Richmond, VA 
Bryan Park Share
Uploaded By: mviemaker07 Hole #18
3 / 185ft.   3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Richmond Disc Golf Oasis

5+    8/24/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: awova
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Every hole provides a unique challenge. The baskets are pretty awesome, especially with the painted markings on top to direct players to the following tee pads. Tee pads are well marked with distance/par info. Good for people watching, lots of other things going on. Tuesday markets, soccer games, picnics, dogs etc. The ice cream man rules! Nice mix of short and long holes with big tree obstacles. Course is constantly evolving with 3 pro tees to complement the short yellows and long blues.
Cons: Sometimes the tee pads get run over by lawn mowers. Hole 16 floods after big rain. Could have some more woods challenges.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful walk through the park, fun in the winter, great course for beginners and pros alike!

6 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Really straight.

1    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: notyourfrog
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This park is very nicely groomed. The trimmed grass, nicely pruned trees (for the most part), and well-marked tees make this a pretty course. The hills and water in play on several of the holes add a nice element to the round, including a deceptively long, downhill drive.
Cons: There's not much variety to the layout of the holes. They are all basically straight. A slight hyzer or anhyzer from time to time is helpful, and elevation adds a bit to the course, but for the most part, it's extremely straight. The natural tees are less than desirable, as some of them have exposed roots, and none are even. Teeing off is always somewhat of an ankle-risk.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course, overall, but to be painfully honest, I wasn't overly thrilled. Granted, from what I have been told, it's the best course in the Richmond area, so I will play it again out of proximity, but it makes me miss Bayville in Virginia Beach.

6 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great City Course in old park

5+    6/1/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2009
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -dual tees, and three tees on 3 of the holes (1, 16, 18)
-great par 58 layout
-practice basket near billboard
-lots of benches on course
-short technical holes & hole you can rip and let it fly on (like 4 & 11)
-everyone you meet in the park is super nice, disc golfers & otherwise and many people may ask you what you're doing because they've never seen it before
Cons: -no tee signs (just distance markings on tee blocks)
-no cement tees. Bryan would easily be a dream with cement pads and one more pin position per hole.
-no bathrooms close to the course, nearest ones are port-a-pottys near the soccer fields
Other Thoughts: Bryan is a great course, and by far the best of the three major courses in the Richmond area. Very close to I-95 for quick access for those from out of town and just passing through.

It calls for every type and distance of shot, has some great water hazards, up hill, down hill winding through trees and rolling hills. The park itself offers a scenic walk.

There is room for a second spectacular course on the other side of Bryan Park in the woods, and I think that would be a great addition to have two great and vastly different courses in the same park.

Bryan Park is a must if you're in Richmond and care about disc golf to any degree. It is a challenging course, but not so challenging that you can't shoot under par if you're playing well. Fun for all skill levels and definitely worth hitting on a road trip. Stop in to Roy's Big Burger, north (left) out of the Park on Lakeside, 1/4 mile for some great local food.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Living Long and Large

1    6/30/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Very well-maintained large public park with long, gently-flowing hills and very large hardwoods scattered about. Bathrooms, water fountains, other activities available. Close to I95.

Practice basket. Two nine-hole loops. Easy-to-see baskets. Near water on several holes. Probably a good course for glo.
Cons:
Dirt tees. Very few turning shots. Holes four and eleven cross fairways - maybe simply switching their tee positions would avoid this, and still leave long/interesting holes.
Other Thoughts:
Many opportunities to let it rip, as several of the fairways and baskets were fairly open, and long. From the blues, about 1/3rd of the holes were 450'+, topping out at #11 at 700'. Most holes will have some change of elevation - up, down, up-down, and down-up. Large trees will also come into play on every hole, but only #15 would be classified as a bit tight.

Online map made the course fairly easy to navigate - and necessary, too, as the tee markers are very low. Distance also available at tees.

Two throw-across-pond holes, but only need to clear 175'~200', so not too far. Couldn't find non-across-water options as suggested by the map.

Favourite hole: #14, 520'. Small woods to the left, scattered trees with long branches narrowing the fairway from the right. Up a small rise the first 1/3rd of the distance, then down a moderate slope the remainder of the way.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Bryan Park is Great for Visitors

2-4    7/1/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: atonalruss
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked, easy to find and navigate. Beautiful setting, long tees, open fairways that are great for all levels of play.
Cons: Lacks the challenge of wooded holes. Hole 16 is tough for those with short drives since the only two options are over a pond (with no elevation to the tee I lose discs, so I avoid this option) or a drive so ridiculously short you can use your putter.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. I've played for four years and found this course when visiting Richmond for a week. It is a stunningly beautiful and well maintained course. I play in the early hours of the morning (6 am) and there are very few people in the park at that time - mostly friendly dog walkers.
The course is very well marked and I was able to navigate it alone the first time I played - even without a map. Great for visitors to Richmond!
This is a great course for beginners or intermediate players who want to work on thier drives. Wide open tees give you the opportunity to let loose and see how far you can throw without much fear of trees. A gorgeous hole 11 is 700 feet and a very reasonable par 5 that can be regularly birdied by players who can drive for distance.
The only drawback is the lack of wooded areas. Most of the courses I've played weave in and out of the woods and trees create the greatest challenge. The lack of trees makes this a friendly course for beginners and kids, even though it is fairly long.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Fantastic Course

5+    5/20/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: JCorey
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well maintained, long, mostly-open winding course through one of Richmond's most beautiful parks.
Cons: The park can get crowded during peak hours, the long holes play a bit more slowly.
Other Thoughts: If you have an hour and a half to kill PLAY THIS COURSE. I played disc golf in Richmond for over a year and this is in my opinion the complete package. While it lacks the tight shots like Dorey Park or the history like Gillie's Creek it definitely is an amazing course.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great park setting

2-4    5/31/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: CMS8
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very scenic park, big old growth trees, moderate elevation, and a few holes where you can throw over water.
The baskets have blue and gold paint on the top spokes pointing the way to the next blue and gold tees; very helpful for first timers here.
Cons: Dirt tee pads, which is about my only complaint about Bryan Park.
Seems to get crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: Bryan Park should be renamed Squirrel Park for all the squirrels around holes 1-3 and 9-10.
My buddies and had a hard time finding a few tees the first time we played, so I highly recommend printing the map from this site and taking it with you the first time you play: http://www.friendsofbryanpark...sc%20Golf.htm
I'd give Bryan Park an extra half disc rating if they had concrete tee pads.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Pretty Park

2-4    5/12/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: DiscChick
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park, well kept. The park itself has a lot to offer (tennis courts, picnic areas, azalea gardens, and more) It's on the National Register of Historic Places.

Practice basket by the parking lot & info sign.
Yellow and Blue tees for your difficulty level. The Yellow (easier) tees are still challenging.
Long and short shots (Yellows range from 150' - 690', Blues from 202'-701')
Elevation changes.
Water hazards for everyone. There is one hole for each tee color where you have to tee off and throw over the water (for blue it's 16, for yellow it's 18) and everyone has to get over the canal on 11.

The park smells good. Something must always be in bloom somewhere on the grounds, because the place just smells good.

I love the colored spokes on the top of the baskets pointing you in the direction of the next tee (except the basket for 5 has been moved a bit, and the spokes aren't quite going the right direction to get you to 6)
Cons: Not enough trash cans or benches.
Natural tees.
Crossing fairway. 4 & 11 cross each other. These are two of the longest holes on the course (11 is the longest), so I would imagine the crossing here can really cause bottlenecks on the front and back nine on a busy day.

Every shot is straight. Where are the doglegs??

The ice-cream man. That's right; the ice-cream man drives in a big circle around the outer park road. Over and over again. And as if the song the truck plays isn't bad enough, it also says "hello" in a voice that's like a cross between Curly from the Three Stooges and a parrot. Obnoxious.
Other Thoughts: If your disc goes in the water at 16, I hope you've got a retriever of some sort. Signs are posted "No swimming, or wading".

I kinda want signage and I kinda don't. The par and distance are marked on most of the tee blocks and the painted spokes on the baskets point you to the next tee. And since every shot is straight, you don't really need a diagram sign. That being said, sometimes the tee blocks are hard to spot, and an actual sign would be easier to see. Which is also why I don't want the signage, this park is beautiful and multifunctional. It's not just here for the sole use of disc golfers. Signs sticking up all over the place may take away some of the beauty of the landscape. Maps are available in the links section here. I recommend printing one out, at the very least it will make it clear when you need to cross the road for your next hole.

About the multifunctional park...I've played Bryan twice now; once on a Saturday afternoon, once on a Tuesday evening. On Saturday the park is crowded with people oblivious to discs. I had the fear that I was going to hit someone. And like I said, they are oblivious, you may yell "Four" or "Heads up" but they may or may not realize you mean them. Be Careful! On Tuesday evening, the park was much less crowded, mostly disc golfers and dog walkers. Way more conducive to throwing a round.

I like this course. It's beautiful. But if you've got distance, if you can "grip it and rip it" there's not much challenge here for you. This course is made for people who can throw far and straight. Yes, there are trees to be avoided, but it is a very open course. And it is relatively easy to recover from an errant throw, or evil tree bounce.

If you find yourself in the Richmond area, Bryan Park is definitely worth a stop. And since it is just off of 95, it's easy to get to even if you're just passing through.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best in RIchmond

5+    5/6/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: Wundrkid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Huge course. Beautiful landscape. Very challenging. I hated BP until I finally learned how to drive the disc far. There are always people playing but not enough to make you wait too long or get frustrated, and 90% of the people will say hey and ask how the day is going for you.

And of course, hole 15 from the blue tee is by far the greatest hole I have ever played. I think I have only birdied it once but the location is extremely unique. On a hot day, its the best for the shade and cool breeze that comes up off of the creek.
Cons: None really, except for my Leopard being at the bottom of the lake.
Other Thoughts: Play it! Enter the tourneys and have a good time. Dont let the water scare you. Some of the people I play with dont even throw on those holes in fear of losing the disc. Once you get your confidence up, let that thing fly.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Piece of Land

1    4/16/2009   4/22/2009
Review By: hooboy
Played: 49  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic piece of land for a disc golf course. Big open green spaces, with enough terrain changes, and just enough trees to make it interesting and challenging. Next tee marking system uses painted links on top of basket to point to next tee. Course winds around and over water, you cross two cool little water falls. Water should not really be in play if you are a decent player, or you can use the forward tees which basically take the water out of play. Two sets of tees, although dirt. Really good mix of long and short holes, par 3's, 4's , and even one par 5 (700 feet plus). You can let it rip on the long holes, and then still have good birdie chances on the shorter holes. I nearly aced number 1. I really liked this course. Some reviewers call this course wide open, but I've played much more open courses. This has just enough trees. Its almost as if the land was just begging for a DG course. Course is close to I-95 if you are on a road trip.
Cons: Tees are dirt / grass. Not really smooth when we played. For the really bad tees, we simply stepped to the side. Most tees have distance only (some distances are gone). No hole maps or other signage at tee. As first timers we were guessing or walking forward to take a look on the longer holes. It is possible to lose discs in the water with errant or short throws. Even with the directional next tee markers, we still wandered around a bit looking for some tees.
Other Thoughts: We actually played 27 holes here over two days (rain on day one). Locals gave us the scoop on the directional next tee system on our second day. The first day we wandered all over the place looking for next tees. The info board at hole one has a map, and describes the directional system. Too bad we didn't bother to read it the first time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.