Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Staring Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: Greg Layton Hole #1
3 / 167ft.   3 / 167ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A good compliment to Bryant

5+    5/3/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: Waddly Hobbins
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course being updated by Eden Prairie Parks Dept.
including sand around baskets, wood chips, new tee pads to replace ones taken out, and new trees along the road to help cut down wind.

-Good Casual course, not the most difficult, but does it have to be to get a good rating?
-Dual Cement Tee Pads, nicely sized
-Good condition Mach 3 baskets
-Many ace runs
-Great use of space, small course, yet makes use of what there is
-Great use of elevation
-Holes 3 and 4 (and 8's long tee) offer a good challenge to those that would say that this course is too easy
-Will test both hyzer and anhyzer shots
-Beginner friendly
-Easy to navigate
-Flows nicely, looping back to start
-Plenty of parking
-Trash cans on some holes (PLEASE USE THEM)
-Course is pretty....too bad many people litter
-Restrooms back towards parking lot
Cons: -Lots of litter (need more trash cans badly)
-Crowds (come early if you want a casual round)
-Destroyed signs
-Vandalism on some benches and wooden bridge
-Only one real chance to bomb it
-Hole 8's long tee is just silly, I don't think I've ever seen anyone else play it. It is a drive straight up a steep hill where you disc will likely land right by the short tee which is much more fun to throw from anyways.
-Erosion on hills from lots of use (maybe get erosion control mats like Bryant lake?)
Other Thoughts: This and Bryant Lake are my home courses. I like to alternate between the two. Bryant offers a full 18 and many open long drives, while Staring offers a quick 9 and shorter holes. If I'm in the mood for a casual round or I'm short on time, I'll choose Staring. If I'm looking for a place to spend the afternoon or more of a challenge I'll go to Bryant.

The two worst things at this park are crowds and litter. This course is located extremely close to a college, come here after class lets out and it'll be packed. With the college kids comes the litter. I don't know why they can't hold onto their bottles and chip bags until they get to the holes that have trash cans....but it can get pretty bad.

This course sees lots and of use and it needs some loving care. Luckily I've seen the Eden Prairie Parks Dept working on sprucing up the place. I like knowing that this course isn't getting neglected, hopefully they will be adding more trash cans to combat the rampant litter problem.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

5+    4/12/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: ReedB
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Few challenging holes(3 and 4)
-concrete tee boxes
-well marked
Cons: -Usually really busy
-needs garbage cans; beer cans can pile up
-construction on Pioneer Trail (Co Rd 1) tore up some of the back holes
-pretty wide open, doesn't require many skill shots
-most of the holes are pretty short. You can get buy with a mid-range through most of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to learn on or if you are looking for a quick round. I'm about a mile from there so it is too convienent not to play. There have been rumors over the last few years that the city might be turning it into a full 18. Only place they could really add holes is into the woods; which could make this a interesting course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 lunch break game anyone?

5+    9/16/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: reverand_redbeard
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a variety of holes that will require a wide range of shots, alot of difficult anhyzers
Cons: some holes are very short, and don't offer much challenge, the last few holes seem like an after thought as they are just straight throws back and forth
Other Thoughts: I play here after school as i go to hennipen tech, its great to blow of steam after a final. When i have time i go to Bryant lake, this course has potential but it needs to be revamped, especially with this construction that took out a couple tee pads

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Another nice course that will forever be with me! Ace #2

1    9/11/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 863  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Course has nice concrete tees (although #7 teepads and #9 long tees are missing because of construction).

2) Woodchips are used well to cover bare soil on most of the course.

3) Nice elevation changes on many of the holes (1, 2, 3, 4, and #8 long tee). Side slopes are used for a few baskets creating some possible rollaways and tougher putts.

4) Good variety of fairly open holes (5, 6, 8, 9) with a smattering of trees to avoid, balanced with the tight and technical holes of #3 (have fun trying to hit that opening for a chance at birdie), and #4 (Good luck missing all of those trees in the woods) and then the fairly open elevation holes of 1, 2. Uses the property very well, but it does look like they could stand to have some alt pins or move a few holes.

5) Baskets are in good shape

6) Disc golf is seperated from all the other amenities in this park. It looks like there are a lot of other things to do in the park it even has horseshoes!

7) Beginner friendly because it is pretty short. The short tees are easy enough, but the longs will challenge the beginner.
Cons: 1) Tee signs are very minimalist and two of them are missing right now.

2) 2 concrete pads missing on #7 and #9 because of construction. This is only a temporary negative.

3) Erosion is a problem in a few spots. Some timbers or more mulch or some other sort of retention would be helpful in a few spots.

4) Trash is evident in many spots probably made worse by the construction and the opening up of the woods.

5) #8 and #9 are simplistic and boring, I hate to end on a bad note. I could see another hole using the ravine more down in the woods
Other Thoughts: This course will remain with me because it took me like 20 minutes of searching to find it and I had to be at Bryant Lake by 7:00 to play with a friend. I almost gave up and just went to Bryant but I am glad I ended up finding it. I step up without practice putting or anything throw my Spider (at 6:15 and barely any light yet) and bang into the chains for my second ace. My rating may be slightly influenced by the fact I got my second ace here and I will consider it, but I really do like the holes here. It is short but it has everything except water. It has some open holes, it has some technical tight holes, it has some great elevation changes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Walk in the park

1    8/28/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: discgolfer99
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 42.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Better than "decent typical" so I vote a 3. Nice elavation change. Mature trees. Couple quirky shots that make you throw something out of the ordinary.
Nice tees and baskets. Cool watching planes fly in and out.
Cons: Crowded, trash/ litter rampent often. Eroison in many places.
Other Thoughts: Decent course to play when Bryant is too crowded, but then again it too is crowded most nice days. Another good date course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown Course

5+    6/1/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: widespread55
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the first course I have ever played and I love it. Its got a great variety of holes and rewards good shots. Great mix of woods and open areas. Difficult dog legs (Good for leftys)
Cons: The course is being torn up a little bit by road construction. Wish it was 18 holes
Other Thoughts: Love this course. I am not sure how long it will be there though.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    5/18/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well designed layout, easy to find the next tees most of the time . There are both righty and lefty holes. Some of the holes are pretty short but there are a few longer ones.
The only obstacles are trees, there is no water anywhere. This being said, the trees are well placed on a lot of the holes.
A few holes play up and down some of the hills, which make for some interesting shots. One hole is short and flat, but right behind the hole is a large hill, so it forces you to be a lot more careful on the drive.
Cons: Construction was being done to the road while I was there. This made for some confusion as to how to get into the park.
Also, we couldn't find a teepad for hole 7 I think, which may have been back on the road they were constructing on.
The day I went, it was ridiculously busy even though it was during the lunch hour. This could be because there aren't many courses too near to this one.
Other Thoughts: If you're near, go ahead and play it. It has some nice suprises, though it looks like it could get boring after a few times.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Home Course

5+    5/11/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: Explodedmike
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very convenient play most times
- Short course with enough challenge to be interesting, but still very beatable to an average player
- Fairways are well-mowed
- It is difficult to lose a disc here (in fact I have never seen it done in hundreds of rounds)

While an 18 hole course is always nice, I rather enjoy playing this course's 9. It's not very draining to play through and it allows a player to play several rounds and try different approaches to a certain hole. This is a GREAT course to learn on.
Cons: - Much vandalism and litter
- VERY crowded on nice days, expect to wait several minutes on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Hole 3 is a long dogleg right into some woods - it's very gratifying if you can make it through the clearing.

Hole 4 can be a VERY frustrating hole.

ALSO: As of spring 2009 the course is under a lot of work. The city removed all of the trees along the south side (where the back holes come back along Pioneer Trail) which has removed a lot of shelter from the wind. They have also torn up a LOT of the land and removed the men's tees from holes 7 and 9. I am not sure what they are doing, but hopefully they are expanding as the course could VERY MUCH use more space.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Minnesota Disc Golfing

1    4/15/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Stross
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Variety Length Holes
-Use Mid-Range Disc a Lot
-Deuced Hole #6, 85ft Shot
-Good Conditions
-Friendly People
-Cement Tees
-Dual Tees
-Throw Straight Shots, Don't Want to Slice
Cons: -Too Fast of a Round
-Lots and Lots of People
-Lots of Trees/Bushes
-Hole #1,2,4,6,7 Are Only 100-215ft
-Lots of Short Holes

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation and Fun

1    7/29/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 359  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice cement tees. Dual tees on some of the longer holes.
-Nice baskets.
-Lots of elevation changes in the first half.
-Shaded for most of course in summer.
-Not much chance for losing discs as woods have been searched thousands of times.
-Some holes will make you use every shot in your arsenal.
-Wooded enough to be a challenge but not enough to be annoying.
Cons: -2 holes in a row were short and unimaginative compared to the rest of them.
-Very busy at times.
-I wish it was 9 holes, it seemed to end so fast.
-Its easy to find the park but the course is tucked into the back of it so that may be hard for someone who hasnt been there before.
Other Thoughts: Near playground, picnic area, lake, trails. Definitely worth a stop if you are in the west metro area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.