Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Bryant Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 248ft.   4 / 424ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 89
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Exceptional

5+    5/15/2016   5/21/2016
Review By: redvinesfrolf
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent pads, two baskets a hole, every aspect of signage is well-done and helpful.
-Varied and interesting design on each hole.
-Well-conditioned grounds. The Park District works constantly to enhance the place with fantastic results.
-Enough elevation, which they make good use of.
-Restroom and water fountain accessible before 1 and after 14.
-Scenery is very nice.
Cons: -Not super challenging for the experienced player.
-Often very crowded.
Other Thoughts: Bryant Lake is an awesome course. It's very well taken care of, and constantly improved upon. It has many memorable holes, especially 5, 7, and 17. It's one of the best around the Twin Cities (or anywhere, for that matter) and certainly deserves a play. Also, the Three Rivers Park pass is a must for anyone who plays around here or Hyland. The two are very different but both are outstanding courses that can be enjoyed again and again. Since the Park District seems committed to improvement (11's tee and the net and the stairs before 15 were redone before 2016), I hope they will add more tee and basket options to lengthen the course and expose the many interesting playing angles possible on an outstanding piece of land.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Price hike

5+    4/16/2016   4/18/2016
Review By: Bobafred78
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: landscaping
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. Paying $5, $6 or $7 is fine. Just play more than one round to make it worth the investment. However making the daily fee $6.50 was a silly decision. Just make it an even dollar amount!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

WOW!! Best Course I've Played

1    10/20/2014   4/6/2016
Review By: mjz22
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging!! Fun!! Beautiful Course (scenery and landscaping are incredible) Perfectly Manicured, Disc Golf Park Only (no other activities on the premises), no pets, no litter, benches, multiple baskets and tees, perfectly marked and mapped. Hole 17 is unbelievable as already stated over and over again.
Cons: Uhm.... I wish there wasn't a winter in Minnesota, otherwise I would be here all year round :)
Other Thoughts: $5 is a very small price to pay for what you get to enjoy out of this course - its features, maintenance, and the overall aesthetics are very tough to beat

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Will be coming back.

2-4    4/3/2016   4/3/2016
Review By: drumm3rn4ut
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course overall with its own little quirks. First off, the tee pads were great. All of the teepads had a color at the front: blue for long and yellow for short. Most of the holes had two tee pads on them, some with three because one wasn't officially used anymore.
Next up, the baskets. Most of the holes had two baskets on them. They were color coded, again yellow and blue. Usually the blue tee pad had a better view to the blue basket. All of the baskets were in great condition and caught well.
Most of the holes had their own layout/design. Some of them were kind of repetitive, not to the point of them being bad. Some of the holes had a great view of the lake, and if you weren't careful, your disc could end up there too. 17 was probably the most fun hole there because of the massive elevation change. You throw off a massive hill over a road. You have to judge the wind and what disc you are using, or else you could hit a car in the parking lot to the right or OB to the left or right.
Cons: With the whole disc hitting a car, don't park in the parking lot off of hole 17 or there is a good chance you car is going to be hit. I saw mine get hit and luckily it wasn't damaged. Also, going from hole 14 to 15 was a bit confusing and led me the wrong way. Today was a busy day because it was a warm spring day on the weekend. I had to wait on every single hole for a while.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Bryant Lake Park is a great place to disc golf if you are around. The course is well up kept and clean. This is a pay to play courses, and the fee was raised to around $6.20.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Scenic, fun, awesome.

1    9/17/2015   11/17/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 222  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 4.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located in Minneapolis, MN

Concrete tee pads, with two on nearly every hole. Long, grippy, just about as perfect as can be.

Discatcher baskets, all in near perfect repair. Most holes have two permanent pins, with the shorts in yellow and the longs in blue. Pretty great.

Excellent tee signs at each hole, with distance and hole layout and par. Also, bag holders as well. A very nice touch. Navigation was pretty darn simple.

I can't imagine a scenario where a course could be any better manicured. Perfect mowing, built up tees and pin positions, stone paver paths...it's a sight to behold.

While this isn't the toughest course in the world, it's damn fun. Good variation in distance, lots of rolling hills and elevation, and a pretty large selection of shots. There's a hint of openness to the course, but it's designed well enough that you don't ever feel like it's an open course. The top of the world shot on hole 17 is fantastic, as well....one of the best I've played.

Speaking of sights to behold, the views here are pretty stunning. Looking out over Lake Bryant from on top of the hill is probably a top 5 scenic view in my disc golf experiences. I don't often stop to click pictures of the scenery on a course, but I definitely did here.
Cons: There's not much to bad here. P2P ($5) isn't everybody's cup of tea, but with amenities like this, it's really hard to complain about it.

LOTS of traffic here during peak hours. We were here on a beautiful Saturday afternoon, and we paid the price. I'd assume it's not as bad during weekdays. This is a popular course, and for good reason.

As mentioned above, there's a fair amount of holes that are relatively open. Fortunately, most of those have some sort of elevation involved, and they're relatively well spaced out on the course. The prairie grass on these holes can eat some discs, though...especially on windy days.



Other Thoughts: Simply put, this is a fantastic course in a fantastic area for disc golf. If I get back to this area, I will definitely be back again. If YOU get to this area, you're doing yourself a major disservice by not playing it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Impeccably maintained, so close to perfection

2-4    10/15/2015   10/16/2015
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well maintained
-Golfers respect the course and it shows
-Garbage cans, benches, brooms, bag hangers, & detailed signs at every hole
-Very long, level tee pads
-Well marked navigation from hole to hole
-Good mix of short and long, left and right fades
-Good use of elevation changes throughout
-Bathroom accessibility near several holes
Cons: -There isn't much in the way of heavily wooded holes
-Moderate difficulty at most
Other Thoughts: First off, this is a wonderful course. Three River Park District impeccably maintains the grounds and course. Because of this care, the disc golfers respect the course and don't trash it. Every single hole has a garbage can, recycling can, bench, bag holder, detailed sign with map, and broom to sweep off the tee pad. Many holes also have those smoker things to put used cigarettes in. Because of all these efforts the course is remarkably clean with almost no trash anywhere it shouldn't be. The grass is kept nicely mowed and an areas that could be prone to erosion are maintained nicely with wood chips.

The hole design for the most part is a nice mix between straight, left and right fades. There are also nice elevation changes on many holes. You will have to employ multiple throwing styles and or release angles. That being said, the course isn't overly wooded and you really won't be punished too much for straying from the fairway. There isn't a hole on the course that I would consider a wooded hole, as none of them go through the forest. Generally speaking, if a hole is wooded it only is near the basket and/or tee pad but not the length of the hole. The course is not overly difficult by any stretch. Advanced players may not find the course to be challenging enough, but it is a perfect course for beginners and intermediate players. Advanced players may want to visit a place like Kaposia instead.

There is some very nice scenery of Bryant Lake and the park as a whole throughout the course. Wind can become an issue on the later, higher holes. Hole 17 is one where you should empty your bag if you can. You throw from the top of a cliff across the road and parking lot to the basket over 500' away. Crosswinds can wreak havoc on your throw if the wind is blowing that day.

All in all, this is an excellent course and the only thing preventing me from giving a full 5 star rating is the overall lack of challenge, mostly because of a lack of true wooded holes. This is a course that you should be sure to visit at least once, as it is easily one of the top 5 in the state.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

sweet course

2-4    9/18/2015   9/24/2015
Review By: Sithas
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is flat out awesome. The landscaping is very nice. Everything was super clean on the course and the tee pads. Loved everything about this place so played it twice. Shot 2 over 2nd time around.
Cons: The only con of this place was the restroom by hole #1. It stunk horribly lol. Would be nice if it was pumped out.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Another Minnesota Gem

5+    7/26/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: BogeyPar Guy
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -impeccably maintained
-landscaped professionally
-highlights what a parks dept. can do with a course with some money
-Great mix of shots with real disc golf holes
-Pay 2 play
-no dogs
Cons: Can be busy, but thats not a bad thing for a pay 2 play.
Other Thoughts: Bryant Lake really set the bar for the Minneapolis area when it was remodeled a few years back. This place makes the parks dept. so much money it is ridiculous. A good score here is 48 or less as most of the holes you should be able to get. I love this course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful course and well maintained

1    8/15/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: bukosknr
Played: 42  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2015
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Teepads are concrete and great
-Bag Holders are nice and strong
-Waste and butt containers
-Nice Score cards and course map
-Scenery and the view are amazing throughout the course
-Elevation changes were stupid fun. Hole 17 is a great example of that, but there are others.
-Course was clean
-Markers and signage was excellent.
-All the greens were great and perfectly maintained.
Cons:
There were a few small things that really came down to projects unfinished. So I don't want to call them complete cons because its nice they are making changes and adding great new ways to make it look and play great. There were wood chip huge piles and not raked smooth, there were sections of grass they were trying to get to grow back etc etc.
I also feel the course if very forehand friendly, which I am not good at. Not to say its required or anything, just my opinion.
Other Thoughts:
While playing it once and being newer to the sport I can't speak too much on the technical aspects of the course. While I found it to be very challenging the entire way through I bet more skilled players could add more comments to that part.

What I loved was how great the course was maintained, groomed and all the work into the landscaping. Little things like rock paths and retaining walls were just so great. Lots of nice steps and paths. Following it was very easy.

You can tell playing this course a lot of care and thought went into planning it and its design. You can tell the difference between this and other courses immediately when you get to the first hole.

This is certainly (if not the) one of the best courses I've ever had the chance to play.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

1    7/15/2015   7/15/2015
Review By: Fepowerguy8
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Upkept very well, everything is in great condition, lots of trash containers and recycling, and even places to hang your disc bag, easy to navigate, nice tee pads and baskets. Not very crowded during a weekday
Cons: All shots are straight ahead, not super challenging, still a very nice course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.