Waterbury Center, VT 
Center Chains DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #7 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / --   3 / 180ft.   3 / 258ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Vermont Woods Course

5+    9/11/2013   6/11/2014
Review By: tlimanek
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice views! Interesting assortment of holes and terrain. Easy walk between holes. Nice Vermont woods feel. Free.
Cons: Can be wet and very muddy. Easy to lose discs in the deep grass.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course a lot, so not sure how easy to follow for someone new to the course. I played this course as I got back into disc golf maybe ten years ago. Am amazed at the effort that goes into keeping this and all courses going. For free family fun this is hard to beat. More recently, I have found I enjoy park courses more where errant (and good) shots are a lot easier to find.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Brief Review

1    6/6/2014   6/6/2014
Review By: goober
Played: 80  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: scenery etc
Cons: Tall grass which makes finding your disc challenging. I can understand when I threw a bad shot. However, I through some very nice discs right in the middle of the fairways (if that is the right word to use) and had to spend several minutes looking
Other Thoughts: If you want to spend more time looking for discs than actually throwing, play this course. Definitely need a spotter or two.

How anyone can seriously rate this course a 4 or better is smoking some good stuff.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun course for beginners or experts

1    11/16/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: rclements
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Large variety of holes; you'll see a bit of everything here (elevation change, long open, short narrow, tunnels, left-to-right, right-to-left, water).
- Difficultly level is somewhere between "gold" and "blue" tees
- You can whip through a round with a friend in 45 minutes; distance between tees is often very short
- New professional baskets
Cons: - At some points in the year the course is not well-mowed; it's easy to lose a disc here
- Often crowded
- Only one set of tee-pads
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing here... the difficulty level is just right and I always have a great time. The abundant foliage and the ability to lose a disc if you're not careful (holes #1 & #9) are something to keep in mind while you're there.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My standby course

5+    10/5/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Whytie
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 1/26/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Good terrain
- Good baskets
- Good challenge
- A few holes where you can really just let go.
Cons: - Can get very soupy if it rains.
- Can get very busy.
- Some holes have some trees very close to the tee.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice public course

1    9/30/2013   10/6/2013
Review By: Riords
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: first, I played this course early in the morning on a week day, and had the place to myself, which was awesome. Course was nice. Good layout and design. Woods, open shots thru fields, challenging distances (open and tight fairway shot mixes). free.
Cons: While finishing my one round the course started to get busy. Poor tees. No signage on course telling distance, direction to baskets or next tees, only things marked are baskets. you can figure most out, like 5 holes I had to walk the fairway to find the baskets before teeing off, first time playing there.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/20/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 72  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Center Chains is tucked away in a beautiful corner of Vermont. The mountain views at the front of the course really give you a feeling of being removed from the rest of the world in your own little disc golf haven.

The course itself offers a nice variety with a few open field bombs featuring just enough trees and OB to be interesting as well as some tighter wooded holes where line shaping is key.

Elevation comes into play on a number of holes as well to keep things interesting.
Cons: This course is lacking a bit of the wow factor. While it features some fun and interesting holes, there's nothing that really elevates it to the next level to set it apart from other courses.

There are a few very wet areas, regardless of weather. While boards and bridges help minimize exposure to these areas, errant throws can find their way into some really unfavorable footing.

No real signage. The tee numbers are marked and navigation is pretty straightforward, but it would be nice to have some indication of distance and pin location.
Other Thoughts: I always enjoy playing at Center Chains. There is a very active community around this course and they are always working to make it better.

Anytime I am in the area, I wouldn't hesitate to play here. However, without any features that really make it stand out, I wouldn't go out of my way to play here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 center chains

5+    3/11/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: ole3
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: chenter chains allows dogs. Fun set up. A good mix of easy hard and medium holes. Plenty of parking.
Cons: seasonal closure. Some areas off the fairways are overgrown and can be wet. Dogs should be on leash.
Other Thoughts: Would play here more often if it was not to far from my home

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Your Wellies

2-4    10/21/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Good location - scenic background, Ben and Jerry's not far afield.

2-3 tee locations per hole.

If the sports fields aren't in use, the open space between the parking lot and tee-1 can be used to throw some practice drives.
Cons:
Closed from mid-March to May 1st due to mud, which offers a big hint that this course stays damp after some precipitation, and it does. In mid-October, after some earlier, moderate rain, many places on the course were water-logged, and others held standing water. Boards have been placed to assist in crossing the wettest of these areas.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in the grassy open space and up/down/into/out-from/within the hardwoods located on a hillock/slope, which separates a multi-purpose park from a large stream (small river?) No holes are very long - all under 300' from the whites, and under 400' from the blues. There is good variety in the elevation changes (flat, up-n-over, cross-valley), openness (quite to fairly tight, and even blend of primarily open, primarily tight, and mixed, i.e. starting in one environment, ending/crossing another), and shape-of-shot (staying straight and true is most prevalent, but some rights and lefts will be needed from the teepad, especially the blues).

Separate blue tee locations on every hole, except number-8, where it shares with white. About half the blue tee locations are rubber or astroturf, the other half natural. All white tee locations are natural. About half the holes have a third (red) natural tee location. All the natural locations are not so great.

Tee locations are marked by in-ground blue/white/red markers, except blue/white number-8. Its tee location is fairly obvious, to the right of basket-7, near the edge of a steep, wooded slope, and the only opening with a look at the grassy space containing basket-8.

Playing from the blues will often be quite different than from the whites, as, in addition to adding length, they often will add a turn to the initial part of the hole. From the whites, the basket is typically straight ahead, or has less turn/obstacles than from the blues. From the reds that exist, the basket is not far away and pretty much a straight shot, with minimal trees to avoid.

Solid course, on the short side, with decent variety. Try to play when dry, be prepared for wet!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  solid, well-rounded

5+    7/16/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: hausadisc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic all around course that is free. The course design is challenging, but not especially so. Good mix of tight and wide fairways, long/huck drives and shorter/accurate drives. There are lots of elevation changes both uphill and down. You will need to utilize most different types of shots, minus the roller (I don't recall a hole where the roller could help you out, and the grass if often too long). The landscape is beatiful - beatugiul VT forest and meadows with views of the Green Mountains. The discatcher baskets are a nice recent improvement. And there are a few more rubber mats on the tees. This place has seen incremental improvements every year that I've played (for three years now). Both power and accuracy are rewarded on this course.
Cons: Not all holes have pads. A few of the unpadded holes can be slippery when wet, have loose gravel, or roots jetting out. And if you're in to concrete pads, than you'll be disappointed because they're rubber here. Just change your game accordingly. Holes 1 (especialy) and 2 can be really soggy - I'd advise bringing low-top hikers at the very least as runners can get overwhelmed when the course is soggy. The lack of regular mowing and trimmy can be a drawback, making errant drives a nightmare to locate (having a friend spot can really help - esp on holes 1,4,6,17,18). This summer the course has been kept in good shape though. back overgrowth. Par is 54, there are no par 4s or par 5s. Holes 4, 6, 9, 13, 15, 16, 18 are all relatively tough to birdie without a fantastic drive, but none of the holes are incredibly tough to par in 3 shots if you hit the fairway and have a good approach shot.
Other Thoughts: The course is a short walk from the parking lot beyond the baseball diamond. No fees, open around the clock. It is an excellent all around course, that I'd give a difficult level of moderate (I've played much easier and much more challenging courses). I've played this one more than all other courses combined, and I love coming back. It's beautiful, it's free, there's a great mix of shot selection - what else do you need? Of note, the neighbors have been upset by a few careless golfers over the years and the course has been threatened to be shut down in the past. It is important to keep your dogs on a leash at all times, to respect the rules of the course posted upon entrance, and to pack your garbage out with you (including butts and caps).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Come one come all

1    9/28/2010   12/23/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My favorite Vermont course so far. There are two sets of tees on almost every hole, which defiantly changes things. All of the holes (except for four) have nice brand new Discatchers. Some of the long tees have AstroTurf surfaces making your grip that much better. There are multiple ace runs and several big air holes as well. This course makes you think about your shots, especially in the woods, and use every disc you have. The holes that are just ordinary make up for it with some tricky pin placements and/or forced shots. Bridges on the low marshy areas and scattered benches throughout. Some water comes into play, although during dry season it wouldn't affect much. The grass was mowed on about half the holes and looked like it was in progress. The tee signs are really nice: well at least the ones that are still there. Portapotties and picnic tables are available near the course and the ball fields and playground. A great sandwich shop is just down the road and runs lost and found as well as sells some discs.
Cons: The condition of the short tees varies from alright to abysmal. There are very few, if any, next tee signs, which makes navigation without a local tricky. The tee signs are missing on at least half the holes. The tee pads are very close to the last hole's fairway: we almost got hit two or three times. The walk between hole five and six is exceptionally long. Some of the long tees are in disrepair and have large rocks and branches sticking up. Holes eight through ten have baskets being held together by rust.
Other Thoughts: Five would have to be the signature hole: long grip and rip shot with a mountain in the background.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.