Richmond, VA
Bryan Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #17 (Taken 10/2013)
4 / 396ft.   4 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Blue Tee



Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Always fun, always challenging

5+    8/19/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: MrMax
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
Pros: Great course design, good and varied use of terrain, easy to navigate once familiar. The recent weather brought down lots of trees and branches, and the park staff has cleared them with good speed. There are only a couple spots where fallen limbs are still present, and considering that the park was nearly wrecked from the storm, that's a good response time. Lots of benches, water fountain, public facilities. Good parking. Each basket has 2 tee areas. You can find maps of the course by google searching it. I set the map as the wallpaper on my phone. They have a practice basket as well, so it's an 18+1.
Cons: No tee signs or pads, just wooden post markers. They are pretty old, but they serve. Each is marked with the distance and par. It was hard to navigate my first time around, before I had a map.
Other Thoughts: If they put in Tee pads and course signs, this would be a 4.5 or 5. After the big summer storms, it looked like a 3.5, but they have worked hard to clean it up.

I don't consider joggers or picnic goers to be a negative to this course. It's a public park, what should one expect?

Long and Open

1    8/7/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 121  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - The course flows through a large park that is mostly lightly wooded or just open on some holes.

Multiple tees on every hole, usually two but sometimes three. The different tee changed the shot completely sometimes, sometimes it was just a longer shot.

There's a good balance of long and short holes, every time you play a longer hole you get a few shorter ones afterwards. Half of the holes are over 300' and let you get some big drives in.

Most of the holes here were designed pretty well. There were multiple routes and the longer holes had a lot of visual appeal off the tee.

Risky greens and elevation change was a huge plus to this course. There were baskets perched on hills and near water.

The course uses the elevation very well in the design by making you throw long shots around obstacles, down hills or over valleys where fading out to soon or turning over leaves you in a bad spot.

A few holes where going long can you leave you in the water. Two shorter water carries included where coming up short can cost you a disc.

The course flows well in most parts, there's no super long walks but in a few places it is a bit confusing without a map. The course is done well so that you don't really interfere with any other park activities.

Atmosphere - It's a great looking park, seems to be used by a lot of people. Big rolling hills and giant trees sprinkled about the park. There's a great large creek running through the park that is used well in the design. There's small man made waterfalls in a few places and the holes really showcase off the beauty of the park.

Equipment - Course map at #1 and the baskets are in good condition. The tees are marked by colored wooden markers, for the most part these have the hole # and distance listed.
Cons: Layout - My main gripe about the layout is the holes get a bit redundant. A lot of straighter shots through a few trees. You don't need to shape many shots here that much.

Some of the shorter holes are just fillers, thrown in between some great longer holes. While a few are designed well some are just boring.

There's not much technical golf here if that's your thing. The only holes that make you really be accurate are the longer ones if you have distance for it to matter.

One hole (#13) does cross a road so be careful. Holes #4 and #11 cross fairways which is kind of confusing.

Atmosphere - There's a lot of trash in the park, for some reason people just leave there bottles and cans all over the place; often half full.

Some downed trees, and big limbs barely hanging on that need to be taken care of.

Equipment - I can not stress enough how badly this course needs concrete tees. I don't know if the course is allowed to have them or if the funding isn't there but it NEEDS pads.

Some of the dirt pads are okay but on some of the longest holes the pads are completely uneven and full of roots and rocks. It only makes getting a good drive in very difficult but it's a safety hazard.

Tee signs are also needed here, in some places it's kind of confusing which basket you're going to and the distances on the markers seem to be very inaccurate in a few places.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my round here, so much that we played it again from the shorts after doing round one from the longs. It's a bit of a walk but a lot of fun if you love to drive discs in big open spaces. I encourage everybody to make this a priority stop if you hit Richmond.

#9 is my favorite hole, a gorgeous long downhill shot with a waterfall in the background. #15 is great because you tee off beside the creek where it gets rocky.

This course probably deserves a 4 but with the state of the tees I just can't give it out. When you're throwing 500'+ and have 3' of semi level space to work with because the rest is big roots and rocks you've got a problem. If the course ever gets any type of decent level pads I'll go back and bump it up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    7/28/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: PapiChullo
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.9 Years
Pros: I played this, Dorey and Sunnyside all this weekend on a visit to Richmond and on the way back up North, and this was probably my favorite out of the 3.
- The park itself is huge and pretty well maintained.
- Good mix of short and long holes, left and right turns.
- Couple of throws over water
- 2 tee boxes per hole.
- Crossed a few people, even thought it wasn't crowded, and they were all extremely nice and pleasant.
- Alternate tees for shots that are over water for shorter throwers.
- Parking lot right next to #1 tee, #9 basket and #18 basket, so easy to go to the car in between 9s, and not have a hike when the round is over.
Cons: - Navigation from basket to tee is somewhat of a guess. Luckily I had a map from this site on my phone, otherwise I could see it being a problem the first few times you play.
- Some baskets you couldn't see, so it was somewhat of a guess from the tee until you got a little closer for your second shot.
- It's right near the freeway, so some of the holes the traffic is a little loud.
- The fairway of #1 and the basket of #9 and tee of #10 are a little close, so could make for so sticky situations on an errant throw.
Other Thoughts: Many of the reviews on here were saying that it was very crowded, and luckily on the day I went out, it wasn't at all. There were a few groups out, but we were never waiting and only had one guy that played through. He joined up with us on 11 and played the rest, and was really friendly and was a big help with the navigation, so that was a plus. But there were a couple groups of "bros", so I could see how that could be annoying if it were a crowded day.

Shot my first round ever under par here!!

Lots of Fun for Beginners

5+    2/24/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great walk through the park, with a good variety of hole lengths. Long holes really let you cut loose, but the shorter holes can emphasize shot placement.

It seems to be one of the few places near Richmond that has some open holes that aren't all through the woods.

The people here have always been really nice. Much more friendly than some of the other local parks.
Cons: Tee boxes are very uneven and sometimes difficult to find. This place could seriously benefit from some real concrete tee pads. Some of them now are very uneven and people can trip up.

There are some pretty easy places for beginners to lose discs...especially when the ground is firm on the first tee.
Other Thoughts: There are blue tees and yellow tees, but holes 1,16, and 18 have white tees and I'm not really sure what they are for. Are they remnants of the old blue tees?

Sometimes the basket placements are moved without remeasuring. The 14th has recently been moved beside the creek in an scrub area which has made that hole play completely differently.

Edit 2/15/13 - Return to Richmond to play Brian Park in town the 15th basket had been moved away from its traditional place by the water, and is instead been stuck up in the woods on the left. This ruins an otherwise nice little dogleg along the water, and really takes a lot of the fun out of that hole.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice park

1    12/3/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: Wildcat_29
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Great Variety of Challenges
-Beautiful Park
-Polite People
-Long Drives
Cons: -Mystery tee placements
-Mystery Baskets
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time today and I liked it a lot. It was a beautiful park and offered a big course with lots of walking. My only complaint is that the tees are sunk in in some places and there are no taller signs to show the tees or the basket placements so it takes a few minutes sometimes to see the tee and the basket. Small complaint but otherwise I enjoyed this excellent park course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good for Richmond Rotation

5+    7/10/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: H3LlIoN
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good elevation change, bathrooms on site. This place has some great features...nice LONG holes where you can really cut loose with those long, booming drives. There is a low chance of disc lossage, providing you can keep clear of the water. Trash cans are placed in the parking lot, and the park is well maintained. There were no tee signs, but the course flows well enough that they aren't entirely necessary. There aren't really any tight, wooded holes, but this is a great place to work that arm out and show off some serious drives. As always, free to play is always a plus. Also, multiple bathrooms with trashcans and water fountains.
Cons: There aren't any tee signs, but the course flows well enough, and I was shooting with a "repeat offender," so we worked it out. A couple of the holes require that you shoot across water hazards, which was difficult for the women in our group. There aren't any trash cans out on the course, but it didn't seem to matter. For the most part, there isn't any place to hide trash on the majority of the holes. The tee boxes are eroded, and can be compared to a horseshoe pit devoid of sand.
Other Thoughts: The course was pretty busy, but it's big enough that it can handle multiple groups without issue. The long holes proved challenging for the shorter drivers amongst us, but everyone still had fun. All things considered, proper tees with signage are about the only thing that could improve this course. We DID lose two discs on 18, as the chicks couldn't clear the canal...but we found them shortly after by swimming around and dragging our feet. This is a great course to shoot if you are in the area...we regularly play this and Dorey as our Richmond rotation. I like Dorey a little better, but only because the large layouts and treeless-ness of Bryan get kind of monotonous to me, as they are not very challenging. It also takes a considerable amount of time to shoot with players that lack a long drive.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course not to far from Richmond

1    9/20/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: crassostrea
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good deal of elevation change, open layout and just the right amount of water
Cons: Lack of signage to direct you to the next tee, tee boxed not really kept very well.
Other Thoughts: Played this course while I was in Richmond last week. It had a good combination of short and long holes with some fun elevation changes. If I lived in the area I would probably hit this course up regularly. I would however ask the local club to but an indicator on the pins that show the location of the next tee. Quite a bit of tree damage form the recent storms, but crews were out and about clearing the debris.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Could Be A MAsterpiece

5+    8/22/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2012
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: >Big 18 basket course with multiple tees and basket positions

>Unique, the holes do not become repetitive. You must be able to work the disc to get around.

>Challenging. Though you are not throwing through a bike path through the woods, you do have to avoid trees at every turn. THIS course is no where near as open as they play it out to be. Water holes, vertical changes, it is a fun yet challenging course.
Cons: >TEE AREA IS GOING TO GET SOMEONE HURT! Some of these tees are right next to trees, which not only hinder your ability to use it, and challenge you in a place that is SUPPOSED to be a clear shot, but the roots run though, sticking up, holes rutted in places. I throw 350 on full run shots. With these tees, it is more 280-310, because I will only take a few steps and throw, like a fairway shot. Terrible, just terrible.

>No signs, need map to get around.
Other Thoughts: I would love to give this course a 5.0, but the Tee Pads are so horrible, best it gets is a 4.0

*The course is a quality course. I still balk about the lack of cement pads. If it had decent pads, it would be a 4.5, but as is, the rating stays.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great for all skill levels

5+    6/6/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Will Adams
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There are some really long holes, as in over 700 feet. Which is great if you like being able to open up and really throw as hard as you can.
Cons: The move the pins from time to time without remeasuring and and considering the par set.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/3/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: Ray Gunnell
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun, open course. Some really long holes, some ace runs, and other easily birdie-able holes. Two sets of tees, yellow tending to provide the easier approach.
Cons: Park Congestion. I had to stop six times (one stoppage was for about 10 minutes) for different summer camps who were also using the grounds. It wasn't a problem except for a kid who reached my disc before I did, picked it up and tried to take off with it.

Another thing to be aware of, I rolled my ankle pretty bad and had to retire early. The natural tees need real work to become safe.

There's no signage from hole to hole, at all. I was lost between 8 and 9, and found myself on numerous occasions throwing blindly to where I anticipated the pin being, only to be about 30 yards in the side.
Other Thoughts: If the course had dedicated teepads, with some formal type of surfacing, it'd get a four in my book.

It's definitely one I'd like to try again if I find out the improvements are made.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.