Corvallis, OR 
Willamette Park Share
Uploaded By: didy22 Hole #15 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 317ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very Nice!

1    5/24/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Ski'ndisc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great atmostphere!
Beautiful area...really cool trees!
Easy to find.
Fun course!
Cons: Layout is tight on the back few holes, kind of throw at each other. Not a big deal but pay attention.
Signage could be better.
Other Thoughts: This was a very fun course. Not too easy, not too hard. Some real neat shots around trees and through the brush.
Would've rated it hirer if signage was better!
I really enjoyed playing this course, if you're in Corvalis or even driving through.. it's worth the stop!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Willamette Park is Great

5+    8/17/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: PseudoTsuga
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Far away from cops, though someone did recently get busted for open containers on the course. Great challenge but doable for new players. Good course to train on for experience players. A beautiful course.
Cons: BLACKBERRIES!
Other Thoughts: Wear shoes and pants if it isn't too warm. Retrieving a stray disc from the brambles can be a real pain in shorts.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Social Disc Golf...

5+    7/31/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wonderful Layout
- Only one very short hole
- Few truly open fairways
- near downtown Corvallis
Cons: - CROWDED
- Many holes have similar layouts
- Holes 13 - 17 bunched a bit tight, especially when crowded (which is a lot).
- no real elevation changes
Other Thoughts: For me, the best thing about this course is that 90% of the holes require one *full* shot (usually a fairway driver), then depending on where you land, a setup/and or putt. Every whole has trees and shrubs that make it challenging enough. If these were all open fairways, it would get boring quick.

When school is in, this place is the most crowded around. Lots of kids who throw every third throw in the woods, so be prepared to wait around. I usually don't like drinking beer when I play, but I could see doing so playing with four guys on a crowded day. Like previous reviewers: go early morning or late afternoon (summer) if you want it more quaint.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 First time... 2 thumbs up!

1    10/9/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: discgolforegon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great Baskets
- Good teepads
- Benches on a few holes
- Grassy fairways make for easy walking
- Finally a course that favors the turnover shot or sidearm
- Ample parking
- Informational with course maps
- Recylcing cans and trash ones too
- Didn't see to much litter (see cons for exceptions)
Cons: - Dog poo, found a couple bags of poo left sitting in fairways
- Course signage is lacking bad! Some of the distances have to be off.
- Alot of the holes blend into each other, producing a kind of ok same shot here routine.
- Busy park during peak usage times
- Large amount of college "boys"

I understand that some of these can only be a problem if you let them get to you. See below for other thoughts.
Other Thoughts: This was the first time that I have played Willamette, and I must say I had a great time. I felt that course had a decent flow, good grassy fairways, and hard pin settings. This is not an "Easy" course with most holes allowing you to toss a bomber. I think that with more time this course will be a 4 - 4.5 star course.
Just needs some more TLC, some benches, more trash cans, and less poo. :)

Will be back again, and as always big thanks goes out to anyone and everyone who helps make Oregon courses some of the best in the Nation.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/31/2010   7/27/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 202  Reviewed: 194  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2011
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent course with a great mix of hole distances from 200 to over 400 feet long. Navigation was pretty simple especially with all of the locals, we just followed the group in front of us. The fairways are open for the most part and disc searching is kept to a minimum. I love all of the green grass that is mowed and the fairways that have trees in clever spots guarding certain lines. Also lots of out of bounds makes for some challenging golf
Cons: The majority of the holes look very similar so the course blends together in my mind because of this. Some of the fairways get close to each other and some of the other park users. Not a whole lot of cons really, just a solid but not fantastic course.
Other Thoughts: There really are not many bad things to say about this place just the one mentioned, Another gem of a course in the Oregon park system, check this place out if you are in the area.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/4/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: Oregon Southpaw
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gorgeous location.

Well thought-out and placed baskets.

VERY lefty friendly.

Ace opportunities abound but this course isn't just giving them to you.

FUN. No punishment involved. And usually not too much extended "search for disc" time.

Alternate pins keep things interesting.

Good players can make some very good scores.

Strong community of players, regular network is pretty welcoming and thoughtful.
Cons: Crowded, but often with large group of serious golfers who are considerate.

It gets horrible in the Spring/Early Summer when the [enter collegiate cliche here] crowd comes out, drinks 30-packs and heeds absolutely no etiquette. Beware large groups with few very bags spread between them and beer.

Vandalism is rampant. Feces were rubbed on a basket and bench (since cleared). Lots of boozing and weed smoking, and worse is the litter even as there are recycling bins at two points!

They need to mow some underbrush, at least creating fairways.
Other Thoughts: Pretty much my home course now. I try to get in at least 100 holes a week. As mentioned below, go early in the morning and be amazed at the solitude. Worst time is generally around 2:30-6:30. In the summer, late games can be delicious...

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Adair's Little Sister Course!

5/26/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a nice setting for a course, lovely big ole park. The course plays through open areas and more wooded technical parts of the park. Nice kiosk at start with course information. Teepads are made up of 10 large concrete blocks, they work just fine.One hole even had these concrete blocks under the bench for the players waiting to tee off. Nice informative signs. Pretty easy to navigate.
Cons: Unlike Adair, where I felt each hole has it's own unique quality, here I felt the holes kind of blended together in my mind. It's hard for me to distinctly remember any one particular hole. You lefties who are constantly complaining about courses being biased in favor of righty back handed throwers would love this course. I believe the ratio is something like 12 to 1 in holes with a slight anhyser favor to them. Many have mentioned how crowded this park can get. I played on a cold drizzly day and almost had the park to myself.
Other Thoughts: This course has a couple of design features that set's it aside from most all other courses. Some people would probably call them cons, I found them to be more quirky if anything, maybe adding to the character of Willamette.

First, many of the fairways run very close together, up and back like golf course fairways. Course detractors would scream safety issues and whatnot. I think I might like the fact that as I'm walking up one fairway, I can see the group ahead of me teeing off or playing their second shot. They can "Four", I'll duck if needed.

The second strange design features holes 14, 15, 16 and 17. They are once again side by side but the issue here is, they don't seem to be in order. So 17 fairway is between 14 and 16. Or something like that? Whatever, I think it works. It's like the Green Monster at Fenway Park in Boston. It's kinda weird but it's part of what makes that ballpark unique. Same with this odd hole design here. It just adds to the Willamette mystique.

I think Willamette often times suffers from the unfair comparison to Adair. I say come play Willamette first, you'll enjoy it. Then go treat yourself to the Adair experience. You'll love it!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.