Tishomingo, MS 
Tishomingo State Park - Chickasaw Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 154ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    8/27/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: ricco2623
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: State Park with three courses, an all day disc golf fest. Lots of holes that reward good shots and yields a lot birdies. Holes that punish you for errant shots and takes back those bridies with bogeys or worse. Good mixture of holes and and a natural habitat with Bear Creek nearby. One of my favorites.
Cons: I am not a distance player but even I throw only two drivers on this course, #15 uphill and #10. Mostly putters and some mids. Course seems to favor a lefty BH or a good RH flick. Course can be swampy in rainy weather. BTW you pay to enter the park $3.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tight!!!

1    2/26/2011   3/2/2011
Review By: boxmark25
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Beautiful scenary
- Great disc golf destination
- Very challenging
- Well marked directions
- Easy walk
Cons: - Too technical
- No real clear fairways
Other Thoughts: I thought i would really dislike the carpet teepads but after throwing on them i actually liked them. I had been playing much better disc golf (compared to what i'm used to which isnt much) but i was completely humbled after playing on this course. Don't even take your drivers to this course all you will need are you putters and midrange.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great SP Course off the Trace!

2-4    12/31/2009   2/6/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Along with Warrior Ridge and Tushka, Tishomingo SP provides 56 holes of disc golf in one park.

Well-designed course, scenic, mostly in woods, but also some open shots and a couple of holes up and down a decent sized hill. Few holes run along a creek, which adds to the scenery but should not be a factor to your disc.

Excellent signs. 20 holes. Good flow. Easy to navigate.

#17 is a nice ace run down the hill, of which I had the privilege of witnessing an ace by my playing partner!!

Park office has scorecards and discs. They also rent discs for a few dollars if you are new to disc golf or forgot yours.

The entrance is off of Natchez Trace Parkway, making for a nice drive getting to the course.
Cons: No restrooms near this course.

Most of the holes are short for seasoned disc golfers who like to air it out.
Other Thoughts: This is fun course, though not terribly long. I am a seasoned DGer and enjoyed it and would come back again. Would also be a great course for the whole family, especially convenient in a state park where there are many other activities available.

I stayed in a cabin on site and played disc golf all day. What more could you ask for?

$3 a day to enter the park, but you can play both courses on site as many times as you want.

I would rate this course 1st out of the 3 in this park. None of the 3 are top 10 courses, but when you consider there are 3 courses in one park, Tishomingo makes for a nice disc golf destination.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun times in the woods

5+    1/18/2009   1/28/2009
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of shade if it's the summertime. A few chances to get back to the car pretty easily while playing the course if you left something behind. well kept fairways make it easier to get your disc down to the basket. No chances to lose a disc in water unless you REALLY REALLY mess up when you are near Bear Creek. Speaking of which can also be considered a plus if it's summertime. Jump in and get cooled off.
Cons: A few of the holes play a little to close to the next teebox. In fact one of the holes gets so close to the next tee if you are sitting on the bench you have to get up to move to make sure someone doesnt hit you on their appoarch/putt shot.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area you really should check out this course. It's a really fun one and should not be overlooked when in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/18/2009   10/23/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/28/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a decent mixture, with mostly short, tight technical shots, with just a few holes varying to offer a different shot selection. There are 4 longer tees and 9 of the holes have alternate pins. These changes add a little more mixture/length, but do not drastically change the basic premise of the course.

This can be a fun little course to play, particularly for newer players or seasoned players who can not throw very far. The course does loop back to the front after hole 9. Like most state parks, camping is available, as well as bunk houses and cabins. There are good tee signs on every hole and navigation once you get started is pretty straight forward. Each tee has been upgraded with good carpet pads, that seem to work good in all condions.
Cons: This course has the older, single chain baskets. There are a few benches, but the course could use more of them.

Being in a MS state park, it cost $3 to enter (most locals buy a year pass for $42, which is good for all MS state parks). Once you enter the park, this course is in the very back, which feels like a 10 minute drive down that old park road.
Other Thoughts: This is a 20 hole course, with A and B being squeezed in between holes 6 and 7, so be sure to look for the extra tees. I personally enjoy playing the course, but at the same time wish more had been done with the design. The potential is there for an awesome course, but as it stands, just another pitch and putt course in northeast MS. Blue Level pros would be expected to shoot in the 8-12 down range in most set ups. Hole 7 in the long pin would be a legit par 4 shot and hole 14 from the long tee is probably the best shot on the course, being we don't have a lot of mountain type shots in this area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.