Disc Golf Store
Largo, FL 
Taylor Park Share
Uploaded By: 9ballwizzz Hole #14 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not what I was expecting

1    3/18/2014   3/19/2014
Review By: blueblur
Played: 76  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 26.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A variety of shots. Course has great tee sign and 2 pads and alternate pin positions on some of the holes. Great baskets and good signs that show you to the next tee. Course plays on the side of a lake, so the scenery is nice too.
Cons: Some of the holes are a bit too close together. This could be dangerous in a shotgun start tournament with players on every hole. Three or four of the holes play next to a walking path with exercise stations. I had to wait for seven minutes for 2 ladies to finish their exercise station just behind the basket to throw safely. Having baskets near OB is a great way to add additional challenge to a hole. However, when the basket is only 5 feet from OB, about the worst that can happen is a circle 3. Two almost identical holes with the basket right next to OB. There are several holes with extremely narrow fairways through lots of trees. This is not very interesting course design in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: Would be a better 12 hole course than 18 because you could get away from walking paths and spread the holes out a bit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Next Tee

1    1/17/2014   1/23/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 204  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Generally, I'm not too concerned with the amenities of a course, as long as they are good enough to keep me playing and not wandering the wilderness. At Taylor Park, they stand out though. When I remember this course in the future, it won't be a signature hole that pops into my head. It will be those incredible tee signs. Those massive bag racks. More than anything, it might be those next-tee signs, with that font and those big helpful letters making sure I get to where I need to go.

The course flows really well. I jumped from hole to hole and didn't realize till near the end just how little space is occupied. Part of this is because of the flow and navigation but much of the credit has to go to the design. It's just a really impressive use of space. Squeezing in two fairways down that narrow stretch between the lake and the edge of the park would never have occurred to me. Yet it mostly works.

There are a few cool shots, especially 12, which has that small downhill through a a narrow tunnel which opens up for most of the fairway with the pin by the water. The placements the put the basket by the water were the best for me, and though all of the holes have several different spots for the target, 12 and 15 were there on the day I was. Not coincidentally, they were my favorite holes.

It's a well-appointed, intermediate-level course that, thanks to excellent navigation and flow, can be played quickly, although it may slow down more than most if it's busy.
Cons:
The limited space is, well, limiting. As the course goes down and back, parallel to the lake, it practically creates shared fairways for a number of holes. With a fence on side and lake on the other, there isn't really enough width to support two side-by-side fairways. Essentially it limits all of these holes to very straight shots or risky endeavors. It's mostly fine for forehanders like myself, but RHBH players will unfortunately have OB on their left for most of the course. That's not the major issue though. When the course is busy, players will often be in the firing range for players going the opposite way.

That's not the only area which is cramped enough to create a danger zone. The 18 and 3 pins essentially share a green. This is especially troublesome as the third tee is blind and close enough to make a run at the pin. (It's also the most likely opportunity for a black ace that I've seen.)

More importantly, or maybe less, there isn't much that will challenge an advanced player. The holes aren't very long, and they are all fairly open, so the better player may not find much to like here. At the same time, beginners may struggle with the OB and lose discs. So the amount of players that the course is suited for is fairly small. Now, I do fall into that intermediate category, but I recognize that many others will be not good enough or too good to fully enjoy it.

I wouldn't say that any of the holes here are truly bad(well, maybe 1). Just cramped. But there aren't any holes that I would describe as memorable either. It's a solid but unspectacular course with some nice obstacles but nothing approaching a signature hole. Given the acreage it must sit on, it's actually quite the achievement.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my round here and would definitely recommend it for anyone of a similar skill level. It's not too far from a few other courses and it's worth a shot if you're in the area. It's just not a get-out-there-now-and-play-it recommendation.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not a sole in sight

1    11/15/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: redsealking
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was the first course I played when visiting Florida.

First thing I noticed was a shoe cleaning device like you would see at a ball golf course, which blew my mind.
-Concrete pads are always a plus.
-Multiple pin locations offer a variety of looks for each hole.
-Didn't see a single piece of trash the whole round
Cons: -Not every basket was obvious from tee. There were a few holes where I could see more than one basket from the tee, and it took a bit to figure out the tee signs and correlate them with pin placement.
-There was not another golfer in the whole park when I played, but it was apparent that a lot of the holes were very close together and could get dangerous with more people of varying skill levels crowding the course.
Other Thoughts: First introduction to Florida golf, and was impressed by some amenities that I will be applying to my home courses in Texas.
**On hole 2 (I think), I could see a basket right up the middle through a tight gap. I pured a shot right up the gap, leaving myself a 20 foot putt. Walking up the fairway to my lie, I stumbled upon what was the basket I was supposed to be playing to. Long story short....pay attention to the signs!!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Meh...

1    10/11/2011   3/1/2012
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Taylor Park is an interesting little course. It is very new so all equipment is in good condition. Navigation is pretty straightforward as most of the course is situated alongside a small lake. The lake is present but rarely comes into play, and when it does, it was not overbearing. There are no "forced-carries" over water here. The location of the course is very tranquil.

Taylor Park had some of the coolest signs I have ever seen. Distances seemed to be pretty accurate. The pictures are obviously not to scale, but I thought they accurately depicted each hole. Benches and bag hangers are available throughout. Whoever installed this course and those who funded it did not skimp on the amenities.
Cons: The hole distance was a little redundant. While there are a couple of longer holes, most of the holes are in the upper 200s - lower 300s. Additionally, the course is fairly open, so if you prefer to throw a gentle hyzer like me, you can do it over and over again. The course was not really challenging.

There are a number of other park users. First, there are a lot of walkers and families that utilize the trails of the park. Watch out for errant children. Secondly, there was a school cross-country team practicing in the park. I thought they might stick to the trails, but they simply all ran right through the course…and began stretching on the fairway of the hole closest to the main road from which you enter the park. I tried waiting, and most of them looked at me like I was strange. Sorry, but you are on a disc golf course. And Cross Country must be much bigger in Florida than in Tennessee because there were no less than 78 kids.

The water seemed to be used as an afterthought. The course did not incorporate it very well at all. If you had a terrible throw, then perhaps you could lose a disc. However, the fact that a lake is beside you does nothing to make you worry about your shot. I wish this attribute had been used better in the design.
Other Thoughts: I was definitely disappointed with Taylor Park. It had some pretty solid ratings, but simply didn't live up to its current rating. In my opinion, this is a typical course and nothing more. I am bumping up my rating slightly because of the bag holders, signage and benches, but I simply cannot go farther than a 3.0. When I was there the grass was getting high. All in all, it just wasn't a challenging or enjoyable round. I am definitely glad that I played it, since I was in the area, but I wouldn't go out of my way to return.

This is a new course that is worth playing if you are in Tampa/St. Petersburg and have already played Cliff Stephens and Tocobaga. If you are fairly new to the game, then I would actually suggest you play this course instead of those 2, but for the seasoned disc golfer (which I consider myself "average") there is no real challenge at Taylor Park. It has the potential to become a really nice facility with ample amenities already in place, but the course is just average.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/1/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 65  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging without getting ridiculous. There are a few holes that really challenge you to take the right line or else face a tough par. This is mostly due to trees in the fairway and thick undergrowth in difficult places that tend to block alleys to the pin. This is particularly true on hole 1.

The rest of the holes are open enough to have multiple lines to the pin. Yet there are just enough trees to knock you don't if you aren't careful.

The water is a challenge on several holes (8, 11, 13, & 15).

Some elevation, unusual for this area of the country.

Decent tee pads, baskets are in very good condition.

C.R. Willey does a great job keeping this course well maintained.

Plenty of people to catch around with and very friendly. Also doubles play during the week.

Good mix of long and short as well as alternate pin placement that mix things up a bit.

Good facilities including bathrooms, pavilions, and play areas.
Cons: Gators in that lake are HUGE! Don't get in there. So this makes disc retrieval a nightmare.

Water is always on the left. There is no way to fix this but is somewhat of a con in my book.

Walking path with lots and lots of walkers can be aggravating. Just when the path opens up for you to take a shot someone goes by walking the other way and you have to wait another 5 minutes. This can take some time if you are unlucky.

You have to drive all the way around the park at a snails pace before you get to disc golf parking. But, see below
Other Thoughts: This is a well designed course that will challenge you. You would think there are enough easy holes on this course to walk away significantly under par but this course always finds a way to try to get my closer to and back over par if I am not careful.

You can park on a back street by driving past the park on 8th AVE SW, going past the lake and making a left on the other side of the park (onto 18th or 20th St SW and parking on the grassy side of the road to the left right by the course parking lot.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and different

1    3/7/2006   2/7/2010
Review By: ncee
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice treat after playing in the North during this time of year.
Cons: When we played, there was a LOT of over growth. We lost 2 frisbee that day, but still had fun.
Other Thoughts: Another course that was fun to play, and nice that we didn't have to shovel or plow through feet of snow, and it was free. It doesn't get much better then that.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 birdie fest

2-4    2/23/2009   2/24/2009
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 20.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park around a large lake. The course is quite a bit different than the other courses in the area. Fun holes that can all be reached from the tee. There is water, but you will most likely not come anywhere close to it if you are of the advanced or higher level.
Cons: Park is very crowded, and you have to wait on many of the tees or even skip holes because it gets so crowded. Safety is an issue to as people on the walking trail could easily be hit by errant throws. The course is nice, but the holes are very packed together. Many holes where you are very close if not on another fairway.
Other Thoughts: I played here twice because it was so crowded the first day that we played. The second round was much better, but we still had to let a few joggers pass by. I enjoyed the course and the park. Also there is a nice sized alligator that sits on the bank of the left pond as you drive into the park. A nice course to compliment the rest of the Tampa area courses. I can't complain as I birdied 9 of the 18 holes :)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a visit

1    5/28/2006   5/28/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2011
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very attractive park. Tall pines serve as a canopy and wind coming off the lake keeps things fairly cool.

Designer has done a very good job squeezing quality holes into a very small space.

Minimal schule, easy to navigate, high fun factor, appeals to a broad range of skill levels, nice eye candy on the jogging trail.
Cons: Several holes are tight on the jogging trail and players must wait to throw at times.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Lakeside Course in Largo

2-4    3/12/2008   9/11/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting, overall consistency of holes
Cons: Most of the back 9 plays along a well used walking trail; thus you often have to be very patient on the tee on these holes, or just be prepared to skip a couple.
Other Thoughts: Disc golfers on the Gulf side of Tampa Bay have yet another cool course to play. Taylor Lake is a nice, straightforward disc golf course. Like all the parks in Pinellas County, it is exceptionally well maintained, and like many Florida courses, the plentiful trees, thick salt bush, and nice water views make up for the lack of elevation.

Unlike Cliff Stephens or Tocobaga, Taylor Lake presents a more typical disc golf experience, but with the typical lush Florida landscape. Definitely a standard par 54 course, Taylor Lake is neither woods nor open on most holes; instead most are a combination. The trees are present, but rarely thick. The salt bush thickets can eat your disc, but not often. Finally, only one hole plays over the water, but the lake provides a nice view for the whole round. Taylor Lake is pretty straighforward, no dog legs or even really tough fades out here, but the course does have a few reasonably long holes, so that only the longest drivers will be putting with their second shot. The concrete teepads and nice wooden signs are a plus. The course lacks any truly distinctive holes or features, but instead is solid throughout, with reasonable but challenging holes, a good environment, and decent amenities.

In such a disc golf rich environment, Taylor Lake simply makes the rich richer. The area has something for every level of player, with courses perfect for beginners, casual players, and even pros. Taylor Lake's balance should make it a good course for players of all skill levels, and you should check it out if you get the chance.

Favorite Hole - #7 - Plays into only grove of oaks on course, forming a nice alley to shoot up a small incline, with view of lake to the right.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.