Laurel, DE 
Trap Pond State Park Share
Uploaded By: Natural Hole #2 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 256ft.   3 / --   3 / 300ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket (Long)



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Trapped!!!

1    5/2/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 excellent holes mostly through the woods with 13 rubber tees, 3 flypads, and 2 concrete tees. The rubber tees are great when wet. Dual baskets on each hole provide short and long or easy and hard depending on the hole. The baskets don't seem to interfere with playing one or the other and can provide two fairy different looks off the tee. Navigation was good with next tee arrows and tee signs. Disc golf area of the park is secluded from other parts of the park.

Trap is of championship caliber providing an excellent test of player skill. The better player should prevail here, and the course also plays well for beginners so it's very versatile. The fairways are well defined and fair through some pretty thick woods. Great mix of straight, left and right holes. Mostly par 3 with some par 4s, or some tweeners. I loved being able to bomb some shots through the fairways of woods here.
Cons: Not many cons here. The 3 holes with flypads were very slick in the rain. I tee'd off the first one and almost hit the deck. The other two flypads I tee'd off from the side or in front for my own safety. This shouldn't be much an issue when dry. It's a little hard to tell which are the flypads until you do a practice swing.

A couple of the tee signs were faded bad and impossible to tell much, although with the course map it's not much of deal to figure out where the hole plays. The two concrete tees are on the same sewer top which is a little odd and maybe cumbersome during a tourney, but really not much of big con.
Other Thoughts: I was really impressed with this course considering there is about zero elevation change and I am a big fan of playing big elevation. A recent trip to Dallas left me underwhelmed even with their supposed 4.5 and 5 disc rated courses that have more elevation than Trap. I think the course designers there should take a trip to the Trap and see how it's done.

It started raining about 1/3 of the way through the course, but it didn't bother me one bit. The canopy of the trees help cover from some of the rain and the ground doesn't get all muddy at all which surprised me. The pine needles on the ground seem to do a very good job with that.

I was the only disc golfer in the park, and I suppose the course is often fairly secluded. I always find it neat to be the only person on a course and it seems to be a rarity now, especially on a course of this caliber. The course seems to be aptly named Trap because in a way it's like being trapped in the woods, and my mind seems to be trapped thinking about the course.

The $6 out-of-state fee to play is a little high, but this really shouldn't keep anyone from playing this course because it is worth it. Anytime I am in the area I will be back to play again sunshine or rain!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A "Must Play."

1    10/30/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: H3LlIoN
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has GIANT rubber tee boxes, for the most part. Also, two DISCatchers on almost every hole mean you can play this one twice and each time she'll be different. There are some great long lanes, and awesome lines. The holes were all well maintained, every basket had a "Next Tee" sign hanging on the bottom to keep you headed in the right direction. Also, the short baskets are great for beginners...We went with a group of 6...3 guys and 3 girls. Normally the girls lag behind, but with them playing the short baskets and us playing the longs, it worked out perfectly. All in all, this is a really great course, and I will definitely be back the next time I'm in Delaware. Practice basket before hole 1. Great, nice long course. Very enjoyable.
Cons: The "short tees" are nothing more than two 1'x1' brick pads laid somewhere down the course. It was exceedingly difficult to find these on every hole given that it is fall, and everything is orange. There were no maps/scorecards at the beginning, so you have to check out each hole sign, and then make a guess as to where to start digging for the short tees. Two of the holes (5/9?) you tee off from a septic cistern, and it stinks. Some of the hole signs at the beginning of the holes are faded or worn, making it impossible to read. Also, the sign at the tee for hole 10 is labeled as hole 11 for some reason, although the basket is labeled 10. The "11" is stuck on with mailbox sticky numbers. Actual hole 11 is normal, like the rest.
Other Thoughts: This was a very enjoyable course to play...the lanes for the most part are well defined and easy to see...having the "next t" signs is always amazing. It is a little difficult to find the course, as you don't go to the main entrance of the park, but rather drive around to the camping entrance. You can play after the park closes...simply lock the gate on the way out. The camping guard house was closed when we went, so I am unsure as to whether or not they normally charge an entrance fee or not. Although we caught this course in the afternoon on a Sunday, we had the whole course to ourselves, and never saw any one else shooting.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 ouch

1    5/7/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this was a great, beautifully laid out course. the setting in the state park is absolutly gorgeous
Cons: the course is a VERY tough course. it is laid out in the woods and there are obviously trees everywhere. i cam across a couple black widows on the course and my buddy almost stepped on a copperhead.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/22/2010   9/22/2010
Review By: MANN-JITSU
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course is put together very nicely. I didnt have to much trouble following the course, everything is marked out pretty visibly. There are many tight narrow shots that involve alot of skill and luck. Some holes are nearly impossible to get a long shot down the fairway. The course shows alot of variation by having some open holes too.

For Northern DE disc golfers the course is similar to a longer lums pond.
Cons: The only thing I did not like about this course was the massive amount of Horse Flies in the open holes.
Other Thoughts: The road to the course sucked. I had just washed my car the day before, and by the time I left the course she was filthy.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Jewel of Delaware!

5+    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: solidhummer
Played: 50  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 33.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained and has a flow to it that makes sense. It has 18 regulation innova discatchers. The tee pads are a nice rubber or concrete. All of the fairways are fair and the length reflects more modern distances of today's disc golf. The course is very secluded and it is very unlikely that you will encounter other distractions like playgrounds or gatherings within ear shot. Finesse upshots are essential however there are some holes that you can bomb off the tee. There are multiple pin positions and long and a short tee for each hole. Also the original old dga baskets are in place for beginners to use within the course
Cons: The course is flat with the exception of two tees off a five foot high mound and a couple elevated baskets. This course is about 5 miles from a main road so if you're not headed to Trap Pond, it is unlikely that you will be just passing by. With the land that was given the course lacks some disc golf shots that could provide some variety. The pars for a lot of the holes are tweeners.
Other Thoughts: To be up front about this review I have to confess that I am the course pro here. Although you will see in my review that I will be very objective. I know the history of the course and what future plans are for Trap. This is probably the least populated area of Delaware. This is probably why there will never be the size local base to this course as in other areas of the state. So for most people it is at least a 20 minute drive to the course. This is great for me because of the seclusion. Also the few volunteers here have the bulk of the maintenance on a course that is heavily wooded. Progress is slow at best although it is very noticeably moving in the right direction. Parts of the course were redesigned to alleviate some "minor" design flaws. Hole 8 and 9 are now combined and the tee for the new hole will be moved up to keep drives from hole 7 landing near hole 8's tee. To make up the lost hole, two new holes were put in near the hole 15 area. The old hole 15 was probably the most hated of the course because of the lack of a landing area or no reward for a good shot off the tee. The new 15 may have a smaller gap to shoot through but makes more sense. When off the tee a good drive will give you a decent upshot to the basket where the old one did not necessarily. The new hole 14 is to provide variety to a course that has several shots that are alike. Disc golf has many different shots that can be executed but course doesn't utilize that. Hole 2,3,4 are almost the same shot. This may be ok for an 18 hole layout but not back to back to back. However, this only applies to the long to long on those holes. The additional tees and pin positions help with this. The course is flat and doesn't have any major bodies of water that would be a factor. A creek may come in to play on hole 7 after a heavy rain. There are OB pits and the famous "dump" on hole 7 that can add strokes. Obviously the tee signs are going to have to be updated as well as the score cards and course length due to the updated layout. So if anyone goes out anytime soon the signage will be wrong on some holes. One of the things I think we have done right is the versatility of the course. You can play this course every day of the week and have a different layout each time. This course can play very, very hard for the even the top pros. But also, it can play very recreational for beginners AT THE SAME TIME! I have found this to be an inviting factor that Trap has that most courses don't. I can play disc golf with the wife and she can play the short course while I play the long and we can do this together. The short baskets have been strategically placed as to not interfere with the long course. And if the short basket is in the way then well.....I guess you had a bad shot. I have gotten some negative feedback on this but I'm pretty adamant about the fact that new players don't start off as pros and that a long tough course may be discouraging to start off on. This feature makes it nice for different skill levels to play together. So all in all the course has a lot of work still left to be done. But I would still rate this course high because it has all the variety of lengths and pins anyone would ever need. It has complete tee pads and uniform baskets throughout. The course challenges every skill level and is well maintained. Now one lasting question for this course and really one of its downfalls is the assignment of par. Because there are tweeners on this course it makes it hard to apply. The thing about Trap is that the par 3's are hard par 3's. One round can be very different from the next. I will go through the layout and give my "opinion" and I feel somewhat qualified being how I've played several hundred rounds there.
Hole 1. is a hard par 3. It can be deuced but it is a fairly narrow gap and can really punish you on the OB road.
Hole 2. (tweener) The length is deucable but 2's are rare. Die hards will say this is a par 3. This is a great hole but to be honest a good shot leaves you 40-50 from the pin. The hole needs to be longer or shorter. But I'll give it a par 3 I guess.
Hole 3. par 4
Hole 4. par 4
Hole 5. par 3
Hole 6. (tweener) very hard par 3. I'm 90% sure the pdga would consider it par 4. Gotta have an awesome shot to have a "legitimate" putt for a 2. So par 4 it is.
Hole 7. par 4
Hole 8. This hole will probably end up being a hard par 3 but I'm not sure yet.
Hole 9. (tweener) This can be a deuce if you can throw almost 400'. Simple enough hole if you can but because of the distance of it, it is not deucable for most. I give this a par 3 but your second shot is most likely a wasted shot.
Hole 10. par 5
Hole 11. hard par 3
Hole 12. par 4
Hole 13. par 4
Hole 14. par 4
Hole 15. par 4
Hole 16. hard par 4. (tweener) This can be considered a par 5 in the long position due to the fact of the no wider than 20' fairway and the 550' - 600' distance.
Hole 17. shortest hole on the course. 5's can be taken here. definitely par 3 though
Hole 18. (tweener) hard par 3

So that 3,3,4,4,3,4,4,3,3,5,3,4,4,4,4,4,3,3 Par 65

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to Endor!

1    9/15/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This forrest course consisting of pines and old growth trees with ample clear fairways carved throughout will challenge experts from the long tees to the long pins while it entertains the novice from the shorts to short baskets. It's not technical unless you stray off the intended route...from the woods it's very very technical to get back on the fairway or to try to save par and weave towards the green. Yes there are 72 options here with the long tees all having huge well constructed rubber tees(16 holes) or 2 elevated concrete tees off a concrete structure to the brand new long baskets. There are short tees and baskets that follow the same fairways but are tucked in such a way to not interrupt the flow of the expert holes. The park is off the beaten path and the course is secluded from other park activities so your truly in a pure disc golf course with plenty of nature around to enjoy. The theme here is very long yet serviceable fairways that can be negotiated with skill rather than luck. Often with doglegs or turns that will tempt you to anhyzer/hyzer/flick or should you try to park on the corner. Plenty of thought provoking holes here. If your off the fairways, your in the woods but don't despair theres thick trees but very few if any thorns or cruel shule to ruin your day. Every hole is solid and well designed but a few things did stand out here. There is an elevated basket for hole 2 that was fun. The concrete tee of hole 3 over a big field and then hyzering back into the woods....I loved the transitions on this hole, just a great blend of big arm precision landing and then playing a long technical approach! 2 of the holes play straight and incredibly long with low ceilings....it's so hard to keep a disc straight for such a long distance.(one of these is called the highway #14) 4 of the holes incorporate a nicely manicured grassy lawn into the hole....either shooting woods to field to woods, or woods to grass, or grass to woods. Gives just enough open air to break up the woods at 2 separate intervals play. Course appears to drain well despite the flatness and there wasn't any maintenance/vandalism issues that I noticed. One other unique hole was one where you threw over an old dump....this may seem like a con but its well marked with gold rope and actually makes the particular hole interesting and is not really an eyesore.(My brother digs for old collectible bottles in dumps so I've seen my fair share of these old dumps in old woods so maybe I'm not easily offended) Basically this is a solid championship caliber course that is amongst the toughest yet fairest courses I have played to date...I place this beast in a unique class of long fair wooded courses that will separate the Pros from the Joes. 15 of the 18 play over 300 feet through woods!
Cons: It's flat and outside of the elevated tees there is no elevation here whatsoever. No water or streams either. The only OOB is the access road on hole 2 and the dump hole. Otherwise your just trying to keep it on the fairways and out of the woods. If you don't like trees don't come here. It's a long way from anything so be prepared to treat this as a day trip (Schumaker Pond is a decent course not to far away) The beginner tees were an afterthought and are just markers in the ground.(better than long tees being the afterthought IMO) $6 per car might irk some...I've payed far more to play far worse courses.
Other Thoughts: I named this review after the moon in Return of the Jedi that was home to the Ewoks.(Endor) It just had that high speed flying through a forrest feel to it! It's really fun to throw a disc at high speeds in a forrest and watch it dance right or left as it negotiates those tree lined alleys. May the force be with you....your gonna need it to get par here!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    9/10/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging and well laid out - looks like it has been upgraded since I last played it.

Rubber Tees were in prime condition when I was there.

The course offers a really nice tightly wooded challenge without being "over the top" evil. The variety of hole distances tests the hole bag of shots from putter to long driver and forehand/backhand.
Cons: A few holes seemed like tweener par 3/4's where most pros would likely always score a 3. A few baskets (when I went there over a year ago) had a bit of damage to them.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

7/31/2008   7/31/2008
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There were nice rubber tee pads on all but two holes. These two exceptions utilized an elevated cement structure. Tee signs on every hole, with lengths to all pin positions. Segregated from rest of park, so no pedestrian traffic. Was very challenging from the long tee pads. Most fairways were fair, ie not too tight. Easy to navigate with lots of next tee signs. Bathrooms near by.
Cons: Tee signs on #3 and #10 were unreadable and need to be replaced. $6 out of state entrance fee.
Other Thoughts: Multiple baskets on each hole except #5, #8, #10 and #17. Either I didn't see them or they aren't there. Also had multiple tees, but some of the short tees (12" x 12" paver's) were difficult to locate. The short tees to short baskets would be great for beginners and/or young children. Some of the alternate basket locations were extremely long, so some shorter arms might struggle on these holes. Less than 45 minutes due west from Bethany Beach.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.