Corvallis, OR
Willamette Park Share
Uploaded By: didy22 Hole #5 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great beginner course

1    7/29/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: beaverboy56
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2 Years
Pros: Cement Tees

Attempts to add difficulty to holes with basket placement

Fairly wide open, great for beginners

No poison oak (that I saw)

Dogs allowed

Grass is well maintained
Cons: Garbage, there was garbage everywhere...despite there being a ton of garbage cans

Course is a little too wide open, despite hiding baskets behind the occasional tree and up on a small hill the holes were short, and fairly wide open

Vandalism had occurred on many of the holes, signs were missing showing hole location on the majority of the holes. Signage between holes was missing as well.
Other Thoughts: Great beginner course (at least in this area). Aside from vandalism and garbage it was fun. In a 25 mile radius I'd put this course right behind Adair, and right in front of Bryant.

Be prepared to wait as this is a busy course.

Very Nice!

1    5/24/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Ski'ndisc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: Great atmostphere!
Beautiful area...really cool trees!
Easy to find.
Fun course!
Cons: Layout is tight on the back few holes, kind of throw at each other. Not a big deal but pay attention.
Signage could be better.
Other Thoughts: This was a very fun course. Not too easy, not too hard. Some real neat shots around trees and through the brush.
Would've rated it hirer if signage was better!
I really enjoyed playing this course, if you're in Corvalis or even driving through.. it's worth the stop!


1    11/11/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 37  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Enough trees to make you have to work your shots. Left-to-right and right-to-left. Fun course that I enjoyed even in the rain. Place your shots and your good. Stray shots can lead to extra shots. Would have giving it a 3.5 if the tee signs were better/complete.
Cons: Tee signs, really the lack of them. Some don't have any info. on them. Just 4x4's to mark the pad area. A little paint in the routed out grooves would make them easier to read too.
Other Thoughts: Be careful playing in the fall. There had to be 67 trillion leaves on the ground and real deep in some areas that will swallow even a good shot. So keep an eye on your discs path.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Willamette Park is Great

5+    8/17/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: PseudoTsuga
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Far away from cops, though someone did recently get busted for open containers on the course. Great challenge but doable for new players. Good course to train on for experience players. A beautiful course.
Cons: BLACKBERRIES!
Other Thoughts: Wear shoes and pants if it isn't too warm. Retrieving a stray disc from the brambles can be a real pain in shorts.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Every rose has its thorns, and so do some ugly weeds

1    7/22/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 103  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Willamette isn't a course that looks all that difficult. Nearly all of the holes are moderately wooded, and the lines to the basket are clearly there. But the droopy trees have a way of snagging your errant shots. If you can throw 250 with accuracy, you won't have much trouble shooting par. But if you can't stretch out that accuracy and you go for the birdie anyway, you may find yourself in a difficult spot. The design of the holes did force a good balance of left-to-right and right-to-left shots.

Navigation wasn't too bad, and the course maps at the start help get you around. The tee pads were not long but were all concrete (or something similar).
Cons: The biggest con is the rough that creeps along the sides of the fairways. It is thick, thorny weeds, and so the course combined two of my least favorite things: searching for discs, and drawing blood. Everyone in our group ended up in this mess at some point.

Unfortunately there isn't a lot else to overcome this. The course is perfectly flat, and most of the holes look and feel the same, going back and forth through the same areas. There isn't really a signature hole. The tee signs are just stakes in the ground.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, this course is worth a visit. The challenge is enough to be worth playing but not enough to beat you down (except when you're bleeding). That said, Oregon has a wealth of great courses. This course is just average by Oregon standards, even though it would be one of the better courses in many parts of the country.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course, great fun..

1    5/19/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: BrickE
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This might be the best course that I have ever played. The grass is cut, the brush is under control. The holes are not repetitive, which makes this course non stop fun from beginning to end. The people were friendly enough and there were not a lot of people who were not playing disc golf in the way like there are at some parks. The holes were also varied in length but non so long that a newer player could not play them. Also the course was laid out in a way that made finding your way around pretty easy.
Cons: The course was a little congested, but it was a little congested, but it was laid out in a way that it didn't really hurt things too much. The course needs better markings at the tee pads for sure. Also it doesn't apply to me personally but I would imagine that players that have a great drive might desire to have a couple of longer holes on the course.
Other Thoughts: Bring someone to play with you. It seems that people in this community might like to keep to themselves and it might be hard to get a pick up game at this course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid as a rock

5+    8/25/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: mthill
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Perfect intermediate player course
-Skillful ace runs
-Groomed and kept up well
-Very clean course flow. Hard to get lost here
-Won't lose your disc here unless it's a real bad shank
Cons: -Often there is a 1-2 party queue at tee pad 1
-Couple shared fairways in the back 9 can be hazardous on a crowded day
-No real challenging/technical holes
Other Thoughts: This course packs a lot of fun with minimal stress. Willamette is perfect for the intermediate player, as there are only 2 holes rocking 400+ pins here. While not a cakewalk by any means, it is definitely possible to slay this course if you are on your game that day. If you reside near Corvallis, Willamette is an excellent home course. If you do not live near Corvallis, traveling here to play Willamette and Adair is definitely worth a day trip.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Social Disc Golf...

5+    7/31/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wonderful Layout
- Only one very short hole
- Few truly open fairways
- near downtown Corvallis
Cons: - CROWDED
- Many holes have similar layouts
- Holes 13 - 17 bunched a bit tight, especially when crowded (which is a lot).
- no real elevation changes
Other Thoughts: For me, the best thing about this course is that 90% of the holes require one *full* shot (usually a fairway driver), then depending on where you land, a setup/and or putt. Every whole has trees and shrubs that make it challenging enough. If these were all open fairways, it would get boring quick.

When school is in, this place is the most crowded around. Lots of kids who throw every third throw in the woods, so be prepared to wait around. I usually don't like drinking beer when I play, but I could see doing so playing with four guys on a crowded day. Like previous reviewers: go early morning or late afternoon (summer) if you want it more quaint.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  My Baby...

5+    6/30/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: JQuist
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all, for the most part. Challenging/Friendly holes for both righties and lefties. Makes you have to throw different throws throughout (backhand, forearm, thumber, etc..). It's a good beginner course to really see your game evolve and your scores improve.
Cons: When the weather is bad, it can get pretty gross and muddy. Every once in awhile a soccer game might be going on to the right of Hole 3. Frequent pedestrians running/biking/walking through the park come into play on occasion.
Other Thoughts: Been playing here frequently since 2003 and I can't say enough good things about this course. If you haven't played it yet, I really recommend it! You won't regret it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Willamette Park Corvallis Oregon

5+    1/16/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: Discbear
Played: 254  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the course by which I compare all others as it was the 1st I ever played, and because of this course I quickly became addicted. It is still a highly regarded course even though I have scores of other courses to compare it to. It is a beginner friendly course but challenging enough that pros will enjoy it,though they will routinely shoot under par after they learn the course. Fun challenges exist as trees come into play on every hole, but you never play dense forests where a disc has to be squeezed through a window sized hole where luck is the law of the throw. There are 7 holes that I think there is a reasonable chance of going ob, and over the years I have been ob on 10 of them. It's a nice park with lots of grass fairways and trees. It is hard to lose a disc there these days because most of the disc eating blackberry graveyards have been highly decimated, though if your persistent I'm sure there are numerous ways that you can still throw one away.
Cons: It usually gets crowded on nice weekends and on warm evenings from April through October. They let the grass get knee high in May and June to protect some plant that flowers then. I still don't know what that is. If you have grass allergies you will have sneezing fits in June.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.