Richmond, VA 
Bryan Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #2 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 311ft.   3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Yellow Tee

Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
just okay

1    11/6/2015   11/6/2015
Review By: sidearmdon
Played: 172  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Loved the water holes. Nice open area with some tree difficulty. Baskets in good shape. Drove right to it.
Cons: No tee signs. Couldn't find some of the holes. When I got to tee four I could only see one basket. Ended up being the basket for hole eleven. Very difficult to navigate. No tee signs? really!?
Other Thoughts: If you go to this course make sure you have a local person to take you through. Do not attempt without one. I've thrown 180 different courses and this was the worst one to navigate through.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1    5/20/2015   5/30/2015
Review By: dg_morgan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -The holes are very fun and interesting. There is elevation, water, and varying length. Some of the holes are wide open, and some have trees. It's a very pretty park and cute to play.

-Free to play!

-Very quiet area as far as foot traffic, at least when we were there (midday on a Wednesday).

-Two tee pads for each hole.
Cons: -The amateur tees are poor/nonexistent. Perhaps I am spoiled on nice concrete tees, but I don't appreciate throwing from the dirt. It also makes it difficult to see the tees from afar. (My partner recalls the pro tees being brick, so this point may be invalid for people playing from those.)

-The signage is lacking. Each hole has a mosaic piece that explains the par and distance, but these tend to be a bit hard to read. It's also simply placed on the ground, along with very short blocks marking the am tees. Since nothing is really visible from a distance, it was hard to navigate the course in many places.
Other Thoughts: I think if the tees and signs are addressed, this course could easily get another full point from me. The holes were a lot of fun to play, and were definitely not generic. However, it's hard to enjoy the holes when you can't actually find them! I prefer a course where I can easiy move from a basket to the next tee. A little better signage could really make this course into a winner. Of course, if you've played here enough to learn the layout, I'm sure it's plenty of fun!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Gem of a Course in Richmond

2-4    12/24/2014   12/26/2014
Review By: Ed_Reese
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really a gem of a course in Richmond. Love the layout, length of the course, water crossings, and the beauty of this course. It might be in the top 5 I've played in the country. It's also incredibly clean. I don't think I saw a piece of trash in three rounds of play.
Cons: Yeah, I lacks what others have said... There are essentially no real tee pads. It's not marked very well. I get it. Didn't detract from my enjoyment at all, though. With a little work (just tee pads and signage, really) this could be a destination course.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for big arms. While I think it has a nice variation of length, it's longer than most with several holes approaching 600 feet (four or five in the 550-590' range if memory serves correct). The water hazards make it really fun as well. The duck pond crossing is farther than it looks :) I attempted it with a fairway driver my first time and ended up losing one in the drink. Still didn't bum me out, though. Had a blast here. My in-laws are from Richmond, so I'm there a few times a year. I'm stoked beyond belief to have discovered this course. You've got a gem here in Richmond!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Drivers Galore

5+    11/11/2014   11/20/2014
Review By: ericfriesr
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Wide open. A few trees. Awesome distance. If you like throwing from the tee, this place is for you.
ALL holes have freshly completed tee pads!
Cons: Not very technical. You can score well on this course if you can drive. I play here several times a week and rarely use mid range discs.
Other Thoughts: #11 is sweet. Was better before a storm took out a HUGE tree right across the creek. Fun holes. Open lay out. There's a short and long tee pad for every hole.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

okay for practice

5+    6/20/2014   8/15/2014
Review By: Indus
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: wide open place to practice discs you don't throw much.
close to highway so you can get out quickly.
pretty park.
Cons: not much of a challenge. mostly wide open, relatively easy. non-disc golfers on the course, as it is a public park. crappy dirt tees.
Other Thoughts: not sure why this course gets such a high rating unless it is because a bunch of the local players are the ones reviewing it. it is definitely less than thrilling. a couple of cool long one where you have to carry a creek running through concrete over the pond that is challenging (not the last hole). kinda like playing in an open field. big arms may enjoy the chance to park some drives, but it lacks technical play.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Crank out some laces

5+    7/3/2014   7/4/2014
Review By: Blazemedown
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Who like to throw some bombs from elevated tees and watch em fly? This course allows u to throw caution to the wind and drive for show. Easy to get to from any direction. New concrete tee pads in 1/2 the holes,
Cons: Watch out for poison ivy; beware of the first hole, it is extremely cruel to discs/players
Other Thoughts: Want a course friendly enough for novices but fun enough for pros? You can't beat Bryan Park. So little stress with this course's many opportunities to show your buddies how much further you can throw then them

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Bryan Bombs Away!

1    3/17/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 134  Reviewed: 123  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual tees with 18 baskets over nice scenic rolling elevation, creek, pond and waterfall and has some nice par 4s. Most the course is shaded by huge hardwood trees, but the course is fairly wide open and a little longer than average. Two 9 hole loops back to parking lot. Navigation was decent. Well maintained park just off I-95. Restrooms with water.
Cons: Mostly natural tees(looks like they are in the process of upgrading the tees to rubber pads). No real tee signs, but it's not bad if you have a map. Hole 4 and 11 cross fairways right off the tee but I don't think it's much of an issue. Hole 18's tee area was muddy/slippery, and the green across the creek is fast for roll-a-ways into the creek. Lacks variety in that there are no tight technical wooded fairways. Decent chance to lose disc in the water. Plays close to park roads in places. Other people in the park/course.
Other Thoughts: Set near the heart of Richmond, I had a blast playing at Bryan Park. You get to throw huge bombs over some great elevation changes. My first shot went in the creek OB on hole 1, I could see it, but couldn't retrieve it. Hole 11 and 14 were my favorites. Hole 16 across the pond was also quite fun. There's not a whole of challenge here other than raw distance, some water and a few trees. Wind can be a big factor here. This is great course for anyone that likes to watch their discs fly and a nice stop if traveling through Richmond up /down I-95 or across I-64.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Park Course

1    6/4/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: tlimanek
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Definitely top 3 of the 25 courses I have played. Shots over water and around trees. Very easy to find discs with well mowed lawns. For an intermediate player the challenge was clear at each hole.
Cons: Since first time, got a little lost at times. Played some blue, some gold tees as I found them. Tracking down the first hole was tricky given the park layout and roads.
Other Thoughts: There appears to be recent work making very nice permanent tees. They are making a good course even better. Will play this every time I am in Richmond.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Greatest Park in Richmond

5+    2/25/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: rickshouses
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Wonderful Park...Long and Short Holes...Holes over and around water....elevation...Right and Left Shots...Wonderful group of players...
Cons: It's a public park with people walking around...Tee pads are natural...due to the park rules..but permanent tees are on their way...

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

OK/Good, getting better

5+    2/15/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: HannibalRex
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2014
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - WAY COOL: perm pads going in, tee 1 is really nice, can't wait to see the rest, hands-down the best improvement this course needed.
- Plenty of distance, play the blues or whites and you'll figure out just how much arm you have.
- Even if you're embarrassingly bad, like me, it's still a fun course with a couple of shorter throws here and there to make up for it.
- Some really nice views in a nice park
- Some are really fun like 11, 14, 16, 18
Cons: I sound like a jerk when I read my own reviews, so best to keep it to myself. All I can say is go find out for yourself, Bryan is a nice course, give it a go! Have fun, be respectful, and help the beginners.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.