East Stroudsburg, PA 
Yetter Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #14 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 311ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    1/16/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: dmach
Played: 76  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: this is one of my favorite courses....nice use of elevation on some holes, water hazard on a few others, and a load of trees to avoid. the gravel pathways made navigating kind of easy, but not for all of them. there are lots of birdie attempts, but you can easily get thrown off track but the trees....it park is a lot cleaner then the first time i went there two summers ago...great job!! this is truly a beautiful course in the summer. its about a 30-40 min. drive for me, but i would still drive longer if i had to. it was love after the first round!!
Cons: like others said, there are no maps. some trees have arrows and numbers painted on them, but i think they were for the ice bowl last week. some of the tee pads were kind of messy since it was so warm and wet out, but the holes they used the gravel on were great. could use a little more stone on some of the pathways as well. thats all i can say bad about this course.
Other Thoughts: i also played in the 2010 ice bowl, and we couldnt have asked for a better day!! tee shirts in jan.!! i havent been playing for all that long, but this course is definitely in my top 5 favs...definitely worth the ride for anyone looking to travel to a new course....its really easy to get to also...there are some hikers, joggers, and bikers that come through some of the trails, but they all know whats going on and keep out of the way. i really recommend this course to anyone and everyone. two thumbs up in my eyes.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Unique quality course

1    1/16/2010   1/16/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 hole course that utilizes the elevation and trees very well. Course features multiple holes that could be considered "signature holes".
Tournament quality course, the friendly locals actually let me play through even though I was interupting the 2010 Ice Bowl like an annoying noobie.

Course never gets monotonous, there are so many holes with personality:
Hole 3 is a memorable tunnel shot. Several holes run along the river.
Hole 9 starts down by the water, but the basket is on a 15-20 foot ledge requiring a stellar up putt to save your score.
Hole 10 throws downhill through a small army of trees. Hole 15 was a nice, narrow, blind, dogleg left. 16 is really short but guarded by 1 thick tree in front of the basket and scores of thin trees blocking all other angles.

Course was very clean and I saw garbage cans on the way to 6 and 11.

gravel tee pads averaged 8' x 4', (ofcourse when the tee pads are muddya nd slippery, the extra size doesn't help)

Cons: There were some problems with navigation, but the locals took the time to steer me back to the correct tee. Finding 7 and 15 were the hardest.
No signage at the tees to tell you how far, flight path, or even if you were at the correct tee.
Chance of disc loss was moderate. A bad bounce or roll on hole on 4 could send your disc into the drink. A treeflection on hole 8 could also take your disc into the water. The fallen leaves or snow can also hide your disc in the fall and winter.
Course was very muddy and gravel stones can chew up discs.
Other Thoughts: With proper signage this course would be amazing.
It cost me .75 in tolls each way to the course.
The corner store right infront of the course is perfect to buy a last minute drink or cure the munchies.

The course is not too hard to find. Once you find Stokes, just follow it to Roosevelt, you'll know you are close when you see the little corner store.
(thank you to the reviewer who warned me that the corner store only takes cash)

If you feel like making it 27, River's Edge is just 10 minutes away, but not as high quality.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Completely worth the drive!!!!!

5+    11/1/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: tarel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Layout is very unique with what they had to do to make this course, I used to live a few years back in the area and the place was an absolute dump and was not even worth the time of day to walk thru it. The baskets are well placed, the gravel on the course give it a feeling that you dont get in most courses its hard to describe its like a fairway and helps keep water issues down to almost non existant after rainfall only on a few holes will this be an issue. There are plenty of ace chances on a few of the holes and there is garbage bins located in many places of the park and a bathroom on site. There are many differnt paths for both sidearm or backhand throwers so pick the lines that look good and let it rip, This course is all about risk vs reward on many of the holes in certian aspects you will not be disapointed and you will not be glad your on 18 when the time comes you will be disapointed it was over and will want to play another round, its hard to want to leave once you get the hang of the place. Great elevation changes.
Cons: There needs to be some signs but after you play once you will know where the t's are located and where the next hole is.[not that hard to figure out but some may be confused]. A few holes have the little stream nearby that moves fast but isnt deep its great to swim in during the summer but a pita if you lose a disk and dont feel like jumping in, some holes if you throw really bad you will catch this.
Other Thoughts: Bring cash if you decide to get food from the deli right in front of the park they still have not added an atm or take debit/credit cards even after i first went in there 5 years ago. they make a great "premade" sandwich ask for that its cheap and delicious.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Van D. Yetter

5+    6/7/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: camardaismine
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Simply put, the best laid out and designed course in the woods. The course flows very well and is a tough test to any disc golfer. The Brodhead Creek comes into play on a few holes.
Cons: More markers and directions would be useful, although after playing there 2 times the layout becomes obvious.
Other Thoughts: Yes there are walkers and fisherman around, but rarely are they in play or in the way.

Jordan did an amazing job designing this course. I my opinion, hands down the best course the Pocono region has to offer. Aside from a few needed directional signs this course doesnt need a thing.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Get Stoned-This Course Rocks!

2-4    1/18/2010   1/10/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2010
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good wooded course that has tight but fair fairways through dense woods. A big river borders the right fairway of a few of the holes. This river isn't really in play unless you truly slice your drive or get tree knocked, but it's so visible from the tees and plays with your head just enough to make you doubt youself..... The wild wide river adds beauty but is rather shallow so disc retrieval is not too difficult. Big wide gravel tee pads that are good for me, I am 6'3" so I enjoy the space to really X-step. Baskets in good shape. Land was used to its maximum potential. Good use of minimal elevation available. There are lefty,righty, and plenty of holes with multiple options. I like a course that makes you think a little. In a nutshell plenty of challenging wooded fairways that lead to a nice basket location. A really nice intriguing technical par 3 course. Perfectly designed scorewise as I earned my birdies, was satisfied with the pars and the bogeys were due to my errors. Thats solid design in my book. The stone fairways and greens are odd but do a great job of minimizing the muddy conditions in this floodplain course...I got over it and tried to imagine the course w/o stones and it would rate far lower due to excessive mud. I kind of began to like the stones as they made it easier to locate greens and fairways. The bookend holes at the far expanses of the park 3 and 11 are both tight but rewarding tunnel drives. 3 legitimate ace runs (9,12,16) that you will most likely 3 but in your mind you know you could have aced. Longest hole is a gradual left bending J hole (15) that I swear is designed specifically for my destroyer but I can't seem to hit the line....addictive. Plenty of fun holes and not one boring open hole in these woods. Stroller and disc cart friendly...rare to say that about a woods course.
Cons: Hole #1 plays too close to a backyard. Course shares fairway space with a walking trail at many points. Its in a mostly flat wooded floodplain. The course was built well but the land is adjacent to a big river so it is flat and lacks any mind blowing elevation. There are no truly wide open holes to break up the forrested challenge. Some wet muddy areas, but not too bad. No bathrooms or kiosks. The stones are a bit odd and unconventional but the positives of eliminating mud in the floodplain and reducing maintenance is understandeable. One criss cross of fairways. Also there were a few natural fairways that were not used that seemed to follow the course. Often times found myself backtracking to tees and thus walking in the fairway...but the holes made the walkback worthwhile. No tee signs but it's pretty straightforward and the spray painted hints are adequate for navigation. Some steps would be a nice addition for hole 9-10 to reduce erosion and promote safety.
Other Thoughts: I have raised my score for this course but still have one minor suggestion that I think would improve the course. I think a golden opportunity for a signature hole is being missed and instead theres a crossing fairway and a difficult elevated tee area. I would move the tee for hole 10 down and to the right of the fairway for hole 9. This would eliminate the crossing fairway and would give this course what it needs. Beautiful twin fairways with big sweeping routes R or L. One over the streambed and the other over the path. I would also move the basket back and closer to the concrete structure to add distance and character to the hole while tempting both routes. I'd even go so far as to have a Bearclaws mural put on that structure. Sorry guys I am a dreamer I can't help it! I had a hard time finding the course. Stroudsburg is a confusing little city and the course is a bit further ouside the city proper than I had envisioned. Considering all the outdoor activities in the Pocono region it really puzzles me that disc golf has not taken a hold in the region. Probably the best option for disc golf in the Pocono region.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.