Corvallis, OR 
Willamette Park Share
Uploaded By: didy22 Hole #9 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 373ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Willamette Park Corvallis Oregon

5+    1/16/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: Discbear
Played: 270  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the course by which I compare all others as it was the 1st I ever played, and because of this course I quickly became addicted. It is still a highly regarded course even though I have scores of other courses to compare it to. It is a beginner friendly course but challenging enough that pros will enjoy it,though they will routinely shoot under par after they learn the course. Fun challenges exist as trees come into play on every hole, but you never play dense forests where a disc has to be squeezed through a window sized hole where luck is the law of the throw. There are 7 holes that I think there is a reasonable chance of going ob, and over the years I have been ob on 10 of them. It's a nice park with lots of grass fairways and trees. It is hard to lose a disc there these days because most of the disc eating blackberry graveyards have been highly decimated, though if your persistent I'm sure there are numerous ways that you can still throw one away.
Cons: It usually gets crowded on nice weekends and on warm evenings from April through October. They let the grass get knee high in May and June to protect some plant that flowers then. I still don't know what that is. If you have grass allergies you will have sneezing fits in June.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Crowd and crisscross Holes

1    2/9/2010   2/9/2010
Review By: Riderflydg
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Excellent challenge courses for RHBH and beginner like me.
Cons: High traffic and crisscrossing holes in the afternoon. Go for early morning.
Other Thoughts: Play It Again Sports store has a score card and course map, pick it up at 1422 NW 9th St.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Snowing yellow leaves

1    10/19/2005   1/31/2010
Review By: StimpiSteve
Played: 165  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park setting with beautiful giant trees. In the Autumn, when I played it, there was a slight breeze which dislodged so many dead leaves that it appeared to be snowing yellow. The holes were of a nice variety of shots and lengths. Challenging and fun with glimpses of the nearby river.
Cons: Can't think of any cons.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course

2-4    10/31/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 6.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Great variation in hole distances.
- Need for right handed shots and left handed, although it does seem to favor lefties a little more. That's fine though considering most courses favor righties.
- The baskets are in excellent condition as well as the teepads.
Cons:
- The biggest thing was that holes 13, 15, 16, and 17 pretty much share their fairways and it is difficult to get tee shots off while there is someone on the other tee because they're so close.
Other Thoughts:
- There was a lot of leaves on the ground so I would be cautious about throwing orange, yellow, and light green discs. I know because that's pretty much all I throw.
- This is an excellent course that I would recommend anyone play. Beginners will most likely find a few of the holes to be really hard because of length, but it isn't too bad. Definitely a great course for Ams and Pros.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 First time... 2 thumbs up!

1    10/9/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: discgolforegon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great Baskets
- Good teepads
- Benches on a few holes
- Grassy fairways make for easy walking
- Finally a course that favors the turnover shot or sidearm
- Ample parking
- Informational with course maps
- Recylcing cans and trash ones too
- Didn't see to much litter (see cons for exceptions)
Cons: - Dog poo, found a couple bags of poo left sitting in fairways
- Course signage is lacking bad! Some of the distances have to be off.
- Alot of the holes blend into each other, producing a kind of ok same shot here routine.
- Busy park during peak usage times
- Large amount of college "boys"

I understand that some of these can only be a problem if you let them get to you. See below for other thoughts.
Other Thoughts: This was the first time that I have played Willamette, and I must say I had a great time. I felt that course had a decent flow, good grassy fairways, and hard pin settings. This is not an "Easy" course with most holes allowing you to toss a bomber. I think that with more time this course will be a 4 - 4.5 star course.
Just needs some more TLC, some benches, more trash cans, and less poo. :)

Will be back again, and as always big thanks goes out to anyone and everyone who helps make Oregon courses some of the best in the Nation.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 nice if your in the area

2-4    7/11/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course with great mixture of holes. RHBH want to bring their sidearm with them or adjust accordingly as there are a lot of anhyzer shots.
Good amount of trees keep the course somewhat challenging
Cons: No real tee signs just a wooden pole with stuff carved on it.
trash all around, but not to blame the "hippies" as one review did. They just need garbage cans. There are only one or two throughout hole course.
Other Thoughts: All in all a good course. Pretty easy to shoot under par if you know what your doing, but you can also have the occasional bad day and get frustrated.
Pick your shots well though and you will do alright.
I would play this course more but..
#1 it is to far from my house(45min +)
#2 not that challenging, I think the park closer to this is more challenging than this one. So I would go there before I go here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/31/2010   7/27/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 200  Reviewed: 192  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2011
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent course with a great mix of hole distances from 200 to over 400 feet long. Navigation was pretty simple especially with all of the locals, we just followed the group in front of us. The fairways are open for the most part and disc searching is kept to a minimum. I love all of the green grass that is mowed and the fairways that have trees in clever spots guarding certain lines. Also lots of out of bounds makes for some challenging golf
Cons: The majority of the holes look very similar so the course blends together in my mind because of this. Some of the fairways get close to each other and some of the other park users. Not a whole lot of cons really, just a solid but not fantastic course.
Other Thoughts: There really are not many bad things to say about this place just the one mentioned, Another gem of a course in the Oregon park system, check this place out if you are in the area.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home...

5+    5/17/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: Grateful Gringo
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Well Maintained
*Great Local Discheads
*Lots of Birdie Opportunities but no gimmies
*Difficult to lose discs
*Baskets change location frequently
*Three locations for trash & recycling (Still not enough for some lazy unwelcome types... Grrrr!)
*Great for sidearm throwers like myself
*Beautiful Park
*Plenty of technical shots required
*Great for practicing all assets of your game, but not necessarily a memorable course

This is a great course to have in your backyard but it lacks the elevation changes inherent to many great courses. There are enough trees to keep you honest on most holes, but at the same time you get plenty of opportunities to rip off unobstructed shots as well.
*I would consider it perfectly challenging in that I'm not particularly good but have played a fair amount of disc golf and my best here is a 54 or even.
Cons:
*Too busy during popular hours with an overabundance of "fratboy" types for lack of a better term. Many inconsiderate fools that can be maddening at times.
*Unsafe layout with several portions that contain crisscrossing holes. This is not a terribly big deal until it gets really busy and people that appear to be both clueless and oblivious enter the equation.
*Many joggers, dog walkers, and other generic park visitors disrupt the game due to various paths that intersect with the course
*Stinging Nettles

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/4/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: Oregon Southpaw
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gorgeous location.

Well thought-out and placed baskets.

VERY lefty friendly.

Ace opportunities abound but this course isn't just giving them to you.

FUN. No punishment involved. And usually not too much extended "search for disc" time.

Alternate pins keep things interesting.

Good players can make some very good scores.

Strong community of players, regular network is pretty welcoming and thoughtful.
Cons: Crowded, but often with large group of serious golfers who are considerate.

It gets horrible in the Spring/Early Summer when the [enter collegiate cliche here] crowd comes out, drinks 30-packs and heeds absolutely no etiquette. Beware large groups with few very bags spread between them and beer.

Vandalism is rampant. Feces were rubbed on a basket and bench (since cleared). Lots of boozing and weed smoking, and worse is the litter even as there are recycling bins at two points!

They need to mow some underbrush, at least creating fairways.
Other Thoughts: Pretty much my home course now. I try to get in at least 100 holes a week. As mentioned below, go early in the morning and be amazed at the solitude. Worst time is generally around 2:30-6:30. In the summer, late games can be delicious...

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    2/7/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: Rayfillet
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Diverse play from dense forest to open fields. Lots of difficult shots that require distance and shooting gaps.
Other Thoughts: This course is for the intermediate to pro players. It is a well groomed course however if you stray off the fairway you may lose your disc in some holes.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.