Largo, FL 
Taylor Park Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #18 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 282ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Long Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fantastic!

1    10/11/2013   10/20/2013
Review By: JCone
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of different shot. At a well organized park. Lots of different views. Very clean. Bathrooms.
Cons: If I have any its that there are some shots where there doesn't appear to be any traditional lines.
Other Thoughts: Great Course, came upon it by accident. Course deserves more exposure. Seems they have a very active club.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Touch of Class

1    6/14/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * The course is very well taken care of. Everything is top notch from the signs to the pads and baskets.
* Course flows smoothly and first time players can find their way easily.
* Variety of distance ranges although no truly long holes.
* Just enough trees and water to make it interesting without being too penal.
* Good variety of in the woods contrasting with near the lake shots.
* Tee pads have shoe cleaners, bag hangers and benches. Everything feels high class.
* Signs present warning of disc golf in the area always helpful.
* Locals were very friendly and the neighborhood seems nice.
* Variety of other activities available as well.
Cons: * If you don't like throwing near walkers, then be careful, because there are plenty on the path by the water. They seemed to be pretty aware, and like anything else, just don't throw if there are people there.
* No real bomber holes, so if you have a big arm, you might not use it much here. On the other hand, great for those of us who throw 300 to 350.
* All in all, a wonderful course.
Other Thoughts: Taylor park is a gorgeous course beside a very fishy lake. I saw many people fishing and walking,and it seems like a nice place to spend a day. The course signage is just spot on. And, the little things, especially what I mentioned around the tees, really make this park a treat. I wish i lived a bit closer, because I would play this often. This lovely place was a real pleasure to play!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

If You Like Disc Golf and Fishing...

1    6/14/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you like disc golf and fishing, this may be the perfect course for you. There is a nice big lake that looked and smelled very clean. It comes into play a little bit on the dg course, but several people were fishing it, and I heard its a good spot to drop a line.

Speaking of clean, the whole park was very clean.

Mature trees abound, and the course makes good usage of them.

The course has a nice flow to it, and easy navigation.

Multiple pin placements, combined with excelent sinage enhance the overall experiance.

Very friendly locals.
Cons: The cons are minor.

There is a hiking trail that runs through part of the course. It seemed like most of the non-dgers were aware of the course though, and I noticed several "Warnig, Disc Golf" type signs scattered about the course. Still, care must be taken to avoid other park users.

More of a warning than a con: The speed limit is 15mph on the road that goes around the lake to the course, and is enforced by some nasty speed bumps and the local police dept.
Other Thoughts: This is a very charming course, and a must play in the greater Tampa area. Its somewhat short and technical in nature, but you'll apreciate all that shade in the summer time.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/15/2013   10/19/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is located in a beautiful Park
-Alternating Pin positions, some tees have multiple tees. Pins are consistently rotating.
-Nice balance for left and right throwers. They can rotate the baskets, flip the shots and still maintain a nice balance for throwers.
-Course Map at the start, as well as a practice/warm up area with two baskets and distance markers. (e.g 30ft) There are also benches in the practice area as well as a picnic shelter.
-Each tee has the whole package: Concrete Tee's, Bag hooks, Benches, and great tee signs.
-Taylor Park gets a solid A+ for their Tee signs. Very attractive and ornate tee maps at both the long and short tees, pin locations, with distance, pin position marker. Plus a bonus for placing huge yellow signs around the park that warn of Flying Discs.
-Two raised baskets. #7 and #15. (They may or may not be in play, depending on the basket position setup)
-Bathrooms & Shelters located at the start on the course ( Bathroom is located near the parking lot, but on the opposite side of the shelter near basket 17. You won't get near it again until you finish)
-Each fairway is open enough to allow a person to choose their lines, but there are enough trees that will require you to hit the gaps strategically.
-Beginners can play here with no problem, as well as professionals. It's primarily the longer holes that have the multiple tee-pads. The course gives stronger arms a chance at the long distance shots, while still providing a fun experience to the novice. It's very well balanced.
-Great fun factor
-Course navigation is straight out and back. It plays out and back to the parking lot.
FWIW
-located in a park with a number of activities and walking trails.
Cons: -You are still subject to course interactions with other park goers and park activities. Congestion can be a factor here. You are still reminded to look before you throw. Though the course is away from other activities, it is not segregated from the rest of the park.
-Some fairways play real close to some houses and their fence lines, pay attention when you throw.
-Walking paths come into play on certain parts of the course, and you may find yourself sharing the playing field with other park users.
-Though there are signs, some of the transitions may have you looking around for the next hole. (First time issue only)
Tip: It's easy to skip 11, don't miss it.
Other Thoughts: Taylor Park is a beautiful course that is located in a very nice park. It's full of well-built and attractive amenities. The layout will have the thrower working lines around trees and down pathways. I think the fun factor is equal to the challenge. It's definitely a fun course to play, and it didn't take long before it was added to my favorites list. Everyone that plays here, should come away with a great experience. The only real issue I see is that the park traffic could become an obstacle. Even when I played here, I found that I was working around park traffic. This course should be added to the list of courses to play in the Tampa/Clearwater area.
It's a park, so no special footwear or protective clothing necessary here. You'll pass plenty of restaurants and gas stations on the way here. It's Florida, so bringing liquids should be a norm. You will want to give yourself some extra time to get here. Traffic from 275 is hectic and can be slow moving. It's not easily accessed, but is well worth the trip. Taylor Park will not disappoint!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Much improved...

2-4    8/12/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: v0nn3gut
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has, by far, the best signs I've ever seen. They have clearly put in a lot of work and it shows. Little touches like shoe cleaners and mini-brooms at some tees make you feel like your on the pro-circuit or something.

Infrastructure aside, this is a great park. I threw about 50/50 side-arm versus flick today so you can definitely get a variety of shots.

Cons: Only two cons:

- Pedestrians are abundant, but they seemed aware of the fact that a game was being played around them so not the biggest issue in the world.

- A lot of the holes on the back nine are staggered so that you're walking back towards the tee of the hole you just played to get to the next tee. I understand they have to make the most of the space they have to work with but this type of layout makes the course feel crowded.
Other Thoughts: Definitely an excellent course and I will definitely be back there sooner rather than later

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Experience

1    8/8/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quality 18 hole course located in a large family friendly park in Largo. A large announcement board sits by the parking lot and there are bathroom facilities on site. Large cement tees are sufficient for throwing, and about 1/3 of the holes have a short tee. First rate colored signs depict hole number, distance and desired flight path. A long screw/wingnut inserted into the base of the sign indicates "A", "B" or "C" basket position. "Next Tee" signs assist with navigation. There are benches and bag poles at each hole. Water comes into play on a couple of holes, but is not restrictive or unfair (Hole # 11 in particular is excellent). Newly placed flags atop each basket makes them visible from the tee box.
Cons: Safety issues exist at some junctures where holes run parallel to one another. Waiting on pedestrians who use the walking path can be an annoyance. Palmettos and water will punish errant shots. The fairway grass should be cut more often. Not a fan of hole # 1- a "throw and hope" hole.
Other Thoughts: The town of Largo is a real nice area of Florida, and Taylor Park is no exception. It has variety and is laid out well. It is primarily an open course with plenty of various types of trees and vegetation spread out challenging you to hit lines.

As an out-of-state player who played a PDGA event here, I thoroughly enjoyed my experience. I was totally impressed by the local club, the "sand slugs", who made me feel welcome and who work tirelessly at course enhancement and attention to detail. Their unofficial "clubhouse"- a restaurant across the street, contains various plaques and memorabilia from leagues and weeklys. A highly recommended play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the sun.

1    7/1/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: chuckrcp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of pin placements.
Pro and amateur tee pads.
The members are very nice.
For my first time playing it was easy to find next tee.
Cons: Lots of paths cross in the fairways.
People do not look before crossing in front of tee pads, I almost hit a person walking on path.

Other Thoughts: Had a great time I will be bringing my son to play here

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

1    3/26/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: scootertrash
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well kept course.
No map is available but is very easy to navigate.
Good course to bring someone not that experienced.
Tee signs are top notch! Easy to see where the basket was.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: My wife and I were in town and wanted to play (been 6 months) and Taylor Park was perfect for both of us to get back into the groove of things. Good length and just the right amount of trees to not get too frustrated with and a very low bug count!

If you are in Clearwater you have to check this course out along with Clearwater Disc Golf store!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/8/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: captainobvious
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Solid 4
- Technical course
- Water hazards
- Beautiful park
- Alternate tees
- You name it they got it
Cons: - Be careful of walkers walking through the course
Other Thoughts: Really only 1 or 2 holes with a good chance at landing in water, but bringing a floater always a good idea.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Taylor's Tip-Top

1    8/2/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 216  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Taylor Park DGC is in a beautiful, grassy park with many mature trees surrounding a small lake. The quality of the course is very good, as is the equipment on the course. The tee boxes are concrete, all with nice benches and bag holders. The tee signs are unbelievable! Highly detailed and with cool graphics, they have hole maps with moveable pins to show which position the basket is currently in. Also, there are signs between holes to guide you through the course. The baskets are all in good shape, too.

As for the disc golfing, this is an outstanding course. Laid out very nicely, the fairways give a good variety of lines to the basket. The fairways have few sharp turns, but the trees seldom allow a straight line to the pin. There are very slight changes of elevation on some holes, and water comes into play on a few of them. Challenging, and fun to play.
Cons: Really there is not a lot of room for improvement here. Utilizes the space very well, but there was a very similar feel to many of the holes despite slight differences. I was rushing to finish 18 holes before the sun set, so maybe I missed some of the finer points on the course. There are signs posted warning about the presence of gators, but I didn't see any (which suits me fine).
Other Thoughts: Taylor Park offers a terrific disc golf experience. This is a fun and challenging course that is very nicely furnished. No doubt about it, you need to play this course if you get a chance. One of the best courses I have played in Florida. The local league was in session while I was on premises, and they were all helpful and friendly.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.