Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Bryant Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: tolson Hole #14 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 286ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 77
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next >
 Bryant Lake another must play

5+    11/14/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: Par 72 Course Design
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
13 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Kinda biased since it was my very first course design, but if what you are looking for is a simply really fun round, Bryant is it. Some long, some short and technical, a few forehands and more. The landscaping is proof in the pudding that PAY TO PLAY IS THE WAY. The $30 season pass is way too cheap, especially in 2009 when Elm Creek opens and the pass is good for all three. (Elm Creek may battle Bryant for most fun). On the hot days, take a dip in the clean lake down the hill.
Cons: Very crowded. Play early. Exit the park at Sunset, the rangers will ticket you.
Other Thoughts: Bryant is a very special course for alot reasons. Enjoy.

13 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Another "Must-Play" in Minnesota

5+    6/3/2011   11/4/2008
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2011
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Like a fine wine, this course keeps getting better with age. For being a relatively "flat" state this MN course has some very well laid-out holes featuring considerable elevation changes allowing you to launch bombs on several holes and work on your precision (threading the needle). There are plenty of trees and natural shrubbery to present challenges making several shots "high risk, high reward"... I love that I can use just about any type of shot in my bag while playing here. The signage, tee pads and overall upkeep of this course are amongst the best I've ever seen. Hole # 17 is my favorite disc golf hole EVER! With the massive elevation change (for a MN course) I have had several near aces on it and aspire to one day soon achieve an ace on this hole. Remember to throw down towards the hole. (Suggestion on #17) Aim a few inches above the railroad tie that holds the retaining wall in place and throw downward. If you throw up or even level with the tee box, you will more than likely have your disc turn over to an undesired location.
Cons: Be careful not to park underneath hole #17, I've seen several discs hit cars over the years of playing here. Other than that, I have ZERO bad things to say about this course.
Other Thoughts: Being a pay to play course doesn't mean you can dump your trash and cigarette butts anywhere you wish... Pick up after yourselves for God's sake. Keep this place pristine as there are not many courses even close to this nice.

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Vastly Improved

5+    10/20/2008   10/23/2008
Review By: jdmbigsky
Played: 45  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.6 Years
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: The new holes are incredible. Well worth the 3 dollars, and in my opinion, one of the top 5 disc courses in the Minneapolis area.
Cons: still way too many people, although they do move pretty fast. Security checks to see if you've paid, so pay up.
Other Thoughts: Wish this was in my backyard.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Beautiful Course in the City

5+    10/20/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: The Parkers
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 36.1 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Close to everything in the Cities. Beautifully manicured. Challenging yet very doable course. Birdie ops!!!
Cons: Never really change the pin placements. Can get busy with oddball groups of disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: play this course, you won't regret it!

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 On vaca

1    10/11/2008   10/14/2008
Review By: Yank it Right
Played: 68  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2011
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful scenery and an ungodly amount of work has gon into this course. The amount of cedar 6x6's for landscaping was ridiculous. Two 4 tier raised greens that where gorgeous. The course had signs when I played. Hole 17 is really neat.
Cons: Managed to scrounge a scorecard on the last hole little bit of a bummer for pay-to-play. A few blind landing areas. Rough could be tough to find discs.
Other Thoughts: Overall well thought out. park really put some money into this course. Really showcases what a course could look like with unlimited budget and creativity. Good challenging par 4's. This course when finally done will really be super.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  NEWLY DONE!

7/8/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: Steaks
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New course! Keep the old fun holes but added a lot of good new ones! This is now a course that takes at least an hour and a half to do. PLUS, not many go on it now cause you have to pay to play.
Cons: It is hard to find a disc in this area even if you are off by a few feet. This is not a course for a beginner! You now have to pay.
Other Thoughts: This is by far on e of the best courses Minnesota has to offer. If you are a disc golfer I believe you all should make a trip to do it cause it is worth every minute!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Quality

1    7/3/2008   7/9/2008
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2009
16 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is one of the most well maintained course I have ever had a chance to play on. All concrete tee pads. Mowed fairways, fresh wood chips in putting area, walkways between holes. Several memorable holes, like 17, where you driver off the top of a huuuuuge hill and shoot to the basket on the opposite hillside. The crosswind turns many shots into rollers. One nice thing about this course is it has some good risk reward shots, like the one with the fence & drop of to right of basket, or raised landing pad on top of a tall wood wall. It makes for some interesting approach shots. You will need a variety of shots from your midrange/approach discs on this course, so be ready. This course has a very nice variety of curves and terrain, which will test not just your execution of multiple shots, but your creativity in applying different shots, and placing them as well.
Cons: The only thing missing was tee signs. Playing it for my first time, I just tagged along with some guys who had done it before, but without them I would've been in deep trouble (some holes have a wooded rough on one side that disguises a cliff. Also, there were no distances or pars labeled, which meant I didn't know what to expect going into the hole, and sometimes couldn't even see the basket I was aiming at.

For a pay to play course this well-cared for and groomed, I would've expected tee signs and labels, or at least a good course map with distances and pars on it. Admittedly it only changed to pay-to-play two days before I played there, but still.

Though this course had several memorable holes, they were not all signature holes that stick out in your mind later on. By and large, the fairways are fairly open, even if they are squeezed. Meaning, it may be a narrow fairway, but usually there aren't dense trees in the middle of it to dodge or a forest canopy overhead. The two things this course lacks are really tight tunnel shots and unique holes involving water. I used most of the discs in my bag, but not all. I didnt reach all the way into my bag of tricks to play this course, but doing multiple shots well really really really helped.

However, I watched several guys just rhbh the whole course, and it seemed the slightest bit too easy. Like, it wont be an easy shot all the time, but you can do it and end up fine without having to do too many crazy annies or hyzers. I think this gnawing critique is a result of this course being a little bit overgroomed. I would prefer a few more trees in the middle of the fairway. Since most fairways are clear of obstacles, it allows more wiggle room in shaping your shot.

However, overgrooming is a matter of personal taste, and this course is overall superb, fun, challenging and a real test of skill. Also, the style of course is not densely wooded. Its a more open course, though there are plenty of trees here, they just dont have maze-like fairways on this course.
Other Thoughts: The people playing here, at least the ones I met, aren't as laid back as other parks in TC, like Acorn or Lakewood Hills. They just seemed to be in a hurry. They paid to play there, so chalk it up to the country club effect i guess, but just be prepared to let groups play through if you aren't speed golfing.

16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.