Mahwah, NJ
Campgaw Reservation - Green Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #3 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I love progress!!!

5+    12/21/2013   12/25/2013
Review By: DEG III
Played: 89  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signage exists now and is a huge improvement!!
I still strongly suggest a map if you've never played. Really fun course, great exercise!!
Cons: Need tee pads badly especially hole 1, it's close enough to the road that concrete shouldn't be an issue there, and it is always flooded in the winter because of the snow making and weather.
Other Thoughts: If you are used to playing the black/blue course this is a definite step down in difficulty. Also, be aware that the rocky terrain can bang your disc up quite a bit, even the greens around the baskets are very rocky.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hard but fun

1    10/20/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 20  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Really nice view on 16
-Holes are short, but challenging due to trees, elevation, and boulders
-Hole 17 is awesome..., it is so steep!
-It wasn't crowded
-A lot of parking
-nice baskets
Cons: - So many trees :(
- My dad lost a disc
- The tees are faded so it's hard to know where to throw from
- Lots of garbage on the course
- 15 was hard to navigate
Other Thoughts: This was good...

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

1    7/24/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: luckless_pedestrian
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful under the mature trees.

Elevation changes are not too extreme, except for 8, which is short enough that it's kind of fun.
Cons: Hole layouts are confusing. I missed one around 15-16-17 and had to go back to figure it out.

Too many fallen trees around 18 but I imagine that will be cleaned up.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely come back here when I'm in the area.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Green aint too mean

1    5/22/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Good shot variety
Interesting forest scenery
Interesting wildlife here and there
A fair course for beginners to average players
Cons:
Tees are mostly dirt
A little tricky to navigate in spots
No restrooms/water that I could see
Lotsa bugs (could be seasonal)
The ski run area has high grass that is VERY WET (again, likely seasonal)
Other Thoughts:
Tips:
Bring a map
When you arrive, park and head towards the ski lifts. When you see buildings, walk in front of them and go all the way to the left into the forest to find tee #1. This wasn't totally clear to me on the map(s).

Random Thoughts:
So obviously you need to read both the Green and Blue/Black reviews to know what you're getting out here although this is one case where the three courses really are quite different. To start, this was my first 'ski lift' course and I was really looking forward to seeing what that would be like. Overall I was not disappointed. Fortunately, this was a small ski lift so it was more attainable from a physical exertion standpoint. Having said that though, be prepared. This is a good 2-3 hour hike, and I said 'hike' back there, not walk. It's pretty steep and pretty rocky in places, so wear proper foot wear and take care where you step. As for the course, my first bit of advice would be, don't think you're going to play more than one course at a time. Despite the sharing of some fairways and baskets, it's really not realistic considering the distances involved with the Blue/Black courses. Just stick to the Green and you'll be ok. Unfortunately, there aren't any 'top of the world' shots on the Green course; the closest is #17 which is a fun long downhill shot, but you can always go back to the top of the hill and play those scenic ones after. The Green course is really quite fair from a par perspective. It does demand accurate throws of the variety that are mostly straight for the first half of the flight, but even nicking a tree doesn't mean you can't make par. I found that as long as you didn't string two bad throws together, par was very attainable. Navigation is pretty easy although there are a couple spots where finding the next tee did get tricky due to the distance between holes and the overlapping courses. Keep your head on a swivel and you'll see signs. Note to course maintainers: These navigation signs would be much easier to see in neon orange or something. Dull white makes them blend into the forest a bit. There was also a basket missing (I think #15 maybe?), and I mean just the basket part. The chains and pole were there. Odd and a first for me. =)

Bottom Line:
A really good beginner course that demands control over distance. It very much reminded me of the forest courses we have here on the West Coast. I can't imagine what it's like playing in the winter time but I would love to find out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Overrated average course with one signature hole.

1    6/24/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Signage, some holes had long and short tees. Discatcher baskets
Lots of wooded holes with some nice elevation changes. The rocks add a good bit of scenery as well.
Hole 17 is the clear signature hole with the basket extremely elevated throwing down to the basket.
Holes 8,13, 15,16, and 18 were enjoyable or memorable holes.
Cons: Serious lack of maintenance.
Signage is falling apart, the backs of the signs are totally different holes, so it could cause confusion.
tees were in rough shape with rocks and roots creating problems. Signature hole 17's tee pad was basically 4 feet by 4 feet because that was all that was usable. Tee 1 was a dirt tee, tee 3 was concrete, tee 4 was gravel.

Baskets are unlabled, all have velcro for numbers, but no numbers (probably due to the 2 layouts)

Grass was up to knee high on several holes. Holes 12-14 were nearly unplayable with out a spotter, which is a shame because 13 had the interesting boulder infront of the basket.

Lots of garbage scattered around baskets.

Set up on the site as 2 courses, this is not 2 courses. This is a seasonal course that changes layouts.
Other Thoughts: I read about the amazing views and holes that made you want to clear out your bag, but hole 17 was the only hole where I was tempted to throw a second disc. (holes 12-14 I was tempted not to throw at all) I was also hoping for 2 tees on each hole to play it twice, but there were not 2 tees and even if their were, I would not have played it again.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Family sliding

1    3/8/2009   3/8/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 73  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.6 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First off, I went today and it has been really warm lately and we just got about 10 inches of snow a week ago. So the majority of the course was either very slick or under water. I also played the winter version (as I was told by a local) because the ski lift and hill was still operating. Overall i think that it was a very nice course with some challenging holes (8 was straight up hill, 17 was straight down hill) and some nice easy holes (1 was about 120' and a straight shot, several were small dog legs). The majority of the holes were clearly marked with signage (displaying where the basket was and when you were down directions to the next tee) and you could easily figure out where the basket was. The layout was great. Hole 1 starts right after the ski lodge/barbeque pit (which was open when I went and smelled great) and the holes slowly bring you around the mountain (that's what the locals call it) and back down the other side where you parked to begin with.
Cons: Natural tee boxes that need rehab. All of the tee boxes need more fill, several i had to tee off on the side because of the holes. Some of the tees were not marked as to what hole they belonged to (7 and 15) this is confusing as the holes change in the summer. The numbers on several baskets, 8 and 11 included, were either worn off or nonexistant. This poses a problem because you can see several baskets from any given tee. There was an exceptionally long walk between holes 8 and 9, as well as 17 and 18(not bad if you want extra exercise but the walk up the hill for hole 8 and down the hill for 17 was enough for me).
Other Thoughts: Local players and skiers were very helpful in showing me where to start and how to navigate the course in general. Would definately like to go back when the ski lift is unoperational and play the summer version from the long tees. All in all a very nice course. I rated a 3 because that is what i feel the course deserves as when I played it.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.