Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Bryant Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: Par 72 Course Design Hole #6 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 223ft.   3 / 223ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 basket and view



Reviews: 76
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Great Beautiful Course

5+    5/18/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: airwalk00
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Extremely well groomed
Great amenities
Bench on every hole
Some difficulty
Awesome signature holes
Cons: Fairly easy, mostly straight shots
No pets
Busy
Other Thoughts: Must play course in the Twin Cities. It is 5$ to play, but this is one of the only courses that I have seen the money actually be put back into the course. A season pass is 35, and it is good at two other courses.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best!

5+    6/22/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: cant buy bird
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All holes are well maintained and easy to follow. The difficulty is intermediate or higher, but can still be a fun course for beginners (if playing short tees.) The long tee for 17, enough said for that! Each hole has bag holders, benches, and garbage and recycling bins.
Cons: None that I can really think of. I am sure if I looked hard enough I could find a few.
Other Thoughts: If you have not played this course, I highly recommend you do so. It is worth the $5 day pass. Or if you live close, $30 for the yearly, which includes Hyland Ski and Snowboard and Elm Creek. Also fun courses.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

1    7/14/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: firebotter
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2013
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Layout is excellent. Signage is excellent. Facilities are excellent. Good challenge for all levels of play. With two baskets and two tees, you can play a different game everytime you play. Beautiful views for most of the course. Clean!!! The course offers a variety of elevations and open and wooded ares. 17 is by far one of the most fun with a huge downhill shot.
Cons: Cost five bucks. (Not really a con when you think about where the money goes)
Other Thoughts: This is an absolutely outstanding course. I will play again and again (at least untill I go broke).

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    9/16/2012   5/29/2013
Review By: rarintal
Played: 81  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Immaculate upkeep, thought out and challenging holes, multiple hole layouts for almost all holes that allows it to change from day to day, second to last hole is throwing basically off of a cliff and it's awesome to see the disc soar through the air
Cons: not many
Other Thoughts: very well put together with a variety of holes

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Favorite/Home Course

5+    8/25/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 39  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's my home course, so I'm somewhat biased, but it is one of the nicest courses I have ever played. The tee pads, landscaping, and buckets are in excellent condition. There are plenty of birdie/ace opportunities to go after as well. The course also offers several elevation changes and opportunities for a variety of shots. Hole 10 is a short par 3 on top of a hill, which creates for an awesome view of the lake, not to mention the ace opportunity. Hole 17 is definitely the signature hole. It's around 550 ft. and plays downhill probably 200 ft with an awesome tiered pin placement tucked into the hill.
Cons: Besides being a little busy at times, I really don't have any real complaints about Bryant, just some small, nit-picky things. First off, I wish there were a few more holes in the woods, which would make the course a little more challenging. My least favorite hole on the course would have to be 13, it's a really short downhill hole that plays to the right and really adds no value to the rest of the course. Lastly, the stairs on hole 17 really need to be replaced, as the are somewhat of a safety hazard.
Other Thoughts: I have played it over 100 times and it never gets old, especially hole 17. It is one of the nicest pay to play courses I have ever played besides Blue Ribbon Pines. Considering all of the money that has been put into the development of this course, it should really have a practice pin to warm up on. A great location would be right by the gravel parking lot. All things considered however, the investment in the course really shows with new benches, signs, and bag holders on every hole and I think many more courses should follow suit.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 easily one of best courses in country

1    6/25/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: adazm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: wow! where to start?
this is the type of course that you have dreams about. the fairways were immaculately mowed. the higher grass off the fairway was shin (not knee) high. the teepads were as sturdy as they come.
the amount of overall work that went into this course is almost beyond comprehension. the landscaping was to die for. whoever designed this place did not have to concern themselves with remaining "under budget".
even the stairways were ultra high end!
and of course they had numerous platforms and embankments for the baskets that took much love and imagination.
the top of the world hole was superior to most, relatively "reachable". without much danger of losing a disc.
should also be pointed out the entire course is played along a relatively steep hillside above a pristine minnesota lake.
Cons: the first hole threw us for a loop. there were two tee signs and what seemed like 2 baskets. what made it more confusing, is the feet measurement was almost certainly inaccurate for all combinations of tee pads and baskets. once we sussed out that there were in fact 2 baskets per hole (which seemed unusual), we adjusted accordingly. we basically decided to play long tee pads to short basket for simplicity sake.
we only played to a single incorrect basket on one of the downhill holes, otherwise the tee signs were extremely helpful (except for faulty distance measurements).
Other Thoughts: 3rd of 9 courses played on road trip that week. all courses were roughly rated 4 stars and above on this site. honestly, this was the best one. possibly the best i have ever experienced of the many hundreds of courses i have played.
the scenery was off the hook, and the attention to detail in the landscaping (basket placement, trails, stairs, platforms, etc) was just divine.
this place was the closest i have played as far as being treated and maintained to the level of a nice "ball golf" course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 TMDGA

5+    3/29/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: Kevin.Russell
Played: 109  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.6 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: My personal favorite course, I love everything about it! They have done incredible work with the layout and the overall experience of playing a round here. Great layout, flow, challenging shots, beutiful landscaping. Hole 17 is the best tee shot in MN!
Cons: Nothing
Other Thoughts: A must play for anyone in the metro! Possible spot for the TMDGA

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great pay to play course

5+    5/23/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: deadbody
Played: 95  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course, multiple tees on all holes, multiple basket locations on a couple as well. Pay to play so some of the riff-raff is kept off. Great elevation changes, lots of up and downhill shots, some good technical shots with narrow openings. Good mix of long and short holes. Great baskets. Truly a gem of a course. You could play this course all day and enjoy every minute of it. The tee shot on 17 is so much fun it ought to be illegal.
Cons: A few of the holes could stand to have more trees, some of the holes are a bit too open for my tastes.
Other Thoughts: $3 per day or $35 for a yearly pass that also gets you into Hyland and Elm creek is a great deal. The money goes into the course and it shows. Wish it was open in the winter.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A must play.

5+    5/4/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: gbpremo
Played: 59  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a beautiful layout that even the worst of critics cant complain about. It has a great mixture of long and short holes and plenty of trees to keep it challenging.
Cons: Pay to play.. not really a con but its the only complaint I have heard about the course. I actually like it because it keeps some of the people who are likely to throw on you before you finish a hole out of the park.
Other Thoughts: Play this course. If you dont live near by make a trip out of it there are plenty of great courses near by to make the trip worth it. Its only 3 dollars for the whole day and that pass is good for Hyland ski resort and Elm Creek Park Reserve as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta be a 5

5+    8/25/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: JSL5000
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course, but enjoyable for more casual players as well.

Excellent cement teepads. Grippy and big.

Dual basket placements on 6 (I think) of the holes. A couple of which might be in place at the same time, so you can choose which to shoot for. They seem to change them randomly, though it would be nice if they did it a little more often. Baskets are in good shape.

Pay to play. Yes, it is a pro. They actually put a lot of money back into the course. I have only been playing there one season, but they've already built a massive (and massively awesome) green for 17 and they are in the process of completely rebuilding hole 15 and pretty much the same with 16, presumably to combat erosion in the area. They also have these plastic mats that help to prevent the grass from eroding in quite a few spots, which actually help to get the disc to skip up on a couple holes! (#18) The landscaping and maintenance is second to none. I was playing after a rain the other day and a woman was sweeping the woodchips and mud off of the teepads. Nice.

Signage is great, with distances and map at every tee. Only exception might be finding 15 your first time.

Garbage or recycling at every tee. Only thing I would like to see would be trash and recycling at every tee, or alternate between every other. It seems to be random as to which one they have.

Benches at almost every tee.

Quite a bit of elevation change. 17, in particular, has some epic change in elevation! It's not so much, though, that you feel like you've climbed Mt. Everest after the round.

Nice variety in the holes. There are some long ones, and some shorter ones, but it all seems to flow together very well. Bryant has a nice mix of wooded and open holes, while some have trees guarding the fairway and/or thick woods or grasses on each side of the fairway. There are some definite birdies, even aces, out there, but mistakes can cost you dearly -- a sign of a great course. It feels like every hole was well thought out, as opposed to just thrown in to the space that the land provided.

Alternate teepads on most, if not every hole. This helps to make Bryant Lake a course that truly anyone can enjoy.

Some really great views of the lake. I love the view on 1 when you're teeing off. I seem to always pull out my camera there. Nice scenery in general. The lake does not come into play. I suppose you could turn around and tee off the opposite way on 7 and maybe get it in the water?

I've heard it can get really busy, but I have yet to experience it. I do usually play in the morning, but even the times I've played in "prime time" haven't been that bad. The hole spacing seems to help.
Cons: Closes October 25th and they pull the baskets. Bummer.

Pay to play. I guess it is a con for some, but I just get the $30 season pass for Bryant, Hyland and Elm Creek. Worth it for Bryant alone. I tend to think pay-to-play helps keep the riff-raff away, anyway.

Some of the rough is pretty rough, with grasses up to your knee. Can make it tough to find a stray disc at times.

You could have a little trouble finding hole 15 your first time playing. Take the gravel road to the left, past the restroom and hole one and then across the road and you'll see a sign for 15, which is up the stairs.

The parking lots to the right of 17 and left of 18 are poorly placed. I rarely see people parked near 17, which is a good thing.
Other Thoughts: Bryant Lake is probably second on my favorite course list, next to Blue Ribbon Pines. It definitely has a "fun factor." I think the thing that makes it so great is there are some good scores to be had, but if you screw up a couple times, you can end up with a big number at the end of a round. It's got a great balance to the holes and you can finish a round in about an hour and a half. It really is a fun course and a sign that pay to play can and does work. Good times!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.