Marshfield, WI
Wildwood Park Share
Uploaded By: erickmj  



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Braems busy little brother

5+    9/3/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 108  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 10 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees on all holes. Wood signs with par, distance and basic hole layout though its pretty obvious which pin to play to. trees to contend with on all holes, though not too many on any of them. Practice basket east of hole #1. A very solid warm up course for nearby Braem Park or just a fun course to let er rip for ace oppurtunities. baskets catch very well although chains a little rusty. course has been here for many years. can,t get confused or lose a disc unless you throw into the public pool hole #1 and #3 play next to, though that would be hard to do if you have any accuracy. Nothing special but a very fun little 9 hole course.
Cons: Gets very crowded at times. Fairways get very close together at times, especially #1 and #9 and #6 and #8. #8 and #9 to a lesser extent but can be a problem too. Park road crosses thru middle of course so watch for traffic. Pars are way too high so play all 3's if you are skilled. area around hole 6 tee can get very swampy and collect water. Not much of a challenge for elite players.
Other Thoughts: All in all a fun well maintained little 9 hole course in a great town. very easy to find off the main street thru town. just south of hardees. If in town be sure to play Braem park, a much better 18 hole course about 5 minutes north. But i'd recommend playing here as well if in the area. two nice courses a few miles apart. both permanent and up all year. This is a fun one in the snow too.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My Marshfield Moment

1    3/20/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 684  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: 1) Posts with the Hole # on them . . . help with navigation.

2) Sign with general layout of the hole, Hole #, Par, and Distance.

3) Garbage cans available in a few spots.

4) Chainstar Practice Basket and pretty decent baskets (they look homemade or are really old).

5) Map at the entrance to the course by the first hole . . .This is an underappreciated amenity.

6) Concrete tees are always a plus.

7) You can always hit up the local bar Nutz Deep for a cocktail or a beer.

8) Nice variety in shots required because of all the trees in the fairways.

9) Minor elevation change on a couple of the holes while the course is generally pretty flat.

10) Nice mature trees make this course what it is. WIthout the huge old trees this would be really boring. They seem to be kept in good health also which means this course will be good as long as those trees are doing well.

11) Beginner friendly, while also providing some challenge to all golfers. You need to be able to execute shots.

12) Nice park with a pool, playground equipment, lots of other activities. There is even a zoo and "wild game viewing area". Not sure what that means but it is there.

13) Year round course with concrete . . . allowed me to play after a lot of snow in March. I never make it to this part of the state in the summer so it was nice to hit a few around Neillsville.
Cons: 1) Not enough distance variation . . . one hole at 140' the rest are between 200' and 280'

2) A couple of basket/tee areas are dangerous . . . overthrows or throws just offline might end up in a tee area.

3) The low area around Holes #5-9 collects a lot of water after the snow melt as well as during big storms I would guess. I played it coming out of the winter and my feet were dreched in cold slushy water after playing this course.

4) Some fairways run parallel to other holes which could also be really dangerous because of those drivers deflecting off of the mature Pine trees.

5) The road is definitely in play on one or two of the holes. It isn't a main road I don't believe . . . just a road to the rec center or whatever building is on site. . .regardless better design would have kept throws away from the road.

Other Thoughts: Not a bad course . . . not super pretty and not super challenging, but it has some good holes and the design of the course incorporates the best areas of the usable land. Lots of trees line the fairways and create a lot of shot making opportunities. You need to throw a few different shots to do well here.

 Great for Beginners

1    5/30/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: kaitm22
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quick if you dont have much time. Not a ton of walking. Great course to learn to play on.
Cons: Fairways are right next to each other and can be dangerous. This park can get a little crowded, especially since its such a tight space to begin with.
Other Thoughts: I would definately recommen North Wood County as the best in the Marshfield area, but if you are looking for just a quick game or are just starting out then this is the best place to go.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner course

5+    5/20/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: danno
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for building your technique. Each hole is good for offering both side-arm and over-hand approaches.
Cons: Short. Depending on time of day, it can get very crowded.
Other Thoughts: I usually only play on this course if I'm crunched for time or just want to get outside.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Typical county park course

1    6/10/2007   12/10/2008
Review By: Geoffro
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is certainly easily accessible, and offers a quick nine holes for those on their lunch break. The tees are well maintained, as are the baskets, and the fairways make use of limited space with a surprising variety of challenges. Signage was limited, but not really necessary to navigate the course.
Cons: A very short course, with lots of other activity happening on and around the course. This is another course that was more an afterthought than a course in and of itself.
Other Thoughts: I appreciate the opportunity to throw nine pretty much anywhere, and for this, Wildwood is an adequate course. I had a good time, and if I lived in Marshfield, I would likely play the course regularly - though there are better options in the area. This is not a course to go out of your way for, and even if you're in Marshfield for a day, not the course to play. I would recommend Braem of North Park of Wood County as alternatives.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.