Corvallis, OR 
Willamette Park Share
Uploaded By: didy22 Hole #15 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 317ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Good course, lacking elevation change

1    6/28/2016   6/29/2016
Review By: Pjplasma
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great flow, considering a lot of flat terrain and mainly wooded areas nice adaptation
- The short ace holes are complex enough to be more then just "throw straight"
- Tons of routes to take, lots of different variation to keep you going back
- Nice concrete tee pads, benches on some holes
Cons: - Massive lack of clear marking of basket numbers, and next tee, and hole position (it is hard to get lost though)
- pretty average layout, nothing overly interesting or especially exciting, lots of straight throws to the basket.
- great home course but I probably wouldn't travel a great distance to go here, nothing stands out really
- can get a little busy
Other Thoughts: Overall a great 18 course. It's really nothing special and doesn't stand out for me but it's still a great home course and plenty of variation to keep you interested. The lack of pretty much any substantial elevation change at all is a bummer. Great course but I feel over time I would get quite bored of it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Extremely Overgrown

1    4/30/2016   5/1/2016
Review By: sarvs
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very balanced landscape featuring just enough elevation change /basket heights to keep the course from feeling repetitive. Variety of open shots and some more technical lightly wooded shots. The park overall is very beautiful. Locals were extremely friendly.
Cons: Extremely overgrown. Grass on the fairways were above the ankles and sometimes mid knee. Even though its early in the season, there have been enough warm and dry weekends to make the lack of grooming unacceptable for a public course.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure this course is normally a great course and alternative for those not wanting to drive to Adair, but i didn't have very much fun playing here. Use a spotter if possible, my group spent A LOT of time looking for discs.

I may have rated this a 3.5 or 4 if the course were recently groomed, but this was one of the most overgrown courses that I've played on.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Willamette Park

1    12/15/2015   12/16/2015
Review By: Chasinchains503
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park was very fun to play for my first time going there. Always fun to try something new.

Tee pads were in good condition. There was at most holes an optional "pro" pad to throw from but they were rubber pads so not the most appealing to throw from when wet.

Holes seemed to flow very nicely, not too much confusion as to where to go to next. Picture of course is available to reference at the beginning of hole 1.

At almost every hole, if not every other, there were garbage and recycling bins available to take care of any trash we had. Always nice to see that to keep a park clean.

The holes are very lefty backhand friendly and right arm side arm. I would say about 80% had a line to use those options for throwing. Great way to practice side arm if you generally throw back hand.

Good mix of short range throws and some decent lengthy throws to have to bust out. Was able to use mostly all of my discs I carry.
Cons: Although it is nice to have practice for side arm throws, it was a little disappointing that on almost every hole side arm (for rightys) was the best approach off the tee.

A lot of the holes almost share fairways in most of the park. On the back 3 holes you have a zig zag kind of line when finishing the course. A little worrisome if your fingers decided to grip lock. It is a very friendly park so I wasn't to worried about gettin in others' way but it would have been nicer to somehow have the holes spread apart more to not have that thought at all. Very nice layout tho throughout course for what they were allowed for!!

Very populated park for all sorts of use. There were A LOT of dogs here running around with no leash which generally isn't an issue for me. But, with this being a shorter course, say compared to McIver, then you will have dogs in your grill either when you're teeing off or going up for an approach. Does have a child's playground near by some of the holes so a little loud at times if you are really focusing on getting a good score
Other Thoughts: Overall a very fun course that is in a nice neighborhood area. Everyone we encounter was very friendly.

Very clean park

My friends and I went on a road trip from Portland down to Dexter and Eugene and we rounded off our disc golf adventure by playing here. Very fun and somewhat challenging course to wind down our disc golf Mecca of a day.

The reason I didn't rate this higher than a 4 is because to make it perfect, I would have loved to see better signage at the tee to show pin placement (didn't have to walk too far up fairway to see basket tho). Also if there would have been a different mix of pin locations (more off to the left of tee).

I would definitely make the trip down to corvo to play here again

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The perfect normal course

5+    6/6/2015   6/8/2015
Review By: sparred4life
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Mostly open holes, but that doesn't translate to overly easy. You will need a pretty decent arm to reach many of them.
- A lot of recent work has cleared many of the black berry bushes.
- Little chance of actually losing a disc.
- Great for beginners or seasoned players looking to just have fun.
- Easy to navigate.
- Enjoyable.
- A lot of work is being put in to improve the course, which is encouraging.
Cons: - Can get pretty crowded sometimes, with quite a few large groups.
- Too many signs have been ruined by dumb players. (Rumor has it new ones are being made as we speak.)
- Won't challenge you as often.
Other Thoughts: This is a good home course with some different looking holes. Maybe the best place in the area to take a new player. Bring dog treats!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    5/16/2014   6/6/2014
Review By: linusfrisbee
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Amazing course. Long challenging difficult but super fun. Variety of shots. good amount of trees.
Cons: Flat not much elevation. Popular, can be a little crowded on weekends
Other Thoughts: I love this course. One of the 6 best in Oregon. Travel from Portland to play. Can't believe its only a 3.7 level.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course

1    7/29/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: beaverboy56
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Cement Tees

Attempts to add difficulty to holes with basket placement

Fairly wide open, great for beginners

No poison oak (that I saw)

Dogs allowed

Grass is well maintained
Cons: Garbage, there was garbage everywhere...despite there being a ton of garbage cans

Course is a little too wide open, despite hiding baskets behind the occasional tree and up on a small hill the holes were short, and fairly wide open

Vandalism had occurred on many of the holes, signs were missing showing hole location on the majority of the holes. Signage between holes was missing as well.
Other Thoughts: Great beginner course (at least in this area). Aside from vandalism and garbage it was fun. In a 25 mile radius I'd put this course right behind Adair, and right in front of Bryant.

Be prepared to wait as this is a busy course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice!

1    5/24/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Ski'ndisc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great atmostphere!
Beautiful area...really cool trees!
Easy to find.
Fun course!
Cons: Layout is tight on the back few holes, kind of throw at each other. Not a big deal but pay attention.
Signage could be better.
Other Thoughts: This was a very fun course. Not too easy, not too hard. Some real neat shots around trees and through the brush.
Would've rated it hirer if signage was better!
I really enjoyed playing this course, if you're in Corvalis or even driving through.. it's worth the stop!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/11/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 52  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Enough trees to make you have to work your shots. Left-to-right and right-to-left. Fun course that I enjoyed even in the rain. Place your shots and your good. Stray shots can lead to extra shots. Would have giving it a 3.5 if the tee signs were better/complete.
Cons: Tee signs, really the lack of them. Some don't have any info. on them. Just 4x4's to mark the pad area. A little paint in the routed out grooves would make them easier to read too.
Other Thoughts: Be careful playing in the fall. There had to be 67 trillion leaves on the ground and real deep in some areas that will swallow even a good shot. So keep an eye on your discs path.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Willamette Park is Great

5+    8/17/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: PseudoTsuga
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Far away from cops, though someone did recently get busted for open containers on the course. Great challenge but doable for new players. Good course to train on for experience players. A beautiful course.
Cons: BLACKBERRIES!
Other Thoughts: Wear shoes and pants if it isn't too warm. Retrieving a stray disc from the brambles can be a real pain in shorts.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Every rose has its thorns, and so do some ugly weeds

1    7/22/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 156  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Willamette isn't a course that looks all that difficult. Nearly all of the holes are moderately wooded, and the lines to the basket are clearly there. But the droopy trees have a way of snagging your errant shots. If you can throw 250 with accuracy, you won't have much trouble shooting par. But if you can't stretch out that accuracy and you go for the birdie anyway, you may find yourself in a difficult spot. The design of the holes did force a good balance of left-to-right and right-to-left shots.

Navigation wasn't too bad, and the course maps at the start help get you around. The tee pads were not long but were all concrete (or something similar).
Cons: The biggest con is the rough that creeps along the sides of the fairways. It is thick, thorny weeds, and so the course combined two of my least favorite things: searching for discs, and drawing blood. Everyone in our group ended up in this mess at some point.

Unfortunately there isn't a lot else to overcome this. The course is perfectly flat, and most of the holes look and feel the same, going back and forth through the same areas. There isn't really a signature hole. The tee signs are just stakes in the ground.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, this course is worth a visit. The challenge is enough to be worth playing but not enough to beat you down (except when you're bleeding). That said, Oregon has a wealth of great courses. This course is just average by Oregon standards, even though it would be one of the better courses in many parts of the country.


3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.