Richmond, VA
Bryan Park Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #5
3 / 256ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Yellow Tee



Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >
  Richmond's Gem

1    11/27/2008   11/28/2008
Review By: earmstg
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great wide open course located in a very scenic park location. Lots of grip and rip holes, mixed in with some technical layouts and hidden hole placements.
Cons: Some holes had blind baskets. Many of the tee pads (all natural) were uneven, or had root obstacles making me pay more attention to my footing rather than my windup and release.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very pleasant atmosphere. The local players were very friendly and pleased to help new visitors get oriented to the course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Proudly my home course

5+    9/4/2008   9/16/2008
Review By: mviemaker07
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2008
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is lots of fun. The setting is beautiful, just outside of the city of Richmond. Most fairways are wide open and chances of losing a disc are slim (although i lost my friends disc in the water my very first time playing. Sorry G-man).

Practice basket near Hole #1. Best part is its free
Cons: You will get some exercise on this course (not much of a negative but for a lazy college kid it seems like alot of walking). The length will never be a problem in my book though. I've had to wait for people on this popular course before but most of the time they are polite and let me go ahead if I was alone.
Other Thoughts: It's hard to think up negatives but there really are no major problems with the course. If your a pro then it may seem a little wide open for you and probably won't be too challenging.

I love the course as it allows me to "grip and rip" on most holes. You will work on every aspect of your game at Bryan. (Driving, Mid, and Putting)

I'm proud to consider this my home course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 First Nine

1    8/29/2008   9/1/2008
Review By: Wildcattamer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Very goodcourse. Nothing I have seen before. Great pin placement.
Cons: Might measure the 4th hole seem a little long to me.
Other Thoughts: sign might help directing the players to the next hole

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/6/2008   8/6/2008
Review By: 21730
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 1/23/2009
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Fun course, lots of open, rolling park land, with lots of large, old trees scattered throughout. Lots of legnthy open holes, that challenge the best players. A couple of water holes.
Cons: CROSSING FAIRWAYS! There is too much room out there for this to happen. Tees can be tricky too.
Other Thoughts: Great little chunk of heaven right in the urban jungle.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Ole Time Park

2-4    6/5/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: DWill
Played: 221  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 35.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2009
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful city park, with lots of old growth tree, rolling hills, water, wildlife and is well maintained. There are two sets of tees on each hole, offering shorter holes for newer players, and longer, tougher holes to challenge the pros. Due to the rolling hills and large trees, there is a lot of variety in holes. You have some kind of elevation challenge on almost every hole, sometimes multiple times. A few holes, either throw over water, or along side it, so accuracy is at a premium on these holes.

Chainstar baskets, that seem to catch even my bad putts, which is most of them. These baskets are very nice and have the biggest sweet spot. There is a small chance of losing a disc, even the water shots. The water is shallow enough to go in to retrieve your disc. There are benches on several holes and water fountains near holes 1 and 11. There is plenty of parking, a restroom and nice disc golf kiosk.
Cons: The biggest con for me was the dirt/natural tee pads. Many of them are near trees, with exposed roots, that make tripping fairly easy. A few of the tee pads, when dry, can be slippery, and if it's rainy and wet, they can be very sloppy. Some tees were difficult to locate and there are no tee signs. There is one criss cross fairway, which only comes into play if the course is crowded.

Since it's a public park, there is a lot of pedestrian traffic, dog walkers and joggers walking in and around the course, so be cautious before you throw.
Other Thoughts: I have rewritten this review, to provide more detail and explanation, hopefully this time it has much more information to help you to make a decision on whether you want to play the course or not.

This is one of my favorite courses, it is wide open enough to let some discs fly, but has enough strategically placed obstacles to penalize any bad throws.

Locals have worked hard to get this course in, despite the negative feedback from the parks department. If the park department would embrace disc golf, this course will only get better.

There is a nice old time feel about this city park. The scenery of the park is worth the trip by itself, the fact that I can spend some time here playing dg pushes it over the top.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Park in Richmond!

5+    5/25/2008   5/25/2008
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful city park setting! Rolling hills for great scenery and great exercise. Variety of different holes. Baskets placed at a great distance apart for no overlapping. Also a wonderful color coded system on the top of all baskets pointing out the way to the next hole! Follow the yellow spoke to the next yellow tee and follow the blue spoke to the next blue tee. Wonderful trick I wish all Disk Courses would utilize!
Cons: Not much to complain about....A popular park so sometimes you have to contend with off leash dogs. More of a distance course than a technical course. If you leave the fairway you should beware of some poison oak, but otherwise a great day out of Disc Golf.
Other Thoughts: My favorite park to play in Richmond and one I love to hit at least once every weekend. New to the sport but so far this is my favorite course.

Note: The only restrooms around are across the street from the parking lot, across from Hole One and the Putting basket. After that you're on your own!

11/05/08: Update on Hole 12 they have now added a bridge to cross over the creek! A great addition to an already fun course. The Park and Rec staff really seem to care about the DG community here.

03/28/2011:
They changed the basket placement on #15 so that it sits up in the woods off to the left. It takes 15 and makes it far tougher and is a great modification!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Richmond Course

5/3/2008   5/5/2008
Review By: bgreen
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Long rolling hills with over hanging trees
Cons: Better directions on the placement of first Tee
Other Thoughts: What a great course with the rolling hils and long holes. Adding that water comes in to play in 4 holes; with going over water on one I found it to be a great course.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Richmond's Best Looking Course

5+    10/24/2012   9/10/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2012
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Manicured park landscape
Cons: All but one or two holes are a straight line.
Other Thoughts: Bryan Park is a long and expansive picturesque disc golf course in a manicured Civilian Conservation Corps-era city park. Overall, the course is mostly open and features a fair number of holes that are long even by the evolving standards of disc golf - 500-700 feet. The course is also hilly, and while far from wooded, it does feature plenty of huge old trees to keep you honest. To me, the overriding advantage of city park courses like Bryan Park and Druid Hill in Baltimore is the great old school park landscape, with the rolling hills, beautiful trees, and other well established plantings.

Beyond the landscape, the other distinguishing feature of the Bryan Park course is its length. Each hole has blue (long) and yellow (less long) tees, and official par is 62. Several holes are 500'+, including the beautiful downhill #4, and the 700' downhill and then back up again #11. In addition, several of holes feature "fast greens;" baskets set on the side of an incline that will turn a bare miss into a painfully long comeback putt. And finally, there are two relatively short but true water holes (should you choose to play them, there are overland options for each) . Among the courses in Central Virginia, these are all truly distinguishing and welcome characteristics. Most every hole is pretty straighforward, however. While you may need to control your flight path due to the trees in the fairway, from tee to basket is a straight line on all but maybe two or three holes. Most every hole also involves at least some measure of up and down.

With its hills, smooth grass fairways, ancient oaks, and long holes, the course at Bryan Park is the perfect addition to the Richmond disc golf scene. It's pretty easy to follow even though it lacks signs, and while it has no rough or wooded holes or even dog-leg fairways, the hills, length, and large trees that are there make it challenging enough. Overall, I am most pleased that the course now closest to my home is Bryan Park, and I am truly grateful to now have two fun and varied courses to call home.

Favorite Hole - #11 - 700' down a long slope among a varieity of large, old oak trees, across a deep cut creek, and then back up again to the basket.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.