Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Bryant Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: tolson Hole #15 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 145ft.   3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee: Relatively short and tight with elevated and protected basket



Reviews: 77
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Simply The Best

5+    8/15/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: grimace
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautifully groomed, mulched, landscaped, etc. Great elevation changes consistently throughout the course. Moderately wooded. Some long holes i.e. not reachable for deuce by the average player. Some short holes i.e. very reachable by the average player for deuce. Several ace chances as well.

Now about the landscaping. A few things have been done since the pay to play was started. In just a year, the course has undergone almost a complete face lift. Almost all of the holes and tees that were included in the original 12 hole layout are still there. 6 holes have been added. The following list will keep growing, but, a 100ft granite fairway strip right after the tee. two sets of granite steps. four rock face retaining walls around greens, three of which are back stops behind the baskets, retaining walls around several of the tees in order to provide a level tee, terraced retaining walls up to the pin on two holes, wood mulch surrounding pin locations, currently multiple pin placements on 8 holes, with mulch around both, wooden stairs and lined paths with nicely placed small pebbled gravel, mowed fairways, "no-mow" rough, grass covering 95% of the course. There are two holes under construction right now, and nearing completion.

This course is getting better with every day of work put into it. The thing is, three rivers is willing to actually improve all the time because they make money from all the traffic they get from all three courses they have set as pay to play.

Three Rivers Park district has made this course a pay to play course. This allows for course improvements. The foot traffic the course gets really hasn't died down too much. But the traffic it does get, is the more respectful kind. Fewer punks and vandals.
Cons: Currently there are 3 or 4 holes that have pins in both pin placements. While this allows rec players the option of playing the shorter tee and possibly moving quicker through the course, I believe it takes away a little bit of the picturesque quality of these holes. It also adds just a little confusion into the mix as to which pin the group is shooting to.

There is access to potable water in the park. HOWEVER, it is at the pavilion near the beach and picnic area, which, on this course, a couple blocks walk away from the first hole.

Parking: While there is plenty of parking available in the park. Some parking is "in play". There is one small parking lot right next to the 18th pin which fills up. There is another slightly larger parking lot along the 17th fairway. 17 is the signature hole of the course. A tee shot from the top of the hill near 600 feet long. The said parking lot is a common landing spot for those with shorter drives i.e. rec players and sometimes on a windy day your disc does crazy things. What ever the case is the lot is not a great place for parking. There is currently an overflow parking lot on grass near the current tee and soon to be open new tee for hole 15. fine to park in right now but is a little eyesore for the course and is killing the grass which we all know will be reseeded and closed until fully grown in. There is a plethora of parking further away from the course. Several lots down the hill near the beach, pavilion, boat access. A little bit of a walk but accessible nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: In 10-15 years, I might consider this course to be heavily wooded. It is constantly being modified for the better. Can't wait for it to be done. The pay to play aspect is well worth it on my part. Since I play all three pay courses many times over through out the year. And with the money raised, the course can be improved and groomed to look the best.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Pristine Course

1    8/17/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: LefthandMagic
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I loved the beautiful landscaping, it just made it that much more fun to play. The alternate short tees worked really well for my mixed group of young kids and seasoned players. Each hole was marked very well which made it easy to play as a first timer at the course.
Cons: There is absolutely nothing that could be done to improve this course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 1st time - mixed opinion

1    8/7/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: Erik
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: VERY well kept course
Nice tee boxes
easy to navigate
awesome elevation changes (especially 17 ;) )
great distance on some holes
Cons: Easy course, even on "pro".. playing par-3 I managed to finish 5-under par and i am NOT that good :)

Some construction right now, but looks to be some awesome new tee-box locations
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course - it was nice having a big elevation change and groomed fairways.

I wish there was a bit more 'skill' shot opportunities, as i was able to make it to the pin in 2 or less shots on every hole, even the huge cliff shot.

Great course, just not that difficult!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the best

5+    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: discgolfer99
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 41.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Season pass was the Best $30 I ever spent. This course is what discin should be. Tests every shot, some fade right, some fade left. Some uphill, some WAY down hill. Some open, some tight. Beautiful scenry, huge tee pads, benches every hole, garbages every hole, restroom right at hole 1 which is also right by hole 14. Scorecards at the first tee. Really nice recycled plastic signage. You can tell the designer wanted to test every shot. So many signature holes, #7 green is just incredible. I only throw 350 so reaching the tiers on #7 is going to be a goal I must acheive before the season is over.

Usually there is alot of really good looking women out playing most the time. Great date course!
Cons: Other than being crowded on nice days I really can't think of one.
Other Thoughts: Hang your pass on your bag so it is easy to see for the Park police. They walk right up to you and ask to see it. They often hang out often at the bottom of the stairs on #17. I heard its over $200 fine for not having a daily or season pass. Very worth it IMO.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bryant Lake

1    7/27/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: Miller
Played: 98  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very nice. You get a map and scorecard with your payment, but don't need it much since all the teeboxes are clearly marked with a hole map and distances. Nice long concrete teeboxes and pins with a 30 ft circle of wood chips around each hole make everything very easy to navigate and a pleasure to play. You almost feel like you're playing ball golf with the manicured fairways, the the low rough, and finally the deep rough.

Personally, I don't throw super far (250ish), but I felt like I had a shot on every hole and I played the regular tees. If you were a beginner playing the shorts I'm sure you would feel the same way.

Finally the layout and views when you come up to each hole are very cool. It culminates in hole number 17 which is one of the best signature holes I've seen for a course.
Cons: The only cons for me were on a few pins it wasn't clear where the next teebox was, but since they provide a map navigation was still very simple. Also, it looked like a couple of holes had alternate pins installed (#1, 6, 17) and it wasn't always clearly marked which pin you were playing. If you scouted ahead though one pin was marked with the hole number and the other was not.
Other Thoughts: I've played 40 courses to this point of my career and it's currently my favorite. When you're done the beach and the lake are even close for a nice swim. If you live in the cities or plan to visit then this course should be at or near the top of your list.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Made me fall in love with disc golf

5+    7/23/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: jonathanwaldo
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is not only top of the line when it comes to variety, scenery and excellent hole design, it also provides the player with a coherent experience that has gotten better and better as the course has improved. I've played there dozens of times and am still learning about the course, but I always leave feeling satisfied, which is not true of a course like Acorn park and Kaposia (although both are excellent).

Although surrounded by the bustling western metro, you get a rough prairie feeling. Lots of wind, dry nettles and grass, wild roses and towering cotton woods. I've seen several eagles hovering above Tee 7 looking out on to the lake.

Although I would agree that 17 is my favorite, the course has many signature holes such as 5, 7, 10, 15, 16, 17.
Cons: Don't park in the n00b lot below 17 if you don't want dents in your car. There are a lot of policy around, but they are nice most of the time and don't bug casual players.
Other Thoughts: Early evening play is spectacularly gorgeous.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 NICE!!!

1    7/16/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: D.W.G.
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful surroundings... Many different shots to be made... Superbly manicured... JUST BEAUTIFUL!!!
Cons: When I played, most of the baskets were in the "short" position, and neither the card nor the hole maps at each tee had the length of the "short" basket position...
Other Thoughts: This was the nicest course that I have played... BEAUTIFUL!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Most "Fun Factor" of any course i've played

1    5/29/2012   7/18/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Overall beauty in many ways; views of the lake, rolling hills, many trees, ponds.
-Greens made of wood chips. Not only added to the visual appeal of the course but also helped find holes that were hidden around corners or behind trees.
-Although there were too many people on the course they were all friendly and the group of older gentlemen ahead of us let us play through.
-Dual tees and pins on almost every hole.
-Great variation from hole to hole in distance, scenery, landscaping, elevation, amount and type of obstacles.
-Baskets and park are overall very well maintained.
-Not too many chances to lose a disc. Most holes are somewhat wooded but have been walked through enough to make it easy to find them.
-Hole 17 is crazy! 443 feet over a road and parking lot with the hole situated on the opposite hill. This is the way to finish a round!
-The landscaping is beautiful. It also helps mark were the next tee is. Navigation was never a problem.
-Adequate parking even for the large crowds.
-Huge tees, the biggest I have seen and all in great shape!
-Mowed, distinct fairways.
-Signs to navigate from hole to hole.
-Detailed, full color map/scorecard available before hole 1.
-Bathrooms at start and in middle.
-Bag hooks on most if not every hole
Cons: -Very crowded. Get there early to avoid the rush
-This course really isn't that long or hard. When I first played this course it was quite hard but when I played it this summer it didn't have the same challenge.
-Pay to play. It's only 5 dollars and was worth it for sure. This isn't a con to me but may be to others. This allows for continuous improvements to the course. You can also invest in a 3 Rivers Park Pass so you can play at Elm Creek and Hyland. I think that is $30 annually.
Other Thoughts: -I've played the best of the best in MN and some high rated courses out of the state. This course has the best fun factor of any I've ever played. What I mean by that is that I was never annoyed by how hard or easy a hole was. They all were different and challenging enough to keep it fun. The holes are all well landscaped and I was always excited to see what the next hole looked like. Overall, one of the best courses out there!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Must play if you are in the Twin Cities!!

5+    6/11/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: Bigbad7692
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.6 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: 1. Very scenic
2. Need hyzers, anhyzers forehands and many more shots.
3. Good for beginners trhough advanced players (relatively short, but tricky holes)
Cons: 1. Could be too short for advanced players. Rarely, if ever does a driver need to be thrown more than once.
Other Thoughts: Some people think negatively about pay to play. In order to promote disc golf and build up the sport, the individuals playing it need to invest in it. "The free sport" thinking will have to be in the past to take disc golf to the next level. This is a great pay to play course and I recommend going if you are in the Twin Cities Area.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The Best I've Played...

2-4    7/1/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: jmhoekst
Played: 80  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 1) Very scenic
2) Very well maintained
3) People who play there are normally "classy" and follow the rules
Cons: 1) Pay to play (but it's worth it)
2) Not beginner friendly
3) Can be very buggy at times
Other Thoughts: I have been playing disc golf for three years, and this is by far the best course I've ever played (of about 20 or so). This course requires an arsenal of shot types and control. Hole #17 makes this course well worth it if nothing else. Enjoy!

UPDATE: I now think this course the prettiest, but too short and way too many deuces. Not the most fun.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.