Richmond, VA 
Bryan Park Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #7
3 / 220ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Yellow Tee



Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun Course not to far from Richmond

1    9/20/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: crassostrea
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good deal of elevation change, open layout and just the right amount of water
Cons: Lack of signage to direct you to the next tee, tee boxed not really kept very well.
Other Thoughts: Played this course while I was in Richmond last week. It had a good combination of short and long holes with some fun elevation changes. If I lived in the area I would probably hit this course up regularly. I would however ask the local club to but an indicator on the pins that show the location of the next tee. Quite a bit of tree damage form the recent storms, but crews were out and about clearing the debris.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Could Be A MAsterpiece

5+    8/22/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2012
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: >Big 18 basket course with multiple tees and basket positions

>Unique, the holes do not become repetitive. You must be able to work the disc to get around.

>Challenging. Though you are not throwing through a bike path through the woods, you do have to avoid trees at every turn. THIS course is no where near as open as they play it out to be. Water holes, vertical changes, it is a fun yet challenging course.
Cons: >TEE AREA IS GOING TO GET SOMEONE HURT! Some of these tees are right next to trees, which not only hinder your ability to use it, and challenge you in a place that is SUPPOSED to be a clear shot, but the roots run though, sticking up, holes rutted in places. I throw 350 on full run shots. With these tees, it is more 280-310, because I will only take a few steps and throw, like a fairway shot. Terrible, just terrible.

>No signs, need map to get around.
Other Thoughts: I would love to give this course a 5.0, but the Tee Pads are so horrible, best it gets is a 4.0

*The course is a quality course. I still balk about the lack of cement pads. If it had decent pads, it would be a 4.5, but as is, the rating stays.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great for all skill levels

5+    6/6/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Will Adams
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There are some really long holes, as in over 700 feet. Which is great if you like being able to open up and really throw as hard as you can.
Cons: The move the pins from time to time without remeasuring and and considering the par set.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/3/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: Ray Gunnell
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Fun, open course. Some really long holes, some ace runs, and other easily birdie-able holes. Two sets of tees, yellow tending to provide the easier approach.
Cons: Park Congestion. I had to stop six times (one stoppage was for about 10 minutes) for different summer camps who were also using the grounds. It wasn't a problem except for a kid who reached my disc before I did, picked it up and tried to take off with it.

Another thing to be aware of, I rolled my ankle pretty bad and had to retire early. The natural tees need real work to become safe.

There's no signage from hole to hole, at all. I was lost between 8 and 9, and found myself on numerous occasions throwing blindly to where I anticipated the pin being, only to be about 30 yards in the side.
Other Thoughts: If the course had dedicated teepads, with some formal type of surfacing, it'd get a four in my book.

It's definitely one I'd like to try again if I find out the improvements are made.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 18 Long and Strong

1    2/28/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bryan Park is a very good course located in a very nice park that isn't difficult to find. Good (but faded) course map by practice basket. Mature trees are scattered through the course, with very few densely wooded areas. Plenty of windows to approach the baskets on the many lengthy holes. Elevation adds challenge and makes for some exciting drives. Water that comes into play on some holes is mostly low risk, but makes things a little more interesting. All baskets are in good condition. Each has two spokes on the top of the baskets painted, one blue and one gold, indicating the direction to each of the tee boxes for the next hole.
Cons: One of the small faults here is the natural tee pads. They aren't in poor condition, but I am spoiled by concrete tees at most courses I play. The other would be a lack of technical accuracy required to negotiate fairways. Without a lot of variety required, I leaned heavily on the old RHBH hyzer. Only once or twice did I switch to a forehand throw, since most baskets are in very accessible positions. High winds made approaches and putts extremely difficult on the day I visited Bryan Park.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure I would enjoy playing this course many times over again. Glad I was able to find this gem. My favorite kind of course, combining elevation, distance, and fairways that have well placed large trees to dictate your usually generous lines to the hole. Not overly difficult for an established player, but surely it's no pushover.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Close to being great

1    11/4/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2013
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very solid, challenging course. It's clearly the best, and toughest, course in Richmond. It's a no-doubt, must-play for any DGer in the region.
- Course has all sorts of challenges - water holes, long holes, doglegs, elevation & some tighter than expected fairways due to strategic trees.
- Lots of distance and open holes = lots of chances to let it rip. 5 holes longer than 400 feet from short tees, 7 longer than 400 from longs. There's only 1 hole under 200 feet (and that one is throwing over water.)
- My most enjoyable holes were the longer ones - #4 (555 ft); #11 (690 ft) & 14 (435 ft). Three fantastic holes that were a blast to play while also combining a fair amount of challenge and risk.
- Course is spaced out nicely throughout the park. You'll walk from one side of the park to the other while playing. And while the course is spaced out, it really doesn't interfere with other park activities, or vice versa.
- Long and short tees present some different looks.
- Good challenge for advanced players. Probably not the best course for beginners, but there are other course in the area they can play.
Cons: Two major cons on the water holes ruin an otherwise elite course.
- The first is the erosion/sloping from the baskets down to the water. On holes #1, 9 &18 (and a small degree on #17), the ground slopes sharply from the basket areas to the water. There's no grass between the baskets and the water, which means if a disc doesn't land softly, it can easily start rolling, and won't stop until it's in the water. I saw this happen to my buddy's disc on his very first shot on #1.
- The second problem is the water itself. It's deep even right up to the edge, and its swift moving. We had 2 discs land within 2 feet of the edge of the water, but it was at least 4 feet deep, so we had no chance of finding them.
- I understand if the water came into play through a risk/reward factor, but not when a disc could land within 10 feet of the basket, and then it rolls off into the water.
- The tees are dirt and are only marked by small blue/gold wooden markers. It'd be helpful if they were more visible/larger.
- There are a couple of weird transitions. For example, after #8, you see a tee close by, but that's for #11.
- #9 & 10 have crossing fairways; #4 & 11 have intersecting fairways. The lesson as always - pay attention when you throw.
- The course runs awfully close to the interstate. You can hear and see it, especially on holes #4 - 6. It would take a herculean throw, but if you threw a shot long enough, and far enough right, the road on #14 could come into play.
Other Thoughts: - The water issues listed above were a major concern. Maybe it had something to do with losing 3 discs between 2 people. On a normal course/normal pond, all 3 discs should have easily been found, or not even made it to the pond.
- I loved that there were no "throw away"/easy holes. There are plenty of birdie chances, but it's going to take a good shot(s) to make it happen. Solid course throughout.
- It's great that the longer holes were the most fun and most challenging. You want the par 4s & 5 to force multiple good shots, and these don't disappoint.
- #11 was easily my favorite hole. Playing 690 feet (701 from longs), you throw downhill towards a creek, then back up a hill to a basket nestled between several trees. The biggest arms can be in putting range in 2 shots, but it'll realistically take 3 shots (at least) for the rest of us.
- Very good course. It's the best of the lot in Richmond. A must play for anyone in the area, or driving down I-95 or I-64.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Bryan Park

2-4    10/15/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Bamm
Played: 58  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent condition. Clean, well maybe not hole 15 with the homeless guy, but hey, he was polite. Great course to really show off the arm. Pretty open with the occasional tree to throw around. Baskets and grounds in good shape.
Cons: Could really use some tee signs with info on them. How about a few of these parks having signs at the entrance showing where to park for disc golfers. I had to ask 2 people before I figured out where the course started and where to park.
Other Thoughts: Richmond's pride and joy in my opinion. I love this course.....

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A hazardous course...

1    8/28/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers an excellent variety of terrains and shots! The course is almost entirely wide open, with few trees and for the most part they aren't even in your line of fire. The course winds its way around a pond, with two of the holes (16 and 18) actually requiring tee offs from across the pond...which means you better have a good arm, or a spare disc as one of the two is required! For those less adventurous, these holes offer second tee locations that don't require crossing the water.
Many of the shots make use of the park's rolling hills. The elevation changes make for some great distance shots, as well as some challenging up hill throws.
Cons: The tee boxes are just dirt pads with little wooden blocks on the ground. Many tees are missing one of the wooden blocks, and the writing on the tee blocks that tells you the distance, hole number, and par, are hard to make out on most tees.
Unless you have played the course before, or are with someone who has, it may be hard at a couple points to find where the next hole is as there is no direction or map for the course from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: An excellent course that I recommend to players of all skill level. This course will definitely require your distance driver as the majority of holes are over 300 feet. The park is very well maintained and very scenic and the water hazards make for a terrific challenge. I will definitely be back for another round soon!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Home Sweet Home

5+    8/22/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: innova-in-chains
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I play this course 3-4 times a week and have been for months. The holes flow very nicely with the landscape. the baskets are in great shape and the grass is always mowed. The holes are long, so you can let her rip quite frequently! This course is convenient in every way!
Cons: Not many trash cans.
Bums live in the woods on 15 so there's extra trash.(they are only there at night, cops will run them off during daylight and they know this.)
Eroded teeboxes are this courses only real important flaw. Wath out for poison ivy at the base of most trees.
Other Thoughts: I play this course with every disc in my bag!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/8/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: cahurley
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Bathrooms across from the parking lot, variety in distance and elevation, painted directions on baskets to the next tee, multiple tees, good use of water hazards, benches throughout the course
Cons: Not many trash cans, no tee signs, crowded at times, dirt tees
Other Thoughts: Bryan Park is an open course with no tightly wooded holes, but enough trees and vegetation to make each hole unique. The holes range from about 150' to 700' and can vary greatly in elevation depending on which one of the dual tee locations you play from. There are plenty of chances to air out your drivers and a few holes allow for more technical shots. Each basket has yellow and blue painted rungs to lead you to the following tee location. The tees themselves are marked by painted wood blocks and a dirt tee pad, however the tee locations are moved occasionally when they become overly worn (most recently hole number 6). There are no signs at each tee, but distances are painted on the blocks and, with the exception of the longer holes, the baskets are pretty well visible. The park is hilly with a few streams running to and from a pond that all come into play at some point in the course. Holes 16 (pro tee) and 18 are actually across the pond. And of course around the the pond there are plenty of geese to add even more obstacles (If you see one with a limp tell him I'm sorry).

Holes 9 and 18 both end around the first tee and parking lot for the course which has a practice basket as well as bathroom facilities across the street (though they aren't open year-round). The park can be crowded at times, which not only means waiting at tees, but also avoiding other park users. From my experience, metal baskets and wooden blocks seem to make great picnic locations. If you do wind up having to wait for other groups, there are benches and picnic tables placed around the course. Unfortunately there are not enough trash cans for the amount of usage the park gets as it can become littered from (hopefully) non disc golfers.

Overall, Bryan Park has a great disc golf course, but it does have room for some improvement.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.