Corvallis, OR 
Willamette Park Share
Uploaded By: didy22 Hole #8 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Solid as a rock

5+    8/25/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: mthill
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Perfect intermediate player course
-Skillful ace runs
-Groomed and kept up well
-Very clean course flow. Hard to get lost here
-Won't lose your disc here unless it's a real bad shank
Cons: -Often there is a 1-2 party queue at tee pad 1
-Couple shared fairways in the back 9 can be hazardous on a crowded day
-No real challenging/technical holes
Other Thoughts: This course packs a lot of fun with minimal stress. Willamette is perfect for the intermediate player, as there are only 2 holes rocking 400+ pins here. While not a cakewalk by any means, it is definitely possible to slay this course if you are on your game that day. If you reside near Corvallis, Willamette is an excellent home course. If you do not live near Corvallis, traveling here to play Willamette and Adair is definitely worth a day trip.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  My Baby...

5+    6/30/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: JQuist
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all, for the most part. Challenging/Friendly holes for both righties and lefties. Makes you have to throw different throws throughout (backhand, forearm, thumber, etc..). It's a good beginner course to really see your game evolve and your scores improve.
Cons: When the weather is bad, it can get pretty gross and muddy. Every once in awhile a soccer game might be going on to the right of Hole 3. Frequent pedestrians running/biking/walking through the park come into play on occasion.
Other Thoughts: Been playing here frequently since 2003 and I can't say enough good things about this course. If you haven't played it yet, I really recommend it! You won't regret it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Willamette Park Corvallis Oregon

5+    1/16/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: Discbear
Played: 275  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the course by which I compare all others as it was the 1st I ever played, and because of this course I quickly became addicted. It is still a highly regarded course even though I have scores of other courses to compare it to. It is a beginner friendly course but challenging enough that pros will enjoy it,though they will routinely shoot under par after they learn the course. Fun challenges exist as trees come into play on every hole, but you never play dense forests where a disc has to be squeezed through a window sized hole where luck is the law of the throw. There are 7 holes that I think there is a reasonable chance of going ob, and over the years I have been ob on 10 of them. It's a nice park with lots of grass fairways and trees. It is hard to lose a disc there these days because most of the disc eating blackberry graveyards have been highly decimated, though if your persistent I'm sure there are numerous ways that you can still throw one away.
Cons: It usually gets crowded on nice weekends and on warm evenings from April through October. They let the grass get knee high in May and June to protect some plant that flowers then. I still don't know what that is. If you have grass allergies you will have sneezing fits in June.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Crowd and crisscross Holes

1    2/9/2010   2/9/2010
Review By: Riderflydg
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Excellent challenge courses for RHBH and beginner like me.
Cons: High traffic and crisscrossing holes in the afternoon. Go for early morning.
Other Thoughts: Play It Again Sports store has a score card and course map, pick it up at 1422 NW 9th St.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Snowing yellow leaves

1    10/19/2005   1/31/2010
Review By: StimpiSteve
Played: 165  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park setting with beautiful giant trees. In the Autumn, when I played it, there was a slight breeze which dislodged so many dead leaves that it appeared to be snowing yellow. The holes were of a nice variety of shots and lengths. Challenging and fun with glimpses of the nearby river.
Cons: Can't think of any cons.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice if your in the area

2-4    7/11/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course with great mixture of holes. RHBH want to bring their sidearm with them or adjust accordingly as there are a lot of anhyzer shots.
Good amount of trees keep the course somewhat challenging
Cons: No real tee signs just a wooden pole with stuff carved on it.
trash all around, but not to blame the "hippies" as one review did. They just need garbage cans. There are only one or two throughout hole course.
Other Thoughts: All in all a good course. Pretty easy to shoot under par if you know what your doing, but you can also have the occasional bad day and get frustrated.
Pick your shots well though and you will do alright.
I would play this course more but..
#1 it is to far from my house(45min +)
#2 not that challenging, I think the park closer to this is more challenging than this one. So I would go there before I go here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better than Adair

7/21/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: handsoffmt
Played: 262  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 21.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, open course with a good range of hole lengths (250-400+ feet). Good variety of Hyzer and anhyzer holes. I like a course where a birdie is possible on most holes, and all but one (for me) is reachable on the drive. I hear rumours of people birdying 3, but have not seen it for my own eyes.
Cons: Can get crowded, especially on the few sunny days when school is in session. Only thing missing are some technical woodsy shots.
Other Thoughts: I like this course much better than Adair. Adair has too many boring, long holes that are hard to birdy or bogey, and easy to par.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent when not crowded

5/10/2008   5/10/2008
Review By: OR_Crayfish
Played: 70  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course. Scenic, challanging and some areas near the Willamette River with Bald Eagles swooping around. We live about 1500ft from the course. We love it. Great opportunities for all type of shots. Trend is lots of forehand drives but easily reachable with nice turnover backhands. Im an int player (for OR) at 920 rating. I usually shoot around 56 with some occasional under par rounds. This is not the hardest course in OR by any means but it can test many aspects of your game.
Cons: In the title. This is the Hot Spot for the OSU college scene. I dont blame them, its beautiful. However it can get wild out there with discs flying everywhere and tons of litter. Pack in Pack out dangit. Just watch your topknot and its a great time. Its also a dog off leash area (which is cool) but that means dogs everywhere and tons O' Pooh to dodge !!! Get there early AM and its empty and wonderful
Other Thoughts: Local disc folks in the area work very hard to keep this course in nice shape. Some fun Alt pin placements with a brand new one (as of 5/8/08) on hole 5. Enjoy!!! I prefer Adair Village and if you only have time for one round in the area go there!!!!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden hideaway

5/1/2008   5/5/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Course laid out in a field of trees, earning a challanged rating.
Cons: Usually open at the tee, making it easy to drive down the field but, you could still run into trees down the lane.
Other Thoughts: First come first serve. Popular course in the area.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.