Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Bryant Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 128ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign

Reviews: 85
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Scenic, fun, awesome.

1    9/17/2015   11/17/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 171  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located in Minneapolis, MN

Concrete tee pads, with two on nearly every hole. Long, grippy, just about as perfect as can be.

Discatcher baskets, all in near perfect repair. Most holes have two permanent pins, with the shorts in yellow and the longs in blue. Pretty great.

Excellent tee signs at each hole, with distance and hole layout and par. Also, bag holders as well. A very nice touch. Navigation was pretty darn simple.

I can't imagine a scenario where a course could be any better manicured. Perfect mowing, built up tees and pin positions, stone paver paths...it's a sight to behold.

While this isn't the toughest course in the world, it's damn fun. Good variation in distance, lots of rolling hills and elevation, and a pretty large selection of shots. There's a hint of openness to the course, but it's designed well enough that you don't ever feel like it's an open course. The top of the world shot on hole 17 is fantastic, as well....one of the best I've played.

Speaking of sights to behold, the views here are pretty stunning. Looking out over Lake Bryant from on top of the hill is probably a top 5 scenic view in my disc golf experiences. I don't often stop to click pictures of the scenery on a course, but I definitely did here.
Cons: There's not much to bad here. P2P ($5) isn't everybody's cup of tea, but with amenities like this, it's really hard to complain about it.

LOTS of traffic here during peak hours. We were here on a beautiful Saturday afternoon, and we paid the price. I'd assume it's not as bad during weekdays. This is a popular course, and for good reason.

As mentioned above, there's a fair amount of holes that are relatively open. Fortunately, most of those have some sort of elevation involved, and they're relatively well spaced out on the course. The prairie grass on these holes can eat some discs, though...especially on windy days.

Other Thoughts: Simply put, this is a fantastic course in a fantastic area for disc golf. If I get back to this area, I will definitely be back again. If YOU get to this area, you're doing yourself a major disservice by not playing it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Impeccably maintained, so close to perfection

2-4    10/15/2015   10/16/2015
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well maintained
-Golfers respect the course and it shows
-Garbage cans, benches, brooms, bag hangers, & detailed signs at every hole
-Very long, level tee pads
-Well marked navigation from hole to hole
-Good mix of short and long, left and right fades
-Good use of elevation changes throughout
-Bathroom accessibility near several holes
Cons: -There isn't much in the way of heavily wooded holes
-Moderate difficulty at most
Other Thoughts: First off, this is a wonderful course. Three River Park District impeccably maintains the grounds and course. Because of this care, the disc golfers respect the course and don't trash it. Every single hole has a garbage can, recycling can, bench, bag holder, detailed sign with map, and broom to sweep off the tee pad. Many holes also have those smoker things to put used cigarettes in. Because of all these efforts the course is remarkably clean with almost no trash anywhere it shouldn't be. The grass is kept nicely mowed and an areas that could be prone to erosion are maintained nicely with wood chips.

The hole design for the most part is a nice mix between straight, left and right fades. There are also nice elevation changes on many holes. You will have to employ multiple throwing styles and or release angles. That being said, the course isn't overly wooded and you really won't be punished too much for straying from the fairway. There isn't a hole on the course that I would consider a wooded hole, as none of them go through the forest. Generally speaking, if a hole is wooded it only is near the basket and/or tee pad but not the length of the hole. The course is not overly difficult by any stretch. Advanced players may not find the course to be challenging enough, but it is a perfect course for beginners and intermediate players. Advanced players may want to visit a place like Kaposia instead.

There is some very nice scenery of Bryant Lake and the park as a whole throughout the course. Wind can become an issue on the later, higher holes. Hole 17 is one where you should empty your bag if you can. You throw from the top of a cliff across the road and parking lot to the basket over 500' away. Crosswinds can wreak havoc on your throw if the wind is blowing that day.

All in all, this is an excellent course and the only thing preventing me from giving a full 5 star rating is the overall lack of challenge, mostly because of a lack of true wooded holes. This is a course that you should be sure to visit at least once, as it is easily one of the top 5 in the state.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

sweet course

2-4    9/18/2015   9/24/2015
Review By: Sithas
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is flat out awesome. The landscaping is very nice. Everything was super clean on the course and the tee pads. Loved everything about this place so played it twice. Shot 2 over 2nd time around.
Cons: The only con of this place was the restroom by hole #1. It stunk horribly lol. Would be nice if it was pumped out.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another Minnesota Gem

5+    7/26/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: BogeyPar Guy
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -impeccably maintained
-landscaped professionally
-highlights what a parks dept. can do with a course with some money
-Great mix of shots with real disc golf holes
-Pay 2 play
-no dogs
Cons: Can be busy, but thats not a bad thing for a pay 2 play.
Other Thoughts: Bryant Lake really set the bar for the Minneapolis area when it was remodeled a few years back. This place makes the parks dept. so much money it is ridiculous. A good score here is 48 or less as most of the holes you should be able to get. I love this course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful course and well maintained

1    8/15/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: bukosknr
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 0.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2015
4 Helpful / 1 Not
-Teepads are concrete and great
-Bag Holders are nice and strong
-Waste and butt containers
-Nice Score cards and course map
-Scenery and the view are amazing throughout the course
-Elevation changes were stupid fun. Hole 17 is a great example of that, but there are others.
-Course was clean
-Markers and signage was excellent.
-All the greens were great and perfectly maintained.
There were a few small things that really came down to projects unfinished. So I don't want to call them complete cons because its nice they are making changes and adding great new ways to make it look and play great. There were wood chip huge piles and not raked smooth, there were sections of grass they were trying to get to grow back etc etc.
I also feel the course if very forehand friendly, which I am not good at. Not to say its required or anything, just my opinion.
Other Thoughts:
While playing it once and being newer to the sport I can't speak too much on the technical aspects of the course. While I found it to be very challenging the entire way through I bet more skilled players could add more comments to that part.

What I loved was how great the course was maintained, groomed and all the work into the landscaping. Little things like rock paths and retaining walls were just so great. Lots of nice steps and paths. Following it was very easy.

You can tell playing this course a lot of care and thought went into planning it and its design. You can tell the difference between this and other courses immediately when you get to the first hole.

This is certainly (if not the) one of the best courses I've ever had the chance to play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    7/15/2015   7/15/2015
Review By: Fepowerguy8
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Upkept very well, everything is in great condition, lots of trash containers and recycling, and even places to hang your disc bag, easy to navigate, nice tee pads and baskets. Not very crowded during a weekday
Cons: All shots are straight ahead, not super challenging, still a very nice course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Prepare to be Astonished

2-4    7/10/2015   7/15/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 244  Reviewed: 228  Exp: 4.2 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: OK, OK, I know I'm going out on a limb a little bit with a 5.0 rating for a course that won't truly challenge the top players to bring their best game every time. But Bryant Lake fits my personal criterion for a 'perfect' rating because it does everything right, then goes WAY beyond the 'necessary', and will appeal to the widest range of players possible. I have only given this out four times in 201 reviews, but Bryant Lake Park earns one.

Why? Let's address the disc golf play first. You've got the variety of having at least two tees for every hole (blue and yellow), and usually have two baskets permanently in place to choose from (also yellow and blue). Casual players will have a lot of fun throwing yellow to yellow, while Intermediate to even Advanced players will enjoy blue to blue. They'll be able to keep it fresh by mixing up tees and pins for four options on nearly every hole. You'll be throwing blind tee shots, in and out of the woods, astonishing elevation shots, and enjoying the scenery of the dedicated park space up on the hills overlooking a pretty lake.

But what floored me was the infrastructure. Picture an enormous, trapezoidal, level concrete tee with metal benches, trash, recycle bins, 'ash trays', perfect tee signs, brooms, and retaining terraces, steps, brick and stone paved walkways, protective netting, and every landscaping feature you've ever seen on a course, then multiply it for multiple tees, terraced basket positions, fantastic course maintenance, fresh mulch constituting almost the entire putting surface for every basket, etc. etc. I mean, you'll never forget standing on the long tee for 11, realizing they've put up the safety netting on your left to protect you from the blind, downhill, hyzer throws off the 10th tee above, and staring down at maybe 150 feet of brick paved slope taking you halfway to the basket. Or realizing that most course designers would be happy putting the basket behind a boulder for a fun challenge (on 16), but they've actually terraced and paved stones around the feature!). And you might do like I did after throwing the top of the world shot on 17, and try to count the stairs you walk down to the fairway (about 100). Have you ever put in landscape stairs? This incredible feature is only there to access 1/36th of the course, really. Wow!

The pictures here on the web site give you a hint, but you really need to come check this out. It's astonishing!
Cons: Most folks can only find one or two negatives about Bryant Lake, and those are the fact that the challenge isn't championship caliber, and the design leans a little left to right overall. Doesn't really bother me. I play disc golf first for the fun, and second for the challenge. So if you're in the same boat, it might be really hard to find a 'con' about this course. Maybe the fact that the elevations will give you a hard time if you're not in shape? Maybe tens of thousands of dollars in course infrastructure isn't worth $5 per play or $45 per year to you. That's cool. Just know these are the facts going in, and, if you're like me, you'd say: wish I lived close by, because I'd pay that annual fee for a course like this in a heartbeat.

All right, I'll admit: as I racked my brain, I had to say that the parking is a little awkward. The best place to park is to the left after the entrance, and beside the 18th basket, the practice net and two practice baskets, there in the shade. 'Overflow' parking by the 15th tee would be the second choice, but I'd avoid parking downhill where shots that turn over to the right off of 17 long have a decent chance of dinging a parked car.
Other Thoughts: If I ever get back to the Twin Cities, there are a huge number of quality courses to play, but I'll be setting aside a day each time to play this one again and again.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.


1    5/15/2015   5/17/2015
Review By: alex cincy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Excellent condition. Large tee pads. Clear signage at the tee and also after the baskets. Fairways apear to be groomed regularly and every green is mulched. Trash cans and ash trays at every tee along with benches and bag holders.

The course provided a good challenge: there were many long shots as well as several technical situations. Overall this course was planned very well. I would easily pay $5 again - if I lived closer I would definitely have a season pass.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    8/31/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: hnosaj
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.7 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Groomed fairways, difficult rough, challenging elevation, trees, excellent tee pads, trash cans, recycling, benches and bag hangers at each hole. Simply put it's gorgeous
Cons: None that I could find. If this is what $5/round gets us every park should start charging.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.


1    7/20/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: dutchrunningriot
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Bryant Lake is a phenomenal course. The course features multiple pads with that even have bag holders. The hole descriptors were helpful and accurate for a first-time player on the course. The holes themselves (there are a few holes with multiple baskets) are surrounded by mulch. There are clear signs to where the next tees are and easy to navigate. The holes themselves offer a great deal of variety and length.
Cons: Pay to play ($5 or $35 for a seasonal pass)
Other Thoughts: The course was well worth the money spent to play the course.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.