Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Staring Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: Greg Layton Hole #1
3 / 167ft.   3 / 167ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Up and Up

2-4    9/16/2015   9/17/2015
Review By: LeftyHukin
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.4 Years
Pros: Overall overview:
* I decided to give this course a try on my way back from work training. I heard it was a lefty friendly course, so being a lefty I had to go!

* I was expecting nothing but doglegs right, requiring just hyzers, through wide open areas with rough coming into play only if you shank one. I was wrong and glad to be!

* The course does cater to lefties for sure. Holes 3, 6, 7 and maybe 4 come to mind. Only hole 1 from the pro tee is catered to RHBH. Rest are pretty neutral.

* One thing I wish the course had was a sign. Going to the park for the first time I had no idea where to go! I only knew it was there since I saw the baskets on the way in. If you drive in you want to park in the right hand side parking lot, next to the baseball field #3. Walk past it along the path and you will see 9's basket down the left field line. On the plus side there are poles in the ground showing the hole # and if it is the Amateur or Pro tee. They are marked with an A or P. Hole 2, 5 and 6 I did not see any P tee. Though on 6 I did see a large dirt patch 10-15 ft behind the normal Tee, so might be a local tee. There were ft marks for some holes, but not all, and did not seem quite right. Even the listings on this site seem a bit too long. I can throw on flat land about 310-320 MAX but I was putting from the circle on holes labeled over 370ft. There was not much trash, but I didn't notice many trash cans if any, so I can only imagine during the busy summer how littered this place could be.

* Continuing with the A and P tees, the A tees are perfect for new players and upgrading to the P tees just add a little bit of distance. Only holes 1 and 7 really add different angles. 8 is a scary one, since it adds about 100ft, but it is 100ft of pure uphill.

* The course does flow very well. Each tee is very close to the last holes basket, so it is very difficult to get lost. I only wish there was a general map for each hole, since I had to walk up a few fairways to find the basket before throwing blind. Like on hole 3. Being a first timer there you can roughly know where to throw based on the lay of the land, but you really don't know how much of a dogleg there is on some holes.

* I was surprised how much I had to think of my shots. It wasn't just a toss it up hyzer and see how close you can get. I was thinking of the angles I needed to hit, or how low to play a skip shot, heck I even tried a roller on 9. If I were to go there again, I bet I would even try some thumbers or tomahawks. If a lefty had to think so much about it, then I feel bad for you RHBH!

* Along with making you think for a moment about how to attack the hole, your elevation game is tested on many holes. Hole 1 is straight down hill from both tees, and hole 2 is going right back up. 3 continues the trend by forcing you back down the hill. On 4 you once again go right back up a hill to street level. From here it is up to you if you want to play the last elevation change hole, which would be 8's P tee. If you want to work on how to deal with quick elevation changes as a beginner I suggest coming here. However, the elevation is a double edge sword since I can foresee that on rainy days or just after a rain, that the lower 4 holes could be almost unplayable with water.

* This course does have Ace runs! So be ready for some Oooohhh and Aaaahhhh! Heck even I threw an Ace on my first serious round on hole 5.

Cons: Summary TLDR:
* The course needs more signs, preferably with hole layouts for first timers.

* Can see the course being tough to play on days where it rained.

* Not a course for power arms
Other Thoughts: * If you want a course to practice your mid-range shots or turnover shots or dealing with elevation, then I suggest stopping here. It is overall a good course. It needs some updated signs and trash cans, but it is in a very pretty area and was a joy to walk around. Not to mention it gets your heart pumping with quite a few Ace run holes, especially from the A tees. It does cater to lefties, but can be a challenge even for us!

Great course for leftys

5+    8/11/2014   8/21/2014
Review By: Muskiebite
Played: 51  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice big tees
-Long/Short tees on most holes
-Plenty of elevation changes
-Hole 5 is an excellent risk/reward. 165' wide open makes it great for ace runs, but over shoot and its thick woods and a drop off.
-Big open field between parking lot and hole 1 make it great for warm ups and field practice.
Cons: -Can be buggy, especially annoying gnats flying in your eyes trying to putt.
-Pathway between 3 and 4 is overgrown
-Course can get busy
Other Thoughts: -Holes 3 and 7 have big right doglegs, and hole 4 and 6 are also well suited for LHBH players.
-I wish this course had woodchips because the sand around the basket is very fine and makes the discs slick.
-The field gives this course an extra half point

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1    6/8/2014   6/9/2014
Review By: Arnie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This nine hole course has anything you need. Long and short shots. Right, left and straight shots. The course has a nice loop about it. Tee pads not broken and are the right size. Big. Basket are all good, no missing chains and are upright. You by going downhill, then back up, and then level off on flat grounds.
Cons: Need restrooms and more trash cans. Seat would be nice to.
Other Thoughts: I wish North Dakota would have more courses like this one. I will back to play this one, again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Got me into disc golf

5+    7/18/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 48  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is small and is a very quick play. It is a great course to work on your short game and for beginners. The course has nice tee pads and the design/layout is very easy to follow. The city is trying to make some improvement with wood chips and some new tee pads, which is nice to see. Considering how small the course is, it has quite a bit of variety. There are a few holes that play downhill (1 & 3) and uphill (2 & 4), along with a couple holes that play to the right (3 & 6). Hole 3 and 7 and probably my favorite holes on the course. I love throwing a thumber over the top of the trees on hole 7 and hole 3 is a decently long, downhill hole that fades to the right at the bottom of the hill.
Cons: Unfortunately, this course is constantly packed with beginners and hipsters running around. The recent road construction also shortened a few of the holes on the back on an already short course. The city also wasted the little money they put into it last year following the road construction by doing some landscaping on hole 8, down below the hill. Nobody ever plays from that tee pad and I felt the money could've been used a lot more efficiently. Lastly, the areas around the tee pads are often littered with garbage. The few garbage cans that they have on the course are often full, so this could definitely improve.
Other Thoughts: There was talk that the course was going to expand to possibly a 12 hole course, which I would love to see in the future since I live in the area. It's a great course to warm-up on before going to play Bryant.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A very enjoyable course

5+    4/3/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: TopNord
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Starring Lake Disc Course is a great course with many opportunities for different shot selections. There are 4 holes that veer to the right, 1 hole fading to the left, and the other 4 straight on. There are four holes that are advantage to the big armed players- holes 3, 4, 7, and 9. The remaining holes work well for beginners.

Free to play.
Cons: After the road construction from 2010-11 a few holes lost their prestige in size and difficulty. Specifically the last 5 holes. But with current updates, such as tee pads, wood chips, and seating, its been made up for a bit.

This course becomes overwhelming populated after school is let out and many 1st timers like to take their time playing.

Bugs get very bad during the certain parts of the summer.

Sometimes too much trash is left about, which is typically left in the area where trash cans have been placed.
Other Thoughts: The best time to play this course is in the morning and before noon- like most courses- since school gets out this is the best free course to play in the South West Subs on Minneapolis.

Starring Lake has a large field leading to tee 1, which is great for practicing shot selections and letting 'um fly!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and Dirty

1    10/1/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: megamerican
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The directions listed on the course information tab is slightly incorrect. You take a right onto Pioneer Rd from 169, not 212. I recommend using the Google Maps provided on DCGR's website to find the best route for you.

Take a right as soon as you enter the parking lot. The 1st hole is about 100 yards to the right of the lot.

Staring Lake Park has a lot of other things going on other than disc golf. There were a few ball fields, nice horseshoe pit and an open air amphitheater.

*The tee pads for all of the holes were more than adequate for each hole, dual pads on many of them. The back pads usually did a good job of adding a little more challenge for the beginner/intermediate player.

*Nice chain baskets which did not need any sort of maintenance.

*A good mix of elevation and distance, some open some wooded. Most holes were either ~200 feet or 350 feet and the longer holes predominantly catered to a left handed player or a forehand thrower.

*Even with Bryant nearby there are plenty of reasons to go to this course. It is much more beginner friendly, as long as the park isn't packed your round will be completed much shorter and it is free.

*A few benches and picnic tables to sit down while waiting or for just enjoying the weather.

*There is a good chance you'll see an airplane land or take off at Flying Cloud Airport just across the street.
Cons: The biggest con would be the litter. There was a lack of any garbage or recycling cans on most holes. Putting some at hole 1, 4 and 7 would be optimal.

There was quite a bit of erosion on a lot of the holes. The lack of rain in the past few months have made the course incredibly dusty. Hole 8 has added woodchips and a staircase for the back tee which was needed although most groups seemed to skip that tee.

Two holes have you throwing very close to the street, which is a very busy road.
Other Thoughts: It is overall a very fun course. A decent place to play a quick round when you are sick of Bryant or are nearby. It has a decent variety of shots and made good use of the small amount of land allotted for disc golf.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fun for Free

5+    8/26/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: RyGuy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Staring Lake is a great course for pros and beginners alike. The shorter holes make it easy for a nice low score, but you're still given a challenge with Holes 3, 4 and 8. Very favorable to lefties and forehand throwers. There has recently been work done to some of the holes, such as adding steps and woodchips to the dreadful Hole 8. Overall, not too shabby.
Cons: There is a lot of trash around Hole 6 and dabs of litter lurking on other holes. It can also be distracting trying to drive with cars blowing by on Holes 5, 7, and 9.
Other Thoughts: The fact that Staring Lake is free is a good and a bad thing. Good because it's, well, free, and bad because it can be crowded.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch & Putt Or Big Boy Course?

1    7/21/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 776  Reviewed: 723  Exp: 37.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Everything about this course is kind of an enigma to me. There were signs and then there weren't signs. There were tiny little concrete pads and then "Boom", there were large championship caliber pads that even Dave Feldberg himself, couldn't find anything about them to complain about. You start out playing # 1 and 2 which are little pitch & putt holes and then you run into #'s 3 and 4, both 300' plus holes and challenging. Then you play #'s 5 and 6, two more little pitch and putts. I liked this course a lot, I'm just not sure what the designer(s) were attempting to accomplish. The woodchips are used well here to cover some bare ground and hopefully prevent erosion. Baskets are in decent shape.
Cons: There was too much litter here. A few more garbage cans would help. I can see the course getting mega crowded but that's what we get when we have a popular course.
Other Thoughts: I can call this "The Bagless Player Course." I've never been on a course before with so many players playing and carrying their extra discs or two in their hands. I think I was the only guy on the course with a bag. I think they were looking at me and laughing at the old guy with all the extra disc. That's the way I look at the player who has the cart with the cooler, the umbrella, the stool, the boom box, 100 discs, three different kinds of retreivers, refrig, and the all the other bells and whistles.
Nice fun little course for a quick round. As with many of the course in the area, it looks as though some improvements are taking place.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable find

5+    5/20/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are both righty and lefty holes. Some of the holes are shorter but there are a few longer onestoo. Plus the shorter ones always give you hope of a hole in one.
Cons: The only threats are trees. There is little if any tall grass and no water.
Other Thoughts: There is a good amount of liter. This would probably be stopped if they would put more trash cans on the course. Also I wish there were signs with distance and par.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Quick Lunch Hour Course

5+    5/27/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: shriketheavatar
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy enough for beginners
-Holes 3, 4 and 7 are a challenge
-Quick 9 hole course
-Convenient location
-2 Tees on most holes
Cons: -Litter
-Short holes for the most part
Other Thoughts: I've played this course many times during my lunch hour with a couple of friends - it's easy to get a round done in about a half hour, even with 3 people.

Holes 3 and 4 are very challenging to par, but even an average player could par this course after a few rounds.

They recently made hole #6 a bit more difficult by moving the basket, but the distance is about the same. It's a perfect course for a game on your lunch hour - it's usually not too busy around 11:30 - 12.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.