Laurel, DE 
Trap Pond State Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #12 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 277ft.   -- / --   3 / 300ft.   4 / 401ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Jewel of Delaware!

5+    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: solidhummer
Played: 50  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 33.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained and has a flow to it that makes sense. It has 18 regulation innova discatchers. The tee pads are a nice rubber or concrete. All of the fairways are fair and the length reflects more modern distances of today's disc golf. The course is very secluded and it is very unlikely that you will encounter other distractions like playgrounds or gatherings within ear shot. Finesse upshots are essential however there are some holes that you can bomb off the tee. There are multiple pin positions and long and a short tee for each hole. Also the original old dga baskets are in place for beginners to use within the course
Cons: The course is flat with the exception of two tees off a five foot high mound and a couple elevated baskets. This course is about 5 miles from a main road so if you're not headed to Trap Pond, it is unlikely that you will be just passing by. With the land that was given the course lacks some disc golf shots that could provide some variety. The pars for a lot of the holes are tweeners.
Other Thoughts: To be up front about this review I have to confess that I am the course pro here. Although you will see in my review that I will be very objective. I know the history of the course and what future plans are for Trap. This is probably the least populated area of Delaware. This is probably why there will never be the size local base to this course as in other areas of the state. So for most people it is at least a 20 minute drive to the course. This is great for me because of the seclusion. Also the few volunteers here have the bulk of the maintenance on a course that is heavily wooded. Progress is slow at best although it is very noticeably moving in the right direction. Parts of the course were redesigned to alleviate some "minor" design flaws. Hole 8 and 9 are now combined and the tee for the new hole will be moved up to keep drives from hole 7 landing near hole 8's tee. To make up the lost hole, two new holes were put in near the hole 15 area. The old hole 15 was probably the most hated of the course because of the lack of a landing area or no reward for a good shot off the tee. The new 15 may have a smaller gap to shoot through but makes more sense. When off the tee a good drive will give you a decent upshot to the basket where the old one did not necessarily. The new hole 14 is to provide variety to a course that has several shots that are alike. Disc golf has many different shots that can be executed but course doesn't utilize that. Hole 2,3,4 are almost the same shot. This may be ok for an 18 hole layout but not back to back to back. However, this only applies to the long to long on those holes. The additional tees and pin positions help with this. The course is flat and doesn't have any major bodies of water that would be a factor. A creek may come in to play on hole 7 after a heavy rain. There are OB pits and the famous "dump" on hole 7 that can add strokes. Obviously the tee signs are going to have to be updated as well as the score cards and course length due to the updated layout. So if anyone goes out anytime soon the signage will be wrong on some holes. One of the things I think we have done right is the versatility of the course. You can play this course every day of the week and have a different layout each time. This course can play very, very hard for the even the top pros. But also, it can play very recreational for beginners AT THE SAME TIME! I have found this to be an inviting factor that Trap has that most courses don't. I can play disc golf with the wife and she can play the short course while I play the long and we can do this together. The short baskets have been strategically placed as to not interfere with the long course. And if the short basket is in the way then well.....I guess you had a bad shot. I have gotten some negative feedback on this but I'm pretty adamant about the fact that new players don't start off as pros and that a long tough course may be discouraging to start off on. This feature makes it nice for different skill levels to play together. So all in all the course has a lot of work still left to be done. But I would still rate this course high because it has all the variety of lengths and pins anyone would ever need. It has complete tee pads and uniform baskets throughout. The course challenges every skill level and is well maintained. Now one lasting question for this course and really one of its downfalls is the assignment of par. Because there are tweeners on this course it makes it hard to apply. The thing about Trap is that the par 3's are hard par 3's. One round can be very different from the next. I will go through the layout and give my "opinion" and I feel somewhat qualified being how I've played several hundred rounds there.
Hole 1. is a hard par 3. It can be deuced but it is a fairly narrow gap and can really punish you on the OB road.
Hole 2. (tweener) The length is deucable but 2's are rare. Die hards will say this is a par 3. This is a great hole but to be honest a good shot leaves you 40-50 from the pin. The hole needs to be longer or shorter. But I'll give it a par 3 I guess.
Hole 3. par 4
Hole 4. par 4
Hole 5. par 3
Hole 6. (tweener) very hard par 3. I'm 90% sure the pdga would consider it par 4. Gotta have an awesome shot to have a "legitimate" putt for a 2. So par 4 it is.
Hole 7. par 4
Hole 8. This hole will probably end up being a hard par 3 but I'm not sure yet.
Hole 9. (tweener) This can be a deuce if you can throw almost 400'. Simple enough hole if you can but because of the distance of it, it is not deucable for most. I give this a par 3 but your second shot is most likely a wasted shot.
Hole 10. par 5
Hole 11. hard par 3
Hole 12. par 4
Hole 13. par 4
Hole 14. par 4
Hole 15. par 4
Hole 16. hard par 4. (tweener) This can be considered a par 5 in the long position due to the fact of the no wider than 20' fairway and the 550' - 600' distance.
Hole 17. shortest hole on the course. 5's can be taken here. definitely par 3 though
Hole 18. (tweener) hard par 3

So that 3,3,4,4,3,4,4,3,3,5,3,4,4,4,4,4,3,3 Par 65

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course!

5+    2/11/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: JediEthan1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent teepads
Putting Area before tee #1
Challenge for any skill level with multiple tee, pin locations.

New long baskets, the older but still good
short baskets make it a good course for multiple locations. The variety of shots that you have an opportunity to make is excelllent, much like Killens Pond in Felton. The type of holes varied nicely. with some long field holes included in the course.
Cons: Somewhat out of the way if you're passing by on Rt. 13, so allow plenty of time to get there. Course is definitely worth it, though!
Other Thoughts: Great course, I would definitely recommend it to anyone. The short tees can sometimes become covered in pine needles, but local players generally keep the course well maintained. I will definitely go back ASAP!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Remote, Flat, Tight Woods Golf

1    5/27/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 123  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rubber Tee pads in good condition (a couple concrete tees as well)
Tee signs at all tees
Multiple baskets (pros are newer with large baskets while amateur baskets are older/smaller but still in decent shape)
Mainly tight, technical wooded fairways demanding accuracy (some holes drive through open field but baskets are all in woods)
Length coupled with placement of pro baskets will challenge even the experienced player
Lack of thick brush off fairways diminish disc loss possibility
Downed trees on fairways provided unique challenge (was this done on purpose or not cleared yet?)
Mainly disc golf only area (it borders a nature trail on some holes but does not appear to use the trail)
Amenities on site (bathrooms w/running water)
Located in State Park - upkeep was excellent
Isolated location appears to minimize number of players on course (basically had it all to myself)
Abundance of nature adds to remote feel
Cons: Not a very balanced course - lacks variety, diversity, elevation, risk/reward, water (not that this is necessary)
Due to the above, the holes start to feel very repetitive and similar
Pay to play
Sometimes difficult to determine where basket placement was as it didn't always match map/tee signs (additionally, there was nothing at tees to let player know what alternate pin position a basket may be in when there were multiple/alternate possibilities)
Was surprised to later find that red brick on course was actually 'am' tees - they were extremely difficult to see under the pine needles and not marked
Carry-in/Carry-out trash - i.e. no trash containers (not sure if this is a con but it certainly isn't a pro!)
Other Thoughts: I usually revel in these longer, tighter, technical wooded courses which demand accuracy, thought and placement consideration. However a little over halfway through this one, it began to feel very similar and repetitive. I'm thinking the lack of elevation had a large part in this. While the course design does require an assortment of left/right/straight shots (off the tee and as the hole unfolds), it doesn't demand a ton of variety or a plethora of disc types. Basically its flat, tight woods for the most part which I'm used to playing . So I was using the same handful of discs for woods and throwing my usual shots. Therefore I didn't feel I was mentally challenged to the point where I was reconsidering the type of throw, the alternate line or what type of disc I should use. Additionally, there wasn't much risk/reward, no epic holes, water - essentially not a lot of dynamics to this one.

That being said, don't confuse this for me scoring/playing well or the course not being tough. It's a serious challenge for the serious disc golfer especially when playing long tees to long baskets (I can't imagine playing it any other way actually). The secluded location near the Maryland Peninsula border will keep many from playing here and it's certainly not a classic destination course. However if you're passing through or nearby (as I was) and like a high-quality woods disc golf challenge, this is the 'must play' place for you.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to Endor!

1    9/15/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This forrest course consisting of pines and old growth trees with ample clear fairways carved throughout will challenge experts from the long tees to the long pins while it entertains the novice from the shorts to short baskets. It's not technical unless you stray off the intended route...from the woods it's very very technical to get back on the fairway or to try to save par and weave towards the green. Yes there are 72 options here with the long tees all having huge well constructed rubber tees(16 holes) or 2 elevated concrete tees off a concrete structure to the brand new long baskets. There are short tees and baskets that follow the same fairways but are tucked in such a way to not interrupt the flow of the expert holes. The park is off the beaten path and the course is secluded from other park activities so your truly in a pure disc golf course with plenty of nature around to enjoy. The theme here is very long yet serviceable fairways that can be negotiated with skill rather than luck. Often with doglegs or turns that will tempt you to anhyzer/hyzer/flick or should you try to park on the corner. Plenty of thought provoking holes here. If your off the fairways, your in the woods but don't despair theres thick trees but very few if any thorns or cruel shule to ruin your day. Every hole is solid and well designed but a few things did stand out here. There is an elevated basket for hole 2 that was fun. The concrete tee of hole 3 over a big field and then hyzering back into the woods....I loved the transitions on this hole, just a great blend of big arm precision landing and then playing a long technical approach! 2 of the holes play straight and incredibly long with low ceilings....it's so hard to keep a disc straight for such a long distance.(one of these is called the highway #14) 4 of the holes incorporate a nicely manicured grassy lawn into the hole....either shooting woods to field to woods, or woods to grass, or grass to woods. Gives just enough open air to break up the woods at 2 separate intervals play. Course appears to drain well despite the flatness and there wasn't any maintenance/vandalism issues that I noticed. One other unique hole was one where you threw over an old dump....this may seem like a con but its well marked with gold rope and actually makes the particular hole interesting and is not really an eyesore.(My brother digs for old collectible bottles in dumps so I've seen my fair share of these old dumps in old woods so maybe I'm not easily offended) Basically this is a solid championship caliber course that is amongst the toughest yet fairest courses I have played to date...I place this beast in a unique class of long fair wooded courses that will separate the Pros from the Joes. 15 of the 18 play over 300 feet through woods!
Cons: It's flat and outside of the elevated tees there is no elevation here whatsoever. No water or streams either. The only OOB is the access road on hole 2 and the dump hole. Otherwise your just trying to keep it on the fairways and out of the woods. If you don't like trees don't come here. It's a long way from anything so be prepared to treat this as a day trip (Schumaker Pond is a decent course not to far away) The beginner tees were an afterthought and are just markers in the ground.(better than long tees being the afterthought IMO) $6 per car might irk some...I've payed far more to play far worse courses.
Other Thoughts: I named this review after the moon in Return of the Jedi that was home to the Ewoks.(Endor) It just had that high speed flying through a forrest feel to it! It's really fun to throw a disc at high speeds in a forrest and watch it dance right or left as it negotiates those tree lined alleys. May the force be with you....your gonna need it to get par here!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great design

5+    7/12/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Johnbunker
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best course in the region. Multiple tees and a basket in every pin position. Great place to teach kids and beginners because of the rec. tees on each hole. Majority of the trees are Pine making it easier to find your disc from errant throws.
Cons: Little dump in the middle of two holes with a lot of broken glass.
Other Thoughts: Very challenging when playing the long pin positions. Fun course no matter what pin positions you play.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    9/10/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging and well laid out - looks like it has been upgraded since I last played it.

Rubber Tees were in prime condition when I was there.

The course offers a really nice tightly wooded challenge without being "over the top" evil. The variety of hole distances tests the hole bag of shots from putter to long driver and forehand/backhand.
Cons: A few holes seemed like tweener par 3/4's where most pros would likely always score a 3. A few baskets (when I went there over a year ago) had a bit of damage to them.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Longing in the Pines

1    8/20/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Two baskets and two tees on every hole. Long and wide quality rubber teepads at the long tees. Signs at the long tees will show you the location of the short tee, and the distances to the baskets. Despite not having a map, this course was easy for a first-time visitor to navigate, as there are many "next tee" signs not too far from the basket. Despite most holes being in the woods, there isn't too much chance to lose a disc, as the undergrowth is minimal - other than pine trees, holly bushes and pine needles are about all else there is. Benches or large tree stumps to rest upon at many holes. Practice putting basket. Away from any other park users.
Cons:
Some signs only show one basket location, so what is the distance/location of the other basket? Some signs show three possible basket locations, so which two are being used? The short tees are marked only with ground-level bricks, which can easily be missed due to cut grass and/or pine needles, and have no distance information available. $8 to enter the park. Course is extremely flat. Downed tree making orange basket #15 fairly inaccessible.
Other Thoughts:
Most holes play completely in woods, but a few have you playing across wide open space, with the baskets themselves being set into the woods. Longer than any mostly-wooded courses I've played to date - while there certainly were a few holes of the ~200' variety, most were over 300', and a few over 400'. Very fair throwing lanes, but plenty of challenges, too. Nice mixture of left/right/S/no turning holes. Challenging, but no ridiculous, basket locations.

Favourite hole #5: Need to go straight down narrowing but fair alley about 300', then make a sharp left to reach orange basket an additional 125' away, or yellow basket another 100' and slightly more left beyond the orange.

Great course - challenging enough to keep you interested, fair enough to keep you from feeling abused. Adding signage to the short tee locations would be a boon to players wanting to maximize their options at this course. Very solid multi-tee/multi-basket course at Schumaker less than hour to the south.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

7/31/2008   7/31/2008
Review By: DWill
Played: 230  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There were nice rubber tee pads on all but two holes. These two exceptions utilized an elevated cement structure. Tee signs on every hole, with lengths to all pin positions. Segregated from rest of park, so no pedestrian traffic. Was very challenging from the long tee pads. Most fairways were fair, ie not too tight. Easy to navigate with lots of next tee signs. Bathrooms near by.
Cons: Tee signs on #3 and #10 were unreadable and need to be replaced. $6 out of state entrance fee.
Other Thoughts: Multiple baskets on each hole except #5, #8, #10 and #17. Either I didn't see them or they aren't there. Also had multiple tees, but some of the short tees (12" x 12" paver's) were difficult to locate. The short tees to short baskets would be great for beginners and/or young children. Some of the alternate basket locations were extremely long, so some shorter arms might struggle on these holes. Less than 45 minutes due west from Bethany Beach.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Challenging Woods Course

5/4/2006   9/10/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2008
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenge, length.
Other Thoughts: If challenging equals good, then Trap Pond is the course for you. The first hole is a long, straight shot down a well wooded, narrow fairway. Turns out that the course starts out easy; you can only see the basket from the tee on maybe two other holes. The landscape is flat, and water is not an issue. You simply can't see the basket because the course is in thick woods, is exceptionally long, and on the really tough holes is both long and requires negotiating a hard dogleg.

Fourteen of the holes play entirely in the woods, with another four incorporating an open field into the fairway but still involving the woods to some extent. Only maybe two of the holes are true par 3s in that an average player can hope to throw a 3 if all goes well. The rest are true par 4 and 5, and course management is critical. This course is in the league of Patapsco and Seneca Creek (in its long layout) in terms of length and difficulty. The fairways are challenging but fair for the most part, but the course lacks the grooming, variety, and elevation features of those two top-notch courses.

Trap Pond is among the most challenging courses I've played, and is probably one of the tougher courses in the country. With an ample supply of basically par 3 disc golf courses in the country, and with players able to throw further and further, a course with this sort of length is a welcome change. Trap Pond is not abusive either, just tough. If you like woods courses, and want to move up from the pitch and putt experience, then be sure to check out Trap Pond if you get the chance.

Favorite Hole - #3 - Open air chuck off slightly elevated tee pad to basket set well back in the woods.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.