Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Staring Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: Greg Layton Hole #1
3 / 167ft.   3 / 167ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Got me into disc golf

5+    7/18/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 39  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is small and is a very quick play. It is a great course to work on your short game and for beginners. The course has nice tee pads and the design/layout is very easy to follow. The city is trying to make some improvement with wood chips and some new tee pads, which is nice to see. Considering how small the course is, it has quite a bit of variety. There are a few holes that play downhill (1 & 3) and uphill (2 & 4), along with a couple holes that play to the right (3 & 6). Hole 3 and 7 and probably my favorite holes on the course. I love throwing a thumber over the top of the trees on hole 7 and hole 3 is a decently long, downhill hole that fades to the right at the bottom of the hill.
Cons: Unfortunately, this course is constantly packed with beginners and hipsters running around. The recent road construction also shortened a few of the holes on the back on an already short course. The city also wasted the little money they put into it last year following the road construction by doing some landscaping on hole 8, down below the hill. Nobody ever plays from that tee pad and I felt the money could've been used a lot more efficiently. Lastly, the areas around the tee pads are often littered with garbage. The few garbage cans that they have on the course are often full, so this could definitely improve.
Other Thoughts: There was talk that the course was going to expand to possibly a 12 hole course, which I would love to see in the future since I live in the area. It's a great course to warm-up on before going to play Bryant.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

5+    4/12/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: ReedB
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Few challenging holes(3 and 4)
-concrete tee boxes
-well marked
Cons: -Usually really busy
-needs garbage cans; beer cans can pile up
-construction on Pioneer Trail (Co Rd 1) tore up some of the back holes
-pretty wide open, doesn't require many skill shots
-most of the holes are pretty short. You can get buy with a mid-range through most of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to learn on or if you are looking for a quick round. I'm about a mile from there so it is too convienent not to play. There have been rumors over the last few years that the city might be turning it into a full 18. Only place they could really add holes is into the woods; which could make this a interesting course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 lunch break game anyone?

5+    9/16/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: reverand_redbeard
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a variety of holes that will require a wide range of shots, alot of difficult anhyzers
Cons: some holes are very short, and don't offer much challenge, the last few holes seem like an after thought as they are just straight throws back and forth
Other Thoughts: I play here after school as i go to hennipen tech, its great to blow of steam after a final. When i have time i go to Bryant lake, this course has potential but it needs to be revamped, especially with this construction that took out a couple tee pads

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/18/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well designed layout, easy to find the next tees most of the time . There are both righty and lefty holes. Some of the holes are pretty short but there are a few longer ones.
The only obstacles are trees, there is no water anywhere. This being said, the trees are well placed on a lot of the holes.
A few holes play up and down some of the hills, which make for some interesting shots. One hole is short and flat, but right behind the hole is a large hill, so it forces you to be a lot more careful on the drive.
Cons: Construction was being done to the road while I was there. This made for some confusion as to how to get into the park.
Also, we couldn't find a teepad for hole 7 I think, which may have been back on the road they were constructing on.
The day I went, it was ridiculously busy even though it was during the lunch hour. This could be because there aren't many courses too near to this one.
Other Thoughts: If you're near, go ahead and play it. It has some nice suprises, though it looks like it could get boring after a few times.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.