Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Bryant Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 146ft.   3 / 238ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Baskets

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 91
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Near perfect

5+    4/26/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: Mblack4
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6
7 Helpful / 0 Not
> 18 holes with a ton of variance between each
> Tons of elevation, including a huge downhill shot on 17
> Plenty of shot shaping required
> Solid mix of long and short holes
> Great upkeep, solid tee-pads with a bench and bag holders nearby every time
> Great direction to each hole from the previous basket

Minor pros:
> Scenery/view from certain holes is amazing
> Close to the cities, as well as several other DGCs
> Seems to be slightly imbalanced in regards to difficulty (I'll elaborate later)

Minor cons:
> Can get very busy, probably due to location and quality of the course
Other Thoughts: You'll hear a lot of people talking about Blue Ribbon Pines DGC in MN, but honestly I like Bryant Lake Park just a bit more. First of all, the upkeep is absolutely phenomenal, and it feels like a high quality course throughout all 18 holes. Garbage and recycling bins can be found at the start of every hole, along with a bench, bag holders, and a sturdy tee pad.

My one issue with this course is that there are a few holes right around 200-250 ft, that are pretty hard to bogey unless you have a bad putt. Which is fine, but you then also have holes like 17 that can test your driving strength and accuracy. I prefer a course to have a consistent difficulty, but BLP just has too many holes that are too easy.

Regardless, that's a minor flaw in an otherwise near perfect course. And although there are easy holes, be prepared for uphill shots, water hazards, and some heavy woods that will claim a disc thrown off-course. There are multiple tees and baskets for those who want a more casual play-through.

For me personally, this course shines on holes 1 - 7, as well as 15 - 18, but everything in-between will definitely keep you interested as well.

Here's a few things to keep in mind:
> There are three parking lots, but one of them puts you in the path of huge downhill shot on 17.
> There is no pro shop here, but you can buy discs from the Super America gas station on shady oak road, just a minute or so from the course
> Scorecards with maps, and pencils are usually available by the bulletin board before Hole 1
> Costs $5 to play, but you can get an annual pass for $30 or $35 that gives you access to Bryant Lake, Elm Creek, and Hyland (which unfortunately is closed for 2014). They usually let you use an old day pass towards your annual pass as well.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  One of the Best!

5+    6/22/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: cant buy bird
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: All holes are well maintained and easy to follow. The difficulty is intermediate or higher, but can still be a fun course for beginners (if playing short tees.) The long tee for 17, enough said for that! Each hole has bag holders, benches, and garbage and recycling bins.
Cons: None that I can really think of. I am sure if I looked hard enough I could find a few.
Other Thoughts: If you have not played this course, I highly recommend you do so. It is worth the $5 day pass. Or if you live close, $30 for the yearly, which includes Hyland Ski and Snowboard and Elm Creek. Also fun courses.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    7/14/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: firebotter
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2013
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Layout is excellent. Signage is excellent. Facilities are excellent. Good challenge for all levels of play. With two baskets and two tees, you can play a different game everytime you play. Beautiful views for most of the course. Clean!!! The course offers a variety of elevations and open and wooded ares. 17 is by far one of the most fun with a huge downhill shot.
Cons: Cost five bucks. (Not really a con when you think about where the money goes)
Other Thoughts: This is an absolutely outstanding course. I will play again and again (at least untill I go broke).

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best Kept Course

5+    7/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: Eagleclaw
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great tees, both short and long on almost every hole
-Multiple pin positions on many holes, allows for up to 4 different ways to play some of the holes to mix up the course
-Immaculate fairways, always mowed and kept clean
-Rough is not super long prairie grass, it is only knee high on most holes, allowing for easy disc retrieval if you have a decent line on where you went in
-long enough for pros to have a challenge playing everything par 3, but short enough that course par is friendly to beginner and intermediate players as well
-the park has made very good use of the pay to play money, doing upgrades every year...check out this link to see what it used to look like http://www.playdg.com/courses...;c=bryantlake
- Bag holders, trash, and recycling on every hole keeps the course clean
- Maps of every hole so you know where to throw if it is your first time, along with posted signs pointing you to the next tee
-either open enough or multiple throwing lines on most holes, friendly to lefties and righties or backhands and forehands, allows you to work on your weak shots or play to your strengths depending what you are in the mood to do
- good use of elevation changes without being too harsh
-Immaculate woodchip greens on every hole
- sand traps and out of bounds penalty areas are posted
-Most holes separated enough to not be in risk of conflict with other players, hole 10 &11 being the only slight exception
-Course is separated from the rest of the park, so no interference from non-players
-Nice swimming beach to cool off after your round, along with canoe, kayak, paddle board, and paddle boat rentals available
-Hole 17 is a top of the world shot that can be either extremely frustrating or extremely gratifying, but fun and memorable every time you throw from up there
Cons: -Hole 10 is blind downhill and the tee for 11 is near enough that a shanked throw could end up by the tee or hit someone
-Some would say pay to play is a con, but $5 is worth the day or a season pass for $35 is more than fair if you are from the area, and the park uses the money well
Other Thoughts: I am biased as this is my home course, but I believe Bryant is the best course in the metro. Relatively quick play for an 18 hole course, and there are other attractions in the area. Definitely worth your time if you can play it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Incredibly Beautiful Course

2-4    7/3/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: emiller3
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 1 Not
+ This course is incredibly well kept up and beautiful, well worth the $5 fee
+ Great use of elevation
+ Wide variety of shots required
+ Love that both baskets are in place all the time
+ Trash cans, benches, bag hangers galore.
+ Tee signs well done and very clear signs pointing you to the next basket
+ Tee pads in great shape
+ Overall, course flow is well done
+ Fairways are well defined and rough is typical for the area, thick but you can get in their a usually find your disc.
+ Hole 17 is epic, a couple others are very scenic as well
- Overall challenge could be better, I've played this course three times over the last three summers and am pretty much guaranteed to shoot under par (playing par 55) in the long pin positions. The course par is a bit of a joke, I think I was -11 according to the posted par, I would recommend playing everything except 8 long as a par 3.
- Pin positions are static, wish they had more.
Other Thoughts: I play Bryant Lake Park every summer on my annual trip to visit the in-laws. It's an incredibly well cared for course, it's been a unique experience for me, it's the closest experience to the country club atmosphere of ball golf that I've had. If they added alternate pin positions that increased the challenge a little, I'd rate this course a 5, there would be nothing I could find wrong with it.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    9/16/2012   5/29/2013
Review By: rarintal
Played: 82  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Immaculate upkeep, thought out and challenging holes, multiple hole layouts for almost all holes that allows it to change from day to day, second to last hole is throwing basically off of a cliff and it's awesome to see the disc soar through the air
Cons: not many
Other Thoughts: very well put together with a variety of holes

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite/Home Course

5+    8/25/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 55  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's my home course, so I'm somewhat biased, but it is one of the nicest courses I have ever played. The tee pads, landscaping, and buckets are in excellent condition. There are plenty of birdie/ace opportunities to go after as well. The course also offers several elevation changes and opportunities for a variety of shots. Hole 10 is a short par 3 on top of a hill, which creates for an awesome view of the lake, not to mention the ace opportunity. Hole 17 is definitely the signature hole. It's around 550 ft. and plays downhill probably 200 ft with an awesome tiered pin placement tucked into the hill.
Cons: Besides being a little busy at times, I really don't have any real complaints about Bryant, just some small, nit-picky things. First off, I wish there were a few more holes in the woods, which would make the course a little more challenging. My least favorite hole on the course would have to be 13, it's a really short downhill hole that plays to the right and really adds no value to the rest of the course. Lastly, the stairs on hole 17 really need to be replaced, as the are somewhat of a safety hazard.
Other Thoughts: I have played it over 100 times and it never gets old, especially hole 17. It is one of the nicest pay to play courses I have ever played besides Blue Ribbon Pines. Considering all of the money that has been put into the development of this course, it should really have a practice pin to warm up on. A great location would be right by the gravel parking lot. All things considered however, the investment in the course really shows with new benches, signs, and bag holders on every hole and I think many more courses should follow suit.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    8/25/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: frolfer97
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Very nice landscaped course
-Variety of shots makes for a challenge
-Lots of elevation changes
-You'll definitely remember hole #17 which has you teeing off of a cliff
-Great signage
Cons: -Some spots are very overgrown, we spent a long time looking for disks that had strayed off course
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth playing if you are in the area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/23/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: berzerker
Played: 45  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: lots of different shots. clean and well maintained, very nice landscaping
Cons: its like vietnam, chuckers everywhere and theres a 3 hole sweep where you could die from errant shots on other holes. bring a helmet
Other Thoughts: 2 scenic and memorable holes, but other than that not very challenging

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    7/21/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large, multi-use park with lots of other activities going on. Luckily, the disc golf is well separated from everything else, there shouldn't be any interference.
- Majority of the course are holes with mowed fairways and nasty rough to avoid. While there aren't many trees to avoid in the fairway itself, there are definitely lines that need to be hit, and places to get in serious trouble. A good variety, with RHBH hyzers, anhyzers, flicks, and tricky straight shots. Hyzers include a gradual one on #9, #10, and #14, and a sharper one on #10. Some shorter flick shots like #3 and #6, and longer annys like #8 and #18. Some cool straight shots like #1 past some trees, a flex on #2, a pinch point on #5, and a long downhill bomber on #17.
- A few other holes have more trees to contend with, like a very small RHFH hyzer on #13, a tight downhill tunnel hyzer on #16, a gap over a hill on #15, and a very cool basket placement behind trees and a built-up wall on #4. There is a wide route on the left, otherwise it's a dead straight shot.
- A good amount of spots have elevation changes, both gradual and pretty extreme. #1 is a low valley, #3 is a slight uphill, #5 has an elevated pad, #6 is back uphill, #9 is slightly uphill, #10 has a good downslope, #13 is slightly down, #15 is up and over a hump off the tee, #16 is downhill, and #17 is a BIG downhill. A very good mix from start to finish. There are also many spots where the land slopes off of the fairway, so an errant shot can be in SERIOUS trouble. #6 and #7 are very nasty to the left, past the basket on #9 is rough, must be avoided at all costs.
- Some very cool basket positions, #3 is on a built-up platform, #7 is up a multi-tiered structure, #15 is on an 'island' past some sand, #16 is located directly behind a large boulder, and #17 is on a HUGE built-up, multi-level wood platform.
- A few spots with water, more marshy than anything else. Still hazardous, and something to look out for.
- Amenities here are top-notch; excellent signs, great teepads and baskets, benches, erosion control, paths, stairs, you name it. Only thing missing is a practice basket.
Cons: - Since most of the holes are out of the woods, there are some pretty open lines. Being able to follow the usual hyzer or anyhyzer lines can be good enough to score well. There are holes with gaps to hit, certainly, but a lot of them are very forgiving.
- Course is pretty friendly to left handed players, with only a few holes that require a true hyzer line. A straight shot is usually good enough in almost all cases if all else fails.
- A little bit on the shorter side; there are five holes under 250', and some of the longer shots are downhill, like #1, #5, #10, #11, #16, and even the longest hole #17.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a very enjoyable course that has a very high fun factor and a good variety of shots. There are a lot of unique holes, like the block-off green on #4, the gap shot on #15, the cool boulder on #16, and of course the mega-bomber on #17. The elevation changes really make things interesting, and missing your lines can be big trouble. Beginners might want to hold off on this one for a little bit, everyone else should thoroughly enjoy it.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.