Richmond, VA 
Bryan Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #17 (Taken 10/2013)
4 / 396ft.   4 / 453ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Blue Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 69
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Great example of City Park Course

2-4    9/14/2016   9/14/2016
Review By: kindableu
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice water holes on 16 & 18
-Lot of elevation, not sure any of the holes was truly on flat ground
-Its open, but not empty field open. Every hole has a handful of ancient looking trees that adjust the lines you want to take
-Its a long course, but it still plays at a good pace.
-Mosaic tee signs. Some of the holes had great hole and distance markers done in tile. Love extra aesthetic touches to a course
-Each hole felt distinct, not a lot of repetition.
Cons: -Maps. Most had hole number and distance marked, but I always like to see a map at each tee, especially on holes where you can see two baskets.
-As others have said the fairways on 4 and 11 cross, and hole 9 basket, while not quite in the way is definitely a visual distraction on hole 1
-Hole 15 left me wanting more, its a great looking creek and it would be awesome if they could figure out a way to have it come more into play.
-I played it early on a weekend and mid-day on weekday. I could see a Saturday afternoon get crowded with non-disc golfers that might cause interruptions in play since the course isn't really segregated from the park, but that's just speculation.
Other Thoughts: Its a great use of the available terrain and an enjoyable course to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bryan park dgc

2-4    6/14/2016   6/15/2016
Review By: Rryanderson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very long and very open. There are scattered trees but most of them don't get in the way too much. This course doesn't feature holes that are repetitive, so each hole feels like a new and different challenge. The park is pretty centrally located in the Richmond area so it's easy to get to.
Cons: The park that it's in is fairly warn down. The grass sometimes gets overgrown, but they do their best to keep it well maintained. Some of the tee boxes are starting to deteriorate (there are wooden stakes where the distance, hole number and par number are painted on, but some of the numbers are faded)
Other Thoughts: Be sure not to go straight from hole 8 to hole 11. the tee box for hole 11 is next to the basket for hole 8, so it's an easy mistake to make. you have to cross the road to get to 9 and 10 and then come back to 11

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

My home course for years

5+    7/20/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 54  Reviewed: 16
This review was updated on 12/2/2014
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful, well maintained park with large mature trees throughout.
-Good mix of holes, especially in terms of distance. Par 3's are interrupted by longer multi-throw holes.
-The long holes especially are just fun. 9 is a long drive that is less open at the pin than it first appears. 11 is probably the signature hole and plays from elevation, over a creek, and then up the far side through the live oaks.
-Uses trees, water, and sloping greens well to add a little risk to the shorter holes on the property.
Cons: -Signage and tees are terrible. Its really a shame that a course that has the potential to be really a great course is so impacted by these things but they really do lower the rating. The club has been prevented from installing permanent tees by the park and moves the natural tees as often as they can but the tees are just not sufficient for the kinds of power you want to put on the longer throws here. With the tees being blocks in the ground and no signage there are often first timers wandering around looking for tees.
Other Thoughts: This was my home course for several years, right around the corner from my house and i still put in a couple rounds a month here. I think it's the best of the Richmond courses and therefore feel a sense of frustration that the little things that would make this course a 4 or 4.5 can't or haven't been done. That being said the park and holes alone make this a great round of golf and a ton of fun. It requires a different kind of golf than the other courses in the area, in particular it requires an approach game instead of just presenting you with 18 reachable par threes. I encourage anyone in the area to stop in and play here and if improvements ever get made to tees and signage this will be one of the best courses in the state.

EDIT (11-30-14): The club has completed the installation of tee pads for every hole! The tees are typically installed at the longer locations throughout the course, making the championship layout really nice. I have subsequently bumped my rating to a 4 and will add another 1/2 a point if better directional and distance signage is added for each hole.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/9/2011   4/26/2013
Review By: Daniel_Gordon
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Beautiful landscape
-Variety of distances
-Multiple tees
-Fun to play
-Some challenges, such as throwing across the large pond
Cons: -Natural tees
-Almost too open; it would be nice for variety's sake if one or two holes were a little more heavily forested
Other Thoughts: Every single time I throw across the pond/lake I get so scared that I will lose a disc, but I never have

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open

5+    10/14/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: blackmamba5490
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of space
Variety of hole types
short and long holes
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. Its got a good mixture of long holes that really concentrate on distance, and others that involve more precision and accuracy. A great course to play at for people of all all skill levels.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    9/24/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: goober
Played: 80  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - a variety of holes: short and long holes, placement of pins, over water etc
- beautiful setting, especially so close to a major city
- very open: I'm sure the pros and pro-wanna-be's would prefer a more technically challenging course but for those like me who like to be able to air it out, awesome.
Cons: - tee pads (or lack thereof)
- not well marked: the map from the website only get's you within a few miles
Other Thoughts: - my perception going in was that it might not be a good course since it is in Richomd proper; however, I was very pleasantly surprised

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Always fun, always challenging

5+    8/19/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: MrMax
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: Great course design, good and varied use of terrain, easy to navigate once familiar. The recent weather brought down lots of trees and branches, and the park staff has cleared them with good speed. There are only a couple spots where fallen limbs are still present, and considering that the park was nearly wrecked from the storm, that's a good response time. Lots of benches, water fountain, public facilities. Good parking. Each basket has 2 tee areas. You can find maps of the course by google searching it. I set the map as the wallpaper on my phone. They have a practice basket as well, so it's an 18+1.
Cons: No tee signs or pads, just wooden post markers. They are pretty old, but they serve. Each is marked with the distance and par. It was hard to navigate my first time around, before I had a map.
Other Thoughts: If they put in Tee pads and course signs, this would be a 4.5 or 5. After the big summer storms, it looked like a 3.5, but they have worked hard to clean it up.

I don't consider joggers or picnic goers to be a negative to this course. It's a public park, what should one expect?

 Very nice park

1    12/3/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: Wildcat_29
Played: 44  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Great Variety of Challenges
-Beautiful Park
-Polite People
-Long Drives
Cons: -Mystery tee placements
-Mystery Baskets
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time today and I liked it a lot. It was a beautiful park and offered a big course with lots of walking. My only complaint is that the tees are sunk in in some places and there are no taller signs to show the tees or the basket placements so it takes a few minutes sometimes to see the tee and the basket. Small complaint but otherwise I enjoyed this excellent park course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Could Be A MAsterpiece

5+    8/22/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2012
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: >Big 18 basket course with multiple tees and basket positions

>Unique, the holes do not become repetitive. You must be able to work the disc to get around.

>Challenging. Though you are not throwing through a bike path through the woods, you do have to avoid trees at every turn. THIS course is no where near as open as they play it out to be. Water holes, vertical changes, it is a fun yet challenging course.
Cons: >TEE AREA IS GOING TO GET SOMEONE HURT! Some of these tees are right next to trees, which not only hinder your ability to use it, and challenge you in a place that is SUPPOSED to be a clear shot, but the roots run though, sticking up, holes rutted in places. I throw 350 on full run shots. With these tees, it is more 280-310, because I will only take a few steps and throw, like a fairway shot. Terrible, just terrible.

>No signs, need map to get around.
Other Thoughts: I would love to give this course a 5.0, but the Tee Pads are so horrible, best it gets is a 4.0

*The course is a quality course. I still balk about the lack of cement pads. If it had decent pads, it would be a 4.5, but as is, the rating stays.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great for all skill levels

5+    6/6/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Will Adams
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There are some really long holes, as in over 700 feet. Which is great if you like being able to open up and really throw as hard as you can.
Cons: The move the pins from time to time without remeasuring and and considering the par set.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.