Richmond, VA 
Bryan Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #17 (Taken 10/2013)
4 / 396ft.   4 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Blue Tee



Reviews: 64
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
My home course for years

5+    7/20/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 47  Reviewed: 16
This review was updated on 12/2/2014
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful, well maintained park with large mature trees throughout.
-Good mix of holes, especially in terms of distance. Par 3's are interrupted by longer multi-throw holes.
-The long holes especially are just fun. 9 is a long drive that is less open at the pin than it first appears. 11 is probably the signature hole and plays from elevation, over a creek, and then up the far side through the live oaks.
-Uses trees, water, and sloping greens well to add a little risk to the shorter holes on the property.
Cons: -Signage and tees are terrible. Its really a shame that a course that has the potential to be really a great course is so impacted by these things but they really do lower the rating. The club has been prevented from installing permanent tees by the park and moves the natural tees as often as they can but the tees are just not sufficient for the kinds of power you want to put on the longer throws here. With the tees being blocks in the ground and no signage there are often first timers wandering around looking for tees.
Other Thoughts: This was my home course for several years, right around the corner from my house and i still put in a couple rounds a month here. I think it's the best of the Richmond courses and therefore feel a sense of frustration that the little things that would make this course a 4 or 4.5 can't or haven't been done. That being said the park and holes alone make this a great round of golf and a ton of fun. It requires a different kind of golf than the other courses in the area, in particular it requires an approach game instead of just presenting you with 18 reachable par threes. I encourage anyone in the area to stop in and play here and if improvements ever get made to tees and signage this will be one of the best courses in the state.

EDIT (11-30-14): The club has completed the installation of tee pads for every hole! The tees are typically installed at the longer locations throughout the course, making the championship layout really nice. I have subsequently bumped my rating to a 4 and will add another 1/2 a point if better directional and distance signage is added for each hole.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/9/2011   4/26/2013
Review By: Daniel_Gordon
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Beautiful landscape
-Variety of distances
-Multiple tees
-Fun to play
-Some challenges, such as throwing across the large pond
Cons: -Natural tees
-Almost too open; it would be nice for variety's sake if one or two holes were a little more heavily forested
Other Thoughts: Every single time I throw across the pond/lake I get so scared that I will lose a disc, but I never have

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open

5+    10/14/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: blackmamba5490
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of space
Variety of hole types
short and long holes
Cons:
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. Its got a good mixture of long holes that really concentrate on distance, and others that involve more precision and accuracy. A great course to play at for people of all all skill levels.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

1    9/24/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: goober
Played: 80  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - a variety of holes: short and long holes, placement of pins, over water etc
- beautiful setting, especially so close to a major city
- very open: I'm sure the pros and pro-wanna-be's would prefer a more technically challenging course but for those like me who like to be able to air it out, awesome.
Cons: - tee pads (or lack thereof)
- not well marked: the map from the website only get's you within a few miles
Other Thoughts: - my perception going in was that it might not be a good course since it is in Richomd proper; however, I was very pleasantly surprised

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Always fun, always challenging

5+    8/19/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: MrMax
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3 Years
Pros: Great course design, good and varied use of terrain, easy to navigate once familiar. The recent weather brought down lots of trees and branches, and the park staff has cleared them with good speed. There are only a couple spots where fallen limbs are still present, and considering that the park was nearly wrecked from the storm, that's a good response time. Lots of benches, water fountain, public facilities. Good parking. Each basket has 2 tee areas. You can find maps of the course by google searching it. I set the map as the wallpaper on my phone. They have a practice basket as well, so it's an 18+1.
Cons: No tee signs or pads, just wooden post markers. They are pretty old, but they serve. Each is marked with the distance and par. It was hard to navigate my first time around, before I had a map.
Other Thoughts: If they put in Tee pads and course signs, this would be a 4.5 or 5. After the big summer storms, it looked like a 3.5, but they have worked hard to clean it up.

I don't consider joggers or picnic goers to be a negative to this course. It's a public park, what should one expect?

 Very nice park

1    12/3/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: Wildcat_29
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Great Variety of Challenges
-Beautiful Park
-Polite People
-Long Drives
Cons: -Mystery tee placements
-Mystery Baskets
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time today and I liked it a lot. It was a beautiful park and offered a big course with lots of walking. My only complaint is that the tees are sunk in in some places and there are no taller signs to show the tees or the basket placements so it takes a few minutes sometimes to see the tee and the basket. Small complaint but otherwise I enjoyed this excellent park course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Could Be A MAsterpiece

5+    8/22/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2012
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: >Big 18 basket course with multiple tees and basket positions

>Unique, the holes do not become repetitive. You must be able to work the disc to get around.

>Challenging. Though you are not throwing through a bike path through the woods, you do have to avoid trees at every turn. THIS course is no where near as open as they play it out to be. Water holes, vertical changes, it is a fun yet challenging course.
Cons: >TEE AREA IS GOING TO GET SOMEONE HURT! Some of these tees are right next to trees, which not only hinder your ability to use it, and challenge you in a place that is SUPPOSED to be a clear shot, but the roots run though, sticking up, holes rutted in places. I throw 350 on full run shots. With these tees, it is more 280-310, because I will only take a few steps and throw, like a fairway shot. Terrible, just terrible.

>No signs, need map to get around.
Other Thoughts: I would love to give this course a 5.0, but the Tee Pads are so horrible, best it gets is a 4.0

*The course is a quality course. I still balk about the lack of cement pads. If it had decent pads, it would be a 4.5, but as is, the rating stays.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great for all skill levels

5+    6/6/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Will Adams
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There are some really long holes, as in over 700 feet. Which is great if you like being able to open up and really throw as hard as you can.
Cons: The move the pins from time to time without remeasuring and and considering the par set.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 18 Long and Strong

1    2/28/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 242  Reviewed: 135  Exp: 12 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bryan Park is a very good course located in a very nice park that isn't difficult to find. Good (but faded) course map by practice basket. Mature trees are scattered through the course, with very few densely wooded areas. Plenty of windows to approach the baskets on the many lengthy holes. Elevation adds challenge and makes for some exciting drives. Water that comes into play on some holes is mostly low risk, but makes things a little more interesting. All baskets are in good condition. Each has two spokes on the top of the baskets painted, one blue and one gold, indicating the direction to each of the tee boxes for the next hole.
Cons: One of the small faults here is the natural tee pads. They aren't in poor condition, but I am spoiled by concrete tees at most courses I play. The other would be a lack of technical accuracy required to negotiate fairways. Without a lot of variety required, I leaned heavily on the old RHBH hyzer. Only once or twice did I switch to a forehand throw, since most baskets are in very accessible positions. High winds made approaches and putts extremely difficult on the day I visited Bryan Park.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure I would enjoy playing this course many times over again. Glad I was able to find this gem. My favorite kind of course, combining elevation, distance, and fairways that have well placed large trees to dictate your usually generous lines to the hole. Not overly difficult for an established player, but surely it's no pushover.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Close to being great

1    11/4/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 192  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2013
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very solid, challenging course. It's clearly the best, and toughest, course in Richmond. It's a no-doubt, must-play for any DGer in the region.
- Course has all sorts of challenges - water holes, long holes, doglegs, elevation & some tighter than expected fairways due to strategic trees.
- Lots of distance and open holes = lots of chances to let it rip. 5 holes longer than 400 feet from short tees, 7 longer than 400 from longs. There's only 1 hole under 200 feet (and that one is throwing over water.)
- My most enjoyable holes were the longer ones - #4 (555 ft); #11 (690 ft) & 14 (435 ft). Three fantastic holes that were a blast to play while also combining a fair amount of challenge and risk.
- Course is spaced out nicely throughout the park. You'll walk from one side of the park to the other while playing. And while the course is spaced out, it really doesn't interfere with other park activities, or vice versa.
- Long and short tees present some different looks.
- Good challenge for advanced players. Probably not the best course for beginners, but there are other course in the area they can play.
Cons: Two major cons on the water holes ruin an otherwise elite course.
- The first is the erosion/sloping from the baskets down to the water. On holes #1, 9 &18 (and a small degree on #17), the ground slopes sharply from the basket areas to the water. There's no grass between the baskets and the water, which means if a disc doesn't land softly, it can easily start rolling, and won't stop until it's in the water. I saw this happen to my buddy's disc on his very first shot on #1.
- The second problem is the water itself. It's deep even right up to the edge, and its swift moving. We had 2 discs land within 2 feet of the edge of the water, but it was at least 4 feet deep, so we had no chance of finding them.
- I understand if the water came into play through a risk/reward factor, but not when a disc could land within 10 feet of the basket, and then it rolls off into the water.
- The tees are dirt and are only marked by small blue/gold wooden markers. It'd be helpful if they were more visible/larger.
- There are a couple of weird transitions. For example, after #8, you see a tee close by, but that's for #11.
- #9 & 10 have crossing fairways; #4 & 11 have intersecting fairways. The lesson as always - pay attention when you throw.
- The course runs awfully close to the interstate. You can hear and see it, especially on holes #4 - 6. It would take a herculean throw, but if you threw a shot long enough, and far enough right, the road on #14 could come into play.
Other Thoughts: - The water issues listed above were a major concern. Maybe it had something to do with losing 3 discs between 2 people. On a normal course/normal pond, all 3 discs should have easily been found, or not even made it to the pond.
- I loved that there were no "throw away"/easy holes. There are plenty of birdie chances, but it's going to take a good shot(s) to make it happen. Solid course throughout.
- It's great that the longer holes were the most fun and most challenging. You want the par 4s & 5 to force multiple good shots, and these don't disappoint.
- #11 was easily my favorite hole. Playing 690 feet (701 from longs), you throw downhill towards a creek, then back up a hill to a basket nestled between several trees. The biggest arms can be in putting range in 2 shots, but it'll realistically take 3 shots (at least) for the rest of us.
- Very good course. It's the best of the lot in Richmond. A must play for anyone in the area, or driving down I-95 or I-64.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.