Richmond, VA 
Bryan Park Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #13
3 / 200ft.   3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Yellow Tee



Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Richmond Gem!

1    6/21/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: DNewq
Played: 244  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Located in a great city park.
- I interacted with several local players on my round, and they had so much pride in this course. Played the back nine with a local player recommend doing the same if you visit the course.
- The trees on the course are majestic. It is a real joy to play so many holes with all of the towering oaks.
- Nice mix of long and short holes
- I also love the use of the hills and of course the two water holes.
- Some courses are much more memorable to me than others, I instantly loved this one and would strongly recommend anyone to check it out. Can't wait til my next round there myself.
Cons: - Would be nice if they invested in tee signs. You would be able to gauge the outline of each hole and more easily navigate from one hole to the next.
- I saw a few other posts commenting on the natural tee pads. I have never minded natural tee pads myself and found virtually all of them to be level and in good shape. So no problem at all for me.
Other Thoughts: - Great location off of I-95
- I pass through Richmond fairly regularly and I have struggled to figure out a go to course. Can't believe Bryan park has been off my radar. Definitely the best course to go to in the Richmond area in terms of convenience and quality.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/9/2011   4/26/2013
Review By: Daniel_Gordon
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Beautiful landscape
-Variety of distances
-Multiple tees
-Fun to play
-Some challenges, such as throwing across the large pond
Cons: -Natural tees
-Almost too open; it would be nice for variety's sake if one or two holes were a little more heavily forested
Other Thoughts: Every single time I throw across the pond/lake I get so scared that I will lose a disc, but I never have

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great, but missing a little

5+    3/15/2013   3/16/2013
Review By: rar6nm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty much wide open, feel free to unload your best shots.

Extremely well kept, people normally hunt for lost discs so don't give up hope just because you lose a few discs.

Technical in the sense that it pushes your creativity, ability, and your arm depending on what you decide (i.e., multiple different options, some easier than others)

Wide variety of holes requiring different shots at different distances with different angles and different ceilings
Cons: Natural tee pads - You most likely won't twist your ankle, but you have to be careful. The course would widely benefit even just rubber ones, but preferably concrete. The park is mainly used for soccer, and disc golf so park needs to pander to their market.

Signage is very necessary for players who don't know the course. There are wooden blocks marking the tees, but you have to know where they are. Veterans could go from hole to hole from their eyes closed, but that doesn't help the guy from who knows where visiting his family or something.
Other Thoughts: Great course for all playing styles and experience levels. A must play if you're in the area

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wide open

5+    10/14/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: blackmamba5490
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of space
Variety of hole types
short and long holes
Cons:
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. Its got a good mixture of long holes that really concentrate on distance, and others that involve more precision and accuracy. A great course to play at for people of all all skill levels.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

1    9/24/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: goober
Played: 80  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - a variety of holes: short and long holes, placement of pins, over water etc
- beautiful setting, especially so close to a major city
- very open: I'm sure the pros and pro-wanna-be's would prefer a more technically challenging course but for those like me who like to be able to air it out, awesome.
Cons: - tee pads (or lack thereof)
- not well marked: the map from the website only get's you within a few miles
Other Thoughts: - my perception going in was that it might not be a good course since it is in Richomd proper; however, I was very pleasantly surprised

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Always fun, always challenging

5+    8/19/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: MrMax
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: Great course design, good and varied use of terrain, easy to navigate once familiar. The recent weather brought down lots of trees and branches, and the park staff has cleared them with good speed. There are only a couple spots where fallen limbs are still present, and considering that the park was nearly wrecked from the storm, that's a good response time. Lots of benches, water fountain, public facilities. Good parking. Each basket has 2 tee areas. You can find maps of the course by google searching it. I set the map as the wallpaper on my phone. They have a practice basket as well, so it's an 18+1.
Cons: No tee signs or pads, just wooden post markers. They are pretty old, but they serve. Each is marked with the distance and par. It was hard to navigate my first time around, before I had a map.
Other Thoughts: If they put in Tee pads and course signs, this would be a 4.5 or 5. After the big summer storms, it looked like a 3.5, but they have worked hard to clean it up.

I don't consider joggers or picnic goers to be a negative to this course. It's a public park, what should one expect?

 Long and Open

1    8/7/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 144  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - The course flows through a large park that is mostly lightly wooded or just open on some holes.

Multiple tees on every hole, usually two but sometimes three. The different tee changed the shot completely sometimes, sometimes it was just a longer shot.

There's a good balance of long and short holes, every time you play a longer hole you get a few shorter ones afterwards. Half of the holes are over 300' and let you get some big drives in.

Most of the holes here were designed pretty well. There were multiple routes and the longer holes had a lot of visual appeal off the tee.

Risky greens and elevation change was a huge plus to this course. There were baskets perched on hills and near water.

The course uses the elevation very well in the design by making you throw long shots around obstacles, down hills or over valleys where fading out to soon or turning over leaves you in a bad spot.

A few holes where going long can you leave you in the water. Two shorter water carries included where coming up short can cost you a disc.

The course flows well in most parts, there's no super long walks but in a few places it is a bit confusing without a map. The course is done well so that you don't really interfere with any other park activities.

Atmosphere - It's a great looking park, seems to be used by a lot of people. Big rolling hills and giant trees sprinkled about the park. There's a great large creek running through the park that is used well in the design. There's small man made waterfalls in a few places and the holes really showcase off the beauty of the park.

Equipment - Course map at #1 and the baskets are in good condition. The tees are marked by colored wooden markers, for the most part these have the hole # and distance listed.
Cons: Layout - My main gripe about the layout is the holes get a bit redundant. A lot of straighter shots through a few trees. You don't need to shape many shots here that much.

Some of the shorter holes are just fillers, thrown in between some great longer holes. While a few are designed well some are just boring.

There's not much technical golf here if that's your thing. The only holes that make you really be accurate are the longer ones if you have distance for it to matter.

One hole (#13) does cross a road so be careful. Holes #4 and #11 cross fairways which is kind of confusing.

Atmosphere - There's a lot of trash in the park, for some reason people just leave there bottles and cans all over the place; often half full.

Some downed trees, and big limbs barely hanging on that need to be taken care of.

Equipment - I can not stress enough how badly this course needs concrete tees. I don't know if the course is allowed to have them or if the funding isn't there but it NEEDS pads.

Some of the dirt pads are okay but on some of the longest holes the pads are completely uneven and full of roots and rocks. It only makes getting a good drive in very difficult but it's a safety hazard.

Tee signs are also needed here, in some places it's kind of confusing which basket you're going to and the distances on the markers seem to be very inaccurate in a few places.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my round here, so much that we played it again from the shorts after doing round one from the longs. It's a bit of a walk but a lot of fun if you love to drive discs in big open spaces. I encourage everybody to make this a priority stop if you hit Richmond.

#9 is my favorite hole, a gorgeous long downhill shot with a waterfall in the background. #15 is great because you tee off beside the creek where it gets rocky.

This course probably deserves a 4 but with the state of the tees I just can't give it out. When you're throwing 500'+ and have 3' of semi level space to work with because the rest is big roots and rocks you've got a problem. If the course ever gets any type of decent level pads I'll go back and bump it up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    7/28/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: PapiChullo
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
Pros: I played this, Dorey and Sunnyside all this weekend on a visit to Richmond and on the way back up North, and this was probably my favorite out of the 3.
- The park itself is huge and pretty well maintained.
- Good mix of short and long holes, left and right turns.
- Couple of throws over water
- 2 tee boxes per hole.
- Crossed a few people, even thought it wasn't crowded, and they were all extremely nice and pleasant.
- Alternate tees for shots that are over water for shorter throwers.
- Parking lot right next to #1 tee, #9 basket and #18 basket, so easy to go to the car in between 9s, and not have a hike when the round is over.
Cons: - Navigation from basket to tee is somewhat of a guess. Luckily I had a map from this site on my phone, otherwise I could see it being a problem the first few times you play.
- Some baskets you couldn't see, so it was somewhat of a guess from the tee until you got a little closer for your second shot.
- It's right near the freeway, so some of the holes the traffic is a little loud.
- The fairway of #1 and the basket of #9 and tee of #10 are a little close, so could make for so sticky situations on an errant throw.
Other Thoughts: Many of the reviews on here were saying that it was very crowded, and luckily on the day I went out, it wasn't at all. There were a few groups out, but we were never waiting and only had one guy that played through. He joined up with us on 11 and played the rest, and was really friendly and was a big help with the navigation, so that was a plus. But there were a couple groups of "bros", so I could see how that could be annoying if it were a crowded day.

Shot my first round ever under par here!!

Lots of Fun for Beginners

5+    2/24/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great walk through the park, with a good variety of hole lengths. Long holes really let you cut loose, but the shorter holes can emphasize shot placement.

It seems to be one of the few places near Richmond that has some open holes that aren't all through the woods.

The people here have always been really nice. Much more friendly than some of the other local parks.
Cons: Tee boxes are very uneven and sometimes difficult to find. This place could seriously benefit from some real concrete tee pads. Some of them now are very uneven and people can trip up.

There are some pretty easy places for beginners to lose discs...especially when the ground is firm on the first tee.
Other Thoughts: There are blue tees and yellow tees, but holes 1,16, and 18 have white tees and I'm not really sure what they are for. Are they remnants of the old blue tees?

Sometimes the basket placements are moved without remeasuring. The 14th has recently been moved beside the creek in an scrub area which has made that hole play completely differently.

Edit 2/15/13 - Return to Richmond to play Brian Park in town the 15th basket had been moved away from its traditional place by the water, and is instead been stuck up in the woods on the left. This ruins an otherwise nice little dogleg along the water, and really takes a lot of the fun out of that hole.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice park

1    12/3/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: Wildcat_29
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Great Variety of Challenges
-Beautiful Park
-Polite People
-Long Drives
Cons: -Mystery tee placements
-Mystery Baskets
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time today and I liked it a lot. It was a beautiful park and offered a big course with lots of walking. My only complaint is that the tees are sunk in in some places and there are no taller signs to show the tees or the basket placements so it takes a few minutes sometimes to see the tee and the basket. Small complaint but otherwise I enjoyed this excellent park course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.