Laurel, DE 
Trap Pond State Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #5 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 223ft.   3 / --   3 / 248ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Updates and changes to course

1    6/1/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: Duncanator
Played: 105  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: Tight lines in the woods.
Quiet, just you and nature.
A second basket is in play on most holes for variety
Large rubber tees except 3 and 9.
Mostly nice baskets, a little rust on a few.
Maps at most holes show general paths are arrows with baskets help a lot.
Cons: $6 out of state car fee ($3 in state) for state park
Map isn't up to date. Signs are missing for holes 3, 9, 10, and 14.
3 and 9 play off of a large sansewer junction box cover which can be smelly and has things you can trip on. There are areas where you can be fine, but look before you run.
Some of the lines are really tight. Like really tight. They are still "lines" for sure, but new players will have a rough day on many holes and experienced players will have to play well to keep off the trees.
Other Thoughts: Changes have been made to this course, and I was able to talk to a local who pointed me in the right direction, but I figured I'd share the updates as they are now:
1-8 plays basically how the map shows, though some lengths are a little different. 3 plays straight down the side of the woods and hooks into the trees to the left 400+
9 now plays from where the map shows 3&10. It goes into the woods to the left of the baseball fence. 10 plays along the side of the woods to the right and almost comes back into the woods.
14 is a 350-400 dogleg right.
14 and 15 are recently added holes and aren't as well defined. Especially the end of 15 where the fairway gets really tight off to the right heading to the gold basket.
Not a drop-in-on-the-way course to play a round, but certainly worth a visit to challenge yourself.

Trap Pond!

2-4    8/1/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: PWaggoner
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Stay on the fairway or watch your score explode.
Nice baskets and (most)teepads.
Extremely difficult
If it rains thick coverage will keep you dry.
Cons: Bugs!!! Bring some spray if its not winter
Concrete thing used for teepads smells like sewage sometimes.
Some of the Teepads are uneven (roots etc)
Not well maintained- sticks, big fallen trees, (one is actually used for a obstacle which was pretty cool but some you can tell aren't supposed to be on the fairway), and a OB trash pile.
Other Thoughts: Bring some friends and split the $6 out of state car fee (its nearly free).
Bring drinks and snacks Trap is a long course
Grab a map and scorecard from the nice lady when you pay the car fee.

I always have fun at trap and when I return to my local wooded course the lines now seem ridiculously large and easy in comparison for a day or two ;)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course, Great Park

1    7/4/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 29  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
Pros: Good accuracy course, and very challenging. Inside a great park. Multiple tee pads and baskets. Lots of shade in the summer. Rewards both long distance throws and accuracy. Little undergrowth so finding discs is not hard.
Cons: Extremely difficult and frustrating when a nice throw is ruined by hitting one of the many trees. The fairways are VERY narrow and almost the entire course is excessively forested. It is very hard to figure out where the baskets are located, and the maps for each hole are in bad shape or have completely been removed. The arrows on the baskets pointing to the next tee are sometimes pointed in the wrong direction. Park requires a fee to enter. No scorecards. Layout is confusing. Two holes use the same tee pad, which is actually a large concrete object in the middle of a field. It has things sticking out of it and is very awkward and confusing.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course, but it could be better. The design is good, but the fairways could be opened up a bit more, and the maintenance is poor. This is one of the more difficult courses in the Delmarva area, and sometimes seems not rewarding enough to be enjoyable. Too many times I have been robbed of a great throw because of a random tree. However, If you like a good challenge, this is still a fine course, and Trap Pond state park is a really nice park, so the location is great.

Trap pond state park

1    11/23/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety, good variety of open and wooded as well as long and short, you wont get very bored here. I enjoyed the elevated pin on 2. Good signage on most holes. Good tee pads as well as pretty new long baskets. There was a Practice basket located near the first tee and parking lot. Next tee signs on baskets, there were little arrows hanging from the basket that pointed in the direction of the next hole. Flypads on most holes. The concrete tees on the mound in the middle of the field were a nice change of pace.
Cons: Signage is a must, I found myself whaling around in circles often. Although there were some arrows, the first few holes dis not clearly indicate where the basket and next tee was. In my opinion there were too many 350 feet straight holes
Other Thoughts: When I think trap pond I think water, there was none. Haha. Overall this was a good stop on the way home from va

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Trapped!!!

1    5/2/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 excellent holes mostly through the woods with 13 rubber tees, 3 flypads, and 2 concrete tees. The rubber tees are great when wet. Dual baskets on each hole provide short and long or easy and hard depending on the hole. The baskets don't seem to interfere with playing one or the other and can provide two fairy different looks off the tee. Navigation was good with next tee arrows and tee signs. Disc golf area of the park is secluded from other parts of the park.

Trap is of championship caliber providing an excellent test of player skill. The better player should prevail here, and the course also plays well for beginners so it's very versatile. The fairways are well defined and fair through some pretty thick woods. Great mix of straight, left and right holes. Mostly par 3 with some par 4s, or some tweeners. I loved being able to bomb some shots through the fairways of woods here.
Cons: Not many cons here. The 3 holes with flypads were very slick in the rain. I tee'd off the first one and almost hit the deck. The other two flypads I tee'd off from the side or in front for my own safety. This shouldn't be much an issue when dry. It's a little hard to tell which are the flypads until you do a practice swing.

A couple of the tee signs were faded bad and impossible to tell much, although with the course map it's not much of deal to figure out where the hole plays. The two concrete tees are on the same sewer top which is a little odd and maybe cumbersome during a tourney, but really not much of big con.
Other Thoughts: I was really impressed with this course considering there is about zero elevation change and I am a big fan of playing big elevation. A recent trip to Dallas left me underwhelmed even with their supposed 4.5 and 5 disc rated courses that have more elevation than Trap. I think the course designers there should take a trip to the Trap and see how it's done.

It started raining about 1/3 of the way through the course, but it didn't bother me one bit. The canopy of the trees help cover from some of the rain and the ground doesn't get all muddy at all which surprised me. The pine needles on the ground seem to do a very good job with that.

I was the only disc golfer in the park, and I suppose the course is often fairly secluded. I always find it neat to be the only person on a course and it seems to be a rarity now, especially on a course of this caliber. The course seems to be aptly named Trap because in a way it's like being trapped in the woods, and my mind seems to be trapped thinking about the course.

The $6 out-of-state fee to play is a little high, but this really shouldn't keep anyone from playing this course because it is worth it. Anytime I am in the area I will be back to play again sunshine or rain!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A "Must Play."

1    10/30/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: H3LlIoN
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has GIANT rubber tee boxes, for the most part. Also, two DISCatchers on almost every hole mean you can play this one twice and each time she'll be different. There are some great long lanes, and awesome lines. The holes were all well maintained, every basket had a "Next Tee" sign hanging on the bottom to keep you headed in the right direction. Also, the short baskets are great for beginners...We went with a group of 6...3 guys and 3 girls. Normally the girls lag behind, but with them playing the short baskets and us playing the longs, it worked out perfectly. All in all, this is a really great course, and I will definitely be back the next time I'm in Delaware. Practice basket before hole 1. Great, nice long course. Very enjoyable.
Cons: The "short tees" are nothing more than two 1'x1' brick pads laid somewhere down the course. It was exceedingly difficult to find these on every hole given that it is fall, and everything is orange. There were no maps/scorecards at the beginning, so you have to check out each hole sign, and then make a guess as to where to start digging for the short tees. Two of the holes (5/9?) you tee off from a septic cistern, and it stinks. Some of the hole signs at the beginning of the holes are faded or worn, making it impossible to read. Also, the sign at the tee for hole 10 is labeled as hole 11 for some reason, although the basket is labeled 10. The "11" is stuck on with mailbox sticky numbers. Actual hole 11 is normal, like the rest.
Other Thoughts: This was a very enjoyable course to play...the lanes for the most part are well defined and easy to see...having the "next t" signs is always amazing. It is a little difficult to find the course, as you don't go to the main entrance of the park, but rather drive around to the camping entrance. You can play after the park closes...simply lock the gate on the way out. The camping guard house was closed when we went, so I am unsure as to whether or not they normally charge an entrance fee or not. Although we caught this course in the afternoon on a Sunday, we had the whole course to ourselves, and never saw any one else shooting.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 After work

1    8/10/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: glenncurtiss
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of a variety of shots required. Nice open / clean layout.
Cons: Could use a few more signs from basket to next tee.
Map from nice lady at booth helpful, but not current?
Arrived after 4 but still had to pay day use fee?
Was worth it.
Other Thoughts: Only person on course till 18. Man with son throwing pine cones at basket! Walked a few holes with them letting them throw my discs. Left the kid with his first disc. Innova Aero.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 ouch

1    5/7/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this was a great, beautifully laid out course. the setting in the state park is absolutly gorgeous
Cons: the course is a VERY tough course. it is laid out in the woods and there are obviously trees everywhere. i cam across a couple black widows on the course and my buddy almost stepped on a copperhead.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/22/2010   9/22/2010
Review By: MANN-JITSU
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course is put together very nicely. I didnt have to much trouble following the course, everything is marked out pretty visibly. There are many tight narrow shots that involve alot of skill and luck. Some holes are nearly impossible to get a long shot down the fairway. The course shows alot of variation by having some open holes too.

For Northern DE disc golfers the course is similar to a longer lums pond.
Cons: The only thing I did not like about this course was the massive amount of Horse Flies in the open holes.
Other Thoughts: The road to the course sucked. I had just washed my car the day before, and by the time I left the course she was filthy.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Jewel of Delaware!

5+    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: solidhummer
Played: 50  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 33.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained and has a flow to it that makes sense. It has 18 regulation innova discatchers. The tee pads are a nice rubber or concrete. All of the fairways are fair and the length reflects more modern distances of today's disc golf. The course is very secluded and it is very unlikely that you will encounter other distractions like playgrounds or gatherings within ear shot. Finesse upshots are essential however there are some holes that you can bomb off the tee. There are multiple pin positions and long and a short tee for each hole. Also the original old dga baskets are in place for beginners to use within the course
Cons: The course is flat with the exception of two tees off a five foot high mound and a couple elevated baskets. This course is about 5 miles from a main road so if you're not headed to Trap Pond, it is unlikely that you will be just passing by. With the land that was given the course lacks some disc golf shots that could provide some variety. The pars for a lot of the holes are tweeners.
Other Thoughts: To be up front about this review I have to confess that I am the course pro here. Although you will see in my review that I will be very objective. I know the history of the course and what future plans are for Trap. This is probably the least populated area of Delaware. This is probably why there will never be the size local base to this course as in other areas of the state. So for most people it is at least a 20 minute drive to the course. This is great for me because of the seclusion. Also the few volunteers here have the bulk of the maintenance on a course that is heavily wooded. Progress is slow at best although it is very noticeably moving in the right direction. Parts of the course were redesigned to alleviate some "minor" design flaws. Hole 8 and 9 are now combined and the tee for the new hole will be moved up to keep drives from hole 7 landing near hole 8's tee. To make up the lost hole, two new holes were put in near the hole 15 area. The old hole 15 was probably the most hated of the course because of the lack of a landing area or no reward for a good shot off the tee. The new 15 may have a smaller gap to shoot through but makes more sense. When off the tee a good drive will give you a decent upshot to the basket where the old one did not necessarily. The new hole 14 is to provide variety to a course that has several shots that are alike. Disc golf has many different shots that can be executed but course doesn't utilize that. Hole 2,3,4 are almost the same shot. This may be ok for an 18 hole layout but not back to back to back. However, this only applies to the long to long on those holes. The additional tees and pin positions help with this. The course is flat and doesn't have any major bodies of water that would be a factor. A creek may come in to play on hole 7 after a heavy rain. There are OB pits and the famous "dump" on hole 7 that can add strokes. Obviously the tee signs are going to have to be updated as well as the score cards and course length due to the updated layout. So if anyone goes out anytime soon the signage will be wrong on some holes. One of the things I think we have done right is the versatility of the course. You can play this course every day of the week and have a different layout each time. This course can play very, very hard for the even the top pros. But also, it can play very recreational for beginners AT THE SAME TIME! I have found this to be an inviting factor that Trap has that most courses don't. I can play disc golf with the wife and she can play the short course while I play the long and we can do this together. The short baskets have been strategically placed as to not interfere with the long course. And if the short basket is in the way then well.....I guess you had a bad shot. I have gotten some negative feedback on this but I'm pretty adamant about the fact that new players don't start off as pros and that a long tough course may be discouraging to start off on. This feature makes it nice for different skill levels to play together. So all in all the course has a lot of work still left to be done. But I would still rate this course high because it has all the variety of lengths and pins anyone would ever need. It has complete tee pads and uniform baskets throughout. The course challenges every skill level and is well maintained. Now one lasting question for this course and really one of its downfalls is the assignment of par. Because there are tweeners on this course it makes it hard to apply. The thing about Trap is that the par 3's are hard par 3's. One round can be very different from the next. I will go through the layout and give my "opinion" and I feel somewhat qualified being how I've played several hundred rounds there.
Hole 1. is a hard par 3. It can be deuced but it is a fairly narrow gap and can really punish you on the OB road.
Hole 2. (tweener) The length is deucable but 2's are rare. Die hards will say this is a par 3. This is a great hole but to be honest a good shot leaves you 40-50 from the pin. The hole needs to be longer or shorter. But I'll give it a par 3 I guess.
Hole 3. par 4
Hole 4. par 4
Hole 5. par 3
Hole 6. (tweener) very hard par 3. I'm 90% sure the pdga would consider it par 4. Gotta have an awesome shot to have a "legitimate" putt for a 2. So par 4 it is.
Hole 7. par 4
Hole 8. This hole will probably end up being a hard par 3 but I'm not sure yet.
Hole 9. (tweener) This can be a deuce if you can throw almost 400'. Simple enough hole if you can but because of the distance of it, it is not deucable for most. I give this a par 3 but your second shot is most likely a wasted shot.
Hole 10. par 5
Hole 11. hard par 3
Hole 12. par 4
Hole 13. par 4
Hole 14. par 4
Hole 15. par 4
Hole 16. hard par 4. (tweener) This can be considered a par 5 in the long position due to the fact of the no wider than 20' fairway and the 550' - 600' distance.
Hole 17. shortest hole on the course. 5's can be taken here. definitely par 3 though
Hole 18. (tweener) hard par 3

So that 3,3,4,4,3,4,4,3,3,5,3,4,4,4,4,4,3,3 Par 65

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.