Waterbury Center, VT 
Center Chains DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #16 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / --   3 / 220ft.   3 / 309ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Waterbury's Center Chains DGC

5+    8/15/2010   8/15/2010
Review By: Windex
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's free and the closest course to Burlington/Essex (sad though that it's over 30mins away). A huge variety of holes ranging from straight open shots (great for aces) to blind baskets protected by trees. Different tee boxes for different levels give you more options when playing. A nice stream with easy access on number # 9 is great on hot days. I've never had a wait while playing and course traffic has never been a problem.
Cons: My biggest complaint is the baskets. They're old and rusted so they can be really difficult to see from the tee boxes as they blend into the trees around them (although I heard money was raised to replace all of the baskets). The grass can get pretty high during the summer and losing a disc is a real possibility (come close but haven't yet). Hole # 14 is missing a basket all together (there's a wooden stick in the ground in it's place) but again, would be remedied if all the baskets are being replaced. Can be wet due to marshy areas and high grass if it's recently rained.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is an underrated course with plenty to offer. It needs some work but is fun and challenging. Very few holes are alike and you get the opportunity to bomb drives as well as use finesse shots to reach the basket. Wooden bridges were put up in the really wet spots and makeshift stairs were added in most of the steep places. Bring your own supplies/method to keep score if you want because there's no score card or course maps.

After you finish 9 the path to 10 is to the left if you're looking back at 9's tee box from the basket. Don't take the ATV trail to the right if you're looking at the basket from the tee.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a Spotter!

2-4    7/17/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: Axl69
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's in Vermont!
It's free!
It's extremely quiet!
It's natural, no pads no problem!
Nice tree-fort!
Cons: I went alone because I was vacationing with my wife for the VT brewfest this past weekend and she wasn't willing to spot for me again.
My first throw from the blue tee sent me into the tall grass toward tee#2.
There's alot of grass over by tee#2 and it sure is tall this time of year. I searched for an hour before sadly playing through without my favorite disc. I searched again at the end of my aimless disc tossing session( plenty of blind drives) to no avail. Long story short I returned the next morning to redeem myself and found my disc in 5 minutes and played a good round on a good course.
Other Thoughts: Don't go it alone, send your buddy down the course (player with highest score) to spot for you.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 winter and spring=golden

5+    6/1/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: brookjhoffman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wonderful lay out
Lots of variety
Beautiful park
The stream at hole 9 is perfect for a dip or a drink half way through.
Cons: In the summer it is VERY overgrown. Not much upkeep. I have lost a half dozen discs over the years in the summer, but in the winter and spring it is perfect.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 First Course I Ever Played

5+    6/5/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: DGinSteezVT
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Just A Great Course. It has improved every year since I have played and it has been over 6 years now. Tons of variety on hole locations and tees. From open fairways, wooded areas and different elevations.
Now, there is 3 tee locations on very hole, from beginners, intermediate and pros.
Beautiful scenery, you have a stream which comes into play which is very refreshing on those HOT MUGGY VT summer days.
Just all around a great course to play...

Cons: At times during the year the Grass can get very high, this can lead to long searches for discs and lost ones. (They do cut it periodically but not enough)
Parts of course can be very muddy and wet after rain fall days before played. (They try to add log bridges and everything to help, but some areas can't be helped)
The Tees are marked very nicely, but in some areas they need better tee pads instead of gravel or dirt. A couple of them have concrete and nice turf pads but others need to be worked on.
Other Thoughts: If you are from the Burlington area, this is the fastest course to get to which is sad because it does take over 30mins. But it is a great course to just play some great rounds of DG with friends.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/10/2010   2/10/2010
Review By: Johnny Betts
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of shots open, technical
Good for all abilitiy levels pro and novice tees
Amazing old sugar maples!
Beautiful scenery
Good tournament course, no crossing fairways no real danger zones good overall flow.
The designers did everything they could with the land available. Very well layed out incorporating lots of prominent features into the holes.
Cons: Tees are terrible. The town does not allow the locals to take care of the course the way it should be. There is so much potential here it is hard to describe.
Would be nice to have some signs and concrete tee pads. Even having someone mow once a month would be an improvement.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/15/2009   11/22/2009
Review By: Strauss
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the course layout. Very nice hole designs with a good mix of long and short holes, with left and right turns, and some good elevated tees. Free to play, and a great area with great views. Very challenging as well, overall a greta course that will make you use all your shots.
Cons: Course could use better grooming. The course gets overgrown in the summer,and it becomes really easy to lose discs, even in some fairways. Very sloppy in some areas after it rains. Course was installed years ago, result of that is some holes don't have a line to the basket anymore due to trees growing larger. Baskets are well aged and rusty, could use new baskets for sure.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course that would be even better with more consistant upkeep. I really like the course layout, one of my favorite courses to play. I would be willing to pay to play if that helped get the course groomed on a regular basis.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Too often overlooked

5+    6/3/2008   4/26/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes of excellent variety. Alternate tees. Very well designed. This course has it all. Long and open, short and wooded, water hazards and elevation - something for everyone's taste. Natural setting in woods and fields. Great views of the Green Mountains. Several elevated tees. Character of the course changes with the seasons. Friendly locals. General store nearby that sells discs.
Cons: Not very well marked. Somewhat overgrown in summer (but also very green). There are some walking trails nearby, so people walking across fairways are common on a few holes. Closed for mud season.
Other Thoughts: Great course that needs a little help.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated course

5+    3/30/2009   4/21/2009
Review By: justinvt
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course deserves more respect. It has a huge diversity in holes and is set in a beautiful spot. Great views of Hunger Mountain and Stowe. Lots of elevation changes, some holes are long and some are technical.
Cons: Baskets are rusty. Pretty poorly marked. Grass gets super long in the summer and much of the course is swampy at many times of the year. Easy to lose discs in the summer.
Other Thoughts: This course definitely deserves more credit, just for its diversity alone. Very fun to play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun but wet

2-4    8/12/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: fbrookes
Played: 106  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good shor course with remarkabble changes in elevation for such a small course,course is design is nice
Cons: very swampy conditions, baskets rusted and in bad shape, a few holes poorly marked, way too much growth,not very well marked and not great tee pads
Other Thoughts: not bad if your close but a ride to sugarbush is worth it

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 needs a weedeater!

8/3/2008   8/5/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Beautiful setting in a city park with mix of open & wooded, slightly hilly landscape; features an awesome stream on a few of the holes in the middle
*Great views of the green mtns
*2 sets of tees - white & blue
*A lot of potential if it was trimmed up -- notably the hole before you get down to the stream (#8?) that is a short hole throwing down a steep hill...blind now & very easy to lose a disc, but would be awesome if you could see where you were throwing
*Easy to find
*Near Ben & Jerry's icecream factory!
Cons: *No signage - while there were a few signs remaining from a May '08 tourney, most had just the tee markers & numbers -- no distances or visuals of what the hole looked like
*Many blind teeshots - on 4 or 5 holes I had to walk down the length of the fairway to figure out where I was throwing, which sucks when the hole loses 50+ feet in elevation and you have to walk back up to throw - several are blind to the point of errant shots resulting in lost discs
*Very overgrown. Knee high grass on many holes; i was losing discs in the fairway. On several of the holes trees must have been small when the fairway was designed & have grown tall blocking any realistic shot -- needs some serious trimming
*Baskets in bad shape for being installed only 6 years ago -- already completely rusted out; maybe this is a northern thing due to the weather?
*Mostly dirt teepads -- some were on natural rock & a few pads. I played in the rain and footing was not great.
Other Thoughts: I played blue tees & shot a 54 with plenty of birdies & bogeys. It's a short par-3 course with only a few holes 350'+. Some very good short holes with tight lines & nice tee/basket spots.

This course has potential to be a lot better, mainly with some heavy trimming -- a lot of the holes had no lines or ran a high probability of losing a disc because they were overgrown & blind. There were also many holes requiring a walk down a fairway to see the basket, then having to walk back to throw.

I'd play again, but more to walk around in the beautiful park than for the course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.