Longview, TX 
Guthrie Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #7 (Taken 5/2010)
4 / 420ft.   4 / 332ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
ACE RACE and Birdie bash!

1    8/19/2014   8/21/2014
Review By: Withinoz
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.7 Years
Pros: Park is very well taken care of.
Signs for each hole let you know where you are going - though some of them need updated as the pins have been lengthened since the signs were installed.
A pretty, and straight forward course with very little extreme challenge.

You can really go on a birdie run - try and finish -10 or better.

Honestly a really great use of the land the park has to offer. Fun course to play through if you don't have a lot of time.

I would certainly enjoy having this course in my neighborhood. I'd play it weekly for sure.

There is a course map by the parking lot near Tee pad #1. Looks like the locals are trying to keep the buzz going with Mini's and fun activities.
Cons: The course would not be a destination location. However with Hinsley Park down the road, I would not rule out going a little out of your way to play both in the same trip (as I did).

Most of the holes are very short (around 150 - 210) There is a 410 ft hole, but it is marked Par 4.
Other Thoughts: If I lived down the street, I would definitely play this course every week and try to hit 18 under. It's a very nice little park, that is well kept, and the course does have some diversity. 10 - 17 utilize some trees, and I played 18 from the long tee over the river, which made it more fun. I didn't see any other long tees or I would have given them a shot. Came out -4 (-5 if you count the Par 4 hole, which I kept as a 3, cause I should have made it in 2, just missed my put - which I am prone to do LOL) first time at the course without a local guide, and I'm not a seasoned disc golfer by any means.

Again, if you are in the area - it's a fun course. Don't plan a road trip around this course alone though. You might be disappointed.

Guthrie Park

5+    1/20/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: 4th Rock
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent beginner/intermediate course to learn on, as I did a few years ago. Very fun course to go play when the weather decides to cooperate.

The course is predominately open in layout, with the exception of a few holes with tunnel or restricted shot lanes. Most holes are less than 300 feet, with the exception of 2, 6,7, and long 18, where one can air out the long arm.

Many holes can be aced, and almost all have.
Cons: The course is fairly simple with a decent amount complexity in a few places. Nowhere near as challenging as Hinsley a few miles north. Those of advanced level may find this course too easy in some aspects.

Concrete tee pads would be a nice addition from the soil tee pads, but costs are high for such an endeavor.

Due to the landscape, minor flooding can be found on basket 17 while some tee boxes can become a bit muddy after a rain event.

Pedestrian traffic and other park patrons will often unwittingly come into the fairway, and most are woefully ignorant that a disc golf course is even there.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fantastic park to learn how to play the game. One must be wary of the creek, however, as it has a tendency to eat discs if a player isn't careful in selecting their shots. This may become an issue on holes 2, 4, 9, and 18, as some lanes of disc flight may wander over the creek.

This is the course i mostly learned how to play on, so it's always fun to play for me.

The Longview Disc Golf Association has an Ace pot every other week here at 2:00 pm on Sundays.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    2/7/2013   2/10/2013
Review By: DougS
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - great multiple round course
-open shots 1-3, 6,7,9,11,14,15 and 18
- some wooded holes but not many
- beginner friendly with a few local routes
- alt boxes ( long 2 along back fence of tennis courts marked with pvc pole, long 18, unmarked at this time but on grassy spot southeast of 11's basket.)
Cons: - rather simple course for those of advanced level
- walkers, soccer practice, general crowd of people who aren't aware of etiquette.
- course has drainage problems after heavy rains ( 17 pin surrounded by water)
Other Thoughts: Guthrie is my home course so i do have a little bias but i do love my course! I started playing dec '11- jan '12 and have since become a member of the local club, Longview Chainbangers. We have moved baskets on 1 and 9. Hole by hole review as follows:

1: long LHBH hyzer shot, RH flick or RHBH ani shot with trees to right, tennis court to left. When in long position, pin is infront of two myrtles.
2: from one basket walk to along side tennis court toward the school and you will find the long pin position on the north side of the tennis court. LHBH low straight ani or RHBH hyzer shot to pin near creek. I have seen this basket hit by a buzz and skip aced with a driver.
3: short ace run no obstacle aside from sidewalk (ob) and creek to left if you grip lock
4: cross street, tee is behind hole 9 tee on the other side of a small grouping of trees. low straight buzz type mid shot. Local route is hyzer bomb by either LHBH (over myrtle) or RHBH ( over creek). Of the two baskets by each other, play to the farthest right.
5: tight-ish RHBH hyzer-straight shot. I throw LHBH ani, Star Roadrunner and get to the clearing.
6: long open shot to surrounded pin, cart path and creek could come into play for long arms, grip lock.
7: long, fun hole for advanced players. Alt "safari" tee where path ends, local route. I hated this as a par three when i started but since I've grown arm its tolerable now.
8: low tunnel shot with mando posts by first trees. Play to basket to the right.
9: the wind tunnel of the course. RHBH be cautious of creek, it does come into play. When mandos are
Enforced, right of path is ob. I usually throw z surge over creek with a touch of hyzer for a nice birdie layup.
10: cross street and thru park playground. Backside of playground by slides is hole 10 tee. Tree removed so RHBH have hyzer shot. Locals use path to slip ace this hole.
11: long open LHBH hole or RH flick or ani.
12: cross street semi tunnel. Great mid or putter off tee hole.
13: low slight hyzer for LHBH. RHBH take outside line toward 14 tee box. If you skip out past basket, dont fear there is a good bit of area to easily birdie.
14: probably one of the holes RHBHers love most. Open with trees to left, office building and parking lot to right. Local route skips off building and down to basket.
15: RHBH hyzer shot around trees and over gulch to semi guarded basket. LHBH goes under treeline or if you have the arm, over it.
16: island hole. Island mando in play during league play. I use buzz and then birdie out, havent really ace ran this hole.
17: RHBH hyzer hole, LHBH hyzer with skip ace potential off path. During league play, left of path ob.
18: long tee by creek where 11's basket is ( before bridge). Great time to air your long arm out. RHBH be warned it is easy for you to fade into creek if shot isnt placed correctly.

Hope this helps and remember league is sundays @2:00 by hole 1.

Doug Shook

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Beginners

1    4/15/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Mowed fairways, well maintained
- Good signage, easy to navigate
- Simple, but great for beginners
Cons:
- Not a ton of challenge or interesting risk/reward situations
- Flat
Other Thoughts:
- This course is what it is, a very good beginners course. If you are looking for a nice relaxing day in the park, this is a good park for it. If you're looking to really challenge yourself, this probably isn't the place to be.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 There's Nothing Long(view) About It

1    3/28/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a clean park with a large creek running thought it. This course is fairly flat and the water could come into play if you have a really erratic shot, otherwise there is little chance of losing a disc here. The most of the holes are less than 300 feet with a few well placed older trees. This is a simple beginner type course that is in good condition. You will cross a street now and them as this park runs along the large creek on both sides. The tee signs were well made and the baskets were in good condition. The baskets are almost all visible from the tee pads on this course and the neighborhood seems nice enough. (I usually check the car brands parked around to determine this when no one is around.)
Cons: The tee pads are dirt and some of them are a bit worn down. There is however, plenty of room on either side to throw on next to them. There are few real playing negatives here.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was like and empty glass for me. I'm sure you could fill it up with something, but sitting empty is not that thrilling. After 4 holes, I decided to jog the rest of the way. Hole 7 was kind of fun, but outside that, I just did not get too motivated. Sometimes it can be fun to have a bunch of ace runs, but this time it just did not happen for me. I think this is a great course for beginners and people learning to play. Plus, you can't fault it when Longview at least has a course. Thanks Longview, Texas.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/4/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a great course for aces if you take that "go for it" shot. Good shape for a public park and at least it is 18 holes and not just a run down 9 hole inner city park.
Cons: No real challenge. Not many trees or long holes. No elevation change at all. Could lose many discs in the creek that runs along most of the course. But I go get my discs. I aint scured.
Other Thoughts: Fun to play but would not make special trips without a carpool.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course Advantage

5+    9/21/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good beginner course. It is primarily short par 3 holes with one par 4 and another optional par 4. It's built along a walking/running path and a creek that gives good definition to the course and allows for a good basic course.
Cons: Not too much difficulty. A good amount of walkers, joggers, and other people using the park.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short holes, Long walk

2-4    11/30/1899   10/21/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Guthrie park is very clean, there is more trash at most of the courses i play in Tyler, and it's amazing because the park wasn't covered in trash cans, it's just well kept. They could not have made it easier to navigate this course. In most cases, you can easily see the well marked tee box from the previous basket, and every hole has a sign with a map, distances, and par. The boxes you can't see, the directions are printed on the basket for where you need to go. Bravo to the boy scouts who set all that up. I went on a weekday so the park was not very crowded. The creek was flowing but not awful, only a couple feet deep it seemed if you lost a disc.
Cons: This course is not going to stretch your game. there are no really long holes, most of the drives can be conquered with a good hyzer, **update: a few holes have been moved to longer positions. pretty straightforward course layout. If you've played The Roc in Tyler, TX, this is very similar. There are some long distances between holes. Walking paths crisscross this course the whole time, so on a weekend you will have lots of waiting, Wednesday afternoon wasn't too bad though.
Other Thoughts: I'm not a pro, I haven't shot par on 18 holes anywhere. When I rate a course it's on the quality of the park, the teeboxes/baskets, and weather i had a good time or not. I had a great time at this park. I will go back and play again. If you really want a challenge, this isn't for you, but if you just enjoy a round with friends, head over to Longview. Oh, and eat at the Butcher Shop Bakery, it's a block from here and has really good burgers.
Played the course again after a couple years and this is a very well kept park, great course. I'm going to play this more often

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 not that bad after all

1    3/18/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Safe park. Not many chances to lose disc, because the water normally in play on the back 9 has dried up. which was good because I pulled one BADLY and was able to retrieve it by walking down the hill and into the ditch. Big course map next to hole one. Good use of limited space and terrain. Only 10 minutes off I-20. Good course to introduce new people to the world of disc golf and to hopefully give them the bug. After hole 3 the course became more enjoyable than I had anticipated.
Cons: No elevation and not many trees. Lots of walkers and people in the park on a weekday. I would not dare play this course on a beautiful Sat or Sun. Hole five's tee pad is literally right next to someone's back yard. They have 2 dogs that bark at you like you are the mailman or an intruder. Actually they should have dogs on every tee pad as the course is pretty easy. Not secluded.
Other Thoughts: If you are driving down I-20 with some time to kill I suggest give the course a whirl. I cannot suggest driving a long distance just to play this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 fun easy to play course

2/1/2007   9/7/2007
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is a great course to learn to play on. It also is nice for a quick round at lunch.
Cons: Most holes present little challenge to an experienced golfer. Creek flowing through can swallow a errant throw on several holes!
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing the course during the 3 weeks I was in town I played most everyday during lunch. It was right around the corner from where I was working. Met some great guys from the area disc golf crowd to play with as well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.