Corvallis, OR 
Willamette Park Share
Uploaded By: didy22 Hole #15 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 317ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Great course, great fun..

1    5/19/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: BrickE
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This might be the best course that I have ever played. The grass is cut, the brush is under control. The holes are not repetitive, which makes this course non stop fun from beginning to end. The people were friendly enough and there were not a lot of people who were not playing disc golf in the way like there are at some parks. The holes were also varied in length but non so long that a newer player could not play them. Also the course was laid out in a way that made finding your way around pretty easy.
Cons: The course was a little congested, but it was a little congested, but it was laid out in a way that it didn't really hurt things too much. The course needs better markings at the tee pads for sure. Also it doesn't apply to me personally but I would imagine that players that have a great drive might desire to have a couple of longer holes on the course.
Other Thoughts: Bring someone to play with you. It seems that people in this community might like to keep to themselves and it might be hard to get a pick up game at this course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid as a rock

5+    8/25/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: mthill
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Perfect intermediate player course
-Skillful ace runs
-Groomed and kept up well
-Very clean course flow. Hard to get lost here
-Won't lose your disc here unless it's a real bad shank
Cons: -Often there is a 1-2 party queue at tee pad 1
-Couple shared fairways in the back 9 can be hazardous on a crowded day
-No real challenging/technical holes
Other Thoughts: This course packs a lot of fun with minimal stress. Willamette is perfect for the intermediate player, as there are only 2 holes rocking 400+ pins here. While not a cakewalk by any means, it is definitely possible to slay this course if you are on your game that day. If you reside near Corvallis, Willamette is an excellent home course. If you do not live near Corvallis, traveling here to play Willamette and Adair is definitely worth a day trip.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Social Disc Golf...

5+    7/31/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wonderful Layout
- Only one very short hole
- Few truly open fairways
- near downtown Corvallis
Cons: - CROWDED
- Many holes have similar layouts
- Holes 13 - 17 bunched a bit tight, especially when crowded (which is a lot).
- no real elevation changes
Other Thoughts: For me, the best thing about this course is that 90% of the holes require one *full* shot (usually a fairway driver), then depending on where you land, a setup/and or putt. Every whole has trees and shrubs that make it challenging enough. If these were all open fairways, it would get boring quick.

When school is in, this place is the most crowded around. Lots of kids who throw every third throw in the woods, so be prepared to wait around. I usually don't like drinking beer when I play, but I could see doing so playing with four guys on a crowded day. Like previous reviewers: go early morning or late afternoon (summer) if you want it more quaint.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  My Baby...

5+    6/30/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: JQuist
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all, for the most part. Challenging/Friendly holes for both righties and lefties. Makes you have to throw different throws throughout (backhand, forearm, thumber, etc..). It's a good beginner course to really see your game evolve and your scores improve.
Cons: When the weather is bad, it can get pretty gross and muddy. Every once in awhile a soccer game might be going on to the right of Hole 3. Frequent pedestrians running/biking/walking through the park come into play on occasion.
Other Thoughts: Been playing here frequently since 2003 and I can't say enough good things about this course. If you haven't played it yet, I really recommend it! You won't regret it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Willamette Park Corvallis Oregon

5+    1/16/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: Discbear
Played: 418  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 16.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the course by which I compare all others as it was the 1st I ever played, and because of this course I quickly became addicted. It is still a highly regarded course even though I have scores of other courses to compare it to. It is a beginner friendly course but challenging enough that pros will enjoy it,though they will routinely shoot under par after they learn the course. Fun challenges exist as trees come into play on every hole, but you never play dense forests where a disc has to be squeezed through a window sized hole where luck is the law of the throw. There are 7 holes that I think there is a reasonable chance of going ob, and over the years I have been ob on 10 of them. It's a nice park with lots of grass fairways and trees. It is hard to lose a disc there these days because most of the disc eating blackberry graveyards have been highly decimated, though if your persistent I'm sure there are numerous ways that you can still throw one away.
Cons: It usually gets crowded on nice weekends and on warm evenings from April through October. They let the grass get knee high in May and June to protect some plant that flowers then. I still don't know what that is. If you have grass allergies you will have sneezing fits in June.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Crowd and crisscross Holes

1    2/9/2010   2/9/2010
Review By: Riderflydg
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Excellent challenge courses for RHBH and beginner like me.
Cons: High traffic and crisscrossing holes in the afternoon. Go for early morning.
Other Thoughts: Play It Again Sports store has a score card and course map, pick it up at 1422 NW 9th St.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Snowing yellow leaves

1    10/19/2005   1/31/2010
Review By: StimpiSteve
Played: 165  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park setting with beautiful giant trees. In the Autumn, when I played it, there was a slight breeze which dislodged so many dead leaves that it appeared to be snowing yellow. The holes were of a nice variety of shots and lengths. Challenging and fun with glimpses of the nearby river.
Cons: Can't think of any cons.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course

2-4    10/31/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 42  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 9.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Great variation in hole distances.
- Need for right handed shots and left handed, although it does seem to favor lefties a little more. That's fine though considering most courses favor righties.
- The baskets are in excellent condition as well as the teepads.
Cons:
- The biggest thing was that holes 13, 15, 16, and 17 pretty much share their fairways and it is difficult to get tee shots off while there is someone on the other tee because they're so close.
Other Thoughts:
- There was a lot of leaves on the ground so I would be cautious about throwing orange, yellow, and light green discs. I know because that's pretty much all I throw.
- This is an excellent course that I would recommend anyone play. Beginners will most likely find a few of the holes to be really hard because of length, but it isn't too bad. Definitely a great course for Ams and Pros.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 First time... 2 thumbs up!

1    10/9/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: discgolforegon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 19.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great Baskets
- Good teepads
- Benches on a few holes
- Grassy fairways make for easy walking
- Finally a course that favors the turnover shot or sidearm
- Ample parking
- Informational with course maps
- Recylcing cans and trash ones too
- Didn't see to much litter (see cons for exceptions)
Cons: - Dog poo, found a couple bags of poo left sitting in fairways
- Course signage is lacking bad! Some of the distances have to be off.
- Alot of the holes blend into each other, producing a kind of ok same shot here routine.
- Busy park during peak usage times
- Large amount of college "boys"

I understand that some of these can only be a problem if you let them get to you. See below for other thoughts.
Other Thoughts: This was the first time that I have played Willamette, and I must say I had a great time. I felt that course had a decent flow, good grassy fairways, and hard pin settings. This is not an "Easy" course with most holes allowing you to toss a bomber. I think that with more time this course will be a 4 - 4.5 star course.
Just needs some more TLC, some benches, more trash cans, and less poo. :)

Will be back again, and as always big thanks goes out to anyone and everyone who helps make Oregon courses some of the best in the Nation.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 nice if your in the area

2-4    7/11/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 43  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course with great mixture of holes. RHBH want to bring their sidearm with them or adjust accordingly as there are a lot of anhyzer shots.
Good amount of trees keep the course somewhat challenging
Cons: No real tee signs just a wooden pole with stuff carved on it.
trash all around, but not to blame the "hippies" as one review did. They just need garbage cans. There are only one or two throughout hole course.
Other Thoughts: All in all a good course. Pretty easy to shoot under par if you know what your doing, but you can also have the occasional bad day and get frustrated.
Pick your shots well though and you will do alright.
I would play this course more but..
#1 it is to far from my house(45min +)
#2 not that challenging, I think the park closer to this is more challenging than this one. So I would go there before I go here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.