Richmond, VA 
Bryan Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #2 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 311ft.   3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Yellow Tee



Reviews: 61
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Bryan Bombs Away!

1    3/17/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual tees with 18 baskets over nice scenic rolling elevation, creek, pond and waterfall and has some nice par 4s. Most the course is shaded by huge hardwood trees, but the course is fairly wide open and a little longer than average. Two 9 hole loops back to parking lot. Navigation was decent. Well maintained park just off I-95. Restrooms with water.
Cons: Mostly natural tees(looks like they are in the process of upgrading the tees to rubber pads). No real tee signs, but it's not bad if you have a map. Hole 4 and 11 cross fairways right off the tee but I don't think it's much of an issue. Hole 18's tee area was muddy/slippery, and the green across the creek is fast for roll-a-ways into the creek. Lacks variety in that there are no tight technical wooded fairways. Decent chance to lose disc in the water. Plays close to park roads in places. Other people in the park/course.
Other Thoughts: Set near the heart of Richmond, I had a blast playing at Bryan Park. You get to throw huge bombs over some great elevation changes. My first shot went in the creek OB on hole 1, I could see it, but couldn't retrieve it. Hole 11 and 14 were my favorites. Hole 16 across the pond was also quite fun. There's not a whole of challenge here other than raw distance, some water and a few trees. Wind can be a big factor here. This is great course for anyone that likes to watch their discs fly and a nice stop if traveling through Richmond up /down I-95 or across I-64.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

My home course for years

5+    7/20/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 36  Reviewed: 15
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful, well maintained park with large mature trees throughout.
-Good mix of holes, especially in terms of distance. Par 3's are interrupted by longer multi-throw holes.
-The long holes especially are just fun. 9 is a long drive that is less open at the pin than it first appears. 11 is probably the signature hole and plays from elevation, over a creek, and then up the far side through the live oaks.
-Uses trees, water, and sloping greens well to add a little risk to the shorter holes on the property.
Cons: -Signage and tees are terrible. Its really a shame that a course that has the potential to be really a great course is so impacted by these things but they really do lower the rating. The club has been prevented from installing permanent tees by the park and moves the natural tees as often as they can but the tees are just not sufficient for the kinds of power you want to put on the longer throws here. With the tees being blocks in the ground and no signage there are often first timers wandering around looking for tees.
Other Thoughts: This was my home course for several years, right around the corner from my house and i still put in a couple rounds a month here. I think it's the best of the Richmond courses and therefore feel a sense of frustration that the little things that would make this course a 4 or 4.5 can't or haven't been done. That being said the park and holes alone make this a great round of golf and a ton of fun. It requires a different kind of golf than the other courses in the area, in particular it requires an approach game instead of just presenting you with 18 reachable par threes. I encourage anyone in the area to stop in and play here and if improvements ever get made to tees and signage this will be one of the best courses in the state.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Pleasant Surprise

1    7/25/2013   7/25/2013
Review By: krob190
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The scenery at this course is second to none. The park is filled the old oak trees that provide a tranquile feel throughout the entire course. The layout uses the unique characteristics of each tree to pose a challenge on each hole even when the fairway is predominately wide open.

This course is a Birdiefest! The par 4s are short in overall distance and you will have a birdie putt on nearly every hole. That being said, the architects did a nice job of putting slopes running away from you behind many of the baskets causing a risk/reward style of putting throughout the round.
Cons: Signage!! This course desperately needs hole signs at each tee. If not for having my smart phone on me and using a course map from the PDGA website, I would not have found a few of these tees. Since the park is mostly open, there are times you may see 3 or 4 baskets from a tee box so the map is key to navigation.
Other Thoughts: I was impressed by how well the course flowed once you knew where to find the next hole. You realize you are weaving back and forth within a park and are seeing much of the same surroundings multiple times, but the character in the trees and lakes makes you feel as though you are going for an endless stroll with plenty to look at.

Hole #14 is truly incredible. It is a downhill par 4 with a slight dogleg left, but with a neighborhood street far right and water to the left, it really gives you all you can handle. Forcing you to throw your drive on a rope to avoid a line of trees and allow for an open shot to the basket, the tee shot requires full concentration. Although the hole is not long, the basket is well guarded by water and wasteland so a birdie is not a guarantee even after a perfect drive. Definitely a signature hole!

I look forward to playing this course again soon.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Long and Open

1    8/7/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - The course flows through a large park that is mostly lightly wooded or just open on some holes.

Multiple tees on every hole, usually two but sometimes three. The different tee changed the shot completely sometimes, sometimes it was just a longer shot.

There's a good balance of long and short holes, every time you play a longer hole you get a few shorter ones afterwards. Half of the holes are over 300' and let you get some big drives in.

Most of the holes here were designed pretty well. There were multiple routes and the longer holes had a lot of visual appeal off the tee.

Risky greens and elevation change was a huge plus to this course. There were baskets perched on hills and near water.

The course uses the elevation very well in the design by making you throw long shots around obstacles, down hills or over valleys where fading out to soon or turning over leaves you in a bad spot.

A few holes where going long can you leave you in the water. Two shorter water carries included where coming up short can cost you a disc.

The course flows well in most parts, there's no super long walks but in a few places it is a bit confusing without a map. The course is done well so that you don't really interfere with any other park activities.

Atmosphere - It's a great looking park, seems to be used by a lot of people. Big rolling hills and giant trees sprinkled about the park. There's a great large creek running through the park that is used well in the design. There's small man made waterfalls in a few places and the holes really showcase off the beauty of the park.

Equipment - Course map at #1 and the baskets are in good condition. The tees are marked by colored wooden markers, for the most part these have the hole # and distance listed.
Cons: Layout - My main gripe about the layout is the holes get a bit redundant. A lot of straighter shots through a few trees. You don't need to shape many shots here that much.

Some of the shorter holes are just fillers, thrown in between some great longer holes. While a few are designed well some are just boring.

There's not much technical golf here if that's your thing. The only holes that make you really be accurate are the longer ones if you have distance for it to matter.

One hole (#13) does cross a road so be careful. Holes #4 and #11 cross fairways which is kind of confusing.

Atmosphere - There's a lot of trash in the park, for some reason people just leave there bottles and cans all over the place; often half full.

Some downed trees, and big limbs barely hanging on that need to be taken care of.

Equipment - I can not stress enough how badly this course needs concrete tees. I don't know if the course is allowed to have them or if the funding isn't there but it NEEDS pads.

Some of the dirt pads are okay but on some of the longest holes the pads are completely uneven and full of roots and rocks. It only makes getting a good drive in very difficult but it's a safety hazard.

Tee signs are also needed here, in some places it's kind of confusing which basket you're going to and the distances on the markers seem to be very inaccurate in a few places.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my round here, so much that we played it again from the shorts after doing round one from the longs. It's a bit of a walk but a lot of fun if you love to drive discs in big open spaces. I encourage everybody to make this a priority stop if you hit Richmond.

#9 is my favorite hole, a gorgeous long downhill shot with a waterfall in the background. #15 is great because you tee off beside the creek where it gets rocky.

This course probably deserves a 4 but with the state of the tees I just can't give it out. When you're throwing 500'+ and have 3' of semi level space to work with because the rest is big roots and rocks you've got a problem. If the course ever gets any type of decent level pads I'll go back and bump it up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    7/28/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: PapiChullo
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: I played this, Dorey and Sunnyside all this weekend on a visit to Richmond and on the way back up North, and this was probably my favorite out of the 3.
- The park itself is huge and pretty well maintained.
- Good mix of short and long holes, left and right turns.
- Couple of throws over water
- 2 tee boxes per hole.
- Crossed a few people, even thought it wasn't crowded, and they were all extremely nice and pleasant.
- Alternate tees for shots that are over water for shorter throwers.
- Parking lot right next to #1 tee, #9 basket and #18 basket, so easy to go to the car in between 9s, and not have a hike when the round is over.
Cons: - Navigation from basket to tee is somewhat of a guess. Luckily I had a map from this site on my phone, otherwise I could see it being a problem the first few times you play.
- Some baskets you couldn't see, so it was somewhat of a guess from the tee until you got a little closer for your second shot.
- It's right near the freeway, so some of the holes the traffic is a little loud.
- The fairway of #1 and the basket of #9 and tee of #10 are a little close, so could make for so sticky situations on an errant throw.
Other Thoughts: Many of the reviews on here were saying that it was very crowded, and luckily on the day I went out, it wasn't at all. There were a few groups out, but we were never waiting and only had one guy that played through. He joined up with us on 11 and played the rest, and was really friendly and was a big help with the navigation, so that was a plus. But there were a couple groups of "bros", so I could see how that could be annoying if it were a crowded day.

Shot my first round ever under par here!!

 Good for Richmond Rotation

5+    7/10/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: H3LlIoN
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good elevation change, bathrooms on site. This place has some great features...nice LONG holes where you can really cut loose with those long, booming drives. There is a low chance of disc lossage, providing you can keep clear of the water. Trash cans are placed in the parking lot, and the park is well maintained. There were no tee signs, but the course flows well enough that they aren't entirely necessary. There aren't really any tight, wooded holes, but this is a great place to work that arm out and show off some serious drives. As always, free to play is always a plus. Also, multiple bathrooms with trashcans and water fountains.
Cons: There aren't any tee signs, but the course flows well enough, and I was shooting with a "repeat offender," so we worked it out. A couple of the holes require that you shoot across water hazards, which was difficult for the women in our group. There aren't any trash cans out on the course, but it didn't seem to matter. For the most part, there isn't any place to hide trash on the majority of the holes. The tee boxes are eroded, and can be compared to a horseshoe pit devoid of sand.
Other Thoughts: The course was pretty busy, but it's big enough that it can handle multiple groups without issue. The long holes proved challenging for the shorter drivers amongst us, but everyone still had fun. All things considered, proper tees with signage are about the only thing that could improve this course. We DID lose two discs on 18, as the chicks couldn't clear the canal...but we found them shortly after by swimming around and dragging our feet. This is a great course to shoot if you are in the area...we regularly play this and Dorey as our Richmond rotation. I like Dorey a little better, but only because the large layouts and treeless-ness of Bryan get kind of monotonous to me, as they are not very challenging. It also takes a considerable amount of time to shoot with players that lack a long drive.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course not to far from Richmond

1    9/20/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: crassostrea
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good deal of elevation change, open layout and just the right amount of water
Cons: Lack of signage to direct you to the next tee, tee boxed not really kept very well.
Other Thoughts: Played this course while I was in Richmond last week. It had a good combination of short and long holes with some fun elevation changes. If I lived in the area I would probably hit this course up regularly. I would however ask the local club to but an indicator on the pins that show the location of the next tee. Quite a bit of tree damage form the recent storms, but crews were out and about clearing the debris.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/8/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: cahurley
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Bathrooms across from the parking lot, variety in distance and elevation, painted directions on baskets to the next tee, multiple tees, good use of water hazards, benches throughout the course
Cons: Not many trash cans, no tee signs, crowded at times, dirt tees
Other Thoughts: Bryan Park is an open course with no tightly wooded holes, but enough trees and vegetation to make each hole unique. The holes range from about 150' to 700' and can vary greatly in elevation depending on which one of the dual tee locations you play from. There are plenty of chances to air out your drivers and a few holes allow for more technical shots. Each basket has yellow and blue painted rungs to lead you to the following tee location. The tees themselves are marked by painted wood blocks and a dirt tee pad, however the tee locations are moved occasionally when they become overly worn (most recently hole number 6). There are no signs at each tee, but distances are painted on the blocks and, with the exception of the longer holes, the baskets are pretty well visible. The park is hilly with a few streams running to and from a pond that all come into play at some point in the course. Holes 16 (pro tee) and 18 are actually across the pond. And of course around the the pond there are plenty of geese to add even more obstacles (If you see one with a limp tell him I'm sorry).

Holes 9 and 18 both end around the first tee and parking lot for the course which has a practice basket as well as bathroom facilities across the street (though they aren't open year-round). The park can be crowded at times, which not only means waiting at tees, but also avoiding other park users. From my experience, metal baskets and wooden blocks seem to make great picnic locations. If you do wind up having to wait for other groups, there are benches and picnic tables placed around the course. Unfortunately there are not enough trash cans for the amount of usage the park gets as it can become littered from (hopefully) non disc golfers.

Overall, Bryan Park has a great disc golf course, but it does have room for some improvement.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    5/19/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: griffinhunt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Coming from Florida, I enjoyed the challenge of lateral slopes on many of the holes. There is good variety in the holes, and some will be tough for even the best pros.
Cons: Several holes had huge elevation drops that cancelled out their length. On several holes the hills provided more assistance than challenge. The course could also use better pads and garbage cans.
Other Thoughts: A really good design for the piece of land. The course uses elevation well for the most part, and it provides some challenges for great golfers while offering some easy holes for beginners. Some are too easy from the pro tees.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Course in Richmond

5+    11/16/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: mrjohnahawley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open and wooded holes. Some wide open holes you can just crank on.
Cons: Needs concrete pads and maybe some bag posts.
Other Thoughts: Love this place, I live a mile away. And it just looks beautiful out there every time I go.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.