Marshfield, WI 
Wildwood Park Share
Uploaded By: erickmj  



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Braems busy little brother

5+    9/3/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 147  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees on all holes. Wood signs with par, distance and basic hole layout though its pretty obvious which pin to play to. trees to contend with on all holes, though not too many on any of them. Practice basket east of hole #1. A very solid warm up course for nearby Braem Park or just a fun course to let er rip for ace oppurtunities. baskets catch very well although chains a little rusty. course has been here for many years. can,t get confused or lose a disc unless you throw into the public pool hole #1 and #3 play next to, though that would be hard to do if you have any accuracy. Nothing special but a very fun little 9 hole course.
Cons: Gets very crowded at times. Fairways get very close together at times, especially #1 and #9 and #6 and #8. #8 and #9 to a lesser extent but can be a problem too. Park road crosses thru middle of course so watch for traffic. Pars are way too high so play all 3's if you are skilled. area around hole 6 tee can get very swampy and collect water. Not much of a challenge for elite players.
Other Thoughts: All in all a fun well maintained little 9 hole course in a great town. very easy to find off the main street thru town. just south of hardees. If in town be sure to play Braem park, a much better 18 hole course about 5 minutes north. But i'd recommend playing here as well if in the area. two nice courses a few miles apart. both permanent and up all year. This is a fun one in the snow too.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great for beginners.

5+    11/5/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: Bozekihn
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) It's very easy to navigate the course due to the fact that every tee pad and basket are in plain view.

2) Rounds go pretty quickly. If you're familiar with the course, you can easily do 2 rounds in 30 minutes.

3) Very well maintained - the grass is mown on a regular basis, and the grounds are kept litter-free.

4) For the size of the course, there is a great deal of variation between most of the holes. (Hills, trees, etc.)

5) The course itself is very easy to locate, as it is along the main road in town.

6) Concrete tee pads are always a bonus.

7) Very tough to lose discs, unless you lose control of a throw, and it goes into the adjacent pool...

8) All you really need is a good putter and you're set to play the course.

9) The practice basket is pretty handy.
Cons: 1) If you go on a nice day, it can get pretty crowded. You have to wait for other groups occasionally, and if accuracy is an issue for you, you need to watch out for people on nearby holes.

2) A driveway to the pool parking lot runs through the middle of the course, so you need to watch out for cars.

3) There isn't much distance variation, so if you're looking to practice long drives, go elsewhere.

4) After it rains, holes 5 & 6 get pretty soaked. It's easy to play around the huge puddles, but be careful.
Other Thoughts: All in all, it's a pretty good course considering the amount of space the designers were given to work with. It's great for beginners who are learning to play, and it's good for advanced players who are looking to practice accuracy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My Marshfield Moment

1    3/20/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
Pros: 1) Posts with the Hole # on them . . . help with navigation.

2) Sign with general layout of the hole, Hole #, Par, and Distance.

3) Garbage cans available in a few spots.

4) Chainstar Practice Basket and pretty decent baskets (they look homemade or are really old).

5) Map at the entrance to the course by the first hole . . .This is an underappreciated amenity.

6) Concrete tees are always a plus.

7) You can always hit up the local bar Nutz Deep for a cocktail or a beer.

8) Nice variety in shots required because of all the trees in the fairways.

9) Minor elevation change on a couple of the holes while the course is generally pretty flat.

10) Nice mature trees make this course what it is. WIthout the huge old trees this would be really boring. They seem to be kept in good health also which means this course will be good as long as those trees are doing well.

11) Beginner friendly, while also providing some challenge to all golfers. You need to be able to execute shots.

12) Nice park with a pool, playground equipment, lots of other activities. There is even a zoo and "wild game viewing area". Not sure what that means but it is there.

13) Year round course with concrete . . . allowed me to play after a lot of snow in March. I never make it to this part of the state in the summer so it was nice to hit a few around Neillsville.
Cons: 1) Not enough distance variation . . . one hole at 140' the rest are between 200' and 280'

2) A couple of basket/tee areas are dangerous . . . overthrows or throws just offline might end up in a tee area.

3) The low area around Holes #5-9 collects a lot of water after the snow melt as well as during big storms I would guess. I played it coming out of the winter and my feet were dreched in cold slushy water after playing this course.

4) Some fairways run parallel to other holes which could also be really dangerous because of those drivers deflecting off of the mature Pine trees.

5) The road is definitely in play on one or two of the holes. It isn't a main road I don't believe . . . just a road to the rec center or whatever building is on site. . .regardless better design would have kept throws away from the road.

Other Thoughts: Not a bad course . . . not super pretty and not super challenging, but it has some good holes and the design of the course incorporates the best areas of the usable land. Lots of trees line the fairways and create a lot of shot making opportunities. You need to throw a few different shots to do well here.

 busy little park

5+    8/22/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 711  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nine baskets in a park.
Concrete tees.
Easy navigation.
Pool adjacent to course for family to hang at; while you play disc for the day.
Not far from Braem Park, with North Park of Wood County nearby as well.
Good course for a quick round. Good course to bring beginners to.
Lighted enough to play dark disc without fear of losing plastic. However, I wouldn't recommend going to play at 2 a.m., after bar time, as the police showed up when we did that once! Luckily, they didn't really give us any trouble; other than asking us to leave.
What elevation and trees that are available are used well.
Baskets stay in all winter; both here and at North Park.
Zoo also located in the same park; different area. Zoo has bison, elk, bear, etc.; used to be monkeys; don't know if they have those any more...How often can you take your family to the zoo; drop them off at a nice pool, and then go play three disc golf courses while they entertain themselves?
Cons: Homemade buckets a little weak.
Short course.
Can be crowded.
Water drainage not the best.
Other Thoughts: Installed in 1991; first course in the area. Disc play had to begin somewhere....for those of us who were playing in those days; courses were not easy to come by.... Options were quite limited; and so, this one earns the right to be loved for this alone. It was designed with lids and very early plastic in mind.
For a few years now, there has been talk of this course getting pulled and buckets being refurbished and used elsewhere. Play it soon; if you want to cross of the list. Lack of park funds; due to general recession, I believe, is the only reason this has not happened already.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Beginners

1    5/30/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: kaitm22
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quick if you dont have much time. Not a ton of walking. Great course to learn to play on.
Cons: Fairways are right next to each other and can be dangerous. This park can get a little crowded, especially since its such a tight space to begin with.
Other Thoughts: I would definately recommen North Wood County as the best in the Marshfield area, but if you are looking for just a quick game or are just starting out then this is the best place to go.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  It's a Quickie

5+    4/11/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: farmy87
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course to practice your midrange and approach shots on. Open fairways and only nine holes make for a real quick play if you are short on time or day light. Good course for beginners to learn the sport on.
Cons: Not much of a challenge here for experienced players. I believe that all holes are < 300 feet. Gets pretty busy during the summer and when school is out.
Other Thoughts: I used to play this course all the time when I was starting out. It was a great course to start out on, but is not very challenging anymore. Still good to practice midrange shots though, or when I want to play quick before it gets dark.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner course

5+    5/20/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: danno
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for building your technique. Each hole is good for offering both side-arm and over-hand approaches.
Cons: Short. Depending on time of day, it can get very crowded.
Other Thoughts: I usually only play on this course if I'm crunched for time or just want to get outside.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Its a course

5+    10/7/2008   5/7/2009
Review By: brentwood_17
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 9 baskets, 9 cement tee pads baskets surrounded by road millings (ie chopped up rubber) Very quick nine great putter course great beginner/exposure course stroller friendly
Cons: lack of distance tight, possibly dangerous, built before beasts and teebirds were even thought off can be wet after huge rain
Other Thoughts: This is definately a super easy course I only would play here with newbies. Will be beneficial when my little boy starts throwing. If your coming in from out of town no need unless you want to chalk up another course you played. Braem and North Wood County are better plays if you make it to Marshfield.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Wildwood Challenge

5+    9/2/2008   12/11/2008
Review By: charliekerper
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.3 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Clearly marked holes with carved wooden maps. Almost impossible to lose disc, even if playing at night as the park lights illuminate the course. Very well groomed park. Trees provide excellent obstacles for players. Very easy to find and usually no domineering locals. The holes are marked for there par based on the challenge they offer, instead of what many courses call the standard par 3.
Cons: Wild shots could end up in the gated public pool area. In the winter it is usually covered in snow. (I have played this course successfully in the snow)
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses around. I have played many around the country and this course is straightforward and lacks the overcomplexity that make other courses more immdediately attractive. It is a great beginner course due to the lack of less hazardess challenges and still entices competant players as they can focus on shots without worrying about losing discs. This was the course my friends and I used to frequent when we were in high school and will always be one of my favorites.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Typical county park course

1    6/10/2007   12/10/2008
Review By: Geoffro
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is certainly easily accessible, and offers a quick nine holes for those on their lunch break. The tees are well maintained, as are the baskets, and the fairways make use of limited space with a surprising variety of challenges. Signage was limited, but not really necessary to navigate the course.
Cons: A very short course, with lots of other activity happening on and around the course. This is another course that was more an afterthought than a course in and of itself.
Other Thoughts: I appreciate the opportunity to throw nine pretty much anywhere, and for this, Wildwood is an adequate course. I had a good time, and if I lived in Marshfield, I would likely play the course regularly - though there are better options in the area. This is not a course to go out of your way for, and even if you're in Marshfield for a day, not the course to play. I would recommend Braem of North Park of Wood County as alternatives.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.