Laurel, DE 
Trap Pond State Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #14 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 361ft.   4 / 400ft.   4 / 442ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Trap Pond, tough and tricky

1    8/16/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.6 Years
Pros: I visited Trap Pond State Park for disc golf, and did not leave disappointed. There is 18 holes here and they really beat me up. I carded a 68 from the long tees on the short baskets. Only birdie came on hole 17. There are two baskets on most of the holes, and usually multiple tees as well. There isn't really significant elevation change anywhere, and the course was quite dry, never really getting near the water. You will be encountering many, many trees if you choose to play here. Any layout will present challenges, mostly due to the woods. There are open parts, on a couple of holes, but the baskets are at least protected in the fringes of the woods. There are good variety of lefts and rights, and versatility of distance as well. The tees are mostly rubber, and most have a sign. Bugs were not an issue at the time I played there.
Cons: This course could use a little TLC. Some signs are degraded to the point of falling down, or missing entirely, and a few of the baskets are in kind of rough condition. Concrete tee pads and improved signage would have boosted my rating to 4 out of 5. I paid the $6 fee as an out of state visitor. Ranger made me leash up my dog, con for him (my dog, not the ranger).
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is pretty cool, with some room for improvement. I rated it based on the versatility and challenge presented. Not the best course, but with upgrades to some aspects, I would even call it tournament caliber. Out of the way, unless you live on the Del Marva, but I enjoyed the journey. There were small frogs everywhere when it visited mid-August. Seasonal emergence I guess. Reminiscent of Kilborne ( longer, "Skillborne" layout) in Charlotte, NC.

Updates and changes to course

1    6/1/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: Duncanator
Played: 113  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: Tight lines in the woods.
Quiet, just you and nature.
A second basket is in play on most holes for variety
Large rubber tees except 3 and 9.
Mostly nice baskets, a little rust on a few.
Maps at most holes show general paths are arrows with baskets help a lot.
Cons: $6 out of state car fee ($3 in state) for state park
Map isn't up to date. Signs are missing for holes 3, 9, 10, and 14.
3 and 9 play off of a large sansewer junction box cover which can be smelly and has things you can trip on. There are areas where you can be fine, but look before you run.
Some of the lines are really tight. Like really tight. They are still "lines" for sure, but new players will have a rough day on many holes and experienced players will have to play well to keep off the trees.
Other Thoughts: Changes have been made to this course, and I was able to talk to a local who pointed me in the right direction, but I figured I'd share the updates as they are now:
1-8 plays basically how the map shows, though some lengths are a little different. 3 plays straight down the side of the woods and hooks into the trees to the left 400+
9 now plays from where the map shows 3&10. It goes into the woods to the left of the baseball fence. 10 plays along the side of the woods to the right and almost comes back into the woods.
14 is a 350-400 dogleg right.
14 and 15 are recently added holes and aren't as well defined. Especially the end of 15 where the fairway gets really tight off to the right heading to the gold basket.
Not a drop-in-on-the-way course to play a round, but certainly worth a visit to challenge yourself.

Trap Pond!

2-4    8/1/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: PWaggoner
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Stay on the fairway or watch your score explode.
Nice baskets and (most)teepads.
Extremely difficult
If it rains thick coverage will keep you dry.
Cons: Bugs!!! Bring some spray if its not winter
Concrete thing used for teepads smells like sewage sometimes.
Some of the Teepads are uneven (roots etc)
Not well maintained- sticks, big fallen trees, (one is actually used for a obstacle which was pretty cool but some you can tell aren't supposed to be on the fairway), and a OB trash pile.
Other Thoughts: Bring some friends and split the $6 out of state car fee (its nearly free).
Bring drinks and snacks Trap is a long course
Grab a map and scorecard from the nice lady when you pay the car fee.

I always have fun at trap and when I return to my local wooded course the lines now seem ridiculously large and easy in comparison for a day or two ;)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course, Great Park

1    7/4/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.7 Years
Pros: Good accuracy course, and very challenging. Inside a great park. Multiple tee pads and baskets. Lots of shade in the summer. Rewards both long distance throws and accuracy. Little undergrowth so finding discs is not hard.
Cons: Extremely difficult and frustrating when a nice throw is ruined by hitting one of the many trees. The fairways are VERY narrow and almost the entire course is excessively forested. It is very hard to figure out where the baskets are located, and the maps for each hole are in bad shape or have completely been removed. The arrows on the baskets pointing to the next tee are sometimes pointed in the wrong direction. Park requires a fee to enter. No scorecards. Layout is confusing. Two holes use the same tee pad, which is actually a large concrete object in the middle of a field. It has things sticking out of it and is very awkward and confusing.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course, but it could be better. The design is good, but the fairways could be opened up a bit more, and the maintenance is poor. This is one of the more difficult courses in the Delmarva area, and sometimes seems not rewarding enough to be enjoyable. Too many times I have been robbed of a great throw because of a random tree. However, If you like a good challenge, this is still a fine course, and Trap Pond state park is a really nice park, so the location is great.

Trap pond state park

1    11/23/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety, good variety of open and wooded as well as long and short, you wont get very bored here. I enjoyed the elevated pin on 2. Good signage on most holes. Good tee pads as well as pretty new long baskets. There was a Practice basket located near the first tee and parking lot. Next tee signs on baskets, there were little arrows hanging from the basket that pointed in the direction of the next hole. Flypads on most holes. The concrete tees on the mound in the middle of the field were a nice change of pace.
Cons: Signage is a must, I found myself whaling around in circles often. Although there were some arrows, the first few holes dis not clearly indicate where the basket and next tee was. In my opinion there were too many 350 feet straight holes
Other Thoughts: When I think trap pond I think water, there was none. Haha. Overall this was a good stop on the way home from va

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Trapped!!!

1    5/2/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 excellent holes mostly through the woods with 13 rubber tees, 3 flypads, and 2 concrete tees. The rubber tees are great when wet. Dual baskets on each hole provide short and long or easy and hard depending on the hole. The baskets don't seem to interfere with playing one or the other and can provide two fairy different looks off the tee. Navigation was good with next tee arrows and tee signs. Disc golf area of the park is secluded from other parts of the park.

Trap is of championship caliber providing an excellent test of player skill. The better player should prevail here, and the course also plays well for beginners so it's very versatile. The fairways are well defined and fair through some pretty thick woods. Great mix of straight, left and right holes. Mostly par 3 with some par 4s, or some tweeners. I loved being able to bomb some shots through the fairways of woods here.
Cons: Not many cons here. The 3 holes with flypads were very slick in the rain. I tee'd off the first one and almost hit the deck. The other two flypads I tee'd off from the side or in front for my own safety. This shouldn't be much an issue when dry. It's a little hard to tell which are the flypads until you do a practice swing.

A couple of the tee signs were faded bad and impossible to tell much, although with the course map it's not much of deal to figure out where the hole plays. The two concrete tees are on the same sewer top which is a little odd and maybe cumbersome during a tourney, but really not much of big con.
Other Thoughts: I was really impressed with this course considering there is about zero elevation change and I am a big fan of playing big elevation. A recent trip to Dallas left me underwhelmed even with their supposed 4.5 and 5 disc rated courses that have more elevation than Trap. I think the course designers there should take a trip to the Trap and see how it's done.

It started raining about 1/3 of the way through the course, but it didn't bother me one bit. The canopy of the trees help cover from some of the rain and the ground doesn't get all muddy at all which surprised me. The pine needles on the ground seem to do a very good job with that.

I was the only disc golfer in the park, and I suppose the course is often fairly secluded. I always find it neat to be the only person on a course and it seems to be a rarity now, especially on a course of this caliber. The course seems to be aptly named Trap because in a way it's like being trapped in the woods, and my mind seems to be trapped thinking about the course.

The $6 out-of-state fee to play is a little high, but this really shouldn't keep anyone from playing this course because it is worth it. Anytime I am in the area I will be back to play again sunshine or rain!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A "Must Play."

1    10/30/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: H3LlIoN
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has GIANT rubber tee boxes, for the most part. Also, two DISCatchers on almost every hole mean you can play this one twice and each time she'll be different. There are some great long lanes, and awesome lines. The holes were all well maintained, every basket had a "Next Tee" sign hanging on the bottom to keep you headed in the right direction. Also, the short baskets are great for beginners...We went with a group of 6...3 guys and 3 girls. Normally the girls lag behind, but with them playing the short baskets and us playing the longs, it worked out perfectly. All in all, this is a really great course, and I will definitely be back the next time I'm in Delaware. Practice basket before hole 1. Great, nice long course. Very enjoyable.
Cons: The "short tees" are nothing more than two 1'x1' brick pads laid somewhere down the course. It was exceedingly difficult to find these on every hole given that it is fall, and everything is orange. There were no maps/scorecards at the beginning, so you have to check out each hole sign, and then make a guess as to where to start digging for the short tees. Two of the holes (5/9?) you tee off from a septic cistern, and it stinks. Some of the hole signs at the beginning of the holes are faded or worn, making it impossible to read. Also, the sign at the tee for hole 10 is labeled as hole 11 for some reason, although the basket is labeled 10. The "11" is stuck on with mailbox sticky numbers. Actual hole 11 is normal, like the rest.
Other Thoughts: This was a very enjoyable course to play...the lanes for the most part are well defined and easy to see...having the "next t" signs is always amazing. It is a little difficult to find the course, as you don't go to the main entrance of the park, but rather drive around to the camping entrance. You can play after the park closes...simply lock the gate on the way out. The camping guard house was closed when we went, so I am unsure as to whether or not they normally charge an entrance fee or not. Although we caught this course in the afternoon on a Sunday, we had the whole course to ourselves, and never saw any one else shooting.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 After work

1    8/10/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: glenncurtiss
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of a variety of shots required. Nice open / clean layout.
Cons: Could use a few more signs from basket to next tee.
Map from nice lady at booth helpful, but not current?
Arrived after 4 but still had to pay day use fee?
Was worth it.
Other Thoughts: Only person on course till 18. Man with son throwing pine cones at basket! Walked a few holes with them letting them throw my discs. Left the kid with his first disc. Innova Aero.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 ouch

1    5/7/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this was a great, beautifully laid out course. the setting in the state park is absolutly gorgeous
Cons: the course is a VERY tough course. it is laid out in the woods and there are obviously trees everywhere. i cam across a couple black widows on the course and my buddy almost stepped on a copperhead.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/22/2010   9/22/2010
Review By: MANN-JITSU
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course is put together very nicely. I didnt have to much trouble following the course, everything is marked out pretty visibly. There are many tight narrow shots that involve alot of skill and luck. Some holes are nearly impossible to get a long shot down the fairway. The course shows alot of variation by having some open holes too.

For Northern DE disc golfers the course is similar to a longer lums pond.
Cons: The only thing I did not like about this course was the massive amount of Horse Flies in the open holes.
Other Thoughts: The road to the course sucked. I had just washed my car the day before, and by the time I left the course she was filthy.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.