Richmond, VA 
Bryan Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #4 (Taken 10/2013)
4 / 517ft.   4 / 570ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Blue Tee

Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
 A Gem of a Course in Richmond

2-4    12/24/2014   12/26/2014
Review By: Ed_Reese
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really a gem of a course in Richmond. Love the layout, length of the course, water crossings, and the beauty of this course. It might be in the top 5 I've played in the country. It's also incredibly clean. I don't think I saw a piece of trash in three rounds of play.
Cons: Yeah, I lacks what others have said... There are essentially no real tee pads. It's not marked very well. I get it. Didn't detract from my enjoyment at all, though. With a little work (just tee pads and signage, really) this could be a destination course.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for big arms. While I think it has a nice variation of length, it's longer than most with several holes approaching 600 feet (four or five in the 550-590' range if memory serves correct). The water hazards make it really fun as well. The duck pond crossing is farther than it looks :) I attempted it with a fairway driver my first time and ended up losing one in the drink. Still didn't bum me out, though. Had a blast here. My in-laws are from Richmond, so I'm there a few times a year. I'm stoked beyond belief to have discovered this course. You've got a gem here in Richmond!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Drivers Galore

5+    11/11/2014   11/20/2014
Review By: ericfriesr
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Wide open. A few trees. Awesome distance. If you like throwing from the tee, this place is for you.
ALL holes have freshly completed tee pads!
Cons: Not very technical. You can score well on this course if you can drive. I play here several times a week and rarely use mid range discs.
Other Thoughts: #11 is sweet. Was better before a storm took out a HUGE tree right across the creek. Fun holes. Open lay out. There's a short and long tee pad for every hole.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Crank out some laces

5+    7/3/2014   7/4/2014
Review By: Blazemedown
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Who like to throw some bombs from elevated tees and watch em fly? This course allows u to throw caution to the wind and drive for show. Easy to get to from any direction. New concrete tee pads in 1/2 the holes,
Cons: Watch out for poison ivy; beware of the first hole, it is extremely cruel to discs/players
Other Thoughts: Want a course friendly enough for novices but fun enough for pros? You can't beat Bryan Park. So little stress with this course's many opportunities to show your buddies how much further you can throw then them

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Park Course

1    6/4/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: tlimanek
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Definitely top 3 of the 25 courses I have played. Shots over water and around trees. Very easy to find discs with well mowed lawns. For an intermediate player the challenge was clear at each hole.
Cons: Since first time, got a little lost at times. Played some blue, some gold tees as I found them. Tracking down the first hole was tricky given the park layout and roads.
Other Thoughts: There appears to be recent work making very nice permanent tees. They are making a good course even better. Will play this every time I am in Richmond.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Richmond Gem!

1    6/21/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: DNewq
Played: 266  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 15 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Located in a great city park.
- I interacted with several local players on my round, and they had so much pride in this course. Played the back nine with a local player recommend doing the same if you visit the course.
- The trees on the course are majestic. It is a real joy to play so many holes with all of the towering oaks.
- Nice mix of long and short holes
- I also love the use of the hills and of course the two water holes.
- Some courses are much more memorable to me than others, I instantly loved this one and would strongly recommend anyone to check it out. Can't wait til my next round there myself.
Cons: - Would be nice if they invested in tee signs. You would be able to gauge the outline of each hole and more easily navigate from one hole to the next.
- I saw a few other posts commenting on the natural tee pads. I have never minded natural tee pads myself and found virtually all of them to be level and in good shape. So no problem at all for me.
Other Thoughts: - Great location off of I-95
- I pass through Richmond fairly regularly and I have struggled to figure out a go to course. Can't believe Bryan park has been off my radar. Definitely the best course to go to in the Richmond area in terms of convenience and quality.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great, but missing a little

5+    3/15/2013   3/16/2013
Review By: rar6nm
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pretty much wide open, feel free to unload your best shots.

Extremely well kept, people normally hunt for lost discs so don't give up hope just because you lose a few discs.

Technical in the sense that it pushes your creativity, ability, and your arm depending on what you decide (i.e., multiple different options, some easier than others)

Wide variety of holes requiring different shots at different distances with different angles and different ceilings
Cons: Natural tee pads - You most likely won't twist your ankle, but you have to be careful. The course would widely benefit even just rubber ones, but preferably concrete. The park is mainly used for soccer, and disc golf so park needs to pander to their market.

Signage is very necessary for players who don't know the course. There are wooden blocks marking the tees, but you have to know where they are. Veterans could go from hole to hole from their eyes closed, but that doesn't help the guy from who knows where visiting his family or something.
Other Thoughts: Great course for all playing styles and experience levels. A must play if you're in the area

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lots of Fun for Beginners

5+    2/24/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 46  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2015
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great walk through the park, with a good variety of hole lengths. Long holes really let you cut loose, but the shorter holes can emphasize shot placement.

It seems to be one of the few places near Richmond that has some open holes that aren't all through the woods.

The people here have always been really nice. Much more friendly than some of the other local parks.
Cons: Tee boxes are very uneven and sometimes difficult to find. This place could seriously benefit from some real concrete tee pads. Some of them now are very uneven and people can trip up.

There are some pretty easy places for beginners to lose discs...especially when the ground is firm on the first tee.
Other Thoughts: There are blue tees and yellow tees, but holes 1,16, and 18 have white tees and I'm not really sure what they are for. Are they remnants of the old blue tees?

Sometimes the basket placements are moved without remeasuring. The 14th has recently been moved beside the creek in an scrub area which has made that hole play completely differently.

Edit 2/15/13 - Return to Richmond to play Brian Park in town the 15th basket had been moved away from its traditional place by the water, and is instead been stuck up in the woods on the left. This ruins an otherwise nice little dogleg along the water, and really takes a lot of the fun out of that hole.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Open Course

2-4    7/9/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: Wraith3
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a great open course. The people are pretty friendly. Not too crowded during the day. Not that you would really notice because the holes are so spread out. Although open, huge trees provide some nice shade and a little bit of challenge.

The markings on the top of the basket are an AWESOME touch, that i have rarely seen of course, but LOVE when they are present.

Overall a great course with good length holes and great variety.
Cons: It's Virginia, it gets hot in the summer and sometimes there is not enough shade. Be sure to bring a water bottle; as you will be out there for a while as well.

RIGHT on I-95, pretty loud, but not that it really matters, but could be annoying for some.
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 is a laugh, throwing 200+ feet uphill over water is a gas. Over all a great park with an awesome course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bryan Park is Great for Visitors

2-4    7/1/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: atonalruss
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked, easy to find and navigate. Beautiful setting, long tees, open fairways that are great for all levels of play.
Cons: Lacks the challenge of wooded holes. Hole 16 is tough for those with short drives since the only two options are over a pond (with no elevation to the tee I lose discs, so I avoid this option) or a drive so ridiculously short you can use your putter.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. I've played for four years and found this course when visiting Richmond for a week. It is a stunningly beautiful and well maintained course. I play in the early hours of the morning (6 am) and there are very few people in the park at that time - mostly friendly dog walkers.
The course is very well marked and I was able to navigate it alone the first time I played - even without a map. Great for visitors to Richmond!
This is a great course for beginners or intermediate players who want to work on thier drives. Wide open tees give you the opportunity to let loose and see how far you can throw without much fear of trees. A gorgeous hole 11 is 700 feet and a very reasonable par 5 that can be regularly birdied by players who can drive for distance.
The only drawback is the lack of wooded areas. Most of the courses I've played weave in and out of the woods and trees create the greatest challenge. The lack of trees makes this a friendly course for beginners and kids, even though it is fairly long.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Fantastic Course

5+    5/20/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: JCorey
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well maintained, long, mostly-open winding course through one of Richmond's most beautiful parks.
Cons: The park can get crowded during peak hours, the long holes play a bit more slowly.
Other Thoughts: If you have an hour and a half to kill PLAY THIS COURSE. I played disc golf in Richmond for over a year and this is in my opinion the complete package. While it lacks the tight shots like Dorey Park or the history like Gillie's Creek it definitely is an amazing course.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.