes with multiple baskets) are surrounded by mulch. There are clear signs to where the next tees are and easy to navigate. The holes themselves offer a great deal of variety and length.
Cons: Pay to play ($5 or $35 for a seasonal pass)
Other Thoughts: The course was well worth the money spent to play the course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bryant lake

1    6/10/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 102  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the best maintained courses I have played. There are clean benches, trash cans, recycle cans and bag holders at every tee pad. Multiple pads and baskets at all holes except for 13 which is only 167 feet. Navigation is pretty intuitive, I had no problems finding the next tee. All of the locals I ran into were very friendly and helpfull. The tee pads are the trapezoidal shaped and varied in length depending on the length of the hole, very nice touch. The baskets were all in very good shape and it was helpful that the shorts are the Innova baskets with the yellow band to guide you to the longs. The longs are generally tucked into trees or other nooks and harder to see. The landscaping was spectacular with well maintained steps everywhere. I particularly enjoyed the terraced holes and 16 with the basket on top of the large rock. There are well defined lines on all holes and with both multiple tees and basket you can add what ever difficulty you like. If you like elevation change this is the place for you! 17 probably being the signature hole for this course. If you normally pull a wheeled cart you may not want it here. With the tall grass in the rough on 17 you probably want a spotter for your drive otherwise you may be looking for a while. Water comes into play on 14 but is easily avoided with a lay up and par is still attainable with a good upshot.
Cons: The only thing missing is a pretty girl driving the drink cart.
Other Thoughts: While the difficulty level is not as high as it could be there is enough challenge available for even the top players. While I am not a fan of the high grass in the "rough" it fits very well in the design here. This is jewel of a course and one you need to play if you are in the twin cities area, well worth the $5.00 charge. I will have this course on my play list next time I visit.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/11/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: Arnie
Played: 34  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: I was impressed with the whole course. Bag trees were nice to see. Seats at every Tee boxes. Signs, lots of signs, the were in great shape. Tee boxes are so nice and wide. Some holes had two basket and they were in great shape. The areas around the baskets were really nice. Overall the course was maintain very well.
Cons: The only two cons for me. Are both safety issues. First on Hole #17 is throwing over the road. Second is going down the stairs on Hole #17.
Other Thoughts: The $5.00 was good money spend. The shop by the lake was nice. I will play again.

Near perfect

5+    4/26/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: Mblack4
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
> 18 holes with a ton of variance between each
> Tons of elevation, including a huge downhill shot on 17
> Plenty of shot shaping required
> Solid mix of long and short holes
> Great upkeep, solid tee-pads with a bench and bag holders nearby every time
> Great direction to each hole from the previous basket

Minor pros:
> Scenery/view from certain holes is amazing
> Close to the cities, as well as several other DGCs
Cons:
> Seems to be slightly imbalanced in regards to difficulty (I'll elaborate later)

Minor cons:
> Can get very busy, probably due to location and quality of the course
Other Thoughts: You'll hear a lot of people talking about Blue Ribbon Pines DGC in MN, but honestly I like Bryant Lake Park just a bit more. First of all, the upkeep is absolutely phenomenal, and it feels like a high quality course throughout all 18 holes. Garbage and recycling bins can be found at the start of every hole, along with a bench, bag holders, and a sturdy tee pad.

My one issue with this course is that there are a few holes right around 200-250 ft, that are pretty hard to bogey unless you have a bad putt. Which is fine, but you then also have holes like 17 that can test your driving strength and accuracy. I prefer a course to have a consistent difficulty, but BLP just has too many holes that are too easy.

Regardless, that's a minor flaw in an otherwise near perfect course. And although there are easy holes, be prepared for uphill shots, water hazards, and some heavy woods that will claim a disc thrown off-course. There are multiple tees and baskets for those who want a more casual play-through.

For me personally, this course shines on holes 1 - 7, as well as 15 - 18, but everything in-between will definitely keep you interested as well.

Here's a few things to keep in mind:
> There are three parking lots, but one of them puts you in the path of huge downhill shot on 17.
> There is no pro shop here, but you can buy discs from the Super America gas station on shady oak road, just a minute or so from the course
> Scorecards with maps, and pencils are usually available by the bulletin board before Hole 1
> Costs $5 to play, but you can get an annual pass for $30 or $35 that gives you access to Bryant Lake, Elm Creek, and Hyland (which unfortunately is closed for 2014). They usually let you use an old day pass towards your annual pass as well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best Kept Course

5+    7/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: Eagleclaw
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great tees, both short and long on almost every hole
-Multiple pin positions on many holes, allows for up to 4 different ways to play some of the holes to mix up the course
-Immaculate fairways, always mowed and kept clean
-Rough is not super long prairie grass, it is only knee high on most holes, allowing for easy disc retrieval if you have a decent line on where you went in
-long enough for pros to have a challenge playing everything par 3, but short enough that course par is friendly to beginner and intermediate players as well
-the park has made very good use of the pay to play money, doing upgrades every year...check out this link to see what it used to look like http://www.playdg.com/courses...;c=bryantlake
- Bag holders, trash, and recycling on every hole keeps the course clean
- Maps of every hole so you know where to throw if it is your first time, along with posted signs pointing you to the next tee
-either open enough or multiple throwing lines on most holes, friendly to lefties and righties or backhands and forehands, allows you to work on your weak shots or play to your strengths depending what you are in the mood to do
- good use of elevation changes without being too harsh
-Immaculate woodchip greens on every hole
- sand traps and out of bounds penalty areas are posted
-Most holes separated enough to not be in risk of conflict with other players, hole 10 &11 being the only slight exception
-Course is separated from the rest of the park, so no interference from non-players
-Nice swimming beach to cool off after your round, along with canoe, kayak, paddle board, and paddle boat rentals available
-Hole 17 is a top of the world shot that can be either extremely frustrating or extremely gratifying, but fun and memorable every time you throw from up there
Cons: -Hole 10 is blind downhill and the tee for 11 is near enough that a shanked throw could end up by the tee or hit someone
-Some would say pay to play is a con, but $5 is worth the day or a season pass for $35 is more than fair if you are from the area, and the park uses the money well
Other Thoughts: I am biased as this is my home course, but I believe Bryant is the best course in the metro. Relatively quick play for an 18 hole course, and there are other attractions in the area. Definitely worth your time if you can play it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/25/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: frolfer97
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Very nice landscaped course
-Variety of shots makes for a challenge
-Lots of elevation changes
-You'll definitely remember hole #17 which has you teeing off of a cliff
-Great signage
Cons: -Some spots are very overgrown, we spent a long time looking for disks that had strayed off course
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth playing if you are in the area.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Bryant

5+    9/19/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: megamerican
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You would be hard pressed to find a better disc golf course in the area, in terms of shot selection, beauty, landscaping, amenities and upkeep. This is what pay to play should be like. Anyone from beginners to advanced players can have fun and be challenged.

*Every hole has wonderful concrete tee pads with plenty of room. No erosion whatsoever around any of them. Tee pads are regularly cleaned by park employees.

*Almost every hole has a bench, trash and recycling cans which are cleaned often, bag holders, signage to where the next tee is on every hole.

*Great variation in elevation, shot selection and distance. You should be utilizing every shot in your arsenal. Every hole has a different feel from the rest.

*Multiple tees on many holes and multiple baskets on a few which allow it to be more accessible to beginner player and can give you different shots on some of the holes.

*Hole #7 has a great multi-layered landscaped green.

*Hole 17 is Bryant's version of the "top of the world" shot. Great view and always fun to throw.

*Actual sandtraps on multiple holes which are considered OB.

There is not enough that can be said in favor of this course.

Cons: The biggest con of this course, if you want to call it a can is the lack of championship difficulty.

Hole #10 is a blind downhill shot where the basket is very close to hole #11's tee box. A few weeks ago I was hit in the back by someones tee shot from hole 10. With wind or a slightly off track drive someone could get hurt.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a great time playing disc golf and you are in the Twin Cities you need to play here. You won't be disappointed. Pay to play is great.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in Minnesota

2-4    7/13/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is amazing, and is definitely the best one I have played so far. It has an extremely wide variety of shots, alternate tees and baskets, and is very well-maintained.

All baskets have mulch around them, and there is beautiful landscaping everywhere. There are some pop machines about halfway through the course. Almost every tee has benches, a trash can, and a bag holder.

Hole 17 is the signature hole, a monster 500+ footer, driving off the top of a giant hill toward a landscaped hill on the other side. Hole 16 is also distinctive, with a challenging drive through a narrow lane in the trees. The basket is right behind a huge rock, making for some interesting approaches and putts.

The setting is beautiful, with great views of nearby Bryant Lake. Overall, an exceptional course and one of the best ways to spend an afternoon in Minnesota.
Cons: It's easy to lose discs, as multiple holes have steep wooded drop offs, and there is tall grass in the rough.
Other Thoughts: As an intermediate-skill player, this course is plenty difficult for me.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Bryant

1    8/18/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 318  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bryant Lake absolutely blows my mind away. The course sets the standard on how a disc golf course should be installed and maintained. I'd like to know how much money is invested into the course. The walking paths are awesome and there is little to no errosion due to the landscaping. There is more work in this course than the rest of the courses that i've played combined!

It sits in a beautiful park overlooking Bryant Lake on many holes. This course is mostly open with rough lining many fairways. Elevation comes into play on many holes. Hole #17 is absolutely spectacular!

I was surprised to see this course had a higher rating than Kaposia. It's much more beginner friendly than many of the courses in the area. The work in the course takes it over the top. I had a hard time giving it a rating and believe it deserves a 4.5. If it was a little more challenging it would be getting a 5.0.

Most holes have 2 tee pads and some have 2 baskets.

We had no problem navigating this course. The tee and next tee signs are awesome. Each tee sign had bag holders. Many holes had benches.

Awesome concrete tee pads.

The baskets are very nice new Chainstars.

This course really needs updated pictures. I can't even begin to describe the number of unique landscaping features. The entire course is lined with awesome work. You have to see it to believe it.
Cons: As a pro player even the longest tee to longest basket isn't quite hard enough to push the limits.

I wish the tee signs were updated with the holes that had 2nd pins. We were playing the toughest layout and had to look to see if there was a 2nd pin.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play while in the area. It's super fun to play and you will be blown away by the landscaping work done.

This is my dream property and exactly what I want one of my courses to look like when I win the lottery.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Immaculate

1    6/6/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to begin....

Course condition: Bryant lake is pristinely manicured. The rough is well-defined and the fairways are in excellent condition. Amazingly, there seems to be very little deterioration of the grass due to foot traffic.

Amenities: Multiple tee pads and some multiple baskets offer a challenge and variety. All baskets are surrounded by wood-chipped greens. Many greens are tiered. While the area is very hilly, these structures will go a long way in preventing erosion in addition to making the course look nice. Benches and bag holders are at nearly every tee. Baskets and tees were all in excellent condition.

Design: The course requires the use of a number of different shot-shapes. I won't go so far as to say you'll need "every disc in the bag" because I think if you can work your discs, you can make it through this course with only a few discs.

Elevation: Bryant Lake is set among the rolling hills bordering the lake. There are a number of great views as you play the course. The course design does not misuse the elevation that is in play with the terrain. Most holes have a solid degree of elevation change. While this is rampant throughout, a good example is Hole#17 and Hole #18. #17 - "Top of the World" shot...followed by #18 long uphill and back to the parking lot.

Sheer enjoyment: Bryant Lake is definitely high on the "fun-o-meter". It is a relaxing place and the course doesn't stress you out. You can simply enjoy the sport you love in an amazing environment.
Cons: As seems to be the case with all other reviewers, the only con is the lack of challenge. Advanced players will find this course to be remedial. However, even the pros can respect the aesthetic pleasures of Bryant Lake. If you are looking for a grueling round that will wear you down emotionally and physically...go elsewhere.

A slight navigation issue around Hole #15. This looked like it was due to some course maintenance or changes, so I am willing to write this off as a temporary issue.
Other Thoughts: Bryant Lake is an amazing area and this course is absolutely gorgeous. If you have not made it to the Twin Cities area for some disc golf, you are missing out. This is the nicest disc golf course I have ever played, without a doubt.

This course does not take a long time to play. However, if you want my advice, take your time and enjoy the views and serenity. While you are still located in a major metropolis, the rest of the world seems to fade away during your round.

Pay-to-play...and worth every penny. I would have paid much more to play this gem.

If you're in the Twin Cities, you are obviously going to try and play Blue Ribbon Pines. Make sure that you don't overlook Bryant Lake, and don't be surprised if you like it better. This course should not be left out when planning an excursion into Minneapolis.

As bjreagh noted: hit up the guys and gals at Gotta Go Gotta Throw. Great selection of discs, clothing and accessories. The store is not far from the course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.