Disc Golf Store
Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Bryant Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: tolson Hole #5 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 163ft.   4 / 447ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket with Bryant Lake in background



Reviews: 76
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Recomend this course to anyone

1    5/29/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: ea6le
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Challenging course, very well maintained and fun to play. The second to last hole was awesome Your on this high hill overlooking the road and the entire hole. Very deep slope and long distance hole.
Cons: You can't bring dogs with you on this hole.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great Design

5+    6/8/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: widespread55
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2009
6 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. Elevation changes, water, tall grass, short holes, long holes, and woods.Concrete tees are plenty big and baskets are very nice. You can tell that this was professionally done. Hole #17 is a cliff throw and is probably my all-time favorite hole. Landscaping and grooming are second to none.
Cons: Its pay to play but I guess I can see why. This course gets a lot of traffic, so get there early or late.
Other Thoughts: Play this one!

6 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/18/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2010
11 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are a ton of pros. First off, the upkeep on this course is absolutely amazing. Clearly they put a lot of work into making sure the greens are nice and the fairways are mowed. There is also a scorecard on the first tee as well and bathrooms located in the same area.
There is a huge amount of variation of holes. A lot of the greens are very fast, and some are tiered. There are some good short holes with a handful of obstacles as well as some long bombers with few obstacles.
A lot of the holes are very memorable, particularily 17 as others have said. There are some holes that really make you think about the consequences of messing up, with huge slopes on the sides that you may or may not be able to retrieve your discs from.
The baskets are in excellent shape, and I like all the erosion control that is being put into use.
I think most of the holes have signs now, and I know that the scorecard has distances for each hole.
Cons: The course is a little on the short side. Other than that.... it's pay to play and far away from my house.
Other Thoughts: if you live in the area, for sure try to play here. It's only 3 dollars for a day, and deffinatly worth it.

11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 One of Minnesota's Best

5+    5/19/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Moptop88
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Pristine condition
-Beautiful scenery
-Wide variety of shots
-Requires familiarity with both forehand and backhand shots
-Mulch pits surrounding the baskets add a nice touch
-Granite steps add a touch of class
-Hole 17 is incredible

Cons: -PAY TO PLAY
-Steep hills adjacent to several holes can make it hard/impossible to retrieve overthrown or poorly thrown discs
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses Minnesota has to offer, if you don't play this course you're dumb, end of story. The $3 (or $30 for the season) is perfectly reasonable for the high quality of play this course offers.

P.S.
Don't park in the far lot unless you're willing to risk a broken window/windshield

Summary:
This course is a MUST play!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/6/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: kgibbs
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Just about everything about this course is awesome. A variety of challenging and easier holes, some in the woods and some easily visible.

Being that it's a pay to play it's definitely the best maintained course I have played on with good paths and stairs from hole to hole. It's easy to navigate from one to the next, and they even have scorecards with maps to make it even easier.

Varying terrain and elevation that also makes for a gorgeous view of Bryant Lake. The last hole is my personal favorite, as you have to throw down hill off a huge cliff.
Cons: Obviously it's not free, but you'll get your money out of it anyway.

There's a few tees near the woods where I could see someone loosing a disc, but nothing too bad if you ask me.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful course

1    4/18/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: sorgatz
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great First time experience, the hills offer a great challenge. If i lived near there I would be more the happy to pay 30 dollars for the season.
Cons: The wait time was a little longer then I had hoped but overall wasn't bad.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Perhaps the best course in the area?

2-4    8/15/2008   4/15/2009
Review By: mcrow
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course in pretty much every way. First it is located in a beautiful park with nice views, a lake and many other extras.

Second, the design is great every shot in your arsenal will be needed to score low on this course.

There are uphill anhyzer shot shots, downhill hyzer shots, spots for rollers, spots for thumbers and everything between.

Standout holes are #16 and #17. #16 is a tight hole with a deep gorge off to the right and trees to the left with a giant rock at the top. If you pass that test you walk over to #17 where you will be chucking from over 100ft above the hole.

Good parking and a reasonable price.
Traffic isn't bad on the course considering the quality.
Cons: Not many things to complain about, the only real issue may be the lack of signs/maps. I admit they may have been added after I last played. The other issue is that this course would be extremely difficult for new players. I know this was not really designed with new players in mind but my advice is for newbies to avoid this one until you have more rounds under your belt.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/18/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2009
14 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: To shoot a good game you will need every shot available with the possible exception of a roller. This sounds stupid but the vast majority of courses do not require you to use forehand, backhard, hyzers, anhyzers as well as drive with putters and midranges to shoot a solidly under par round. Many holes would be signature holes on average courses. This parks commitment to disc golf is evident even before you arrive at hole one.

Almost every hole has some sort of landscaping that directs you to the next hole as well as signage. Teepads are near perfect and baskets are in excellent shape. Pretty much is the posterchild for what a pay per play course can be. I am a disc minimalist, usually carrying only 3 molds, and this is the course that made me finally give in and carry a few more. It exposed several weaknesses in my game which is what I like in a course.

Hole 5 is my nemesis on this course. It is a seemingly easy downhill shot with a late dogleg right. I don't know if it is the wind or the deceptive distance but I always underthrow it. Hole 17 is very fun if you have a big arm. A long downhill to a fairly open fairway, it will expose your buddies weenie arm. This isn't a woods course but it uses trees and terrain to shape the fairway frequently. There are holes here for every type of player. I'd say this is a course best suited for an Advanced Intermediate.

Parking is very good and this is a multiple use park, so make a day of it and go swimming between rounds if you are from out of town.
Cons: All holes on this course are fun but some are pretty basic when in certain pin positions. 2 holes have baskets pretty near the bench for the next hole. Yeah, I am picking nits. Hole 15 is being redone and some erosion work is also being done in that area. There is really nothing here that will prevent it from becoming a 5 star once the work is done.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the Twin Cities area a year pass is a no brainer. There is a bathroom about 2/3 of the way through the course. Bring water.

Try to park in the lot very near the entry gate. It is close to hole 1 and hole 18 and also safe from all but the most errant throw imaginable.

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 memorable course with wide variety of shots

5+    11/5/2008   11/23/2008
Review By: tom04
Played: 59  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2009
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: fairways are mowed

lots of elevation

hole 17

enough trees

requires to use every disc in the bag

very well maintained course

pay to play
Cons: the rough on some of the shots, hard to find discs

a bit busy
Other Thoughts: terrific course, try out Elm Creek and Hyland Hills as well

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Bryant Lake another must play

5+    11/14/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: Par 72 Course Design
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
13 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Kinda biased since it was my very first course design, but if what you are looking for is a simply really fun round, Bryant is it. Some long, some short and technical, a few forehands and more. The landscaping is proof in the pudding that PAY TO PLAY IS THE WAY. The $30 season pass is way too cheap, especially in 2009 when Elm Creek opens and the pass is good for all three. (Elm Creek may battle Bryant for most fun). On the hot days, take a dip in the clean lake down the hill.
Cons: Very crowded. Play early. Exit the park at Sunset, the rangers will ticket you.
Other Thoughts: Bryant is a very special course for alot reasons. Enjoy.

13 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.