Green Bay, WI 
Triangle Sports Area Share
Uploaded By: t's kitty Hole #7 (Taken 7/2008)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 287ft. Par / Distance:
A downward throw



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    10/2/2014   10/5/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 153  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 10.6 Years
Pros: The course is set up along skiing and sledding hills. The elevation therefore is your main challenge here. There are some trees throughout as well to add a bit more challenge. They tuck quite a few baskets into the trees along the edges of the slopes which is nice. They have tee signs at most holes that have a basic hole layout, hole # and distances. The baskets are Mach 3's with the number plate atop each. these are a little beat up but still caught pretty well. There's a port o potty by the first tee, a large course map and ample parking. The first hole starts with a fun downhill bomb, meanders around, up and down the property and ends right back at the lot which is really nice. According to the course map on the shed there is supposed to be six new holes added this year after hole 8. We didn't check to see because we had to get to Lambeau on time but that would be a nice new addition if or when these are added.
Cons: Many of the tee signs are missing making it hard to navigate for first timers. The tee areas are just natural which is understandable for a ski hill course, however they are very worn down, muddy and get very slippery in spots. there is also many spots of standing water at the bottom of the hill. Nothing they can do about this though. Not too much variety of distances here. It really feels like 3 different types of shots. Up, down and across hill shots. All the distances feel the same which makes the course feel very repetitive.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty fun course but really nothing all that special or anything to go way out of your way to play. I haven't played everything near Green Bay yet but if this is one of the better courses around here it doesn't bode to well for the other courses. It's still fun, just nothing too great.

 Personal favorite

5+    6/21/2014   6/21/2014
Review By: Tomahawk96
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very hilly and several different course types

Lots of different holes; straight, left, right, flat, uphill, and downhill

Cons: Can be slightly muddy

Some thick brush
Other Thoughts: One of my favorites in the green bay area! I love the fact that there is a ski hill in which you can just wind up and throw across for at least 400ft even if can normally only throw 200ft, and then you can drive to the bottom to pick up the discs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/11/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: rscd20
Played: 58  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes, uphill and downhill shots
Practice basket across parking lot by picnic tables
Not very busy, but enough people to find a new friend to play a round with
Signs showing Pro and Am pads
Well maintained with grass cutting
Flows well, no problem finding the next pad
Cons: Dirt pads that have been very stretched out
Sometimes hard to tell which pad faces which hole
Where is the long pad on #9, way back on the walking path?
Other Thoughts: The course flows well with downhill, uphill, flat land and across hill shots.
There aren't any real long holes to push your arm out on so you can comfortably play 2 or 3 rounds one after the other.
I really enjoyed the final hole cutting across the sled hill. It'll make or break you: plant it for simple 2, or roll down the hill for a likely 4.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Home turf

5+    8/30/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: GB Phil G
Played: 101  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tricky elevation. Best elevation in town. Almost every hole is an ace run. Beginner friendly. Parkway has nice scenery. This course gets played over and over. Pads are dirt and very worn in and they are undefined. Its just crusher gravel spread out in an oval far bigger than the typical 5 x 10 ft area.
Cons: Pads are natural, crusher gravel does pack down to provide some flat surface and grip is loose but it works. Adolescents trash the place like its a competition. Pavilion renters have no idea what a fairway is and won't understand english when you tell them. Trash cans are rare. Many signs are broken and footage inaccurate. Course barely gets enough maintenance. You won't get a peaceful round if high schoolers are being rowdy.
Other Thoughts: Every beginner in Green Bay loves this course. Hopefully city of GB will give the course some more TLC. Disc dude hasn't given up on it. GB park dept recognizes the popularity so I expect the course to get the attention its been lacking. I've played this course more than any other course in my career (for now). I'll also get the best score here. Two rounds back to back takes less than two hours (if you're in shape) and you're bound to rock the house once. Play this course and enjoy!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The Course Where I First Fell in Love with Disc Golf

5+    9/20/2008   6/3/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Makes good (but not ideal) use of the land's features. There's lot of woods and Baird Creek by the end of the Front 9 that I would LOVE to see utilized out here. Plenty of elevation comes into play, and the baskets are strategically placed near what few trees you'll encounter.
2. Great beginner course. True, it's a workout going up and down all those hills, and small children, the elderly, and plain ol' lazy folks will NOT appreciate this at all. This is where I threw my first round ever and subsequently started learning how to play (when I lived in GB, this was the only course there at the time). You can play this entire course with a single stable midrange disc, but I'd recommend bringing a few more than that; I'm just saying it IS possible to do so.
3. The downhill shots on #4 and #14 are really fun, and I frequently throw a few discs on these holes just for the hell of it. Hole #13 is probably the best risk/reward hole out here, as overshooting or throwing too high or flipping your disc could very likely wind up in you rolling all the way down by #14, leaving a not-too-enjoyable couple shots back up the hill. The finishing hole also carries a similar risk, as you play across the top of a hill (dropping sharply downhill to your left). As a beginner, I'd usually skip this hole since I didn't know how to throw straight.
Cons: 1. Worn out tees. I don't know if the Parks/Rec Department just doesn't want to commit to better tees, but you'd think with how popular this course is, how long it's been there, and with nearby courses with MUCH better teeing areas that they'd at least add something. Some tees are so rutted out and eroded that instead of risking rolling an ankle or worse, I'll just tee off to the side on the grass.
2. Litter. Beer bottles/cans, broken glass, hardly a trash can in sight. They do have clean-up days out here occasionally, but there needs to be a more concerted effort to keep this park beautiful, as I'm sure it once was.
3. Crowds. While you usually won't have to wait excessive amounts of time to tee off (people seem to be good about breaking into smaller groups), this course does get heavy use. The "crowds" that particularly concern me are those that rent out the pavilion on the top of the hill near Tee #1 and Basket #18. While this is a public park with several attractions, there's been WAY too many instances where a bunch of kids from a party or barbecue at the pavilion are just hanging out in the fairways, rolling down the hills, and occasionally even trying to snag your disc from the ground. The barrier here is that the folks renting the pavilion are frequently (not always) large Hispanic families, so either they don't speak English and can't understand, "Hey, could you move your kids so I don't hit them?" or even, "Fore!" or they just don't care because they rented the place and feel they can just sit wherever. Please don't take this as a racist comment; that couldn't be further from the truth. Perhaps the City should put up multi-language signs in English, Spanish, and Hmong that there is a real risk of being injured if you're just hanging out in the fairways and near baskets. Kids climbing all over a basket while their parents just watch, laugh, and drink beer is such an annoyance that it's almost enought to turn me away if I see a pavilion party occurring when I pull in.
4. As I stated above, there's not enough of the land used out here. Some holes near the creek, to add a real hazard factor to the course, as well as in the woods, would be most appreciated. There are bike trails back in these areas, but then again there's bike trails on a lot of wooded disc courses, and these two activities CAN co-exist together with proper signage and warnings.
5. Not year-round. As far as Green Bay Area courses, I like this one more than UWGB (unless they expand to 18 and make it worth the drive), and far more than Pamperin. Of course, it's understandable that it can't be year-round what with the ski/tubing areas, but Green Bay needs a better year-round course.
Other Thoughts: Check it out if you're in Green Bay. It's a relatively short, not wooded course, and can be played fairly quickly on a moderately busy day.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 More elevation than you require

5+    8/27/2006   11/27/2008
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.7 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation, trees, variety
Cons: dirt tees (marked with concrete discs), some erosion, not in year-round
Other Thoughts: You're getting a workout playing this course. It's on the side of a huge ski-sledding complex, so that give you an idea of the elevation and slope you are dealing with and the course makes use of every bit of it. There are a couple of fun downhill bombers but the uphill throws are reasonable and you're not required to throw straight uphill. There are plenty of trees along the edge of the sled runs, so there is no wanting for obstacles to throw around or through.

Overall, it's a well balanced course with some really fun and challenging shots available. It does get some knocks for non-permanent tees and the fact that since it is a winter sports park, the course is removed in the winter months. Who says you can't play golf in the winter?

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.