Largo, FL
Taylor Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #14 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Worth the Stop

1    12/8/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: The Drake
Played: 84  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 10.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As many have alluded to in their reviews probably the thing that stands out most about this course is its professional subtleties. Every hole has great benches with bag holders. The tee signs are very well done, giving accurate flight patterns and distances for each of the pin placements. Every few holes they have also installed shoe cleaners, something I've never seen on another disc golf course before. There are also brooms available on most tee pads.

In terms of course play each hole has multiple pin positions to increase variety of play. Not being local I don't know how often these are changed but given the general appearance of the course I would assume pretty frequently. Each hole, with the exception of the first has very clearly defined routes/pathways to the pin making for fair scoring opportunities.

The park in general is very nice and clean with other activities available for the non disc golfer. Clean bathrooms are located at the beginning of the course.
Cons: For all of the little extras added to make this course appealing for a "professional" feel unfortunately, at least for me, the challenge was not there. Hole 1 nearly scared me away from the course because of the lack of a defined fairway but fortunately the remainder of the course did not have that same flaw.

The first thing I noticed when I stepped up to the first tee pad was there was a group of golfers lining up their 2nd shots for hole 18 within 5 ft of the pad. Many of the holes are in very close proximity so if you're playing on a busy day be sure to watch out for errant drives.

The difficulty of the holes did leave something to be desired from a "pro" level of play. Many of the holes did play very similarly and I found myself throwing the same shot from the tee. There's not a lot of distance on the course with the exception of 10, 15, and 18. Even with these for average pro players every pin is reachable.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course plays as a 3.0 for me, an average course for scoring purposes, but like other before me the professional feel of a course with all the little amenities give it that something extra to boost it to a 3.5. That alone is worth making the stop to play this course.

Great course for a beginner up to intermediate level players, OK course for advanced and beyond.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Decent

1    12/24/2013   12/24/2013
Review By: Murderous Monkey
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -multiple pin positions
-a couple holes have short and long pads
-shoe scrubbers, brooms, and concrete tees
-tee signs are informative/nice looking
-varied distances
-benches and bag holders
-Looked like 2 practice baskets
-for the most part, easy to get to next hole
-clean bathrooms
-"active" pins I believe they're called. Accurately denote which position the basket is in. Neat addition.
Cons: -many baskets in view of some tees
-a couple holes backtrack on each other, which when busy could be dangerous
-not necessarily a "con" but the lake is on the left which could easily eat some discs
-no holes to air out
-lots of non golfing individuals to watch for
-long drive into the lot, saw some locals park on a residential area which is much closer than "main" entrance. Would be nice if it were marked
Other Thoughts: Decent course, with nice extras. The locals I encountered were nice, helpful, and allowed me to play through. "Unfortunately" I didn't see any gators. Nice course, definitely have to watch out for other people, both golfers and non. I'd recommend if you're in the area.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful course

2-4    11/19/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 50  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 33.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park. Artistic signs (on both short and long tees, with correct distance to the various pin placements.) Clean park, with restrooms.
Cons: As this is a multi use park, non disc golfers are frequently nearby. Several of the holes are parallel with the main walking path, which aggravates this problem.

The course is tightly packed into the available space, meaning that fairways are adjacent to each other (have to watch out for other golfers throws.)

Baskets do not have the hole number on them. Coupled with the closely knit other holes, it is sometimes possible to mis-identify which basket is appropriate for the hole you are on.

Lake hazard on several holes (and the lake has large alligators, so it is wise to avoid at all costs.)

No drop box for recovered lost discs.
Other Thoughts: While the tee signs are beautifully done, for a first timer on the course, I really preferred the photos as done at NE Coachman.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Taylor Park Review

1    10/23/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: dano3
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Taylor Park is beautiful. The Parking is plentiful and the course is clean. There are plenty of signs leading the way to the next hole. Great pin placement with options for multiple pins.
Cons: several holes follow property boundary of homes. No Camping
Other Thoughts: Locals are very friendly. Unlike other Florida courses I played on my vacation.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Course

2-4    8/16/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: Alan Hause
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The folks that run the local doubles are the ones to thank for making the course nice.They used their own funds for tee signs and other improvements.
Cons: One hole crosses walk path for park patrons...sometimes have to wait on the traffic.
Other Thoughts: Great flow well layed out and the signage is pretty friggn nice!The local doubles action is very friendly,if you are in town on tuesdays or sundays get out there and join them.Great people.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/25/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: zeppelin
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Taylor Lake Park has a scenic location and a well planned layout that is just challenging enough to be fun. The main natural hazard is a large lake with gators, but a paved walkway also crosses the course fairways in several spots. The tee signs are excellent, the benches and restrooms are nice, and the directional signs are well-placed for newcomers. The course is located on the west side of the lake, by the last parking lot.
Cons: Part of the course is in low lying areas which may be flooded by rain.
Other Thoughts: Another reason for disc golfer envy across the bay. Well done!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Above average, but a little monotonous.

1    1/3/2010   1/7/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice dual concrete tees. They are in good shape. There were no issues with affecting my confidence in my plant foot. I always view concrete tees as a necessity.

2) Signs have hole #, distance and a general map (layout of the hole but no obstacles shown). This is always a benefit to a first timer.

3) Chainstar baskets are in good condition and they catch very well.

4) Turf and grounds are in excellent condition. The park is well maintained and the care of the course and park are obvious.

5) This course is very beginner friendly from multiple standpoints. It is mostly open with only spotty tree placements. There are short tees available on many holes. I always can appreciate a course that can appease the likes of beginners all the way up to professionals.

6) This course although fairly open has a lot of obstacles fo you to avoid. There are lots of mature trees with sprawling canopies. There are some lower palmettos shrubs on a few holes that can give you an obstalce to avoid when your disc finishes up in the fairway.

7) Diversity on this course is average. There is water to throw out over on a few holes, some tighter holes with small gaps, some more open holes with well placed baskets that incorporate plenty of trees into your shot selection.

8) Nice practice basket are. It is about 50-75' around which is always nice to give a bunch of people a chance to warm up at the same time.

9) Benches around the first tee and a kiosk helps to welcome you to the course. There are also benches scattered through the course in different picnic areas. I would assume in season and on nice days these shelters house a lot of pople so those benches may or may not be in use. Plenty of shelters on the course too even if they arent intended for the disc golfers, they are more for the picnicers.

10) Alternate pins are available on all holes (I believe). I always like to see a course that can move baskets to provide a slightly different course from time to time.

11) The locals were super nice. I got there right as a league was going to begin and they let me go in front of the shotgun. Then when I was on hole #11 and they were headed out to the course the told me I should join up. They didnt know I was busy course whoring and wanted to still get to Cliff Stephens, North East Coachman, and Gregg Paas. In the end I did make it to all of them but would not have if I played along with their league.
Cons: 1) Course is a little monotonous. The holes are well designed in the tall mature wooded area of the park but they are a little too similar in my mind. There isn't enough variety because 16 of the 18 holes are in the same wooded area of the park. The only 2 holes that are a little different from the rest are holes #1 and 2.

2) The water is only really in play on a couple holes. Rather than running the holes all lengthwise up one sie and back the other I would have put a couple of doglegs and a couple that had baskets tucked closer to the water.

3) Benches are in the park but not always associated with the teeboxes of the disc golf course.

4) Course is simply too flat. It has virtually no elevation change from hole to hole or during the holes. This leads to a little but of monotony too.

5) Walkpath is in danger on a few holes. I always hate to see paths that go right through the area that beginners might throw. They always tend to be up the left side of the disc golf hole where beginners have the tendency to miss their shots.

6) There are a few exercise areas in play and also a playground. These are generally unacceptable in my opinion, as it will only contribute to too many people disagreeing with the multiple use areas including disc golf. When properly designed these intersections of use can be avoided.

7) Signs are a little outdated and could use updating.
Other Thoughts: This was a pretty good course in the end. I do think it would be a little monotonous overtime without playing different tees and different basket locations. I would certainly play it if I was in the area, but day after day it might get a little old to me. I still think it has enough assets to be a fun course. I think it would be a much better doubles course than singles because you can really gun for the birdies and try you rbest to hit the tightest gaps.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A nice day at the Park

5+    9/5/2009   11/23/2009
Review By: Greenleaf
Played: 28  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very beautiful with the lake and scenery. Wide open shots and narrow ones. A very creative couse design. Public restrooms.
Cons: Lots of pedestrian traffic that can really hold up your game, it gets really busy on weekends.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A lot of Fun and Technically Challenging

1    8/11/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was just plain fun!!! Not really long overall, although a few holes had some length. Most holes were around 300' but technical. A lot of trees to navigate around. Water comes into play on about 4 hole and it was always to the left of the tees. I used several different shots to play the course. Multiple hole placements on each hole

Nice concrete teepads, long enough to get your throw out the box well. Most holes had a pro and novice teepad. Signage was accurate but vague. Very clean park, had cans scattered about to help it stay that way. Very well groomed course. Bathrooms at hole #17. Practice hole for putting next to parking. Signs to direct you to next teepad. Excellent flow!!!

People I encountered, golfers and non, were very friendly. Doubles on Tues. @ 6 and Singles Tourney on Sunday mornings.
Cons: I really don't set out to find faults in a course unless they are glaring, so this course doesn't have really any. If I had to find any faults, it would be:
1) Waiting for other park users to pass on the paths (which wasn't bad at all).
2) Could use another restroom around hole #9
3) A Pro-Shop to replace discs lost in the drink and to provide drinks when it is hot
4) Not much elevation change
5) Upgraded hole signage that gave a better visualization of the hole and which placement
These faults are nominal at best and if they were "fixed" this would be a 4.5 course easily
Other Thoughts: Has everything needed to keep you coming back!! A wonderful experience regardless of your skill level

I met a lot of good friends at this course while living in Seminole. The guys are just great and we played at a lot of other courses together. So thanks to the crew there for making me welcome and part of the crew (Mark, C.R., Bill, etc)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/22/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: drewzer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice course design. a variety of shots needed. at least half the course is birdie-able. nice park setting.
Cons: pedestrian traffic can slow the round a bit(back nine mainly).
Other Thoughts: I nick-named this course " pinehurst", for obvious reasons. I consider the pines great equalizers. a challenge for all skill levels.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.