Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Bryant Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 202ft.   3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 82
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

1    5/6/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: kgibbs
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Just about everything about this course is awesome. A variety of challenging and easier holes, some in the woods and some easily visible.

Being that it's a pay to play it's definitely the best maintained course I have played on with good paths and stairs from hole to hole. It's easy to navigate from one to the next, and they even have scorecards with maps to make it even easier.

Varying terrain and elevation that also makes for a gorgeous view of Bryant Lake. The last hole is my personal favorite, as you have to throw down hill off a huge cliff.
Cons: Obviously it's not free, but you'll get your money out of it anyway.

There's a few tees near the woods where I could see someone loosing a disc, but nothing too bad if you ask me.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful course

1    4/18/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: sorgatz
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great First time experience, the hills offer a great challenge. If i lived near there I would be more the happy to pay 30 dollars for the season.
Cons: The wait time was a little longer then I had hoped but overall wasn't bad.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Perhaps the best course in the area?

2-4    8/15/2008   4/15/2009
Review By: mcrow
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.3 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course in pretty much every way. First it is located in a beautiful park with nice views, a lake and many other extras.

Second, the design is great every shot in your arsenal will be needed to score low on this course.

There are uphill anhyzer shot shots, downhill hyzer shots, spots for rollers, spots for thumbers and everything between.

Standout holes are #16 and #17. #16 is a tight hole with a deep gorge off to the right and trees to the left with a giant rock at the top. If you pass that test you walk over to #17 where you will be chucking from over 100ft above the hole.

Good parking and a reasonable price.
Traffic isn't bad on the course considering the quality.
Cons: Not many things to complain about, the only real issue may be the lack of signs/maps. I admit they may have been added after I last played. The other issue is that this course would be extremely difficult for new players. I know this was not really designed with new players in mind but my advice is for newbies to avoid this one until you have more rounds under your belt.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/18/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 85  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 29.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2009
15 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: To shoot a good game you will need every shot available with the possible exception of a roller. This sounds stupid but the vast majority of courses do not require you to use forehand, backhard, hyzers, anhyzers as well as drive with putters and midranges to shoot a solidly under par round. Many holes would be signature holes on average courses. This parks commitment to disc golf is evident even before you arrive at hole one.

Almost every hole has some sort of landscaping that directs you to the next hole as well as signage. Teepads are near perfect and baskets are in excellent shape. Pretty much is the posterchild for what a pay per play course can be. I am a disc minimalist, usually carrying only 3 molds, and this is the course that made me finally give in and carry a few more. It exposed several weaknesses in my game which is what I like in a course.

Hole 5 is my nemesis on this course. It is a seemingly easy downhill shot with a late dogleg right. I don't know if it is the wind or the deceptive distance but I always underthrow it. Hole 17 is very fun if you have a big arm. A long downhill to a fairly open fairway, it will expose your buddies weenie arm. This isn't a woods course but it uses trees and terrain to shape the fairway frequently. There are holes here for every type of player. I'd say this is a course best suited for an Advanced Intermediate.

Parking is very good and this is a multiple use park, so make a day of it and go swimming between rounds if you are from out of town.
Cons: All holes on this course are fun but some are pretty basic when in certain pin positions. 2 holes have baskets pretty near the bench for the next hole. Yeah, I am picking nits. Hole 15 is being redone and some erosion work is also being done in that area. There is really nothing here that will prevent it from becoming a 5 star once the work is done.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the Twin Cities area a year pass is a no brainer. There is a bathroom about 2/3 of the way through the course. Bring water.

Try to park in the lot very near the entry gate. It is close to hole 1 and hole 18 and also safe from all but the most errant throw imaginable.

15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 memorable course with wide variety of shots

5+    11/5/2008   11/23/2008
Review By: tom04
Played: 59  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2009
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: fairways are mowed

lots of elevation

hole 17

enough trees

requires to use every disc in the bag

very well maintained course

pay to play
Cons: the rough on some of the shots, hard to find discs

a bit busy
Other Thoughts: terrific course, try out Elm Creek and Hyland Hills as well

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Bryant Lake another must play

5+    11/14/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: Par 72 Course Design
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
14 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Kinda biased since it was my very first course design, but if what you are looking for is a simply really fun round, Bryant is it. Some long, some short and technical, a few forehands and more. The landscaping is proof in the pudding that PAY TO PLAY IS THE WAY. The $30 season pass is way too cheap, especially in 2009 when Elm Creek opens and the pass is good for all three. (Elm Creek may battle Bryant for most fun). On the hot days, take a dip in the clean lake down the hill.
Cons: Very crowded. Play early. Exit the park at Sunset, the rangers will ticket you.
Other Thoughts: Bryant is a very special course for alot reasons. Enjoy.

14 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Another "Must-Play" in Minnesota

5+    6/3/2011   11/4/2008
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2011
4 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Like a fine wine, this course keeps getting better with age. For being a relatively "flat" state this MN course has some very well laid-out holes featuring considerable elevation changes allowing you to launch bombs on several holes and work on your precision (threading the needle). There are plenty of trees and natural shrubbery to present challenges making several shots "high risk, high reward"... I love that I can use just about any type of shot in my bag while playing here. The signage, tee pads and overall upkeep of this course are amongst the best I've ever seen. Hole # 17 is my favorite disc golf hole EVER! With the massive elevation change (for a MN course) I have had several near aces on it and aspire to one day soon achieve an ace on this hole. Remember to throw down towards the hole. (Suggestion on #17) Aim a few inches above the railroad tie that holds the retaining wall in place and throw downward. If you throw up or even level with the tee box, you will more than likely have your disc turn over to an undesired location.
Cons: Be careful not to park underneath hole #17, I've seen several discs hit cars over the years of playing here. Other than that, I have ZERO bad things to say about this course.
Other Thoughts: Being a pay to play course doesn't mean you can dump your trash and cigarette butts anywhere you wish... Pick up after yourselves for God's sake. Keep this place pristine as there are not many courses even close to this nice.

4 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Vastly Improved

5+    10/20/2008   10/23/2008
Review By: jdmbigsky
Played: 45  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.5 Years
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: The new holes are incredible. Well worth the 3 dollars, and in my opinion, one of the top 5 disc courses in the Minneapolis area.
Cons: still way too many people, although they do move pretty fast. Security checks to see if you've paid, so pay up.
Other Thoughts: Wish this was in my backyard.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Beautiful Course in the City

5+    10/20/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: The Parkers
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 37 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Close to everything in the Cities. Beautifully manicured. Challenging yet very doable course. Birdie ops!!!
Cons: Never really change the pin placements. Can get busy with oddball groups of disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: play this course, you won't regret it!

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 On vaca

1    10/11/2008   10/14/2008
Review By: Yank it Right
Played: 68  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2011
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful scenery and an ungodly amount of work has gon into this course. The amount of cedar 6x6's for landscaping was ridiculous. Two 4 tier raised greens that where gorgeous. The course had signs when I played. Hole 17 is really neat.
Cons: Managed to scrounge a scorecard on the last hole little bit of a bummer for pay-to-play. A few blind landing areas. Rough could be tough to find discs.
Other Thoughts: Overall well thought out. park really put some money into this course. Really showcases what a course could look like with unlimited budget and creativity. Good challenging par 4's. This course when finally done will really be super.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.