Mahwah, NJ 
Campgaw Reservation - Green Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #3 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 No Walk in the Park

1    3/6/2011   3/7/2011
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 hole course which is a shorter version of Campgaw's "Mighty Gaw" layout, although it incorporates some of the same holes. Very technically challenging with terrain, elevation, trees and other obstacles which test your skills. Distances ranging from 200-350 feet make it manageable for most players. Tee boxes and signs are present at each hole, and there are benches/logs at many of the holes to rest. Baskets are all in good shape. Is appealing to both the advanced as well as the intermediate or recreational player.
Cons: Despite the presence of some "next tee" signs, navigation can be tricky in spots and pathways aren't always clearly defined. Crushed stone/dirt tee boxes are often uneven. Some of the signage consisting of temporary foam placards is in poor shape. Rough terrain prevents run up shots on most holes. Ammenities like trash cans and poles to hang your bag at each hole would be welcomed. Can be a muddy, icy, slushy mess depending on the season.
Other Thoughts: Don't be fooled by the shorter distances of the holes; the Campgaw layout is a grueling exercise in disc golf. The terrain is tough on a GOOD day; it can be absolutely brutal in bad weather. Twice I've played here in driving rain/ice and footing can be treacherous. The rocky surface and elevation make it essential you are prepared to play before entering the premises.

Trying to install cement tee pads or provide other amenities at each hole on a course like this is no doubt a major headache, as access up the mountain is awfully tough. Despite this, there has been talk of the Skylands Disc Golf Club trying to pursue these ambitious goals.

One can't objectively rate this course higher than the Mighty Gaw layout, as the distance, travel up the mountain (once instead of twice), and overall layout and level of challenge isn't quite as demanding. But Campgaw is a rugged, challenging course which is totally worth your while and can humble good players.


1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course to play

1    3/1/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tees are clear even though the rest of the course is covered in snow and ice, someone really cares about this course
-Awesome use of elevation and local landscape, accuracy is at a premium
-Used a wide variety of different shots
-Holes are short, but challenging due to trees, elevation, and boulders
-Hole 17 is my favorite hole of the course. The best opportunity to throw huge down hill bombs.
-Great cardio workout walking up the mountain
Cons: -I'm fine with playing on gravel tees (I prefer rubber) but some of the holes did not have obvious tee boxes which made them hard to spot for a first timer playing by themselves
-Not all the signs were in place. Also the signs are temporary. Would be nice to have permanent signs with next tee markers for all holes
-There are no trash cans on the course what-so-ever. The course is riddled with beer cans and food wrappers.
Other Thoughts: I have a great deal of fun playing this course. I mainly used my mids which was good for me as I could use the practice. I also found that the front nine was hard to navigate with out a map. The back nine flowed much better than the front. I am going to bring friends here and recommend it to others, as it is one of the best courses in New Jersey. I also have to come back and try the Mighty Gaw when it's set up, I'm really looking forward to that.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mighty Gaw's Little Brother

5+    11/27/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: toothyfish
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros and Cons of this course could be very subjective as this is not a typical DG course. Depending on what you like you may love or hate this course. So I will review this course, assuming you are an experienced player that wants a true test. This shorter layout is still difficult, but plays much shorter than the Mighty Gaw layout:

* a PREMIUM on accuracy
* short/long tees on several holes
* will require a large variety of shots and the ability to get out of trouble
* baskets are in great shape
* some spectacular views and amazing use of topography
* plenty of parking and the row closest to the woods is designated specifically for the disc golfers.
* Most of the holes avoid the main ski slope areas, which are known for very high, thick rough.
Cons: Some cons:
* tees are worn in some areas
* signage is not permanent, and has been known to be missing or damaged
* navigation is definately challenging, despite Next Tee signs
Other Thoughts: The Campgaw layout is a shorter version of the Mighty Gaw layout. Technically, they are not to separate courses, but one course with two layouts, depending on season. The Campgaw layout uses much of the Mighty Gaw layout, sometime breaking up a long hole into two shorter ones. This layout takes one up the hill, accross the top and down the other side toward the parking lot, rtather than looping back up. There is minimal reward for good drives, but serious punishment for bad drives. Most of the fairways are very rugged so prepare for alot of standing shots. And being off the fairway may mean settling for bogey to get back on to avoid triple bogey.

While I still wouldn't recommend this course for beginners, this shorter layout is a good way to introduce yourself to such a rugged type of course as it is not nearly as long. Plan on extra time, though.

Prepare for rugged terrain and dress appropriately. Wear hiking boots and be careful!

Because this is a course that is superimposed on a rugged landscape, clear definition of fairways and next tee isn't always obvious, so print out the map. There are "Next Tee" signs, but it's easy to get disoriented. There are several hiking trails that are utilized, but some of these trails are not part of the course and can lead you the wrong way.

There is plenty of parking. Walk from the lot, past the ski lodges at the bottom of the hill to the first tee. There will be a large sign on your way that will have the current layout posted, as the layout changes from the long Mighty Gaw (spring and fall) to the shorter Camp Gaw (up-over-down layout)

Both Campgaw (short) and Mighty Gaw (long) layouts are in place. Since many tees are shared but the hole numbers are different, check both sides of the sign, depending on which layout you are playing.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Camp Gaw Crazy

5+    6/8/2011   7/21/2010
Review By: FrankieDG
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 6/8/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With options to shoot from short or long tees on certain holes. This challenging wooded course has intense uphill holes, deceivingly mischievous down hill holes and doglegs left. Overall this is a fun, challenging, and physically demanding course.
Cons: What's keeping this course from a 5 star rating for me is the litter lining the course.

If you've never played the course before navigating it may at times be confusing.
Other Thoughts: Check for tics and please don't litter the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Mountain Horseshoe

5+    9/30/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A wonderful little mountain course that plays short, but with lots of trees, rocks and elevation on a majority of holes. You will need to shape your shots here, so I would not depend on your longest fastest discs. There are many birdie opps. on the shorter holes to reward an accurate drive, and enough trees off the fairways to make pars challenging for errant drives. The course is a workout as it works to the top of the slope on 1-9 and finally back down on 17-18. You are mostly in a quiet forest, but make sure you take a short walk toward the chairlifts near the 13th tee for a wonderful view (and a sneak preview of the drives you will have when the course is in "Mighty Gaw" configuration.
Cons: Teepads are gravel (all but one). They will one day be concrete and that will be nice. Fortunately, the holes are short enough, so I
don't need a run-up to get distance.

Other Thoughts: Bring bug repellant in the summer for ticks and Mosquitos. Bring durable plastic (terrain is very rocky).

I wish the Skylands Disc Club website listed what the current layout is - whether "Campgaw" or "Mighty Gaw" so you know what to expect. The novice or non-hiker may not enjoy the Mighty Gaw.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a sweet course!

2-4    9/19/2007   6/19/2009
Review By: waynewf
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What a beautiful course. This has some really cool holes with tough elevation changes. I recall one hole where your feet weren't enough and you had to get your hands dirty to climb t the next tee. This course is not for the faint of heart or the lazy! You will definately get a work out here.
Cons: This isn't the best marked course, so it's easy to get lost.
Also, in the summer, long pants may be a must as me and my two buddies all had at least 2 ticks and a number of scrapes.
Super long downhill hole + Long waist high grass = some serious problems finding discs, even on good throws.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this really is an awesome course. I feel bad that my "cons" look longer than my "pros"...but you definately have to be prepared for this course and know what to expect, otherwise you could have a miserable day. I brought one guy here for his first time ever playing disc golf and he absolutely loved it.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Family sliding

1    3/8/2009   3/8/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First off, I went today and it has been really warm lately and we just got about 10 inches of snow a week ago. So the majority of the course was either very slick or under water. I also played the winter version (as I was told by a local) because the ski lift and hill was still operating. Overall i think that it was a very nice course with some challenging holes (8 was straight up hill, 17 was straight down hill) and some nice easy holes (1 was about 120' and a straight shot, several were small dog legs). The majority of the holes were clearly marked with signage (displaying where the basket was and when you were down directions to the next tee) and you could easily figure out where the basket was. The layout was great. Hole 1 starts right after the ski lodge/barbeque pit (which was open when I went and smelled great) and the holes slowly bring you around the mountain (that's what the locals call it) and back down the other side where you parked to begin with.
Cons: Natural tee boxes that need rehab. All of the tee boxes need more fill, several i had to tee off on the side because of the holes. Some of the tees were not marked as to what hole they belonged to (7 and 15) this is confusing as the holes change in the summer. The numbers on several baskets, 8 and 11 included, were either worn off or nonexistant. This poses a problem because you can see several baskets from any given tee. There was an exceptionally long walk between holes 8 and 9, as well as 17 and 18(not bad if you want extra exercise but the walk up the hill for hole 8 and down the hill for 17 was enough for me).
Other Thoughts: Local players and skiers were very helpful in showing me where to start and how to navigate the course in general. Would definately like to go back when the ski lift is unoperational and play the summer version from the long tees. All in all a very nice course. I rated a 3 because that is what i feel the course deserves as when I played it.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 What a course!!!!!!!!!!!!

2-4    9/8/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: WOW! what a course! I played it twice and would drive there just to play it again. I was there during the Summer/Winter setup and found it a great challenge and a great course. The layout is huge and great. The holes are laid out in a great manner with signs everywhere to help you get around. The other people playing were great.

1, 2, 3, and even 4 are nice holes to get your blood flowing and give you come technical issues and some elevation changes. By 5 you start the ascent to the top. 5 gave us a choice to go fight or left and I found that nice. 6 and 7 will require some touch and patience. 8 is a monster. It is the steepest uphill drive I have ever seen or heard of. Plan your throw well. When you get to 9 you are nearly at the top and these next baskets get technical, through 16. 17 is one of my favorite all time throws. It is down a beautiful tunnel and the disc glides forever because it is a long downhill throw. Don't get off to one side, especially the right it will be hard to find your disc. 18 is a nice finish with some thick and large trees.

Wildlife is everywhere. You will leave this course a better player. Basket 17 was my favorite with its tunnel and long fairway it was a beautiful spot to throw from.
Cons: This course requires a lot of climbing and some of it is steep. Especially 8 and 17. It is long and therefore requires about 2 hours to play. To me that isn't a con to some it might be.
Other Thoughts: You have got to play this course. I have only played one other in Spokane Washington that I enjoyed this much. Bring plenty to drink!

Be careful on some baskets because they are very steep, 8 and 17 come to mind, so proper foot wear is a must.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing.

1    8/17/2008   8/18/2008
Review By: disc-o maniac
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: one of the best course layouts i have ever played. even though it is heavily wooded there is really no way you can lose a disc. Since this course requires such a variety of shot selection, you will leave this course a better disc golfer. also an amazing setting with occasional deer frolicing around holes. Amazing course, a must for any disc golfer
Cons: not much besides a long walk and lack of amenities so bring liquids and lunch. some holes are fairly treacherous so be careful and you'll have a good time.
Other Thoughts: this course has two different layouts. i played the "mighty gaw" layout but because of how amazing it was, i will definatly come back for the other layout

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Mighty gasp of air!

1    5/20/2008   5/20/2008
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2008
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice 18 holer with a lot of elevation and woods. It played very tough, but the holes were well marked, kudos to whoever made the signs. Got my workout in! Signature 17th (winter) really took my breath away.
Cons: The paths were a little slippery, and I couldn't see the baskets for the summer layout, not aware if it's up yet or not. Otherwise, I had no problem with Campgaw.
Other Thoughts: I would love to be back there later in the summer to play the other layout. From what I've heard, 18 is a killer hole.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.