Brantford, ON 
Mohawk DGC Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #17
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Choices

1    6/22/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Friendly locals: After accidently throwing on two players on blind basket-10, I was invited to finish the round with Wes and Tim, who were practicing for doubles. Tim then played the front nine with me on my second round.

Practice basket. Good signs at tees. Online map makes the course fairly easy to navigate. The only "gotcha" for me was when I parked "#9" on the left, only to learn it was actually basket-16 - basket-9 is to the right!

Good mixture of straight/left/right options off the tee. Subtle elevation changes on most holes.
Cons:
Single basket position / single natural (although three now have rubber mats, and more are coming) tee position per hole.

Errant throws could often come near to non-dg areas/people.
Other Thoughts:
Take some gently rolling land, scatter a mixture of large and mid-sized hardwoods and evergreens about it, and you have the landscape of the course - and the popular, moderate-sized multi-purpose park with which it shares the land.

With an average hole length just under 260', and only two holes >300', this is not a course for bombing; As the trees are not densely packed together, the course lacks technical challenges. What the course does offer however, are risk/reward options, as on most every hole, you'll have a couple choices of how to attack the basket. The scattered trees create different paths, of varying widths, to the baskets, so you'll often get to "pick your poison" - the tighter line for the ace/birdy chance, or the wider line for the longer, but safer, putt/approach.

Pleasant shaded course to play. Players who are hitting their lines should have plenty of birdy opportunities, and some ace runs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 a practice course

1    6/12/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: Pete and Vendy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5 Years
Pros: Easy to find the holes.
Well maintained.
With only two or three holes having any bushes you shouldn't lose a disc.
A good course for new players due to the lack of technically difficult holes.
Cons: Very popular park for picnickers and children playing on climbers or in soccer games so be prepared to wait for people to move before you throw.
The course design was kind of boring with many holes simply in a back and forth zig-zag pattern.
You have to wait until the party ahead of you have finished teeing off on the next hole before you can throw due to space restrictions on the zig-zag holes.
The trees were tall so as long as you throw low there are no branch hazards to challenge/frustrate you.
Other Thoughts: A good course to practice on but not rewarding.

 Fun Course

1    8/31/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: danomite
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 varied shots
There were alot of hole with serious ACE potential, the course was alot of fun with all the tees being very well marked with a really easy flow and you did not have to travel too far to get from hole to hole. The high tree branches kept the bugs away from you and there were a couple of holes with a change in elevation which always makes it alot of fun. this course had only one tee off so they were easy to find. you had to be selective on your shots and you really had to think to find a good path to throw through. We enjoyed it soo much we played 18 went and got some food and then played it again!
Cons: Busy park, not with disc golfers but other pedestrians using it, be carefull of hitting people who like to use the baskets to throw thier foot balls and other toys into it especially chldren seeing as you dont want to hit them with your disc! it is very close to residential area so be carefull of throwing over the fence and hitting a car.
Other Thoughts: I was there on a sunday and it was very busy and as one of the earlier reviews said the kids who hve the fake battles were there and you want to try to avoid them so you dont hit them with your disc...cause they might attack you with thier foam sowrds!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    6/14/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: steujr
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very tight and technical course. Very shady and nicely laid out takes in good part of park. Smooth flow from hole to hole. Great park to take family and have picnic.
Cons: Holes tightly placed could get in way of others. Lots of people walking around, but they are friendly people.
Other Thoughts: All in all very nice course. I am will to travel the 4 hrs to play it again. To all local players you have a very nice course keep up the good work and keep throwing disc.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mohawk

1    3/15/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: aaronarndt
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: On the whole, I enjoyed the course.
Very nicely shaded by the old oak and maple trees.
Several "Ace Runs".
Many of the holes are through the trees, but I never found them to be so tight as to really interfere with the layout of each hole. The gaps are big enough to get through with accuracy, but tight enough to keep the relatively short course challenging. An experienced player will score very well here, and a more novice player shouldn't be too far behind.
Nice baskets.
Well maintained park.
The walk to/from each hole isn't perfectly intuitive, but a little patience and foresight should get you through the course without the need for a map.
Cons: It was busy, but the holes are far enough away from the main traffic areas to get through a round without too much interference.
Natural tees. In wet parts of the season, they will be mud pits. You might have to play slightly off-tee.
The layout of the course is tight, and there is some overlap, but each hole to itself is nicely playable. The course is in a public park, and not at all isolated.
It's a short course. There aren't any holes that will really challenge your distance.
It's in Brandtford.
Other Thoughts: On Sundays there is a group of young adults that play some sort of "Dungeons and Dragons" type game. It appears to be some kind of medieval battle re-enactment, complete with foam swords, shields, costumes, grunting, and war cries. This hilarity on its own is worth the drive to Brandtford. At one point I heard the phrasing: "You guys want to change this to open weapons?" ...I can only guess at what this means in the underground D&D world. ...Awesome. I found it distracting at times as it was oddly compelling me to watch in disbelief.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Teeming with Pedestrians

8/6/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good medium range course, lots of trees and slight elevation changes add difficulty. Lots of birdie opportunities if you plan your shots right. Nicely maintained multi-use park. Good signage and easy to navigate.
Cons: We played at 11 am on a wednesday morning and the park was absolutely teeming with pedestrians. There wasn't a single hole where you weren't waiting for a baby carriage or a senior citizen with a walker to pass, or teens on bikes, or picnickers parked in the fairways to play around. Everyone seems mystified by the disc golfers, and I even had one pedestrian pick up one of my drives and start to walk away with it. I can't imagine playing this place on a weekend or evening.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short, friendly course

9/7/2007   9/9/2007
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the prettiest beginner course I've played to date. The constant cover of the tall park trees forces people to plan their shots, but gives many options on how to do so. Has enough hazards to make it interesting, but not frustrating. All of the tees are clearly marked, and the park is well kept.
Cons: There are two ways to install a disc golf course into a park: develop unused space or jam it into space that is already occupied. Unfortunately the latter is the case with Mohawk, and there will be lots of non-disc golfers in the park to play around. Some of the holes are bunched close together - making it easy to play the wrong basket. Also, there is only one set of tees and no room to add longer ones, so advanced players may find it too short.
Other Thoughts: I can only imagine how heavily used this place is; the tees are one year old but look to have several years of wear already. I played early on a Friday morning and had a great time. However I wouldn't want to come back during a more crowded time of day, though.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.