Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Bryant Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 128ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign

Reviews: 83
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Bryant Lake

1    7/27/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: Miller
Played: 98  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very nice. You get a map and scorecard with your payment, but don't need it much since all the teeboxes are clearly marked with a hole map and distances. Nice long concrete teeboxes and pins with a 30 ft circle of wood chips around each hole make everything very easy to navigate and a pleasure to play. You almost feel like you're playing ball golf with the manicured fairways, the the low rough, and finally the deep rough.

Personally, I don't throw super far (250ish), but I felt like I had a shot on every hole and I played the regular tees. If you were a beginner playing the shorts I'm sure you would feel the same way.

Finally the layout and views when you come up to each hole are very cool. It culminates in hole number 17 which is one of the best signature holes I've seen for a course.
Cons: The only cons for me were on a few pins it wasn't clear where the next teebox was, but since they provide a map navigation was still very simple. Also, it looked like a couple of holes had alternate pins installed (#1, 6, 17) and it wasn't always clearly marked which pin you were playing. If you scouted ahead though one pin was marked with the hole number and the other was not.
Other Thoughts: I've played 40 courses to this point of my career and it's currently my favorite. When you're done the beach and the lake are even close for a nice swim. If you live in the cities or plan to visit then this course should be at or near the top of your list.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Made me fall in love with disc golf

5+    7/23/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: jonathanwaldo
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is not only top of the line when it comes to variety, scenery and excellent hole design, it also provides the player with a coherent experience that has gotten better and better as the course has improved. I've played there dozens of times and am still learning about the course, but I always leave feeling satisfied, which is not true of a course like Acorn park and Kaposia (although both are excellent).

Although surrounded by the bustling western metro, you get a rough prairie feeling. Lots of wind, dry nettles and grass, wild roses and towering cotton woods. I've seen several eagles hovering above Tee 7 looking out on to the lake.

Although I would agree that 17 is my favorite, the course has many signature holes such as 5, 7, 10, 15, 16, 17.
Cons: Don't park in the n00b lot below 17 if you don't want dents in your car. There are a lot of policy around, but they are nice most of the time and don't bug casual players.
Other Thoughts: Early evening play is spectacularly gorgeous.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    7/16/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: D.W.G.
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful surroundings... Many different shots to be made... Superbly manicured... JUST BEAUTIFUL!!!
Cons: When I played, most of the baskets were in the "short" position, and neither the card nor the hole maps at each tee had the length of the "short" basket position...
Other Thoughts: This was the nicest course that I have played... BEAUTIFUL!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Most "Fun Factor" of any course i've played

1    5/29/2012   7/18/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 359  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2012
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Overall beauty in many ways; views of the lake, rolling hills, many trees, ponds.
-Greens made of wood chips. Not only added to the visual appeal of the course but also helped find holes that were hidden around corners or behind trees.
-Although there were too many people on the course they were all friendly and the group of older gentlemen ahead of us let us play through.
-Dual tees and pins on almost every hole.
-Great variation from hole to hole in distance, scenery, landscaping, elevation, amount and type of obstacles.
-Baskets and park are overall very well maintained.
-Not too many chances to lose a disc. Most holes are somewhat wooded but have been walked through enough to make it easy to find them.
-Hole 17 is crazy! 443 feet over a road and parking lot with the hole situated on the opposite hill. This is the way to finish a round!
-The landscaping is beautiful. It also helps mark were the next tee is. Navigation was never a problem.
-Adequate parking even for the large crowds.
-Huge tees, the biggest I have seen and all in great shape!
-Mowed, distinct fairways.
-Signs to navigate from hole to hole.
-Detailed, full color map/scorecard available before hole 1.
-Bathrooms at start and in middle.
-Bag hooks on most if not every hole
Cons: -Very crowded. Get there early to avoid the rush
-This course really isn't that long or hard. When I first played this course it was quite hard but when I played it this summer it didn't have the same challenge.
-Pay to play. It's only 5 dollars and was worth it for sure. This isn't a con to me but may be to others. This allows for continuous improvements to the course. You can also invest in a 3 Rivers Park Pass so you can play at Elm Creek and Hyland. I think that is $30 annually.
Other Thoughts: -I've played the best of the best in MN and some high rated courses out of the state. This course has the best fun factor of any I've ever played. What I mean by that is that I was never annoyed by how hard or easy a hole was. They all were different and challenging enough to keep it fun. The holes are all well landscaped and I was always excited to see what the next hole looked like. Overall, one of the best courses out there!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Must play if you are in the Twin Cities!!

5+    6/11/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: Bigbad7692
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: 1. Very scenic
2. Need hyzers, anhyzers forehands and many more shots.
3. Good for beginners trhough advanced players (relatively short, but tricky holes)
Cons: 1. Could be too short for advanced players. Rarely, if ever does a driver need to be thrown more than once.
Other Thoughts: Some people think negatively about pay to play. In order to promote disc golf and build up the sport, the individuals playing it need to invest in it. "The free sport" thinking will have to be in the past to take disc golf to the next level. This is a great pay to play course and I recommend going if you are in the Twin Cities Area.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The Best I've Played...

2-4    7/1/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: jmhoekst
Played: 86  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 1) Very scenic
2) Very well maintained
3) People who play there are normally "classy" and follow the rules
Cons: 1) Pay to play (but it's worth it)
2) Not beginner friendly
3) Can be very buggy at times
Other Thoughts: I have been playing disc golf for three years, and this is by far the best course I've ever played (of about 20 or so). This course requires an arsenal of shot types and control. Hole #17 makes this course well worth it if nothing else. Enjoy!

UPDATE: I now think this course the prettiest, but too short and way too many deuces. Not the most fun.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Gorgeous deuce chase course

5+    6/29/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: chalupamarley
Played: 53  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *One of the prettiest courses out there. Rolling hills with gorgeous vistas. Mowed, manicured fairways. Top-of-the-line landscaping
*Some really fun shots. 17, with its 100' drop. Several down-hill hyzers. One hole where a sweeping 'S' curve is the best play available.
*Pay-to-play. Funny. This course has some of the least litter/vandalism as any course in the metro. PAY TO PLAY IS AWESOME FOR THE SPORT.
*Plenty of opportunity to make a string of deuces.
Cons: *This course is so fun, marking a con doesn't seem right, but I suppose the lack of distance is one knock. Lots of putters and midrange discs off the tee.
*The Park Police can be nosy, but they're just doing their job.
*Can get very crowded, but the pace of play generally flows pretty well.
Other Thoughts: Last year, the course closed at the arbitrary time of "Sundown." It didn't really mean "Dark" either. The park police were over-diligent. This year, however, the course closes at 10, so it's less of an issue. Swimming in the lake on a nice beach is fun after a hot round. Play here. Support Three Rivers Parks and they will support disc golf.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Recomend this course to anyone

1    5/29/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: ea6le
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Challenging course, very well maintained and fun to play. The second to last hole was awesome Your on this high hill overlooking the road and the entire hole. Very deep slope and long distance hole.
Cons: You can't bring dogs with you on this hole.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great Design

5+    6/8/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: widespread55
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2009
6 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. Elevation changes, water, tall grass, short holes, long holes, and woods.Concrete tees are plenty big and baskets are very nice. You can tell that this was professionally done. Hole #17 is a cliff throw and is probably my all-time favorite hole. Landscaping and grooming are second to none.
Cons: Its pay to play but I guess I can see why. This course gets a lot of traffic, so get there early or late.
Other Thoughts: Play this one!

6 of 19 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/18/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2010
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are a ton of pros. First off, the upkeep on this course is absolutely amazing. Clearly they put a lot of work into making sure the greens are nice and the fairways are mowed. There is also a scorecard on the first tee as well and bathrooms located in the same area.
There is a huge amount of variation of holes. A lot of the greens are very fast, and some are tiered. There are some good short holes with a handful of obstacles as well as some long bombers with few obstacles.
A lot of the holes are very memorable, particularily 17 as others have said. There are some holes that really make you think about the consequences of messing up, with huge slopes on the sides that you may or may not be able to retrieve your discs from.
The baskets are in excellent shape, and I like all the erosion control that is being put into use.
I think most of the holes have signs now, and I know that the scorecard has distances for each hole.
Cons: The course is a little on the short side. Other than that.... it's pay to play and far away from my house.
Other Thoughts: if you live in the area, for sure try to play here. It's only 3 dollars for a day, and deffinatly worth it.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.