Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN
Bryant Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: lteppen  



Reviews: 70
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great course Indeed but not the best

1    9/7/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: beardown4life
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Scorecards and Map is exciting in itself
-Easy to follow
-Well marked
-Quality landscaping & scenery
-Good tee pads (not the best)
-Woodchip putting greens (awesome)
Cons: -$$$ (though it keeps the landscaping better than most courses & we will soon see a day where most courses charge $$ anyways)
-Heavy Crowds
-Some real easy holes some fairly challenging holes
Other Thoughts: This is a very quality course for the area it is in. I can understand why it recieves such high ratings if the people rate primarily on visuals and have not played around the country. Could be more secluded and more challenging. longer holes and more difficult pin placements could someday make this a legitimate 4.5/5 or even a 5/5 but there are many more courses out their rated lower than a 5 and are better. Still.... Tough to beat the quality of this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta be a 5

5+    8/25/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: JSL5000
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course, but enjoyable for more casual players as well.

Excellent cement teepads. Grippy and big.

Dual basket placements on 6 (I think) of the holes. A couple of which might be in place at the same time, so you can choose which to shoot for. They seem to change them randomly, though it would be nice if they did it a little more often. Baskets are in good shape.

Pay to play. Yes, it is a pro. They actually put a lot of money back into the course. I have only been playing there one season, but they've already built a massive (and massively awesome) green for 17 and they are in the process of completely rebuilding hole 15 and pretty much the same with 16, presumably to combat erosion in the area. They also have these plastic mats that help to prevent the grass from eroding in quite a few spots, which actually help to get the disc to skip up on a couple holes! (#18) The landscaping and maintenance is second to none. I was playing after a rain the other day and a woman was sweeping the woodchips and mud off of the teepads. Nice.

Signage is great, with distances and map at every tee. Only exception might be finding 15 your first time.

Garbage or recycling at every tee. Only thing I would like to see would be trash and recycling at every tee, or alternate between every other. It seems to be random as to which one they have.

Benches at almost every tee.

Quite a bit of elevation change. 17, in particular, has some epic change in elevation! It's not so much, though, that you feel like you've climbed Mt. Everest after the round.

Nice variety in the holes. There are some long ones, and some shorter ones, but it all seems to flow together very well. Bryant has a nice mix of wooded and open holes, while some have trees guarding the fairway and/or thick woods or grasses on each side of the fairway. There are some definite birdies, even aces, out there, but mistakes can cost you dearly -- a sign of a great course. It feels like every hole was well thought out, as opposed to just thrown in to the space that the land provided.

Alternate teepads on most, if not every hole. This helps to make Bryant Lake a course that truly anyone can enjoy.

Some really great views of the lake. I love the view on 1 when you're teeing off. I seem to always pull out my camera there. Nice scenery in general. The lake does not come into play. I suppose you could turn around and tee off the opposite way on 7 and maybe get it in the water?

I've heard it can get really busy, but I have yet to experience it. I do usually play in the morning, but even the times I've played in "prime time" haven't been that bad. The hole spacing seems to help.
Cons: Closes October 25th and they pull the baskets. Bummer.

Pay to play. I guess it is a con for some, but I just get the $30 season pass for Bryant, Hyland and Elm Creek. Worth it for Bryant alone. I tend to think pay-to-play helps keep the riff-raff away, anyway.

Some of the rough is pretty rough, with grasses up to your knee. Can make it tough to find a stray disc at times.

You could have a little trouble finding hole 15 your first time playing. Take the gravel road to the left, past the restroom and hole one and then across the road and you'll see a sign for 15, which is up the stairs.

The parking lots to the right of 17 and left of 18 are poorly placed. I rarely see people parked near 17, which is a good thing.
Other Thoughts: Bryant Lake is probably second on my favorite course list, next to Blue Ribbon Pines. It definitely has a "fun factor." I think the thing that makes it so great is there are some good scores to be had, but if you screw up a couple times, you can end up with a big number at the end of a round. It's got a great balance to the holes and you can finish a round in about an hour and a half. It really is a fun course and a sign that pay to play can and does work. Good times!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

1    7/20/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: schroeder5520
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best landscaping and tee boxes I have seen.

The Twin Cities MN is pretty big into disc golf, and I think most would consider this their "flagship" course. Also a great example of pay to play, which I totally believe in. You will too after this course.

Beautiful setting, the lake, the views, the stairs, walkways, greens. $3 can do a lot.

Hole #17. Seriously everyone should play it once if they are really into disc golf. One of the coolest holes I have seen.

Everything else said previous.
Cons: Yes, this is not a really difficult course. I have only played it once, but could easily tell that if you played it more than a few times; you are shooting for a lot of dueces.

Parking is poorly designed. One lot by #17 and #18 is hilarious, I would absolutely NEVER park my car there. Even a really good player could throw one in there on an errant throw or a windy day. And with it being downhill oh my, funny to see maybe but serious damage will be done.
Other Thoughts: I was recommended by a few players both up there and relocated by me, to play this course first. They were right. I played Rhyland and Kaposia after in that order, and I think they were right. I hope to see courses like this in IL soon!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Simply The Best

5+    8/15/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: grimace
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautifully groomed, mulched, landscaped, etc. Great elevation changes consistently throughout the course. Moderately wooded. Some long holes i.e. not reachable for deuce by the average player. Some short holes i.e. very reachable by the average player for deuce. Several ace chances as well.

Now about the landscaping. A few things have been done since the pay to play was started. In just a year, the course has undergone almost a complete face lift. Almost all of the holes and tees that were included in the original 12 hole layout are still there. 6 holes have been added. The following list will keep growing, but, a 100ft granite fairway strip right after the tee. two sets of granite steps. four rock face retaining walls around greens, three of which are back stops behind the baskets, retaining walls around several of the tees in order to provide a level tee, terraced retaining walls up to the pin on two holes, wood mulch surrounding pin locations, currently multiple pin placements on 8 holes, with mulch around both, wooden stairs and lined paths with nicely placed small pebbled gravel, mowed fairways, "no-mow" rough, grass covering 95% of the course. There are two holes under construction right now, and nearing completion.

This course is getting better with every day of work put into it. The thing is, three rivers is willing to actually improve all the time because they make money from all the traffic they get from all three courses they have set as pay to play.

Three Rivers Park district has made this course a pay to play course. This allows for course improvements. The foot traffic the course gets really hasn't died down too much. But the traffic it does get, is the more respectful kind. Fewer punks and vandals.
Cons: Currently there are 3 or 4 holes that have pins in both pin placements. While this allows rec players the option of playing the shorter tee and possibly moving quicker through the course, I believe it takes away a little bit of the picturesque quality of these holes. It also adds just a little confusion into the mix as to which pin the group is shooting to.

There is access to potable water in the park. HOWEVER, it is at the pavilion near the beach and picnic area, which, on this course, a couple blocks walk away from the first hole.

Parking: While there is plenty of parking available in the park. Some parking is "in play". There is one small parking lot right next to the 18th pin which fills up. There is another slightly larger parking lot along the 17th fairway. 17 is the signature hole of the course. A tee shot from the top of the hill near 600 feet long. The said parking lot is a common landing spot for those with shorter drives i.e. rec players and sometimes on a windy day your disc does crazy things. What ever the case is the lot is not a great place for parking. There is currently an overflow parking lot on grass near the current tee and soon to be open new tee for hole 15. fine to park in right now but is a little eyesore for the course and is killing the grass which we all know will be reseeded and closed until fully grown in. There is a plethora of parking further away from the course. Several lots down the hill near the beach, pavilion, boat access. A little bit of a walk but accessible nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: In 10-15 years, I might consider this course to be heavily wooded. It is constantly being modified for the better. Can't wait for it to be done. The pay to play aspect is well worth it on my part. Since I play all three pay courses many times over through out the year. And with the money raised, the course can be improved and groomed to look the best.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Pristine Course

1    8/17/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: LefthandMagic
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I loved the beautiful landscaping, it just made it that much more fun to play. The alternate short tees worked really well for my mixed group of young kids and seasoned players. Each hole was marked very well which made it easy to play as a first timer at the course.
Cons: There is absolutely nothing that could be done to improve this course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 1st time - mixed opinion

1    8/7/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: Erik
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: VERY well kept course
Nice tee boxes
easy to navigate
awesome elevation changes (especially 17 ;) )
great distance on some holes
Cons: Easy course, even on "pro".. playing par-3 I managed to finish 5-under par and i am NOT that good :)

Some construction right now, but looks to be some awesome new tee-box locations
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course - it was nice having a big elevation change and groomed fairways.

I wish there was a bit more 'skill' shot opportunities, as i was able to make it to the pin in 2 or less shots on every hole, even the huge cliff shot.

Great course, just not that difficult!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the best

5+    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: discgolfer99
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 40.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Season pass was the Best $30 I ever spent. This course is what discin should be. Tests every shot, some fade right, some fade left. Some uphill, some WAY down hill. Some open, some tight. Beautiful scenry, huge tee pads, benches every hole, garbages every hole, restroom right at hole 1 which is also right by hole 14. Scorecards at the first tee. Really nice recycled plastic signage. You can tell the designer wanted to test every shot. So many signature holes, #7 green is just incredible. I only throw 350 so reaching the tiers on #7 is going to be a goal I must acheive before the season is over.

Usually there is alot of really good looking women out playing most the time. Great date course!
Cons: Other than being crowded on nice days I really can't think of one.
Other Thoughts: Hang your pass on your bag so it is easy to see for the Park police. They walk right up to you and ask to see it. They often hang out often at the bottom of the stairs on #17. I heard its over $200 fine for not having a daily or season pass. Very worth it IMO.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bryant Lake

1    7/27/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: Miller
Played: 97  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very nice. You get a map and scorecard with your payment, but don't need it much since all the teeboxes are clearly marked with a hole map and distances. Nice long concrete teeboxes and pins with a 30 ft circle of wood chips around each hole make everything very easy to navigate and a pleasure to play. You almost feel like you're playing ball golf with the manicured fairways, the the low rough, and finally the deep rough.

Personally, I don't throw super far (250ish), but I felt like I had a shot on every hole and I played the regular tees. If you were a beginner playing the shorts I'm sure you would feel the same way.

Finally the layout and views when you come up to each hole are very cool. It culminates in hole number 17 which is one of the best signature holes I've seen for a course.
Cons: The only cons for me were on a few pins it wasn't clear where the next teebox was, but since they provide a map navigation was still very simple. Also, it looked like a couple of holes had alternate pins installed (#1, 6, 17) and it wasn't always clearly marked which pin you were playing. If you scouted ahead though one pin was marked with the hole number and the other was not.
Other Thoughts: I've played 40 courses to this point of my career and it's currently my favorite. When you're done the beach and the lake are even close for a nice swim. If you live in the cities or plan to visit then this course should be at or near the top of your list.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Made me fall in love with disc golf

5+    7/23/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: jonathanwaldo
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is not only top of the line when it comes to variety, scenery and excellent hole design, it also provides the player with a coherent experience that has gotten better and better as the course has improved. I've played there dozens of times and am still learning about the course, but I always leave feeling satisfied, which is not true of a course like Acorn park and Kaposia (although both are excellent).

Although surrounded by the bustling western metro, you get a rough prairie feeling. Lots of wind, dry nettles and grass, wild roses and towering cotton woods. I've seen several eagles hovering above Tee 7 looking out on to the lake.

Although I would agree that 17 is my favorite, the course has many signature holes such as 5, 7, 10, 15, 16, 17.
Cons: Don't park in the n00b lot below 17 if you don't want dents in your car. There are a lot of policy around, but they are nice most of the time and don't bug casual players.
Other Thoughts: Early evening play is spectacularly gorgeous.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 NICE!!!

1    7/16/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: D.W.G.
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful surroundings... Many different shots to be made... Superbly manicured... JUST BEAUTIFUL!!!
Cons: When I played, most of the baskets were in the "short" position, and neither the card nor the hole maps at each tee had the length of the "short" basket position...
Other Thoughts: This was the nicest course that I have played... BEAUTIFUL!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.