Largo, FL 
Taylor Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #10 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 222ft.   3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Beautiful Course

2-4    9/11/2016   8/10/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 73  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (4.057 Rating) Generally regarded as one better courses in the Tampa Bay Region.
- CHARACTER - I've never seen a course with such an amazing array disc golf comfort items. There's a shelter with a bunch of picnic tables. There's seating at every hole. Most of the tees are shaded. There's the most amazing hole signage I've ever seen (64 courses played as of revision) There's an amazing course map at the parking area and (2) practice baskets! Who does that! There are trash cans at several tees. There's probably about 50 total pin placements and the tee signs have pin location pegs. There are brooms at the holes that have sand or pine needle issues. Finally, there are shoe brushes at a couple of holes that have a tendency to track a bit of mud.
- TEE PADS - They are all concrete and are about 10-12 feet long, slightly above average in my opinion. There are also several pro pads.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds are mowed weekly. I've played a handful of rounds here and never saw the grass higher than 6 inches. Despite the heavy use, trash was in check.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is low with a few notable exceptions. The water on holes 9 and 11 claim a lot of discs. The tree canopy is mostly pine and mixed deciduous trees with very few disc robbing palms in play.
- SHOT SELECTION - I found the shot selection to be above average. Most seasoned players will be satisfied. The shots need to be fairly accurate to avoid moderately spaced trees. I personally play about half and half backhand to flicks and mix in an overhead shot at a couple pin placements. Most basket placements dictate a certain ideal angle to attack from. Hole distances vary significantly despite all 3's (216-470 feet from duel/pro tees)
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves are slightly above average of what you'd expect to see on your average 18 hole course. There are several holes with water elements in play. There's one dog leg (#3). There's a few moderate tunnel shots, hole 12 specifically stands out in this regards . A bunch of holes weave threw a pine canopy and are with marginal tight lines. only one hole is a gimme in all basket positions (#8). There are a few blind baskets. The longest holes will challenge advanced players to make par, being at well over 400 feet at a handful of basket placements
- NATURAL BEAUTY - In my opinion, Taylor is the most beautiful course to walk in the entire State of Florida. (34 Florida courses played as of this revision)
- EVENTS - As of this revision, I am aware of handicap singles every Sunday and it is very welcoming to newcomers. 9:30 am start and cost is $5.25. I've played it once and there was over 50 players. The course also hosts a huge ace race once a year with hundreds of competitors.
Cons: - SLOWER PLAY - Lots of walkers in the park, you will likely have to wait a few times for safety reasons. In addition, in the few times I've been here, there's always been numerous groups playing. Be safe, don't throw till a group clears.
- NAVIGATION - Not the easiest I've seen on a first time through. I personally got turned around a few times. But as long as you have a picture of the course map you'll figure it out.
- LAYOUT FLOW - below average. The course is a tight fit and has a couple of double back spots due to the multitude of pin placements. However, I don't think any holes require a walk much over a two hundred feet between basket and next tee. there are several opportunities to skip groups of holes if needed.
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is flat for even Florida standards. no more than 15' elevation change throughout the entire course layout.
- LOCATION - The course is quite the hike from the freeway and the course parking is tucked way back into the park. Keep driving all the way to the end.
- GATORS - Do not go into the water for your disc on 9 and 11. The water here is prime gator habitat. A 10 footer was recently relocated out of the park.
Other Thoughts: Disc golfers visiting the Tampa Bay area need to add this course to their wishlist. A touch less challenging and less unique than area courses Cliff Stevens and Picnic, but more fun loving, disc comforting and beautiful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Worth the Trip

1    12/26/2015   12/26/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
This review was updated on 1/13/2016
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: When building a disc golf course the Taylor Park Tee signs would be a perfect role model. This course demands accurate, not distance off the tee and when the wind is whipping around. it changes holes dramatically, especially the holes near the lake
Cons: It can be a tad confusing what basket to throw at on number 2 (18 hole basket is on the right). Cons are nitpicking really
Other Thoughts: Playing a course for the first time and not getting lost and actually concentrating on your game and appreciating the course is always a pleasure. Hey look 5 losers posted that my review isn't helpful

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Almost better than Cliff

1    2/18/2015   2/24/2015
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 72  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is very well maintained. Everything is great from the signs to the super long tee pads and nice baskets.
- Course has a nice flow and first timers will not have to worry about getting lost
- No holes were too long; most were around 250, which is a nice length for amateurs
- Just enough trees and water to make it hard but not frustrating
- Good variety of tighter and open holes
- Tee pads have shoe cleaners, bag hangers and benches, which makes the course feel like a Selah Ranch
- There was a warning of disc golf in the area and that always is a good sign
- Nice people to ask just in case you couldn't find a certain hole
- There was a great shaded practice area with two practice baskets
- Two tees per hole, so pros and ams can play
Cons: - Many baskets in view of some tees
- A couple holes backtrack on each other, which when busy could be a problem with many discs flying around
- No holes to really air out and chuck it as far as you can
- Lots of non golfing pedestrians to watch for
- The park was kind of hard to get into, you had to snake all the way around the park to the entrance and go on this side road
Other Thoughts: It is an interesting course with a couple of nice additions. I didn't see any alligators, and I came here thinking I would see one. Definitely have to watch out for other people, both golfers and non. Come here if you are in the area because this is a nice solid course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 johnny4put

1    10/22/2014   10/26/2014
Review By: johnny4put
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Well groomed. Nice signage. Concrete tees. Very easy to navagate.
Cons: Cant think of any.
Other Thoughts: I would play it again in a heartbeat. It was my favorite course while visiting the Tampa area. Loved it.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Tests every shot in disc golf

1    10/17/2014   10/18/2014
Review By: noscope
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1. Has different hole locations
2. Tests every type of shot in disc golf
3. Has some holes that have tight fairways and others where you can straight up bomb it.
Cons: 1. You can lose your disc in the water on a few holes if you're not safe but that's technically a challenge not a con
2. Like others have stated the course gets a little tight as you go to the last 5 holes
Other Thoughts: Course is really awesome and is right by a huge lake which is pretty when you go out to play.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic!

1    10/11/2013   10/20/2013
Review By: JCone
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of different shot. At a well organized park. Lots of different views. Very clean. Bathrooms.
Cons: If I have any its that there are some shots where there doesn't appear to be any traditional lines.
Other Thoughts: Great Course, came upon it by accident. Course deserves more exposure. Seems they have a very active club.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Touch of Class

1    6/14/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * The course is very well taken care of. Everything is top notch from the signs to the pads and baskets.
* Course flows smoothly and first time players can find their way easily.
* Variety of distance ranges although no truly long holes.
* Just enough trees and water to make it interesting without being too penal.
* Good variety of in the woods contrasting with near the lake shots.
* Tee pads have shoe cleaners, bag hangers and benches. Everything feels high class.
* Signs present warning of disc golf in the area always helpful.
* Locals were very friendly and the neighborhood seems nice.
* Variety of other activities available as well.
Cons: * If you don't like throwing near walkers, then be careful, because there are plenty on the path by the water. They seemed to be pretty aware, and like anything else, just don't throw if there are people there.
* No real bomber holes, so if you have a big arm, you might not use it much here. On the other hand, great for those of us who throw 300 to 350.
* All in all, a wonderful course.
Other Thoughts: Taylor park is a gorgeous course beside a very fishy lake. I saw many people fishing and walking,and it seems like a nice place to spend a day. The course signage is just spot on. And, the little things, especially what I mentioned around the tees, really make this park a treat. I wish i lived a bit closer, because I would play this often. This lovely place was a real pleasure to play!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 If You Like Disc Golf and Fishing...

2-4    6/14/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: thrembo
Played: 114  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 41.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you like disc golf and fishing, this may be the perfect course for you. There is a nice big lake that looked and smelled very clean. It comes into play a little bit on the dg course, but several people were fishing it, and I heard its a good spot to drop a line.

Speaking of clean, the whole park was very clean.

Mature trees abound, and the course makes good usage of them.

The course has a nice flow to it, and easy navigation.

Multiple pin placements, combined with excelent sinage enhance the overall experiance.

Very friendly locals.
Cons: The cons are minor.

There is a hiking trail that runs through part of the course. It seemed like most of the non-dgers were aware of the course though, and I noticed several "Warnig, Disc Golf" type signs scattered about the course. Still, care must be taken to avoid other park users.

More of a warning than a con: The speed limit is 15mph on the road that goes around the lake to the course, and is enforced by some nasty speed bumps and the local police dept.
Other Thoughts: This is a very charming course, and a must play in the greater Tampa area. Its somewhat short and technical in nature, but you'll apreciate all that shade in the summer time.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/15/2013   10/19/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 113  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is located in a beautiful Park
-Alternating Pin positions, some tees have multiple tees. Pins are consistently rotating.
-Nice balance for left and right throwers. They can rotate the baskets, flip the shots and still maintain a nice balance for throwers.
-Course Map at the start, as well as a practice/warm up area with two baskets and distance markers. (e.g 30ft) There are also benches in the practice area as well as a picnic shelter.
-Each tee has the whole package: Concrete Tee's, Bag hooks, Benches, and great tee signs.
-Taylor Park gets a solid A+ for their Tee signs. Very attractive and ornate tee maps at both the long and short tees, pin locations, with distance, pin position marker. Plus a bonus for placing huge yellow signs around the park that warn of Flying Discs.
-Two raised baskets. #7 and #15. (They may or may not be in play, depending on the basket position setup)
-Bathrooms & Shelters located at the start on the course ( Bathroom is located near the parking lot, but on the opposite side of the shelter near basket 17. You won't get near it again until you finish)
-Each fairway is open enough to allow a person to choose their lines, but there are enough trees that will require you to hit the gaps strategically.
-Beginners can play here with no problem, as well as professionals. It's primarily the longer holes that have the multiple tee-pads. The course gives stronger arms a chance at the long distance shots, while still providing a fun experience to the novice. It's very well balanced.
-Great fun factor
-Course navigation is straight out and back. It plays out and back to the parking lot.
FWIW
-located in a park with a number of activities and walking trails.
Cons: -You are still subject to course interactions with other park goers and park activities. Congestion can be a factor here. You are still reminded to look before you throw. Though the course is away from other activities, it is not segregated from the rest of the park.
-Some fairways play real close to some houses and their fence lines, pay attention when you throw.
-Walking paths come into play on certain parts of the course, and you may find yourself sharing the playing field with other park users.
-Though there are signs, some of the transitions may have you looking around for the next hole. (First time issue only)
Tip: It's easy to skip 11, don't miss it.
Other Thoughts: Taylor Park is a beautiful course that is located in a very nice park. It's full of well-built and attractive amenities. The layout will have the thrower working lines around trees and down pathways. I think the fun factor is equal to the challenge. It's definitely a fun course to play, and it didn't take long before it was added to my favorites list. Everyone that plays here, should come away with a great experience. The only real issue I see is that the park traffic could become an obstacle. Even when I played here, I found that I was working around park traffic. This course should be added to the list of courses to play in the Tampa/Clearwater area.
It's a park, so no special footwear or protective clothing necessary here. You'll pass plenty of restaurants and gas stations on the way here. It's Florida, so bringing liquids should be a norm. You will want to give yourself some extra time to get here. Traffic from 275 is hectic and can be slow moving. It's not easily accessed, but is well worth the trip. Taylor Park will not disappoint!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Much improved...

2-4    8/12/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: v0nn3gut
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has, by far, the best signs I've ever seen. They have clearly put in a lot of work and it shows. Little touches like shoe cleaners and mini-brooms at some tees make you feel like your on the pro-circuit or something.

Infrastructure aside, this is a great park. I threw about 50/50 side-arm versus flick today so you can definitely get a variety of shots.

Cons: Only two cons:

- Pedestrians are abundant, but they seemed aware of the fact that a game was being played around them so not the biggest issue in the world.

- A lot of the holes on the back nine are staggered so that you're walking back towards the tee of the hole you just played to get to the next tee. I understand they have to make the most of the space they have to work with but this type of layout makes the course feel crowded.
Other Thoughts: Definitely an excellent course and I will definitely be back there sooner rather than later

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.