Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Bryant Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #14 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 286ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 75
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Great Course

5+    8/19/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: mauimark
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mixture of challenging tees and distance tees. Very well maintained and nice landscaping. Great views of the lake and fairly close to the city. Some good elevation changes also make this a challenging course.
Cons: There are a couple holes that I consider "disc eaters". but then again that's the challenge. Almost always crowded with waits at multiple tees.
Other Thoughts: I play Bryant at least once to twice a month, it is definitely one of my favorites.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Way cooler than the Mall of America

1    8/19/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: whitechocolate
Played: 380  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well manicured park
-Duel concrete tees on most holes
-Duel pin locations on some holes
-Well signs
-Easy to navigate
-Scorecards, Maps, and Pencils are course sign
-Plenty of elevation changes
-With multiple tees plenty of options for Pros to Newbies to play
-Bathrooms
-Benches
-Plenty of Trash Cans
-Mostly secluded course

Absolutely awesome course. Great opportunities to throw all different length depending on ability. A great place to be able to throw from the longs and have the wife throw from the shorts and everyone can still have a good time. Great flow, just a amazing course in the Twin Cities metro. Plenty of rough and obstacles to make it challenging with the opportunities to try for birdies and well. You will need your full bag of tricks.
Cons: -course improvements happening on a couple of holes.
-pay to play (three bucks)

I don't find pay to play to be an issue but I know other people do. I think three bucks to maintain a course for the park district is completely fair for this type of course. The only real con I saw was the changes happening on holes 6, 8 and 15 (6 and 8 might not be completely accurate but I believe that was the holes). It is definitely not a bad thing, but the stone does take a little away from the beauty and is rougher on the disc. I believe it's all for the better, but is technically a con. I would also like to see a vending machine by the bathroom between hole 1 and 14. Definitely would be a bonus. Hole 17 is there is a risk of throwing into the parking lot. I am a truely Novice/Rec borderline player, threw a right hand forehand as hard as I could and did not feel my disc was heading for the parking lot. Although I did aim at the port-a-potty.

It could use some more convenient parking for the disc golf course but did not find this an issue at 5:30pm on a Thursday evening.
Other Thoughts: Great overall course; One of the best I have played so far. If I lived in Minneapolis I would definitely own a yearly pass. It offers enough challenge without be self-defeating. I would rate this as a championship caliber course (from the longs to the long baskets) but still friendly enough to play for a moderately experienced player. I would recommend playing shorts your first time, especially if you are newer to the game, but any variety of teepads and baskets offer plenty of challenges. It is a must play if you want to see what disc golf is all about.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very well maintained above average course

1    8/1/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: cydisc
Played: 169  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 18.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very well maintained
-Good balance
-Varied hole distances
-Multiple tees/baskets
Cons: -A bit short of parking
-a safety concern with #17
Other Thoughts: This course is located in a large regional park in Eden Prairie, easily accessible from the interstate. The beginning of the course is just inside the entrance but some signage pointing the way from the parking lot would be helpful for first-timers. The course is pay-to-play, which is a good thing when you look at all the maintenance that is being done to keep the course tidy and looking good. There seems to be a frequent mowing schedule as the course was neatly cropped in the fairways and the rough was not too terribly tall. Lots of retaining wall and steps to prevent erosion and improves the overall look of the course.

Most of the holes have two tees and two permanent baskets, providing a fair challenge for a wide range of abilities. While the look of the course is spectacular, the actual play of the course is somewhat less so. Could use some more multi-shot holes.

#17, while the most interesting hole to play, does have a safety issue in the form of the parking lot located just to the right of the landing zone at the bottom of the valley. The most desirable route to the basket actually has you throwing over the parking lot and that can be a problem if you turn it right or leave it short.

In all, it's a good round of golf that I certainly don't mind paying to play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    5/26/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Well maintained fairways and tee boxes Course offers a nice mix of shots. #17 is great to just see how far you can throw it.
Cons: You have to pay to play. It does pay for the maintance though.
Other Thoughts: They shouldn't allow people to park in the lot by 17.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great pay to play course

5+    5/23/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: deadbody
Played: 92  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course, multiple tees on all holes, multiple basket locations on a couple as well. Pay to play so some of the riff-raff is kept off. Great elevation changes, lots of up and downhill shots, some good technical shots with narrow openings. Good mix of long and short holes. Great baskets. Truly a gem of a course. You could play this course all day and enjoy every minute of it. The tee shot on 17 is so much fun it ought to be illegal.
Cons: A few of the holes could stand to have more trees, some of the holes are a bit too open for my tastes.
Other Thoughts: $3 per day or $35 for a yearly pass that also gets you into Hyland and Elm creek is a great deal. The money goes into the course and it shows. Wish it was open in the winter.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 All Around Good Fun

5+    5/8/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: Chillers86
Played: 105  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my favorite courses! It has a great mix of long open fairways and densely wooded rough. The elevation changes are great and the constant breeze coming off the lake creates a different course every time. Not to mention the spouse friendly aspect of short boxes. My wife will only ever play disc golf at a course like this if they have short boxes. If she plays more, I play more!
Cons: There has always been one thing that bothers me about Bryant Lake and is starting to change. First of the fairway of hole #7 is always used as some sort of landscaping storage area. Piles of wood-chips and sand are always stored here. Also, holes 15 and 16 have their fairways following a gravel road up a hill. However, this summer they are finally changing them to much more challenging tee shots, but only 15's hole is being moved.
Other Thoughts: The fact that Bryant Lake is a pay to play course is a good thing. Every summer there are new things being done to the course to make it better. I think this trend is going to be common with any new course that pops up.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A must play.

5+    5/4/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: gbpremo
Played: 59  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a beautiful layout that even the worst of critics cant complain about. It has a great mixture of long and short holes and plenty of trees to keep it challenging.
Cons: Pay to play.. not really a con but its the only complaint I have heard about the course. I actually like it because it keeps some of the people who are likely to throw on you before you finish a hole out of the park.
Other Thoughts: Play this course. If you dont live near by make a trip out of it there are plenty of great courses near by to make the trip worth it. Its only 3 dollars for the whole day and that pass is good for Hyland ski resort and Elm Creek Park Reserve as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 long long throw

1    4/17/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: chad-o
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: awesome grounds, and great course layout. All tee pads are landscaped and makes you feel like a pro each time you tee off. The holes are mix of mid to harder diffaculty. And the view from hole 17 is awesome, Way up on a cliff and 540ft away from the basket shooting of a road and a parking lot towards a lush green lawn is always fun.
Cons: busy but managable, cost three dollars a round but it didn't look like they were enforcing the pay every round thing.
Other Thoughts: one of the best courses in minnesota .

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    4/17/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: ReedB
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -great design and up keep
-challenging elevation changes
-well marked holes and course direction
-challenging pin placement
-17 is one of the more exciting holes in the area
-This course is a must play
Cons: -there can be some back up at the tee boxes from time to time. This is due to the popularity of the couse and it tough to list as a con. Even when backed up you can move at an alright pace. And besides, you get to be outside so enjoy it!!
Other Thoughts: Great course all around. Probably my favorite in the area!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Disc golf in style.

5+    10/7/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: Waddly Hobbins
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Your money goes to work for you at this pay to play course. There are continually improvements made to the course and it helps keep out riffraff that may grief you on other courses.
-A Beauty of a course. Tons of tasteful landscaping and scenic views. Maintenance seems always up to date.
-Dual large cement tee pads, some of the best I've seen.
-Chainstar baskets are in great condition.
-Decent signage through out the course.
-Scorecard with map found at entrance is top notch.
-Tons of erosion control put to work on this course insuring this course will stay great looking in the future. There are erosion mats, timbers, and wood chips found throughout.
-Benches and trash cans found everywhere.
-Bathroom found halfway through the course.
-Course loops back to start where parking is located.
-Great flow, no huge hikes between last basket and next tee, while also not being close enough to get hit by a disc.
-Great design requiring lots of different types of shots.
-Mix of short and long distances.
-Elevation was put to work well on this course.
-Many memorable holes, nothing feels like a "filler" hole.
-Hole 17, throwing off a cliff, is something you just have to try.
-The difficulty is varied throughout the course offering something for all skill levels.
Cons: -Storage of wood chips and sand on some of the fairways take away from this otherwise beautiful course.
-CLOSED DURING WINTER! For those that like to disc in late fall and the winter this is a big bummer.
-This course has a great variation of holes, however, if it is missing anything from being the complete disc golf experience, it would be tight wooded holes. (minor, minor gripe)
-Hole 17, while amazing, it has a parking lot that is in play in the fairway. This means that not only that you could hit a car, but your disc will have tons of speed from throwing off the cliff and hitting the pavement will eat up a disc.
-Multiple baskets on a couple of the holes can be confusing first time through....why are they there??
-Can get busy from time to time. It is best to either hit the course early, or plan ahead of time for the wait times you may receive.
Other Thoughts: Paying to play isn't so bad when you see your money go to work. I can't wait to see what other additions will be made to this course. I only hope that they keep the payments as low as they are now.

The only thing that really bugs me about this course is that it closes in October....I wanna play here all year.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.