Waterbury Center, VT 
Center Chains DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #17 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 201ft.   3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 center chains

5+    3/11/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: ole3
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.8 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: chenter chains allows dogs. Fun set up. A good mix of easy hard and medium holes. Plenty of parking.
Cons: seasonal closure. Some areas off the fairways are overgrown and can be wet. Dogs should be on leash.
Other Thoughts: Would play here more often if it was not to far from my home

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Your Wellies

2-4    10/21/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 448  Reviewed: 360  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Good location - scenic background, Ben and Jerry's not far afield.

2-3 tee locations per hole.

If the sports fields aren't in use, the open space between the parking lot and tee-1 can be used to throw some practice drives.
Cons:
Closed from mid-March to May 1st due to mud, which offers a big hint that this course stays damp after some precipitation, and it does. In mid-October, after some earlier, moderate rain, many places on the course were water-logged, and others held standing water. Boards have been placed to assist in crossing the wettest of these areas.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in the grassy open space and up/down/into/out-from/within the hardwoods located on a hillock/slope, which separates a multi-purpose park from a large stream (small river?) No holes are very long - all under 300' from the whites, and under 400' from the blues. There is good variety in the elevation changes (flat, up-n-over, cross-valley), openness (quite to fairly tight, and even blend of primarily open, primarily tight, and mixed, i.e. starting in one environment, ending/crossing another), and shape-of-shot (staying straight and true is most prevalent, but some rights and lefts will be needed from the teepad, especially the blues).

Separate blue tee locations on every hole, except number-8, where it shares with white. About half the blue tee locations are rubber or astroturf, the other half natural. All white tee locations are natural. About half the holes have a third (red) natural tee location. All the natural locations are not so great.

Tee locations are marked by in-ground blue/white/red markers, except blue/white number-8. Its tee location is fairly obvious, to the right of basket-7, near the edge of a steep, wooded slope, and the only opening with a look at the grassy space containing basket-8.

Playing from the blues will often be quite different than from the whites, as, in addition to adding length, they often will add a turn to the initial part of the hole. From the whites, the basket is typically straight ahead, or has less turn/obstacles than from the blues. From the reds that exist, the basket is not far away and pretty much a straight shot, with minimal trees to avoid.

Solid course, on the short side, with decent variety. Try to play when dry, be prepared for wet!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  solid, well-rounded

5+    7/16/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: hausadisc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic all around course that is free. The course design is challenging, but not especially so. Good mix of tight and wide fairways, long/huck drives and shorter/accurate drives. There are lots of elevation changes both uphill and down. You will need to utilize most different types of shots, minus the roller (I don't recall a hole where the roller could help you out, and the grass if often too long). The landscape is beatiful - beatugiul VT forest and meadows with views of the Green Mountains. The discatcher baskets are a nice recent improvement. And there are a few more rubber mats on the tees. This place has seen incremental improvements every year that I've played (for three years now). Both power and accuracy are rewarded on this course.
Cons: Not all holes have pads. A few of the unpadded holes can be slippery when wet, have loose gravel, or roots jetting out. And if you're in to concrete pads, than you'll be disappointed because they're rubber here. Just change your game accordingly. Holes 1 (especialy) and 2 can be really soggy - I'd advise bringing low-top hikers at the very least as runners can get overwhelmed when the course is soggy. The lack of regular mowing and trimmy can be a drawback, making errant drives a nightmare to locate (having a friend spot can really help - esp on holes 1,4,6,17,18). This summer the course has been kept in good shape though. back overgrowth. Par is 54, there are no par 4s or par 5s. Holes 4, 6, 9, 13, 15, 16, 18 are all relatively tough to birdie without a fantastic drive, but none of the holes are incredibly tough to par in 3 shots if you hit the fairway and have a good approach shot.
Other Thoughts: The course is a short walk from the parking lot beyond the baseball diamond. No fees, open around the clock. It is an excellent all around course, that I'd give a difficult level of moderate (I've played much easier and much more challenging courses). I've played this one more than all other courses combined, and I love coming back. It's beautiful, it's free, there's a great mix of shot selection - what else do you need? Of note, the neighbors have been upset by a few careless golfers over the years and the course has been threatened to be shut down in the past. It is important to keep your dogs on a leash at all times, to respect the rules of the course posted upon entrance, and to pack your garbage out with you (including butts and caps).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Come one come all

1    9/28/2010   12/23/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 76  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 8.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My favorite Vermont course so far. There are two sets of tees on almost every hole, which defiantly changes things. All of the holes (except for four) have nice brand new Discatchers. Some of the long tees have AstroTurf surfaces making your grip that much better. There are multiple ace runs and several big air holes as well. This course makes you think about your shots, especially in the woods, and use every disc you have. The holes that are just ordinary make up for it with some tricky pin placements and/or forced shots. Bridges on the low marshy areas and scattered benches throughout. Some water comes into play, although during dry season it wouldn't affect much. The grass was mowed on about half the holes and looked like it was in progress. The tee signs are really nice: well at least the ones that are still there. Portapotties and picnic tables are available near the course and the ball fields and playground. A great sandwich shop is just down the road and runs lost and found as well as sells some discs.
Cons: The condition of the short tees varies from alright to abysmal. There are very few, if any, next tee signs, which makes navigation without a local tricky. The tee signs are missing on at least half the holes. The tee pads are very close to the last hole's fairway: we almost got hit two or three times. The walk between hole five and six is exceptionally long. Some of the long tees are in disrepair and have large rocks and branches sticking up. Holes eight through ten have baskets being held together by rust.
Other Thoughts: Five would have to be the signature hole: long grip and rip shot with a mountain in the background.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Waterbury's Center Chains DGC

5+    8/15/2010   8/15/2010
Review By: Windex
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's free and the closest course to Burlington/Essex (sad though that it's over 30mins away). A huge variety of holes ranging from straight open shots (great for aces) to blind baskets protected by trees. Different tee boxes for different levels give you more options when playing. A nice stream with easy access on number # 9 is great on hot days. I've never had a wait while playing and course traffic has never been a problem.
Cons: My biggest complaint is the baskets. They're old and rusted so they can be really difficult to see from the tee boxes as they blend into the trees around them (although I heard money was raised to replace all of the baskets). The grass can get pretty high during the summer and losing a disc is a real possibility (come close but haven't yet). Hole # 14 is missing a basket all together (there's a wooden stick in the ground in it's place) but again, would be remedied if all the baskets are being replaced. Can be wet due to marshy areas and high grass if it's recently rained.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is an underrated course with plenty to offer. It needs some work but is fun and challenging. Very few holes are alike and you get the opportunity to bomb drives as well as use finesse shots to reach the basket. Wooden bridges were put up in the really wet spots and makeshift stairs were added in most of the steep places. Bring your own supplies/method to keep score if you want because there's no score card or course maps.

After you finish 9 the path to 10 is to the left if you're looking back at 9's tee box from the basket. Don't take the ATV trail to the right if you're looking at the basket from the tee.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a Spotter!

2-4    7/17/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: Axl69
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's in Vermont!
It's free!
It's extremely quiet!
It's natural, no pads no problem!
Nice tree-fort!
Cons: I went alone because I was vacationing with my wife for the VT brewfest this past weekend and she wasn't willing to spot for me again.
My first throw from the blue tee sent me into the tall grass toward tee#2.
There's alot of grass over by tee#2 and it sure is tall this time of year. I searched for an hour before sadly playing through without my favorite disc. I searched again at the end of my aimless disc tossing session( plenty of blind drives) to no avail. Long story short I returned the next morning to redeem myself and found my disc in 5 minutes and played a good round on a good course.
Other Thoughts: Don't go it alone, send your buddy down the course (player with highest score) to spot for you.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 winter and spring=golden

5+    6/1/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: brookjhoffman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wonderful lay out
Lots of variety
Beautiful park
The stream at hole 9 is perfect for a dip or a drink half way through.
Cons: In the summer it is VERY overgrown. Not much upkeep. I have lost a half dozen discs over the years in the summer, but in the winter and spring it is perfect.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 First Course I Ever Played

5+    6/5/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: DGinSteezVT
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Just A Great Course. It has improved every year since I have played and it has been over 6 years now. Tons of variety on hole locations and tees. From open fairways, wooded areas and different elevations.
Now, there is 3 tee locations on very hole, from beginners, intermediate and pros.
Beautiful scenery, you have a stream which comes into play which is very refreshing on those HOT MUGGY VT summer days.
Just all around a great course to play...

Cons: At times during the year the Grass can get very high, this can lead to long searches for discs and lost ones. (They do cut it periodically but not enough)
Parts of course can be very muddy and wet after rain fall days before played. (They try to add log bridges and everything to help, but some areas can't be helped)
The Tees are marked very nicely, but in some areas they need better tee pads instead of gravel or dirt. A couple of them have concrete and nice turf pads but others need to be worked on.
Other Thoughts: If you are from the Burlington area, this is the fastest course to get to which is sad because it does take over 30mins. But it is a great course to just play some great rounds of DG with friends.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/10/2010   2/10/2010
Review By: Johnny Betts
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of shots open, technical
Good for all abilitiy levels pro and novice tees
Amazing old sugar maples!
Beautiful scenery
Good tournament course, no crossing fairways no real danger zones good overall flow.
The designers did everything they could with the land available. Very well layed out incorporating lots of prominent features into the holes.
Cons: Tees are terrible. The town does not allow the locals to take care of the course the way it should be. There is so much potential here it is hard to describe.
Would be nice to have some signs and concrete tee pads. Even having someone mow once a month would be an improvement.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/15/2009   11/22/2009
Review By: Strauss
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the course layout. Very nice hole designs with a good mix of long and short holes, with left and right turns, and some good elevated tees. Free to play, and a great area with great views. Very challenging as well, overall a greta course that will make you use all your shots.
Cons: Course could use better grooming. The course gets overgrown in the summer,and it becomes really easy to lose discs, even in some fairways. Very sloppy in some areas after it rains. Course was installed years ago, result of that is some holes don't have a line to the basket anymore due to trees growing larger. Baskets are well aged and rusty, could use new baskets for sure.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course that would be even better with more consistant upkeep. I really like the course layout, one of my favorite courses to play. I would be willing to pay to play if that helped get the course groomed on a regular basis.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.