Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Bryant Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 179ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 82
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Another Minnesota Gem

5+    7/26/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: BogeyPar Guy
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -impeccably maintained
-landscaped professionally
-highlights what a parks dept. can do with a course with some money
-Great mix of shots with real disc golf holes
-Pay 2 play
-no dogs
Cons: Can be busy, but thats not a bad thing for a pay 2 play.
Other Thoughts: Bryant Lake really set the bar for the Minneapolis area when it was remodeled a few years back. This place makes the parks dept. so much money it is ridiculous. A good score here is 48 or less as most of the holes you should be able to get. I love this course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful course and well maintained

1    8/15/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: bukosknr
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2015
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Teepads are concrete and great
-Bag Holders are nice and strong
-Waste and butt containers
-Nice Score cards and course map
-Scenery and the view are amazing throughout the course
-Elevation changes were stupid fun. Hole 17 is a great example of that, but there are others.
-Course was clean
-Markers and signage was excellent.
-All the greens were great and perfectly maintained.
Cons:
There were a few small things that really came down to projects unfinished. So I don't want to call them complete cons because its nice they are making changes and adding great new ways to make it look and play great. There were wood chip huge piles and not raked smooth, there were sections of grass they were trying to get to grow back etc etc.
I also feel the course if very forehand friendly, which I am not good at. Not to say its required or anything, just my opinion.
Other Thoughts:
While playing it once and being newer to the sport I can't speak too much on the technical aspects of the course. While I found it to be very challenging the entire way through I bet more skilled players could add more comments to that part.

What I loved was how great the course was maintained, groomed and all the work into the landscaping. Little things like rock paths and retaining walls were just so great. Lots of nice steps and paths. Following it was very easy.

You can tell playing this course a lot of care and thought went into planning it and its design. You can tell the difference between this and other courses immediately when you get to the first hole.

This is certainly (if not the) one of the best courses I've ever had the chance to play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

1    7/15/2015   7/15/2015
Review By: Fepowerguy8
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Upkept very well, everything is in great condition, lots of trash containers and recycling, and even places to hang your disc bag, easy to navigate, nice tee pads and baskets. Not very crowded during a weekday
Cons: All shots are straight ahead, not super challenging, still a very nice course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Prepare to be Astonished

2-4    7/10/2015   7/15/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 230  Reviewed: 216  Exp: 4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: OK, OK, I know I'm going out on a limb a little bit with a 5.0 rating for a course that won't truly challenge the top players to bring their best game every time. But Bryant Lake fits my personal criterion for a 'perfect' rating because it does everything right, then goes WAY beyond the 'necessary', and will appeal to the widest range of players possible. I have only given this out four times in 201 reviews, but Bryant Lake Park earns one.

Why? Let's address the disc golf play first. You've got the variety of having at least two tees for every hole (blue and yellow), and usually have two baskets permanently in place to choose from (also yellow and blue). Casual players will have a lot of fun throwing yellow to yellow, while Intermediate to even Advanced players will enjoy blue to blue. They'll be able to keep it fresh by mixing up tees and pins for four options on nearly every hole. You'll be throwing blind tee shots, in and out of the woods, astonishing elevation shots, and enjoying the scenery of the dedicated park space up on the hills overlooking a pretty lake.

But what floored me was the infrastructure. Picture an enormous, trapezoidal, level concrete tee with metal benches, trash, recycle bins, 'ash trays', perfect tee signs, brooms, and retaining terraces, steps, brick and stone paved walkways, protective netting, and every landscaping feature you've ever seen on a course, then multiply it for multiple tees, terraced basket positions, fantastic course maintenance, fresh mulch constituting almost the entire putting surface for every basket, etc. etc. I mean, you'll never forget standing on the long tee for 11, realizing they've put up the safety netting on your left to protect you from the blind, downhill, hyzer throws off the 10th tee above, and staring down at maybe 150 feet of brick paved slope taking you halfway to the basket. Or realizing that most course designers would be happy putting the basket behind a boulder for a fun challenge (on 16), but they've actually terraced and paved stones around the feature!). And you might do like I did after throwing the top of the world shot on 17, and try to count the stairs you walk down to the fairway (about 100). Have you ever put in landscape stairs? This incredible feature is only there to access 1/36th of the course, really. Wow!

The pictures here on the web site give you a hint, but you really need to come check this out. It's astonishing!
Cons: Most folks can only find one or two negatives about Bryant Lake, and those are the fact that the challenge isn't championship caliber, and the design leans a little left to right overall. Doesn't really bother me. I play disc golf first for the fun, and second for the challenge. So if you're in the same boat, it might be really hard to find a 'con' about this course. Maybe the fact that the elevations will give you a hard time if you're not in shape? Maybe tens of thousands of dollars in course infrastructure isn't worth $5 per play or $45 per year to you. That's cool. Just know these are the facts going in, and, if you're like me, you'd say: wish I lived close by, because I'd pay that annual fee for a course like this in a heartbeat.

All right, I'll admit: as I racked my brain, I had to say that the parking is a little awkward. The best place to park is to the left after the entrance, and beside the 18th basket, the practice net and two practice baskets, there in the shade. 'Overflow' parking by the 15th tee would be the second choice, but I'd avoid parking downhill where shots that turn over to the right off of 17 long have a decent chance of dinging a parked car.
Other Thoughts: If I ever get back to the Twin Cities, there are a huge number of quality courses to play, but I'll be setting aside a day each time to play this one again and again.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

1    5/15/2015   5/17/2015
Review By: alex cincy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Excellent condition. Large tee pads. Clear signage at the tee and also after the baskets. Fairways apear to be groomed regularly and every green is mulched. Trash cans and ash trays at every tee along with benches and bag holders.

The course provided a good challenge: there were many long shots as well as several technical situations. Overall this course was planned very well. I would easily pay $5 again - if I lived closer I would definitely have a season pass.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Perfect

1    8/31/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: hnosaj
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Groomed fairways, difficult rough, challenging elevation, trees, excellent tee pads, trash cans, recycling, benches and bag hangers at each hole. Simply put it's gorgeous
Cons: None that I could find. If this is what $5/round gets us every park should start charging.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Wow

1    7/20/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: dutchrunningriot
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Bryant Lake is a phenomenal course. The course features multiple pads with that even have bag holders. The hole descriptors were helpful and accurate for a first-time player on the course. The holes themselves (there are a few holes with multiple baskets) are surrounded by mulch. There are clear signs to where the next tees are and easy to navigate. The holes themselves offer a great deal of variety and length.
Cons: Pay to play ($5 or $35 for a seasonal pass)
Other Thoughts: The course was well worth the money spent to play the course.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Bryant lake

1    6/10/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 106  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the best maintained courses I have played. There are clean benches, trash cans, recycle cans and bag holders at every tee pad. Multiple pads and baskets at all holes except for 13 which is only 167 feet. Navigation is pretty intuitive, I had no problems finding the next tee. All of the locals I ran into were very friendly and helpfull. The tee pads are the trapezoidal shaped and varied in length depending on the length of the hole, very nice touch. The baskets were all in very good shape and it was helpful that the shorts are the Innova baskets with the yellow band to guide you to the longs. The longs are generally tucked into trees or other nooks and harder to see. The landscaping was spectacular with well maintained steps everywhere. I particularly enjoyed the terraced holes and 16 with the basket on top of the large rock. There are well defined lines on all holes and with both multiple tees and basket you can add what ever difficulty you like. If you like elevation change this is the place for you! 17 probably being the signature hole for this course. If you normally pull a wheeled cart you may not want it here. With the tall grass in the rough on 17 you probably want a spotter for your drive otherwise you may be looking for a while. Water comes into play on 14 but is easily avoided with a lay up and par is still attainable with a good upshot.
Cons: The only thing missing is a pretty girl driving the drink cart.
Other Thoughts: While the difficulty level is not as high as it could be there is enough challenge available for even the top players. While I am not a fan of the high grass in the "rough" it fits very well in the design here. This is jewel of a course and one you need to play if you are in the twin cities area, well worth the $5.00 charge. I will have this course on my play list next time I visit.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    6/11/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: Arnie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I was impressed with the whole course. Bag trees were nice to see. Seats at every Tee boxes. Signs, lots of signs, the were in great shape. Tee boxes are so nice and wide. Some holes had two basket and they were in great shape. The areas around the baskets were really nice. Overall the course was maintain very well.
Cons: The only two cons for me. Are both safety issues. First on Hole #17 is throwing over the road. Second is going down the stairs on Hole #17.
Other Thoughts: The $5.00 was good money spend. The shop by the lake was nice. I will play again.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Immaculately maintained

2-4    5/24/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The thing that really sticks in my mind about this place is how nice this place looks. Every green had a soft layer of shredded cedar mulch on them. The tees had garbage cans, recycle bins, and benches, signs, and bag holders. All fairways well mowed and the rough trimmed out. Thank you!

The course reminds me somewhat of the Hiestand course I had played in Madison, WI a couple days prior. The fairways are fairly wide and well- defined - it's when you hit the rough edges that can mess with your score. There are not many holes in which you find a lot of trees "in" the fairway. Often times the fairway trees affect either the drive or the approach, but usually just one or the other.

Dual pins (both permanent in the ground) give you options. The Innova yellow bands on the short pins help you home in on the long pins which are less visible.
Cons: Just as Hiestand in Madison, there was a glut of right turning fairways (about half), which was a bit repetitive.
Other Thoughts: I joined a group of singles that were gathering on the first tee. I'm glad we did - good company and one of the guys got an ace on hole #11! Much better than playing through all day (crowded on a Saturday - we had to wait to tee on nearly every hole).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.