Longview, TX 
Guthrie Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #13 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Go for that birdie

1    5/24/2015   6/13/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 344  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is well maintained and sits in a nice neighborhood park.
There is a decent variety of shots on this course from dog leg L/R to open holes, to low ceiling shots.
There are multiple pin placements to keep things interesting and the signage was adequate.
The course flows logically and there is a good mix of short, moderate, and longer holes here as well.
Many of the holes have good lines to be hit and you will need a variety of shots in your bag to be successful here.
Cons: This course is very flat with no elevation change.
Tees are rutting and are super slick when it rains.
The walking path comes into play on several holes so pay attention before you throw, please.
The grass in the drainage ditch/creek can be very thick so losing a disc isn't out of the realms of possibility.
The transition from 3's basket to 4's tee, 9's basket to 10's tee, and 17's basket to 18's tee was a tad lengthy and slows the round down a bit.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is built next to a big drainage area/creek that runs on the the east side of most of the course. There are some holes that are Aceable here and getting birdies shouldn't be out of the question either.
Concrete tees would really help here with the footing issues and maybe these can be added in the future.
This is just a nice little park style course that will allow you to work on different aspects of your overall game. Its not a super technical course but it does have good lines to keep you interested.
If you are in the area give this course a play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Guthrie Park

5+    1/20/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: 4th Rock
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent beginner/intermediate course to learn on, as I did a few years ago. Very fun course to go play when the weather decides to cooperate.

The course is predominately open in layout, with the exception of a few holes with tunnel or restricted shot lanes. Most holes are less than 300 feet, with the exception of 2, 6,7, and long 18, where one can air out the long arm.

Many holes can be aced, and almost all have.
Cons: The course is fairly simple with a decent amount complexity in a few places. Nowhere near as challenging as Hinsley a few miles north. Those of advanced level may find this course too easy in some aspects.

Concrete tee pads would be a nice addition from the soil tee pads, but costs are high for such an endeavor.

Due to the landscape, minor flooding can be found on basket 17 while some tee boxes can become a bit muddy after a rain event.

Pedestrian traffic and other park patrons will often unwittingly come into the fairway, and most are woefully ignorant that a disc golf course is even there.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fantastic park to learn how to play the game. One must be wary of the creek, however, as it has a tendency to eat discs if a player isn't careful in selecting their shots. This may become an issue on holes 2, 4, 9, and 18, as some lanes of disc flight may wander over the creek.

This is the course i mostly learned how to play on, so it's always fun to play for me.

The Longview Disc Golf Association has an Ace pot every other week here at 2:00 pm on Sundays.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Beginners

1    4/15/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 56  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
- Mowed fairways, well maintained
- Good signage, easy to navigate
- Simple, but great for beginners
- Not a ton of challenge or interesting risk/reward situations
- Flat
Other Thoughts:
- This course is what it is, a very good beginners course. If you are looking for a nice relaxing day in the park, this is a good park for it. If you're looking to really challenge yourself, this probably isn't the place to be.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/4/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a great course for aces if you take that "go for it" shot. Good shape for a public park and at least it is 18 holes and not just a run down 9 hole inner city park.
Cons: No real challenge. Not many trees or long holes. No elevation change at all. Could lose many discs in the creek that runs along most of the course. But I go get my discs. I aint scured.
Other Thoughts: Fun to play but would not make special trips without a carpool.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short holes, Long walk

2-4    11/30/1899   10/21/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Guthrie park is very clean, there is more trash at most of the courses i play in Tyler, and it's amazing because the park wasn't covered in trash cans, it's just well kept. They could not have made it easier to navigate this course. In most cases, you can easily see the well marked tee box from the previous basket, and every hole has a sign with a map, distances, and par. The boxes you can't see, the directions are printed on the basket for where you need to go. Bravo to the boy scouts who set all that up. I went on a weekday so the park was not very crowded. The creek was flowing but not awful, only a couple feet deep it seemed if you lost a disc.
Cons: This course is not going to stretch your game. there are no really long holes, most of the drives can be conquered with a good hyzer, **update: a few holes have been moved to longer positions. pretty straightforward course layout. If you've played The Roc in Tyler, TX, this is very similar. There are some long distances between holes. Walking paths crisscross this course the whole time, so on a weekend you will have lots of waiting, Wednesday afternoon wasn't too bad though.
Other Thoughts: I'm not a pro, I haven't shot par on 18 holes anywhere. When I rate a course it's on the quality of the park, the teeboxes/baskets, and weather i had a good time or not. I had a great time at this park. I will go back and play again. If you really want a challenge, this isn't for you, but if you just enjoy a round with friends, head over to Longview. Oh, and eat at the Butcher Shop Bakery, it's a block from here and has really good burgers.
Played the course again after a couple years and this is a very well kept park, great course. I'm going to play this more often

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun easy to play course

2/1/2007   9/7/2007
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is a great course to learn to play on. It also is nice for a quick round at lunch.
Cons: Most holes present little challenge to an experienced golfer. Creek flowing through can swallow a errant throw on several holes!
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing the course during the 3 weeks I was in town I played most everyday during lunch. It was right around the corner from where I was working. Met some great guys from the area disc golf crowd to play with as well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.