Laurel, DE 
Trap Pond State Park Share
Uploaded By: Natural Hole #14 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 361ft.   3 / --   4 / 400ft.   4 / 442ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Trap Pond, tough and tricky

1    8/16/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 11.4 Years
Pros: I visited Trap Pond State Park for disc golf, and did not leave disappointed. There is 18 holes here and they really beat me up. I carded a 68 from the long tees on the short baskets. Only birdie came on hole 17. There are two baskets on most of the holes, and usually multiple tees as well. There isn't really significant elevation change anywhere, and the course was quite dry, never really getting near the water. You will be encountering many, many trees if you choose to play here. Any layout will present challenges, mostly due to the woods. There are open parts, on a couple of holes, but the baskets are at least protected in the fringes of the woods. There are good variety of lefts and rights, and versatility of distance as well. The tees are mostly rubber, and most have a sign. Bugs were not an issue at the time I played there.
Cons: This course could use a little TLC. Some signs are degraded to the point of falling down, or missing entirely, and a few of the baskets are in kind of rough condition. Concrete tee pads and improved signage would have boosted my rating to 4 out of 5. I paid the $6 fee as an out of state visitor. Ranger made me leash up my dog, con for him (my dog, not the ranger).
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is pretty cool, with some room for improvement. I rated it based on the versatility and challenge presented. Not the best course, but with upgrades to some aspects, I would even call it tournament caliber. Out of the way, unless you live on the Del Marva, but I enjoyed the journey. There were small frogs everywhere when it visited mid-August. Seasonal emergence I guess. Reminiscent of Kilborne ( longer, "Skillborne" layout) in Charlotte, NC.

Updates and changes to course

1    6/1/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: Duncanator
Played: 112  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: Tight lines in the woods.
Quiet, just you and nature.
A second basket is in play on most holes for variety
Large rubber tees except 3 and 9.
Mostly nice baskets, a little rust on a few.
Maps at most holes show general paths are arrows with baskets help a lot.
Cons: $6 out of state car fee ($3 in state) for state park
Map isn't up to date. Signs are missing for holes 3, 9, 10, and 14.
3 and 9 play off of a large sansewer junction box cover which can be smelly and has things you can trip on. There are areas where you can be fine, but look before you run.
Some of the lines are really tight. Like really tight. They are still "lines" for sure, but new players will have a rough day on many holes and experienced players will have to play well to keep off the trees.
Other Thoughts: Changes have been made to this course, and I was able to talk to a local who pointed me in the right direction, but I figured I'd share the updates as they are now:
1-8 plays basically how the map shows, though some lengths are a little different. 3 plays straight down the side of the woods and hooks into the trees to the left 400+
9 now plays from where the map shows 3&10. It goes into the woods to the left of the baseball fence. 10 plays along the side of the woods to the right and almost comes back into the woods.
14 is a 350-400 dogleg right.
14 and 15 are recently added holes and aren't as well defined. Especially the end of 15 where the fairway gets really tight off to the right heading to the gold basket.
Not a drop-in-on-the-way course to play a round, but certainly worth a visit to challenge yourself.

Trap Pond!

2-4    8/1/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: PWaggoner
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Stay on the fairway or watch your score explode.
Nice baskets and (most)teepads.
Extremely difficult
If it rains thick coverage will keep you dry.
Cons: Bugs!!! Bring some spray if its not winter
Concrete thing used for teepads smells like sewage sometimes.
Some of the Teepads are uneven (roots etc)
Not well maintained- sticks, big fallen trees, (one is actually used for a obstacle which was pretty cool but some you can tell aren't supposed to be on the fairway), and a OB trash pile.
Other Thoughts: Bring some friends and split the $6 out of state car fee (its nearly free).
Bring drinks and snacks Trap is a long course
Grab a map and scorecard from the nice lady when you pay the car fee.

I always have fun at trap and when I return to my local wooded course the lines now seem ridiculously large and easy in comparison for a day or two ;)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course, Great Park

1    7/4/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.6 Years
Pros: Good accuracy course, and very challenging. Inside a great park. Multiple tee pads and baskets. Lots of shade in the summer. Rewards both long distance throws and accuracy. Little undergrowth so finding discs is not hard.
Cons: Extremely difficult and frustrating when a nice throw is ruined by hitting one of the many trees. The fairways are VERY narrow and almost the entire course is excessively forested. It is very hard to figure out where the baskets are located, and the maps for each hole are in bad shape or have completely been removed. The arrows on the baskets pointing to the next tee are sometimes pointed in the wrong direction. Park requires a fee to enter. No scorecards. Layout is confusing. Two holes use the same tee pad, which is actually a large concrete object in the middle of a field. It has things sticking out of it and is very awkward and confusing.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course, but it could be better. The design is good, but the fairways could be opened up a bit more, and the maintenance is poor. This is one of the more difficult courses in the Delmarva area, and sometimes seems not rewarding enough to be enjoyable. Too many times I have been robbed of a great throw because of a random tree. However, If you like a good challenge, this is still a fine course, and Trap Pond state park is a really nice park, so the location is great.

Trap pond state park

1    11/23/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety, good variety of open and wooded as well as long and short, you wont get very bored here. I enjoyed the elevated pin on 2. Good signage on most holes. Good tee pads as well as pretty new long baskets. There was a Practice basket located near the first tee and parking lot. Next tee signs on baskets, there were little arrows hanging from the basket that pointed in the direction of the next hole. Flypads on most holes. The concrete tees on the mound in the middle of the field were a nice change of pace.
Cons: Signage is a must, I found myself whaling around in circles often. Although there were some arrows, the first few holes dis not clearly indicate where the basket and next tee was. In my opinion there were too many 350 feet straight holes
Other Thoughts: When I think trap pond I think water, there was none. Haha. Overall this was a good stop on the way home from va

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course!

5+    2/11/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: JediEthan1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent teepads
Putting Area before tee #1
Challenge for any skill level with multiple tee, pin locations.

New long baskets, the older but still good
short baskets make it a good course for multiple locations. The variety of shots that you have an opportunity to make is excelllent, much like Killens Pond in Felton. The type of holes varied nicely. with some long field holes included in the course.
Cons: Somewhat out of the way if you're passing by on Rt. 13, so allow plenty of time to get there. Course is definitely worth it, though!
Other Thoughts: Great course, I would definitely recommend it to anyone. The short tees can sometimes become covered in pine needles, but local players generally keep the course well maintained. I will definitely go back ASAP!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Remote, Flat, Tight Woods Golf

1    5/27/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 123  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rubber Tee pads in good condition (a couple concrete tees as well)
Tee signs at all tees
Multiple baskets (pros are newer with large baskets while amateur baskets are older/smaller but still in decent shape)
Mainly tight, technical wooded fairways demanding accuracy (some holes drive through open field but baskets are all in woods)
Length coupled with placement of pro baskets will challenge even the experienced player
Lack of thick brush off fairways diminish disc loss possibility
Downed trees on fairways provided unique challenge (was this done on purpose or not cleared yet?)
Mainly disc golf only area (it borders a nature trail on some holes but does not appear to use the trail)
Amenities on site (bathrooms w/running water)
Located in State Park - upkeep was excellent
Isolated location appears to minimize number of players on course (basically had it all to myself)
Abundance of nature adds to remote feel
Cons: Not a very balanced course - lacks variety, diversity, elevation, risk/reward, water (not that this is necessary)
Due to the above, the holes start to feel very repetitive and similar
Pay to play
Sometimes difficult to determine where basket placement was as it didn't always match map/tee signs (additionally, there was nothing at tees to let player know what alternate pin position a basket may be in when there were multiple/alternate possibilities)
Was surprised to later find that red brick on course was actually 'am' tees - they were extremely difficult to see under the pine needles and not marked
Carry-in/Carry-out trash - i.e. no trash containers (not sure if this is a con but it certainly isn't a pro!)
Other Thoughts: I usually revel in these longer, tighter, technical wooded courses which demand accuracy, thought and placement consideration. However a little over halfway through this one, it began to feel very similar and repetitive. I'm thinking the lack of elevation had a large part in this. While the course design does require an assortment of left/right/straight shots (off the tee and as the hole unfolds), it doesn't demand a ton of variety or a plethora of disc types. Basically its flat, tight woods for the most part which I'm used to playing . So I was using the same handful of discs for woods and throwing my usual shots. Therefore I didn't feel I was mentally challenged to the point where I was reconsidering the type of throw, the alternate line or what type of disc I should use. Additionally, there wasn't much risk/reward, no epic holes, water - essentially not a lot of dynamics to this one.

That being said, don't confuse this for me scoring/playing well or the course not being tough. It's a serious challenge for the serious disc golfer especially when playing long tees to long baskets (I can't imagine playing it any other way actually). The secluded location near the Maryland Peninsula border will keep many from playing here and it's certainly not a classic destination course. However if you're passing through or nearby (as I was) and like a high-quality woods disc golf challenge, this is the 'must play' place for you.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Longing in the Pines

1    8/20/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Two baskets and two tees on every hole. Long and wide quality rubber teepads at the long tees. Signs at the long tees will show you the location of the short tee, and the distances to the baskets. Despite not having a map, this course was easy for a first-time visitor to navigate, as there are many "next tee" signs not too far from the basket. Despite most holes being in the woods, there isn't too much chance to lose a disc, as the undergrowth is minimal - other than pine trees, holly bushes and pine needles are about all else there is. Benches or large tree stumps to rest upon at many holes. Practice putting basket. Away from any other park users.
Cons:
Some signs only show one basket location, so what is the distance/location of the other basket? Some signs show three possible basket locations, so which two are being used? The short tees are marked only with ground-level bricks, which can easily be missed due to cut grass and/or pine needles, and have no distance information available. $8 to enter the park. Course is extremely flat. Downed tree making orange basket #15 fairly inaccessible.
Other Thoughts:
Most holes play completely in woods, but a few have you playing across wide open space, with the baskets themselves being set into the woods. Longer than any mostly-wooded courses I've played to date - while there certainly were a few holes of the ~200' variety, most were over 300', and a few over 400'. Very fair throwing lanes, but plenty of challenges, too. Nice mixture of left/right/S/no turning holes. Challenging, but no ridiculous, basket locations.

Favourite hole #5: Need to go straight down narrowing but fair alley about 300', then make a sharp left to reach orange basket an additional 125' away, or yellow basket another 100' and slightly more left beyond the orange.

Great course - challenging enough to keep you interested, fair enough to keep you from feeling abused. Adding signage to the short tee locations would be a boon to players wanting to maximize their options at this course. Very solid multi-tee/multi-basket course at Schumaker less than hour to the south.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.