Richmond, VA 
Bryan Park Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #17
4 / 396ft.   4 / 453ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket: Just up over the hill.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 68
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Great example of City Park Course

2-4    9/14/2016   9/14/2016
Review By: kindableu
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice water holes on 16 & 18
-Lot of elevation, not sure any of the holes was truly on flat ground
-Its open, but not empty field open. Every hole has a handful of ancient looking trees that adjust the lines you want to take
-Its a long course, but it still plays at a good pace.
-Mosaic tee signs. Some of the holes had great hole and distance markers done in tile. Love extra aesthetic touches to a course
-Each hole felt distinct, not a lot of repetition.
Cons: -Maps. Most had hole number and distance marked, but I always like to see a map at each tee, especially on holes where you can see two baskets.
-As others have said the fairways on 4 and 11 cross, and hole 9 basket, while not quite in the way is definitely a visual distraction on hole 1
-Hole 15 left me wanting more, its a great looking creek and it would be awesome if they could figure out a way to have it come more into play.
-I played it early on a weekend and mid-day on weekday. I could see a Saturday afternoon get crowded with non-disc golfers that might cause interruptions in play since the course isn't really segregated from the park, but that's just speculation.
Other Thoughts: Its a great use of the available terrain and an enjoyable course to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bryan park dgc

2-4    6/14/2016   6/15/2016
Review By: Rryanderson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very long and very open. There are scattered trees but most of them don't get in the way too much. This course doesn't feature holes that are repetitive, so each hole feels like a new and different challenge. The park is pretty centrally located in the Richmond area so it's easy to get to.
Cons: The park that it's in is fairly warn down. The grass sometimes gets overgrown, but they do their best to keep it well maintained. Some of the tee boxes are starting to deteriorate (there are wooden stakes where the distance, hole number and par number are painted on, but some of the numbers are faded)
Other Thoughts: Be sure not to go straight from hole 8 to hole 11. the tee box for hole 11 is next to the basket for hole 8, so it's an easy mistake to make. you have to cross the road to get to 9 and 10 and then come back to 11

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

just okay

1    11/6/2015   11/6/2015
Review By: sidearmdon
Played: 193  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Loved the water holes. Nice open area with some tree difficulty. Baskets in good shape. Drove right to it.
Cons: No tee signs. Couldn't find some of the holes. When I got to tee four I could only see one basket. Ended up being the basket for hole eleven. Very difficult to navigate. No tee signs? really!?
Other Thoughts: If you go to this course make sure you have a local person to take you through. Do not attempt without one. I've thrown 180 different courses and this was the worst one to navigate through.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    5/20/2015   5/30/2015
Review By: dg_morgan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -The holes are very fun and interesting. There is elevation, water, and varying length. Some of the holes are wide open, and some have trees. It's a very pretty park and cute to play.

-Free to play!

-Very quiet area as far as foot traffic, at least when we were there (midday on a Wednesday).

-Two tee pads for each hole.
Cons: -The amateur tees are poor/nonexistent. Perhaps I am spoiled on nice concrete tees, but I don't appreciate throwing from the dirt. It also makes it difficult to see the tees from afar. (My partner recalls the pro tees being brick, so this point may be invalid for people playing from those.)

-The signage is lacking. Each hole has a mosaic piece that explains the par and distance, but these tend to be a bit hard to read. It's also simply placed on the ground, along with very short blocks marking the am tees. Since nothing is really visible from a distance, it was hard to navigate the course in many places.
Other Thoughts: I think if the tees and signs are addressed, this course could easily get another full point from me. The holes were a lot of fun to play, and were definitely not generic. However, it's hard to enjoy the holes when you can't actually find them! I prefer a course where I can easiy move from a basket to the next tee. A little better signage could really make this course into a winner. Of course, if you've played here enough to learn the layout, I'm sure it's plenty of fun!

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Gem of a Course in Richmond

2-4    12/24/2014   12/26/2014
Review By: Ed_Reese
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Really a gem of a course in Richmond. Love the layout, length of the course, water crossings, and the beauty of this course. It might be in the top 5 I've played in the country. It's also incredibly clean. I don't think I saw a piece of trash in three rounds of play.
Cons: Yeah, I lacks what others have said... There are essentially no real tee pads. It's not marked very well. I get it. Didn't detract from my enjoyment at all, though. With a little work (just tee pads and signage, really) this could be a destination course.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for big arms. While I think it has a nice variation of length, it's longer than most with several holes approaching 600 feet (four or five in the 550-590' range if memory serves correct). The water hazards make it really fun as well. The duck pond crossing is farther than it looks :) I attempted it with a fairway driver my first time and ended up losing one in the drink. Still didn't bum me out, though. Had a blast here. My in-laws are from Richmond, so I'm there a few times a year. I'm stoked beyond belief to have discovered this course. You've got a gem here in Richmond!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Drivers Galore

5+    11/11/2014   11/20/2014
Review By: ericfriesr
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Wide open. A few trees. Awesome distance. If you like throwing from the tee, this place is for you.
ALL holes have freshly completed tee pads!
Cons: Not very technical. You can score well on this course if you can drive. I play here several times a week and rarely use mid range discs.
Other Thoughts: #11 is sweet. Was better before a storm took out a HUGE tree right across the creek. Fun holes. Open lay out. There's a short and long tee pad for every hole.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 okay for practice

5+    6/20/2014   8/15/2014
Review By: Indus
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: wide open place to practice discs you don't throw much.
close to highway so you can get out quickly.
pretty park.
Cons: not much of a challenge. mostly wide open, relatively easy. non-disc golfers on the course, as it is a public park. crappy dirt tees.
Other Thoughts: not sure why this course gets such a high rating unless it is because a bunch of the local players are the ones reviewing it. it is definitely less than thrilling. a couple of cool holes...one long one where you have to carry a creek running through concrete banks...one over the pond that is challenging (not the last hole). kinda like playing in an open field. big arms may enjoy the chance to park some drives, but it lacks technical play.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Crank out some laces

5+    7/3/2014   7/4/2014
Review By: Blazemedown
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Who like to throw some bombs from elevated tees and watch em fly? This course allows u to throw caution to the wind and drive for show. Easy to get to from any direction. New concrete tee pads in 1/2 the holes,
Cons: Watch out for poison ivy; beware of the first hole, it is extremely cruel to discs/players
Other Thoughts: Want a course friendly enough for novices but fun enough for pros? You can't beat Bryan Park. So little stress with this course's layout...so many opportunities to show your buddies how much further you can throw then them

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bryan Bombs Away!

1    3/17/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 166  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 10.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual tees with 18 baskets over nice scenic rolling elevation, creek, pond and waterfall and has some nice par 4s. Most the course is shaded by huge hardwood trees, but the course is fairly wide open and a little longer than average. Two 9 hole loops back to parking lot. Navigation was decent. Well maintained park just off I-95. Restrooms with water.
Cons: Mostly natural tees(looks like they are in the process of upgrading the tees to rubber pads). No real tee signs, but it's not bad if you have a map. Hole 4 and 11 cross fairways right off the tee but I don't think it's much of an issue. Hole 18's tee area was muddy/slippery, and the green across the creek is fast for roll-a-ways into the creek. Lacks variety in that there are no tight technical wooded fairways. Decent chance to lose disc in the water. Plays close to park roads in places. Other people in the park/course.
Other Thoughts: Set near the heart of Richmond, I had a blast playing at Bryan Park. You get to throw huge bombs over some great elevation changes. My first shot went in the creek OB on hole 1, I could see it, but couldn't retrieve it. Hole 11 and 14 were my favorites. Hole 16 across the pond was also quite fun. There's not a whole of challenge here other than raw distance, some water and a few trees. Wind can be a big factor here. This is great course for anyone that likes to watch their discs fly and a nice stop if traveling through Richmond up /down I-95 or across I-64.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Park Course

1    6/4/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: tlimanek
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Definitely top 3 of the 25 courses I have played. Shots over water and around trees. Very easy to find discs with well mowed lawns. For an intermediate player the challenge was clear at each hole.
Cons: Since first time, got a little lost at times. Played some blue, some gold tees as I found them. Tracking down the first hole was tricky given the park layout and roads.
Other Thoughts: There appears to be recent work making very nice permanent tees. They are making a good course even better. Will play this every time I am in Richmond.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.