Richmond, VA 
Bryan Park Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #16
3 / 152ft.   3 / 208ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Yellow Tee

Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nice course

1    12/7/2009   12/7/2009
Review By: jerrycdundan
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2011
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I played this course with a mixed group of people, some who had never played and some who have played 10+ years and everyone had a great time. It was challenging enough for experienced players but not impossible for beginners.I really liked the multiple water hazards, the convenient location, and the well maintained park. Also kudos to whoever brought out the multiple bamboo poles for retrieving disks from the ponds.
Cons: Dirt tees are never good to see, the park is very popular and very crowded.
Other Thoughts: This course is ideal for someone visiting richmond for a few days. It's very close to the Interstate, VCU, and downtown .I'll go every time I visit.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Course in Richmond

5+    11/16/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: mrjohnahawley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.8 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open and wooded holes. Some wide open holes you can just crank on.
Cons: Needs concrete pads and maybe some bag posts.
Other Thoughts: Love this place, I live a mile away. And it just looks beautiful out there every time I go.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Heads up on construction

5+    9/21/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: Glareice
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 10/10/2009
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Consistently good and a mile from my house.
Cons: Can be crowded.
Other Thoughts: I hope this is a good place to post this. There is construction going on for the next 2 months which completely blocks the 18th hole and partially blocks 1. The city is replacing the retaining wall around the pond.

Update: Looks like a temporary 18 is going up in the woods between 14 and 15.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Richmond Disc Golf Oasis

5+    8/24/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: awova
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Every hole provides a unique challenge. The baskets are pretty awesome, especially with the painted markings on top to direct players to the following tee pads. Tee pads are well marked with distance/par info. Good for people watching, lots of other things going on. Tuesday markets, soccer games, picnics, dogs etc. The ice cream man rules! Nice mix of short and long holes with big tree obstacles. Course is constantly evolving with 3 pro tees to complement the short yellows and long blues.
Cons: Sometimes the tee pads get run over by lawn mowers. Hole 16 floods after big rain. Could have some more woods challenges.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful walk through the park, fun in the winter, great course for beginners and pros alike!

6 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Really straight.

1    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: notyourfrog
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
6 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This park is very nicely groomed. The trimmed grass, nicely pruned trees (for the most part), and well-marked tees make this a pretty course. The hills and water in play on several of the holes add a nice element to the round, including a deceptively long, downhill drive.
Cons: There's not much variety to the layout of the holes. They are all basically straight. A slight hyzer or anhyzer from time to time is helpful, and elevation adds a bit to the course, but for the most part, it's extremely straight. The natural tees are less than desirable, as some of them have exposed roots, and none are even. Teeing off is always somewhat of an ankle-risk.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course, overall, but to be painfully honest, I wasn't overly thrilled. Granted, from what I have been told, it's the best course in the Richmond area, so I will play it again out of proximity, but it makes me miss Bayville in Virginia Beach.

6 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great City Course in old park

5+    6/1/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2009
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -dual tees, and three tees on 3 of the holes (1, 16, 18)
-great par 58 layout
-practice basket near billboard
-lots of benches on course
-short technical holes & hole you can rip and let it fly on (like 4 & 11)
-everyone you meet in the park is super nice, disc golfers & otherwise and many people may ask you what you're doing because they've never seen it before
Cons: -no tee signs (just distance markings on tee blocks)
-no cement tees. Bryan would easily be a dream with cement pads and one more pin position per hole.
-no bathrooms close to the course, nearest ones are port-a-pottys near the soccer fields
Other Thoughts: Bryan is a great course, and by far the best of the three major courses in the Richmond area. Very close to I-95 for quick access for those from out of town and just passing through.

It calls for every type and distance of shot, has some great water hazards, up hill, down hill winding through trees and rolling hills. The park itself offers a scenic walk.

There is room for a second spectacular course on the other side of Bryan Park in the woods, and I think that would be a great addition to have two great and vastly different courses in the same park.

Bryan Park is a must if you're in Richmond and care about disc golf to any degree. It is a challenging course, but not so challenging that you can't shoot under par if you're playing well. Fun for all skill levels and definitely worth hitting on a road trip. Stop in to Roy's Big Burger, north (left) out of the Park on Lakeside, 1/4 mile for some great local food.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Living Long and Large

1    6/30/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 412  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.2 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Very well-maintained large public park with long, gently-flowing hills and very large hardwoods scattered about. Bathrooms, water fountains, other activities available. Close to I95.

Practice basket. Two nine-hole loops. Easy-to-see baskets. Near water on several holes. Probably a good course for glo.
Dirt tees. Very few turning shots. Holes four and eleven cross fairways - maybe simply switching their tee positions would avoid this, and still leave long/interesting holes.
Other Thoughts:
Many opportunities to let it rip, as several of the fairways and baskets were fairly open, and long. From the blues, about 1/3rd of the holes were 450'+, topping out at #11 at 700'. Most holes will have some change of elevation - up, down, up-down, and down-up. Large trees will also come into play on every hole, but only #15 would be classified as a bit tight.

Online map made the course fairly easy to navigate - and necessary, too, as the tee markers are very low. Distance also available at tees.

Two throw-across-pond holes, but only need to clear 175'~200', so not too far. Couldn't find non-across-water options as suggested by the map.

Favourite hole: #14, 520'. Small woods to the left, scattered trees with long branches narrowing the fairway from the right. Up a small rise the first 1/3rd of the distance, then down a moderate slope the remainder of the way.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Bryan Park is Great for Visitors

2-4    7/1/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: atonalruss
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked, easy to find and navigate. Beautiful setting, long tees, open fairways that are great for all levels of play.
Cons: Lacks the challenge of wooded holes. Hole 16 is tough for those with short drives since the only two options are over a pond (with no elevation to the tee I lose discs, so I avoid this option) or a drive so ridiculously short you can use your putter.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. I've played for four years and found this course when visiting Richmond for a week. It is a stunningly beautiful and well maintained course. I play in the early hours of the morning (6 am) and there are very few people in the park at that time - mostly friendly dog walkers.
The course is very well marked and I was able to navigate it alone the first time I played - even without a map. Great for visitors to Richmond!
This is a great course for beginners or intermediate players who want to work on thier drives. Wide open tees give you the opportunity to let loose and see how far you can throw without much fear of trees. A gorgeous hole 11 is 700 feet and a very reasonable par 5 that can be regularly birdied by players who can drive for distance.
The only drawback is the lack of wooded areas. Most of the courses I've played weave in and out of the woods and trees create the greatest challenge. The lack of trees makes this a friendly course for beginners and kids, even though it is fairly long.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Fantastic Course

5+    5/20/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: JCorey
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well maintained, long, mostly-open winding course through one of Richmond's most beautiful parks.
Cons: The park can get crowded during peak hours, the long holes play a bit more slowly.
Other Thoughts: If you have an hour and a half to kill PLAY THIS COURSE. I played disc golf in Richmond for over a year and this is in my opinion the complete package. While it lacks the tight shots like Dorey Park or the history like Gillie's Creek it definitely is an amazing course.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great park setting

2-4    5/31/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: CMS8
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very scenic park, big old growth trees, moderate elevation, and a few holes where you can throw over water.
The baskets have blue and gold paint on the top spokes pointing the way to the next blue and gold tees; very helpful for first timers here.
Cons: Dirt tee pads, which is about my only complaint about Bryan Park.
Seems to get crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: Bryan Park should be renamed Squirrel Park for all the squirrels around holes 1-3 and 9-10.
My buddies and had a hard time finding a few tees the first time we played, so I highly recommend printing the map from this site and taking it with you the first time you play:
I'd give Bryan Park an extra half disc rating if they had concrete tee pads.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.