Waterbury Center, VT 
Center Chains DGC Share
Uploaded By: fabrice Hole #16
3 / 220ft.   3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Center Chains DGC

2-4    10/15/2016   9/28/2016
Review By: 2 Chainz
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 10/16/2016
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long drives, dog legs both left and right, tons of elevation changes made for fun driving. The course has a variety of tees ranging from pro to beginner so there is a spot for everybody. Mainly open so there's not a large chance to lose a disk. Open holes and wooded holes add a nice variety for play style. A few trees are right in the driving line on a few holes which is an opportunity for a hyzer/anhyzer shot.
Cons: Water hazard at Hole 1 and the stream hole are a problem if your disc curves left on the drive but in both cases the disc is retrievable. Fairway grass is longer than most courses.
Other Thoughts: Parking on the weekends can be challenging with youth soccer taking place on the fields before the course. Popular course so be patient with other golfers. If you don't spend time looking for discs then this is a fast enough course to be played twice. Every hole is considered par 3.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

enjoayable round when passing by

1    7/20/2016   7/28/2016
Review By: rosh
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent variety of shots, woods, open, dog leg left, right
Pretty course
Next tee easy to find in all but a couple of cases
Multiple tees
Was ther mid afternoon and the course was empty
Course was in good overall shape
Cons: Lack of signage at tee to show layout of hole, frequently had to walk half way up the fairway to see basket location.
Short course
Other Thoughts: Was visiting Stowe and played his course on way out. Grass was being mowed when I got there so had no issues with that, nor was there any mud to speak if as others have said. Relatively short course, even if playing the long tees (I played a mix based on how far I needed to walk the fairway to see basket) . I saw red tees that were beyond short, seemed way too short even for kids. Not real challenging but varied enough to be interesting. Not a course I would go out of my way to play, but if I was passing through again I would certainly look to play it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

5+    7/8/2016   7/8/2016
Review By: Knowuh
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course I probably the most frequented in VT. It's free to play and is fairly forgiving to casual players but is still enjoyable for more skilled players. There are many rolling hills and elevation to play with as well as old growth maples around some of the greens. There is a nice big ball field area to warm up your shots before heading out except on big youth sports event days. The layout plays out and back on a sort of long narrow route that gives the ability to cut across holes and play a shorter round if one wanted.
Cons: The big issue with this course is definitely the tall grass. In the early years the fairways were mowed monthly by volunteers but because this is a free to play there is no means to maintain it on the level of mowing needed to keep fairways. Usually by July the grass is 2 or 3 feet high in the middle of some fairways and loosing discs is a possibility.
Other Thoughts: The design of Center Chains was very well done and on the occasion that it gets a mowing it cleans up wonderfully. It's picturesc and easy to find and is centrally located to other VT courses.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Center Chains Offers Challenge, Tall Grass And Marshy Areas!

1    8/9/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Center Chains course in Waterbury Center features 18 holes with two sets of pads, the longer Blues and the shorter Whites. The course plays in both wooded areas and some open grassy areas. The tee pads are some rubber mats/some natural on the Blues and the baskets are Discatchers with the yellow bands. The signage was fairly poor. Without a helpful local leading me through, navigation would have been difficult.

Playing from the longer Blues, the course was challenging but fair. It featured a nice variety of distances, although nothing too long. The trees and a little elevation added to the difficulty.

# 6 was a pretty little hole throwing over a valley. # 7 was a sweet little downhill ACE run. I thought # 10 was a pretty cool hole. The basket is almost not visible from the tee as it sits behind a large boulder just about 150' from the tee.
Cons: Two cons keep being brought to our attention here!

The grass can be quite long making losing your disc a real possibility. Spotters are highly recommended.

And this course gets very wet through much of the year. Small bridges and walkways are build in various places to help get you over some of these wetland areas. Boots or at least, hiking boots, are the footwear of choice.

The signage could really use an upgrade.

Some of the natural pads are in pretty poor condition.
Other Thoughts: As I played this course in mid-August during the driest time of the year, and it had recently been mowed and I was luckily enough to play with someone who's familiar with the course, I seem to have avoided the worst of the pratfalls which seem to besiege this course. All I was left with was the course, it's charms, it's lovely scenery and it's challenging and most often, creative design.

I liked the course but I doubt if I would've have enjoyed it quite as much had I endeavored to play it alone.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Vermont Woods Course

5+    9/11/2013   6/11/2014
Review By: tlimanek
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice views! Interesting assortment of holes and terrain. Easy walk between holes. Nice Vermont woods feel. Free.
Cons: Can be wet and very muddy. Easy to lose discs in the deep grass.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course a lot, so not sure how easy to follow for someone new to the course. I played this course as I got back into disc golf maybe ten years ago. Am amazed at the effort that goes into keeping this and all courses going. For free family fun this is hard to beat. More recently, I have found I enjoy park courses more where errant (and good) shots are a lot easier to find.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Brief Review

1    6/6/2014   6/6/2014
Review By: goober
Played: 80  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: scenery etc
Cons: Tall grass which makes finding your disc challenging. I can understand when I threw a bad shot. However, I through some very nice discs right in the middle of the fairways (if that is the right word to use) and had to spend several minutes looking
Other Thoughts: If you want to spend more time looking for discs than actually throwing, play this course. Definitely need a spotter or two.

How anyone can seriously rate this course a 4 or better is smoking some good stuff.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course for beginners or experts

1    11/16/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: rclements
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Large variety of holes; you'll see a bit of everything here (elevation change, long open, short narrow, tunnels, left-to-right, right-to-left, water).
- Difficultly level is somewhere between "gold" and "blue" tees
- You can whip through a round with a friend in 45 minutes; distance between tees is often very short
- New professional baskets
Cons: - At some points in the year the course is not well-mowed; it's easy to lose a disc here
- Often crowded
- Only one set of tee-pads
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing here... the difficulty level is just right and I always have a great time. The abundant foliage and the ability to lose a disc if you're not careful (holes #1 & #9) are something to keep in mind while you're there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My standby course

5+    10/5/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Whytie
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 1/26/2014
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Good terrain
- Good baskets
- Good challenge
- A few holes where you can really just let go.
Cons: - Can get very soupy if it rains.
- Can get very busy.
- Some holes have some trees very close to the tee.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice public course

1    9/30/2013   10/6/2013
Review By: Riords
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: first, I played this course early in the morning on a week day, and had the place to myself, which was awesome. Course was nice. Good layout and design. Woods, open shots thru fields, challenging distances (open and tight fairway shot mixes). free.
Cons: While finishing my one round the course started to get busy. Poor tees. No signage on course telling distance, direction to baskets or next tees, only things marked are baskets. you can figure most out, like 5 holes I had to walk the fairway to find the baskets before teeing off, first time playing there.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/20/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 87  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 13.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Center Chains is tucked away in a beautiful corner of Vermont. The mountain views at the front of the course really give you a feeling of being removed from the rest of the world in your own little disc golf haven.

The course itself offers a nice variety with a few open field bombs featuring just enough trees and OB to be interesting as well as some tighter wooded holes where line shaping is key.

Elevation comes into play on a number of holes as well to keep things interesting.
Cons: This course is lacking a bit of the wow factor. While it features some fun and interesting holes, there's nothing that really elevates it to the next level to set it apart from other courses.

There are a few very wet areas, regardless of weather. While boards and bridges help minimize exposure to these areas, errant throws can find their way into some really unfavorable footing.

No real signage. The tee numbers are marked and navigation is pretty straightforward, but it would be nice to have some indication of distance and pin location.
Other Thoughts: I always enjoy playing at Center Chains. There is a very active community around this course and they are always working to make it better.

Anytime I am in the area, I wouldn't hesitate to play here. However, without any features that really make it stand out, I wouldn't go out of my way to play here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.