Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Bryant Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 286ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 82
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Intermediate

1    7/21/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 444  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large, multi-use park with lots of other activities going on. Luckily, the disc golf is well separated from everything else, there shouldn't be any interference.
- Majority of the course are holes with mowed fairways and nasty rough to avoid. While there aren't many trees to avoid in the fairway itself, there are definitely lines that need to be hit, and places to get in serious trouble. A good variety, with RHBH hyzers, anhyzers, flicks, and tricky straight shots. Hyzers include a gradual one on #9, #10, and #14, and a sharper one on #10. Some shorter flick shots like #3 and #6, and longer annys like #8 and #18. Some cool straight shots like #1 past some trees, a flex on #2, a pinch point on #5, and a long downhill bomber on #17.
- A few other holes have more trees to contend with, like a very small RHFH hyzer on #13, a tight downhill tunnel hyzer on #16, a gap over a hill on #15, and a very cool basket placement behind trees and a built-up wall on #4. There is a wide route on the left, otherwise it's a dead straight shot.
- A good amount of spots have elevation changes, both gradual and pretty extreme. #1 is a low valley, #3 is a slight uphill, #5 has an elevated pad, #6 is back uphill, #9 is slightly uphill, #10 has a good downslope, #13 is slightly down, #15 is up and over a hump off the tee, #16 is downhill, and #17 is a BIG downhill. A very good mix from start to finish. There are also many spots where the land slopes off of the fairway, so an errant shot can be in SERIOUS trouble. #6 and #7 are very nasty to the left, past the basket on #9 is rough, must be avoided at all costs.
- Some very cool basket positions, #3 is on a built-up platform, #7 is up a multi-tiered structure, #15 is on an 'island' past some sand, #16 is located directly behind a large boulder, and #17 is on a HUGE built-up, multi-level wood platform.
- A few spots with water, more marshy than anything else. Still hazardous, and something to look out for.
- Amenities here are top-notch; excellent signs, great teepads and baskets, benches, erosion control, paths, stairs, you name it. Only thing missing is a practice basket.
Cons: - Since most of the holes are out of the woods, there are some pretty open lines. Being able to follow the usual hyzer or anyhyzer lines can be good enough to score well. There are holes with gaps to hit, certainly, but a lot of them are very forgiving.
- Course is pretty friendly to left handed players, with only a few holes that require a true hyzer line. A straight shot is usually good enough in almost all cases if all else fails.
- A little bit on the shorter side; there are five holes under 250', and some of the longer shots are downhill, like #1, #5, #10, #11, #16, and even the longest hole #17.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a very enjoyable course that has a very high fun factor and a good variety of shots. There are a lot of unique holes, like the block-off green on #4, the gap shot on #15, the cool boulder on #16, and of course the mega-bomber on #17. The elevation changes really make things interesting, and missing your lines can be big trouble. Beginners might want to hold off on this one for a little bit, everyone else should thoroughly enjoy it.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 easily one of best courses in country

1    6/25/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: adazm
Played: 30  Reviewed: 29
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: wow! where to start?
this is the type of course that you have dreams about. the fairways were immaculately mowed. the higher grass off the fairway was shin (not knee) high. the teepads were as sturdy as they come.
the amount of overall work that went into this course is almost beyond comprehension. the landscaping was to die for. whoever designed this place did not have to concern themselves with remaining "under budget".
even the stairways were ultra high end!
and of course they had numerous platforms and embankments for the baskets that took much love and imagination.
the top of the world hole was superior to most, relatively "reachable". without much danger of losing a disc.
should also be pointed out the entire course is played along a relatively steep hillside above a pristine minnesota lake.
Cons: the first hole threw us for a loop. there were two tee signs and what seemed like 2 baskets. what made it more confusing, is the feet measurement was almost certainly inaccurate for all combinations of tee pads and baskets. once we sussed out that there were in fact 2 baskets per hole (which seemed unusual), we adjusted accordingly. we basically decided to play long tee pads to short basket for simplicity sake.
we only played to a single incorrect basket on one of the downhill holes, otherwise the tee signs were extremely helpful (except for faulty distance measurements).
Other Thoughts: 3rd of 9 courses played on road trip that week. all courses were roughly rated 4 stars and above on this site. honestly, this was the best one. possibly the best i have ever experienced of the many hundreds of courses i have played.
the scenery was off the hook, and the attention to detail in the landscaping (basket placement, trails, stairs, platforms, etc) was just divine.
this place was the closest i have played as far as being treated and maintained to the level of a nice "ball golf" course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 TMDGA

5+    3/29/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: Kevin.Russell
Played: 117  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.7 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: My personal favorite course, I love everything about it! They have done incredible work with the layout and the overall experience of playing a round here. Great layout, flow, challenging shots, beutiful landscaping. Hole 17 is the best tee shot in MN!
Cons: Nothing
Other Thoughts: A must play for anyone in the metro! Possible spot for the TMDGA

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautifully groomed

1    10/2/2011   1/23/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a scenic park with some excellent views on many holes. This is one of the most manicured courses I've played, the grounds were immaculately kept and the amount of work that has gone into retaining walls, terraced greens and steps on the steeper hills is just amazing. There is lots of timber and stone work around the tees and greens that really adds a special vibe to this course. There are dual pads and dual pin positions, many holes had two baskets in play when I visited to add some variety and different challenges. The long tees have decent signage, the course flow is easy to follow with no major navigation issues.

There is a nice mix of hole shapes, lots of straight shots with a handful of left and right turning holes. A few longer holes mixed in with the mostly reachable shots keeps things interesting. There is elevation throughout the course, with some really fun downhill holes and some tricky uphills. Many of the greens offer roll away potential. Hole 17 is an empty your bag shot (too bad it wasn't the last hole, it would make a perfect ending to the course), with a great looking view off the tee and space to watch the disc fly.
Cons: The biggest issue with the course for me is the lack of challenge. Even the long tees and pins don't offer much challenge for better players, and the short setup is pretty beginner friendly. A few holes feel a bit like filler at times. There are several pretty open holes with long grass rough, my least favorite obstacle as it adds frustration not challenge.

Hole 17 is a ton of fun, but the road, path and parking lot in play are a bit of a safety issue. I would like to see a bit better indication of which holes have multiple permanent pins, and which placement is in use on others. With a handful of blind holes it adds some time scouting out the baskets.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun playing this course, it's not that tough but it's an enjoyable course in a nice park. Beginners can have a lot of fun here, with reasonable lengths and only a handful of really technical shots that punish misses. More experienced players can enjoy the work on their short game here, but won't find too many different parts of their game truly tested. I love to see courses that get this kind of care and attention, especially with a fairly reasonable price tag to play.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Bryant

5+    9/19/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: megamerican
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You would be hard pressed to find a better disc golf course in the area, in terms of shot selection, beauty, landscaping, amenities and upkeep. This is what pay to play should be like. Anyone from beginners to advanced players can have fun and be challenged.

*Every hole has wonderful concrete tee pads with plenty of room. No erosion whatsoever around any of them. Tee pads are regularly cleaned by park employees.

*Almost every hole has a bench, trash and recycling cans which are cleaned often, bag holders, signage to where the next tee is on every hole.

*Great variation in elevation, shot selection and distance. You should be utilizing every shot in your arsenal. Every hole has a different feel from the rest.

*Multiple tees on many holes and multiple baskets on a few which allow it to be more accessible to beginner player and can give you different shots on some of the holes.

*Hole #7 has a great multi-layered landscaped green.

*Hole 17 is Bryant's version of the "top of the world" shot. Great view and always fun to throw.

*Actual sandtraps on multiple holes which are considered OB.

There is not enough that can be said in favor of this course.

Cons: The biggest con of this course, if you want to call it a can is the lack of championship difficulty.

Hole #10 is a blind downhill shot where the basket is very close to hole #11's tee box. A few weeks ago I was hit in the back by someones tee shot from hole 10. With wind or a slightly off track drive someone could get hurt.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a great time playing disc golf and you are in the Twin Cities you need to play here. You won't be disappointed. Pay to play is great.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in Minnesota

2-4    7/13/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is amazing, and is definitely the best one I have played so far. It has an extremely wide variety of shots, alternate tees and baskets, and is very well-maintained.

All baskets have mulch around them, and there is beautiful landscaping everywhere. There are some pop machines about halfway through the course. Almost every tee has benches, a trash can, and a bag holder.

Hole 17 is the signature hole, a monster 500+ footer, driving off the top of a giant hill toward a landscaped hill on the other side. Hole 16 is also distinctive, with a challenging drive through a narrow lane in the trees. The basket is right behind a huge rock, making for some interesting approaches and putts.

The setting is beautiful, with great views of nearby Bryant Lake. Overall, an exceptional course and one of the best ways to spend an afternoon in Minnesota.
Cons: It's easy to lose discs, as multiple holes have steep wooded drop offs, and there is tall grass in the rough.
Other Thoughts: As an intermediate-skill player, this course is plenty difficult for me.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Bryant

1    8/18/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 322  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bryant Lake absolutely blows my mind away. The course sets the standard on how a disc golf course should be installed and maintained. I'd like to know how much money is invested into the course. The walking paths are awesome and there is little to no errosion due to the landscaping. There is more work in this course than the rest of the courses that i've played combined!

It sits in a beautiful park overlooking Bryant Lake on many holes. This course is mostly open with rough lining many fairways. Elevation comes into play on many holes. Hole #17 is absolutely spectacular!

I was surprised to see this course had a higher rating than Kaposia. It's much more beginner friendly than many of the courses in the area. The work in the course takes it over the top. I had a hard time giving it a rating and believe it deserves a 4.5. If it was a little more challenging it would be getting a 5.0.

Most holes have 2 tee pads and some have 2 baskets.

We had no problem navigating this course. The tee and next tee signs are awesome. Each tee sign had bag holders. Many holes had benches.

Awesome concrete tee pads.

The baskets are very nice new Chainstars.

This course really needs updated pictures. I can't even begin to describe the number of unique landscaping features. The entire course is lined with awesome work. You have to see it to believe it.
Cons: As a pro player even the longest tee to longest basket isn't quite hard enough to push the limits.

I wish the tee signs were updated with the holes that had 2nd pins. We were playing the toughest layout and had to look to see if there was a 2nd pin.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play while in the area. It's super fun to play and you will be blown away by the landscaping work done.

This is my dream property and exactly what I want one of my courses to look like when I win the lottery.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Immaculate

1    6/6/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 144  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 11.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to begin....

Course condition: Bryant lake is pristinely manicured. The rough is well-defined and the fairways are in excellent condition. Amazingly, there seems to be very little deterioration of the grass due to foot traffic.

Amenities: Multiple tee pads and some multiple baskets offer a challenge and variety. All baskets are surrounded by wood-chipped greens. Many greens are tiered. While the area is very hilly, these structures will go a long way in preventing erosion in addition to making the course look nice. Benches and bag holders are at nearly every tee. Baskets and tees were all in excellent condition.

Design: The course requires the use of a number of different shot-shapes. I won't go so far as to say you'll need "every disc in the bag" because I think if you can work your discs, you can make it through this course with only a few discs.

Elevation: Bryant Lake is set among the rolling hills bordering the lake. There are a number of great views as you play the course. The course design does not misuse the elevation that is in play with the terrain. Most holes have a solid degree of elevation change. While this is rampant throughout, a good example is Hole#17 and Hole #18. #17 - "Top of the World" shot...followed by #18 long uphill and back to the parking lot.

Sheer enjoyment: Bryant Lake is definitely high on the "fun-o-meter". It is a relaxing place and the course doesn't stress you out. You can simply enjoy the sport you love in an amazing environment.
Cons: As seems to be the case with all other reviewers, the only con is the lack of challenge. Advanced players will find this course to be remedial. However, even the pros can respect the aesthetic pleasures of Bryant Lake. If you are looking for a grueling round that will wear you down emotionally and physically...go elsewhere.

A slight navigation issue around Hole #15. This looked like it was due to some course maintenance or changes, so I am willing to write this off as a temporary issue.
Other Thoughts: Bryant Lake is an amazing area and this course is absolutely gorgeous. If you have not made it to the Twin Cities area for some disc golf, you are missing out. This is the nicest disc golf course I have ever played, without a doubt.

This course does not take a long time to play. However, if you want my advice, take your time and enjoy the views and serenity. While you are still located in a major metropolis, the rest of the world seems to fade away during your round.

Pay-to-play...and worth every penny. I would have paid much more to play this gem.

If you're in the Twin Cities, you are obviously going to try and play Blue Ribbon Pines. Make sure that you don't overlook Bryant Lake, and don't be surprised if you like it better. This course should not be left out when planning an excursion into Minneapolis.

As bjreagh noted: hit up the guys and gals at Gotta Go Gotta Throw. Great selection of discs, clothing and accessories. The store is not far from the course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Like playing a real golf course

1    7/28/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: StoneWallKid
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This place is like playing a real country club ball golf course. Its fancy. The tees are all concrete and usually of decent size. The fairways are all manicured like you'd expect on a lawn commercial. And there were almost (if not) always two tees (blue & red) and two baskets! They were usually both set pretty far apart and gave a lot of options for hole position. I didnt take notice of what kind of cages they used, but they were nice. All the baskets have wood chips around them. And wherever it looked nice it seems they built beautiful wooden stair cases. 17's TOP OF THE WORLD was pretty nice.. not the best ever, but nice. It was ONLY $3 to play!!!! Usually I'm into free disc golf. But at this course it is clear that your money goes back into the course. For someone sakes there were two brick layers laying what seemed to be the golden brick road between 17's pin and 18's tee.. Not sure why now that I look back..
Cons: Mosquitos!!!! Seriously I want to copy/paste that 1,000 times.. But I'll leave it at that. Not the courses fault, but you'll feel it anyway, the Humidity is the worst I've ever felt... I'm from out of state. When entering the park I was confused as to where to park, then where to pay. Now let me prefece this with this.. I was having an off day in my head. It was like I couldnt remember how I hold me arm pre-throw so all my drives felt uncomfortable. So it felt to me that all the tees were too short, and not flush enough with the ground. However one of the tees had to be 15-20ft long and I still felt it was too short, so take all that with a grain of salt. There were too many short holes.
Other Thoughts: Its a brilliantly nice course with a good number of fun shots.. Overall too many average shots though. I think I'm slightly overwhelmed by how well manicured it is and its making me feel the course is better than it is.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Why Aren't All Disc Golf Courses Like This?

1    7/14/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 767  Reviewed: 718  Exp: 37.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bryant Lake is hands down the most well manicured and has the nicest amenities of any of the 350 + courses that I have played to date. To me it was like playing at golf country club. Coming from an state (Washington) where the clubs have to do all their own course work and then to see the amazing amount of work and money put into this course by the parks department and their resources was pretty incredible. I was most impressed with:

Hole 7 with it's four layers of landscaped timbers has got to be one of he single most expensive disc golf holes in the country! Plus it's fun and fairly intimidating to play.

Landscaping rock steps leading up the path leading to # 5 teepad. And then slate rockery steps leaving the # 5 pad.

# 16 with it's large rock sitting squarely in front of the basket makes for a very unique hole.

# 17 Bryant Lake's version of the "Top Of The World Shot." It's a fun throw but not neccesarily a great "Top of the World Shot."

Amazing views of the lake from many places on the course. I love scenic on my courses.

Cons: I'm agreeing with Mr. scarpfish here and listing as my only con of this course. That is the fact that advanced and pro players will be a little underwhelmed by this course. Even from the long tees, it plays as an intermediate course. It's the nicest, coolest intermediate course I've ever had the pleasure of playing on but still I believe that is the only thing that keeps it from being a 5 star course.
Other Thoughts: It's not as challenging as Blue Ribbon Pines but I found it to be, for me, a much more enjoyable experience. It's major con, to me, which is it's lack of challenge, is exactly what I like so much about it. An aging rec player such as myself can come to Bryant Lake, shoot a great round and not be overwhelmed in any way.

Dear Minnesotians,

I found quite a few of your courses to be slightly overrated. This was not one of them.

Sincerely,

The Valkyrie Kid

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.