Waterbury Center, VT 
Center Chains DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #11 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 152ft.   3 / 177ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Blue Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3

5+    7/8/2016   7/8/2016
Review By: Knowuh
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course I probably the most frequented in VT. It's free to play and is fairly forgiving to casual players but is still enjoyable for more skilled players. There are many rolling hills and elevation to play with as well as old growth maples around some of the greens. There is a nice big ball field area to warm up your shots before heading out except on big youth sports event days. The layout plays out and back on a sort of long narrow route that gives the ability to cut across holes and play a shorter round if one wanted.
Cons: The big issue with this course is definitely the tall grass. In the early years the fairways were mowed monthly by volunteers but because this is a free to play there is no means to maintain it on the level of mowing needed to keep fairways. Usually by July the grass is 2 or 3 feet high in the middle of some fairways and loosing discs is a possibility.
Other Thoughts: The design of Center Chains was very well done and on the occasion that it gets a mowing it cleans up wonderfully. It's picturesc and easy to find and is centrally located to other VT courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Center Chains Offers Challenge, Tall Grass And Marshy Areas!

1    8/9/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 944  Reviewed: 894  Exp: 38.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Center Chains course in Waterbury Center features 18 holes with two sets of pads, the longer Blues and the shorter Whites. The course plays in both wooded areas and some open grassy areas. The tee pads are some rubber mats/some natural on the Blues and the baskets are Discatchers with the yellow bands. The signage was fairly poor. Without a helpful local leading me through, navigation would have been difficult.

Playing from the longer Blues, the course was challenging but fair. It featured a nice variety of distances, although nothing too long. The trees and a little elevation added to the difficulty.

# 6 was a pretty little hole throwing over a valley. # 7 was a sweet little downhill ACE run. I thought # 10 was a pretty cool hole. The basket is almost not visible from the tee as it sits behind a large boulder just about 150' from the tee.
Cons: Two cons keep being brought to our attention here!

The grass can be quite long making losing your disc a real possibility. Spotters are highly recommended.

And this course gets very wet through much of the year. Small bridges and walkways are build in various places to help get you over some of these wetland areas. Boots or at least, hiking boots, are the footwear of choice.

The signage could really use an upgrade.

Some of the natural pads are in pretty poor condition.
Other Thoughts: As I played this course in mid-August during the driest time of the year, and it had recently been mowed and I was luckily enough to play with someone who's familiar with the course, I seem to have avoided the worst of the pratfalls which seem to besiege this course. All I was left with was the course, it's charms, it's lovely scenery and it's challenging and most often, creative design.

I liked the course but I doubt if I would've have enjoyed it quite as much had I endeavored to play it alone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Vermont Woods Course

5+    9/11/2013   6/11/2014
Review By: tlimanek
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice views! Interesting assortment of holes and terrain. Easy walk between holes. Nice Vermont woods feel. Free.
Cons: Can be wet and very muddy. Easy to lose discs in the deep grass.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course a lot, so not sure how easy to follow for someone new to the course. I played this course as I got back into disc golf maybe ten years ago. Am amazed at the effort that goes into keeping this and all courses going. For free family fun this is hard to beat. More recently, I have found I enjoy park courses more where errant (and good) shots are a lot easier to find.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Brief Review

1    6/6/2014   6/6/2014
Review By: goober
Played: 80  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: scenery etc
Cons: Tall grass which makes finding your disc challenging. I can understand when I threw a bad shot. However, I through some very nice discs right in the middle of the fairways (if that is the right word to use) and had to spend several minutes looking
Other Thoughts: If you want to spend more time looking for discs than actually throwing, play this course. Definitely need a spotter or two.

How anyone can seriously rate this course a 4 or better is smoking some good stuff.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course for beginners or experts

1    11/16/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: rclements
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Large variety of holes; you'll see a bit of everything here (elevation change, long open, short narrow, tunnels, left-to-right, right-to-left, water).
- Difficultly level is somewhere between "gold" and "blue" tees
- You can whip through a round with a friend in 45 minutes; distance between tees is often very short
- New professional baskets
Cons: - At some points in the year the course is not well-mowed; it's easy to lose a disc here
- Often crowded
- Only one set of tee-pads
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing here... the difficulty level is just right and I always have a great time. The abundant foliage and the ability to lose a disc if you're not careful (holes #1 & #9) are something to keep in mind while you're there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My standby course

5+    10/5/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Whytie
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 1/26/2014
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Good terrain
- Good baskets
- Good challenge
- A few holes where you can really just let go.
Cons: - Can get very soupy if it rains.
- Can get very busy.
- Some holes have some trees very close to the tee.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice public course

1    9/30/2013   10/6/2013
Review By: Riords
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: first, I played this course early in the morning on a week day, and had the place to myself, which was awesome. Course was nice. Good layout and design. Woods, open shots thru fields, challenging distances (open and tight fairway shot mixes). free.
Cons: While finishing my one round the course started to get busy. Poor tees. No signage on course telling distance, direction to baskets or next tees, only things marked are baskets. you can figure most out, like 5 holes I had to walk the fairway to find the baskets before teeing off, first time playing there.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/20/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 86  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Center Chains is tucked away in a beautiful corner of Vermont. The mountain views at the front of the course really give you a feeling of being removed from the rest of the world in your own little disc golf haven.

The course itself offers a nice variety with a few open field bombs featuring just enough trees and OB to be interesting as well as some tighter wooded holes where line shaping is key.

Elevation comes into play on a number of holes as well to keep things interesting.
Cons: This course is lacking a bit of the wow factor. While it features some fun and interesting holes, there's nothing that really elevates it to the next level to set it apart from other courses.

There are a few very wet areas, regardless of weather. While boards and bridges help minimize exposure to these areas, errant throws can find their way into some really unfavorable footing.

No real signage. The tee numbers are marked and navigation is pretty straightforward, but it would be nice to have some indication of distance and pin location.
Other Thoughts: I always enjoy playing at Center Chains. There is a very active community around this course and they are always working to make it better.

Anytime I am in the area, I wouldn't hesitate to play here. However, without any features that really make it stand out, I wouldn't go out of my way to play here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 center chains

5+    3/11/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: ole3
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: chenter chains allows dogs. Fun set up. A good mix of easy hard and medium holes. Plenty of parking.
Cons: seasonal closure. Some areas off the fairways are overgrown and can be wet. Dogs should be on leash.
Other Thoughts: Would play here more often if it was not to far from my home

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Your Wellies

2-4    10/21/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 422  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 8 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Good location - scenic background, Ben and Jerry's not far afield.

2-3 tee locations per hole.

If the sports fields aren't in use, the open space between the parking lot and tee-1 can be used to throw some practice drives.
Cons:
Closed from mid-March to May 1st due to mud, which offers a big hint that this course stays damp after some precipitation, and it does. In mid-October, after some earlier, moderate rain, many places on the course were water-logged, and others held standing water. Boards have been placed to assist in crossing the wettest of these areas.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in the grassy open space and up/down/into/out-from/within the hardwoods located on a hillock/slope, which separates a multi-purpose park from a large stream (small river?) No holes are very long - all under 300' from the whites, and under 400' from the blues. There is good variety in the elevation changes (flat, up-n-over, cross-valley), openness (quite to fairly tight, and even blend of primarily open, primarily tight, and mixed, i.e. starting in one environment, ending/crossing another), and shape-of-shot (staying straight and true is most prevalent, but some rights and lefts will be needed from the teepad, especially the blues).

Separate blue tee locations on every hole, except number-8, where it shares with white. About half the blue tee locations are rubber or astroturf, the other half natural. All white tee locations are natural. About half the holes have a third (red) natural tee location. All the natural locations are not so great.

Tee locations are marked by in-ground blue/white/red markers, except blue/white number-8. Its tee location is fairly obvious, to the right of basket-7, near the edge of a steep, wooded slope, and the only opening with a look at the grassy space containing basket-8.

Playing from the blues will often be quite different than from the whites, as, in addition to adding length, they often will add a turn to the initial part of the hole. From the whites, the basket is typically straight ahead, or has less turn/obstacles than from the blues. From the reds that exist, the basket is not far away and pretty much a straight shot, with minimal trees to avoid.

Solid course, on the short side, with decent variety. Try to play when dry, be prepared for wet!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.